DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,876. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims in USPAT 12,166,876 is directed generating a cryptographic key using a seed value obtained from a PUF and processing a cryptographic operation using the cryptographic key. The claims in the instant invention are directed to selecting a cryptographic key generated using a seed from a PUF and performing a key management operation on the cryptographic key.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buer (US-20060072748), and further in view of Van Der Sluis et al. (US-20150234751).
a. Referring to claims 1, 8 and 15:
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Buer teaches a device comprising: a volatile storage area storing a plurality of cryptographic keys (Para 105 and 109…. volatile key cache location); and a processor configured to: receive a key management request from an external device via an interface, select a cryptographic key from the plurality of cryptographic keys based on the key management request, perform a key management operation on the selected cryptographic key, and provide a response to the external device indicating a result of the key management operation (Para 91, 92, 97, 110, 111, …. external data interface for receiving command such as key management operations (Para 21), referencing appropriate key stored in the key cache, performing key management operation and indicating completion by returning the key value together with non-secure configuration value).
Buer is silent with respect to a PUF, and a seed value derived from the PUF. However, a PUF and a seed value derived from the PUF for key generation are well known in the art and disclosed by Van der Sluis in Para 15, 19 and 37 (derived key (from memory used as PUF) used as seed for finding asymmetric keypair).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Buer by deriving the seed value from a PUF as taught by Van Der Sluis for the purpose of removing the root secret from the NV memory, where t can be recovered from a physical attack that opens and probes the memory.
a. Referring to claim 2:
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Buer and Van Der Sluis teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the key management operation comprises generating a new cryptographic key (See Buer, Para 68…. generating new key).
a. Referring to claims 3, 9, 10 and 16:
Regarding claims 3, 9, 10 and 16, the combination of Buer and Van Der Sluis teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the key management operation comprises exporting a public portion of the selected cryptographic key (See Buer, Para 131… exporting the public key effectively deletes/erases it from the storage area).
a. Referring to claims 7, 14 and 20:
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, the combination of Buer and Van Der Sluis teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the cryptographic keys comprise asymmetric key pairs (See Buer, Para 23 and 69…. asymmetric keypair).
a. Referring to claim 18:
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Buer and Van Der Sluis teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the PUF comprises an uninitialized portion of the volatile storage arca (See Van Der Sluis, Para 23…. un-initialized SRAM blocks that may be used as the memory used as a PUF).
Claims 4, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buer (US-20060072748) and Van Der Sluis et al. (US-20150234751), and further in view of Taylor et al. (US-9,363,078).
a. Referring to claims 4, 13 and 19:
Regarding claims 4, 13 and 19, the combination of Buer and Van Der Sluis teaches a PCI interface (See Buer, Paea 72-73) but is silent with respect to the interface comprising a PCIe interface. However, PCIe interfaces are well known in the art and taught by Taylor in Col 10, lines 45-61 (PCI Express interface). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Buer and Van Der Sluis by using a PCIe interface in place of the PCI interface as taught by Taylor, for the purpose of improving the interface throughput to match the cryptographic processing.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 11, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buer (US-20060072748) and Van Der Sluis et al. (US-20150234751), and further in view of Bell et al. (US-20130142329).
a. Referring to claims 5, 11 and 17:
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, the combination of Buer and Van Der Sluis teaches the storage of claim 1 but fails to teach that the storage area comprises a static random-access memory. However, storage areas comprising static random-access memory is well known in the art and described by Bell in Para 15 and 23…. (SRAM memory). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Buer and Van Der Sluis and implement the storage as a static random-access memory as taught by Bell for the purpose of fast temporary data storage and access.
a. Referring to claims 6 and 12:
Regarding claims 6 and 12, the combination of Buer, Van Der Sluis and Bell teach the device of claim 1, wherein the PUF comprises a designated portion of the volatile storage area. (See Bell, Para 15…. PUF SRAM)
Conclusion
/IZUNNA OKEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497