DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,876. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims in USPAT 12,166,876 is directed generating a cryptographic key using a seed value obtained from a PUF and processing a cryptographic operation using the cryptographic key. The claims in the instant invention are directed to selecting a cryptographic key generated using a seed from a PUF and performing a key management operation on the cryptographic key.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US-2022019017).
a. Referring to claims 1, 8 and 15:
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Liu teaches a device comprising: a physically unclonable function (PUF) (Para 13… PUF); a volatile storage area storing a plurality of cryptographic keys generated using a seed value derived from the PUF (Para 20…. memory storing wrapped keys generated using a PUF sequence); and a processor configured to: receive a key management request from an external device via an interface, select a cryptographic key from the plurality of cryptographic keys based on the key management request, perform a key management operation on the selected cryptographic key, and provide a response to the external device indicating a result of the key management operation (Para 22 and 23…. key retrieval request from an external device, selecting a key and providing a response to the external device).
a. Referring to claims 2, 9 and 16:
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Liu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the key management operation comprises generating a new cryptographic key (Para 21…. key generation request).
a. Referring to claims 3 and 10:
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Liu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the key management operation comprises exporting a public portion of the selected cryptographic key (Para…. transmitting key identifier).
a. Referring to claims 4, 11 and 17:
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 17, Liu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the interface comprises a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) interface (Para 14…. data bus which may be a PCIe interface as evident to one of ordinary skill in the art).
a. Referring to claims 7, 14 and 20:
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Liu teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the cryptographic keys comprise asymmetric key pairs (Para 13…. generation of cryptographic keys which would comprise asymmetric keys as known by a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US-2022019017), and further in view of Bell et al. (US-20130142329).
a. Referring to claims 5, 12 and 18:
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 18, Liu teaches the storage of claim 1, but fails to teach that the storage area comprises a static random-access memory. However, storage areas comprising static random-access memory is well known in the art and described in Para 15 and 23…. (SRAM memory). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Liu and implement the storage as a static random-access memory as taught by Bell for the purpose of fast temporary data storage and access.
a. Referring to claims 6, 13 and 19:
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, the combination of Liu and Bell teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the PUF comprises a designated portion of the volatile storage area. (See Bell, Para 15…. PUF SRAM)
Conclusion
/IZUNNA OKEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497