DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (glenoid component, claims 9-20) and Species A (Figs. 8-17) and Species Y (Figs. 40-44) in the reply filed on March 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deffenbaugh et al. (US 2006/0074430; “Deffenbaugh”).
Claim 9, Deffenbaugh discloses a glenoid component (Figs. 4-8) comprising: a body (Figs 4-8) including a concave articulation surface (Fig. 19; 28) that is adapted to engage a humeral component (Fig. 6; paragraphs [0069]-[0070]) and a scapula-facing surface (Fig. 19; 24, 26); wherein: the scapula-facing surface includes a base surface portion (see Fig. A below) and an augmented surface portion (see Fig. A), the base surface portion and the augmented surface portion are convex (Figs. 4-8) such that the base surface portion has a first curvature having a first radius (Figs. 4, 11, and 19) and the augmented surface portion has a second curvature having a second radius (Figs. 4, 11, and 19), the base surface portion and the augmented surface portion are connected at an interface (Fig. A; where the dotted line is) such that the first curvature intersects the second curvature at the interface (Figs. A and 19).
Fig. A: Annotated Fig. 19 of Deffenbaugh to show how claim limitations are met.
Claim 10, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 9, wherein the augmented surface portion is disposed farther from the articulation surface than the base surface portion (Fig. A; note how the Aug side is thicker).
Claim 11, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 9, wherein the augmented surface portion extends from the interface to at least one of a posterior portion, a supero-posterior portion, and an infero-posterior portion of the glenoid component (Figs. 4-8 and 19).
Claim 12, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 9, wherein the augmented surface portion is thicker than the base surface portion (Figs. A and 19)
Claim 13, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 9, further comprising an anchor extending from the scapula-facing surface (Fig. 4; 30, 32, and/or 34).
Claim 14, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 13, wherein the anchor is conical (Figs. 4-6; 30 and 34).
Claim 15, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 13, the anchor includes a plurality of anchors that have different lengths relative to each other (Fig. 4).
Claim 16, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 13, wherein the anchor includes one or more radially-outwardly extending fins (Fig. 4; 32 has portions that can be considered fins).
Claim 17, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 13, wherein the anchor includes one or more transversely extending grooves (Fig. 4; the grooves on central anchor 32).
Claim 18, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 9, wherein the base surface portion has a first, relatively-gradual slope (Fig. A) toward the interface (Fig. A) and the augmented surface portion has a second, relatively-inclined slope (Fig. A) toward the interface compared to the base surface portion (Figs. A; while it seems to be the same amount of curvature on both sides of the dotted line, both curvatures meet the definition of a relatively gradual and inclined slope, since both are inclining as they approach the dotted line and they are both gradual).
Claim 19, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 9, wherein the base surface portion has a curved shape (Fig. A) in a longitudinal plane (Fig. A; a plane that is perpendicularly running in and out of the page just left of the dotted line) that is defined by the body (Figs. 4-8 and 19), the longitudinal plane extending through the articulation surface and the base surface portion (Fig. A) and is disposed apart from the augmented surface portion (Fig. A).
Claim 20, Deffenbaugh discloses the glenoid component of claim 9, wherein the augmented surface portion has a curved shape (Figs. 4-8 and 19) in a longitudinal plane (Fig. A; same as above except the plane will be just to the right of the dotted line on the Augmented side) that is defined by the body (Figs. 4-8 and 19), the longitudinal plane extending through the articulation surface that is disposed apart from the base surface portion (Figs. 4-8 and 19).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and the amendments have resulted in a different interpretation of the device of Deffenbaugh, which seems to still read on the claim limitations. See Office action above for more details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775