DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kamiya (US 20220193791).
Regarding claim 1, Kamiya discloses:
A transmission housing assembly (abstract, Fig 1) for a power tool (1, abstract), the transmission housing assembly comprising:
a front housing (by 71, para 81) defining a first volume for receiving a first plurality of gears (8) therein (Figs 1-5);
a first rear housing portion (by 70); and
a motor cover (by 2) having an integral second rear housing portion (by 71) engageable with the front housing (71) and the first rear housing portion (by 70) to enclose a second volume for receiving a second plurality of gears therein (paras 81-82).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kamiya discloses, wherein the first rear housing portion (by 70) has at least two spaced apart bosses (by numerals 16,71, Fig 9) thereon upon which a speed selection lever (85, Fig 9, para 61) is retained, and wherein the at least two spaced apart bosses are disposed proximate to the engagement between the first rear housing portion and the second rear housing portion of the motor cover (by 2), so that ends of the speed selection lever are captured therebetween upon engagement of the motor cover and the first rear housing portion (Fig 9).
Regarding claim 3/1, Kamiya discloses wherein the front housing portion engages with the first rear housing portion and the second rear housing portion of the motor cover via a plurality of complementary formations disposed at or near an end of the second rear housing portion of the motor cover and at or near an end of the first rear housing portion (Figs 1,6,7,9).
Regarding claim 4/3, Kamiya discloses wherein the plurality of complementary formations of the front housing are outwardly projecting tabs extending from the front housing which are received in a plurality of complementary formations of the first and second rear housing portions (Figs 1,6,7,9).
Regarding claim 5/4, Kamiya discloses wherein the front housing portion has surfaces and the rear housing portion has a plurality of complementary surfaces which are urged against each other upon engagement of the projecting tabs of the front housing with the plurality of complementary formations of the rear housing portion (Figs 6-7 show multiple housings with tabs, complementary surfaces / formations, etc for the parts to fit together).
Regarding claim 7/2, Kamiya discloses wherein an integrally formed seal tab projects from the second rear housing portion of the motor cover over the speed selection lever and first rear housing portion for sealing thereof (Figs 6-7 show multiple housings with tabs, complementary surfaces / formations, etc for the parts to fit together).
Claim(s) 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Bixler et al. (US 2007/0201748).
Regarding claim 10, Bixler et al. teaches:
A method of assembling a transmission assembly (abstract), the method comprising:
inserting a plurality of third layer gears (402, Fig 4) in a front housing (19, Figs 1-3);
engaging a first rear housing portion (12 by 42, Figs 2-4) with the front housing (19, Figs 1-3);
inserting a plurality of second layer gears (304, Fig 4) into the first rear housing portion of the engaged first rear housing portion and front housing (Figs 1-4 shows them engaged);
locating each end of a speed selection lever (60, Fig 4, para 70, also trigger 24, Fig 2) in a groove defined in a second layer ring gear and on bosses extending from the first rear housing portion (para 70);
inserting a plurality of first layer gears (302, Fig 4) into the engaged first rear housing portion (12 by 42) and front housing (19, Figs 1-4); and
engaging a motor cover (12, Fig 2) having an integral second rear housing portion (12 by 30,38 in Fig 2) with the first rear housing portion (12 by 42) and the front housing (19, Figs 1-4).
Regarding claim 11/10, Bixler et al. teaches wherein the first rear housing portion is engaged with the front housing by engaging a plurality of formations projecting from the first rear housing portion with a plurality of corresponding recesses defined in the front housing (Figs 1-4 shows multiple housings with multiple recesses and projections).
Regarding claim 12/10, Bixler et al. teaches wherein locating each end of the speed selection lever (60,24) in the groove defined in the second layer ring gear (304) is visually confirmed before proceeding (Figs 3-4 shows them visually confirmed).
