DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Woo (US 2008/0,052,639).
Referring to claims 1, 9 and 17, Woo discloses a memory system (fig. 1, system 100A), comprising:
circuitry (fig. 1, controller 120A) coupled with a pin (fig. 1, CE0 at memory controller 120A) and to bias the pin to a first voltage (fig. 2, CE0 voltage low during CMD) corresponding to a threshold voltage (fig. 2, voltage, e.g., low) associated with the circuitry; and
a memory device (fig. 1, NVM 110A-0/110A-7) coupled with the pin, wherein a first memory device (fig. 1, NVM 110-0) of the memory device is to:
receive an access command (fig. 2, CMD during CE0 low), wherein the circuitry biases the pin to the first voltage in response to the first memory device receiving the access command (fig. 2, controller 120A CMD drive CE0 to low);
bias the pin to a second voltage (fig. 1, CE0 voltage high; fig. 2, CE0 voltage high, output busy state) that is different from the first voltage based on the first memory device executing the access command (fig. 2, CE0 low during CMD, CE0 high after CMD); and
release, by the first memory device, a first voltage source (fig. 6, apparatus for outputting state signal 20; para.0062, release to state output) from the pin based on the first memory device finishing executing the access command (fig. 9, CMD).
As to claims 2-3 and 10-11, Woo discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the pin comprises an active high/low pin (fig. 2, CE0 output busy/output ready), and wherein the second voltage is greater/less than the first voltage (fig. 2, CE0 high during output, low during CMD).
As to claims 4, 12 and 18, Woo discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the circuit comprises a receiver (fig. 6, apparatus 20A) to determine a status (fig. 9, state signal 21A) of the first memory device based on a voltage (fig. 2, CE0) of the pin.
As to claims 5, 13 and 19, Woo discloses the system of claim 4, wherein, to determine the status of the first memory device, the receiver is to: determine that the first memory device is busy (fig. 2, output busy state) based on the pin being biased to the second voltage.
As to claims 6 and 14, Woo discloses the system of claim 4, wherein, to determine the status of the first memory device, the first memory device is available (fig. 2, output ready) to be accessed based on the pin being biased to the first voltage.
As to claims 7, 15 and 20, Woo discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first memory device is to: bias the pin to a third voltage (fig. 2, CE0 low during CMD with way1-RnB), the third voltage indicating whether the first memory device has successfully finished executing the access command (fig. 2, CE1 for NVM 110A-1).
As to claims 8 and 16, Woo discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is to: bias the pin to the first voltage based on the pin being released from the first voltage source (fig. 2, CE0 low during CMD with way1-RnB).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that Woo does not disclose “circuitry to bias the pin to a first voltage” and “a first memory device to bias the pin to a second voltage” as recited in independent claim 1 (p. 12).
Presently, the claim can be understood as having a pin biased by a circuitry and a first memory device. Woo discloses controller 120C driving CE0 to low (e.g., first voltage). Woo discloses memory device 110C-0 receives the CE0 first voltage from the controller. It is known that “bias” can only hold true when there is a voltage level difference. Although memory device 110C-0 appeared as receiving end, it is contributing to the voltage difference for the bias to stay true.
Applicant argues that Woo does not disclose “release by a first memory device a first voltage source” as required in claim 1 (pp. 12-13).
Woo discloses apparatus for outputting state signal 20 releasing state signals. It is unnecessary to corresponding the “first voltage” and the “first voltage source” to be the same element.
Examiner continue suggests applicant to clarify the voltages such as VssQ, VccQ, Vbusy and/or the meaning of trip point 285 as discussed in 265 in claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“circuitry … configured to bias …” in claims 1 and 8,
“a first memory device … configured to: …” in claims 1 and 7,
“a received configured to …” in claims 4-6, and
“processor to …” in claims 17-20.
Applicant has confirmed the claims are intended to invoke 35 USC 112(f) with providing example supports from specifications in response filed on 10/7/2026.
Conclusion
This action is made final. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire in three months from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filled within two months of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the three-month shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date of the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than six months from the date of this final action.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to examiner Cheng-Yuan Tseng whose telephone number is (571)272-9772, and fax number is (571)273-9772. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 09:00 to 17:30 Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alicia Harrington can be reached on (571)272-2330. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866)217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800)786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/CHENG YUAN TSENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615