DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 04/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/29/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a damping element in claim 1 which is disclosed as:
The embodiment of Figures 2A-3C, comprising a skirt
The embodiment of Figures 6A-6D, comprising biasing elements
The embodiment of Figures 7A-7B, comprising a deformable juncture
The embodiment of Figures 8A-8C, comprising an expandable element positioned within the patient
The embodiment of Figure 10A, comprising an inertial mass resisted by a viscous fluid
The embodiment of Figure 11A, comprising an inertial mass resisted by springs
The embodiment of Figure 11B, comprising an inertial mass resisted by magnetic material
The embodiment of Figure 12A-13C, comprising damping sleeves
The embodiment of Figure 14, comprising damping materials in the joints
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0172858 (Doyle).
1. An apparatus (FIG. 5) for use during surgery (FIG. 5; P0003-P0005), the apparatus comprising:
a robotic arm (slave 700 having multiple systems 300 at FIG. 5 and P0070-P0074) having a first segment coupled to a second segment by a first joint (e.g., see system 300 for forward/reverse pivoting at FIG. 5 and P0070-P0073 having a chain 100 and a track 110 where the claimed “first joint” is a proximal joint of this system 300)(FIG. 1B; P0052 and P0074);
a tool driver (e.g., see system 300 for forward/reverse pivoting lateral swivel and/or extension/retraction having a system 300 at FIG. 5 and P0074) having a second joint (e.g., see this system having a chain 100 and a track 110 where the claimed “second joint” is a distal joint of this system 300) coupling the tool driver to the second segment of the robotic arm (FIG. 5; P0074);
a cannula (tool 704) comprising a proximal portion and a distal portion wherein the proximal portion is coupled to the tool driver (FIG. 5; P0070); and
a damping element (stabilizing mechanism 181 which is at least equivalent to those damping elements disclosed in this application) coupled to one of the robotic arm or the tool driver (FIG. 3B; P0064-P0065).
2. The damping element comprises a flexible covering disposed on a portion of the robotic arm (FIG. 3B; P0064-P0065).
3. The first segment and the second segment comprise a number of robotic arm links and the damping element is coupled to at least one robotic arm link of the number of robotic arm links (FIG. 3B; P0064-P0065).
4. The damping element comprises a damping foam material injected into a cavity of the at least one robotic arm link (FIG. 3B; P0065).
5. The damping element comprises a honeycomb structure (e.g., see honeycomb structure as shown in FIG. 3B) including an elastomeric material embedded within the at least one robotic arm link (FIG. 3B; P0064-P0065).
7. The damping element comprises an elastomeric material coupled to the first joint (FIG. 3B and 5; P0064-P0065 and P0070-P0073).
8. The damping element comprises an elastomeric material coupled to the second joint (FIG. 3B and 5; P0064-P0065 and P0074).
9. The damping element is disposed between the tool driver and the cannula (FIG. 5; P0074).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0172858 (Doyle), as applied above, and further in view of US 2016/0030118 (Devengenzo).
Doyle discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above and further discloses the second segment being a linkage and the damping element comprises a layer of damping material disposed in the linkage (FIG. 3B; P0064-P0065). However, Doyle does not disclose the linkage being a parallelogram. Devengenzo teaches a linkage in the same field of endeavor being a parallelogram (FIG. 9; P0056) for the purpose of rotating the linkage about various axes (FIG. 9; P0056). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linkage of Doyle to be a parallelogram as taught by Devengenzo in order to rotate the linkage about various axes.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0172858 (Doyle), as applied above, and further in view of US 6,132,368 (Cooper).
Doyle discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the apparatus has a sterile adapter. Cooper teaches an apparatus in the same field of endeavor having a sterile adapter (drape 70) coupled to the tool driver and a second damping element (e.g., the drape 70 would absorb and dissipate (at least to some extent) energy from vibrations such that it can reasonably be considered “a second damping element”) coupled to the sterile adapter (FIG. 3A; col. 7, lns. 13-23) for the purpose of shielding the apparatus from the surgical site so that most of its component do not have to be sterilized (FIG. 3A; col. 7, lns. 13-23). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Doyle to include a sterile adapter as taught by Cooper in order to shield the apparatus from the surgical site so that most of its component do not have to be sterilized.
Conclusion
TJ SCHERBEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/TODD J SCHERBEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771