Regarding claim 13/10, Bixler et al. teaches further comprising urging the first rear housing portion and the second rear housing portion of the motor cover (12, Fig 2) together with a plurality of end faces (21, 30, Fig 2) positioned on the rear housing portion (by 38) configured to nest with a plurality of corresponding end faces on the second rear housing portion of the motor cover (Figs 2-4 show multiple end-faces and several housing parts).
Regarding claim 14/10, Bixler et al. teaches wherein the plurality of third layer gears (306, Fig 4) are inserted into a volume defined in the front housing (19, Figs 2-4) when the front housing is supported in a generally vertical orientation, and at least some of the plurality of second layer gears (304) are inserted when the engaged first rear housing portion (12 by 42, Fig 2) and front housing (19) are disposed in other than a generally vertical orientation (Figs 3-4).
Regarding claim 15/10, Bixler et al. teaches wherein the second rear housing portion (12 by 30,38, Fig 2) of the motor cover (12, Fig 2) is engaged with the first rear housing portion (12 by 42) such that an integrally formed seal tab projecting from the second rear housing portion of the motor cover extends over the speed selection lever (60 and trigger 24, paras 46-47) and the first rear housing portion for sealing thereof (para 82 – snap fitting, also Fig 1 shows it sealed).
Regarding claim 16, Bixler et al. teaches:
A power tool (abstract) comprising:
an electric motor (14, para 45); and
a transmission assembly (16) coupled to the electric motor (14) to receive torque therefrom (para 45),
the transmission assembly (16) including a front housing (19) defining a first volume for receiving a first plurality of gears (306, Fig 4) therein;
a first rear housing portion (12 by 42);
a speed selection lever (24, 60, paras 46-47) pivotably coupled to the first rear housing portion; and
a motor cover (12, Fig 2) for housing the electric motor,
the motor cover (12) having an integral second rear housing portion (towards the axial end of 34 by 30, Fig 2) opposite the motor that is engageable with the front housing (19) and the first rear housing portion (12 by 42) to enclose a second volume for receiving a second plurality of gears (304) therein,
the motor cover (12) also having a plurality of seal tabs (32,34, para 46) extending over the speed selection lever (24,60, paras 46-47) to seal the speed selection lever between the first rear housing portion and the second rear housing portion (Figs 2-4 shows multiple housings with multiple tabs and connectors for assembly and sealing of the device).
Regarding claim 17/16, Bixler et al. teaches wherein the sealing tabs (32,34) are integrally molded to the second rear housing portion (by 30) of the motor cover (para 46).
Regarding claim 18/16, Bixler et al. teaches wherein the first rear housing portion further comprises a plurality of bosses for supporting the speed selection lever (paras 46-47).
Regarding claim 19/16, Bixler et al. teaches wherein the front housing (19) is engaged with the first rear housing portion (12 by 42) and the second rear housing portion (12 by 30,38) of the motor cover (12) via a plurality of complementary formations disposed at or near an end of the second rear housing portion of the motor cover and at or near an end of the first rear housing portion (Figs 2-4 shows multiple complementary formations for connecting the parts).
Regarding claim 20/16, Bixler et al. teaches, wherein the first plurality of gears (302, Figs 3-4, para 56) is a first set of planetary gears, and the second plurality of gears (304) is a second set of planetary gears.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya (US 20220193791) in view of Milbourne et al. (US 2008/0051247).
Regarding claim 6/1, Kamiya discloses the invention as discussed above, except wherein the first rear housing portion has grooves defined therein to receive and engage a portion of a locking ring when inserted therein after engagement of the first rear housing portion with the front housing.
Milbourne et al. teach an apparatus wherein the first rear housing portion has grooves defined therein to receive and engage a portion of a locking ring (522, Fig 13, paras 89,90,92-97) when inserted therein after engagement of the first rear housing portion with the front housing (Fig 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kamiya wherein the first rear housing portion has grooves defined therein to receive and engage a portion of a locking ring when inserted therein after engagement of the first rear housing portion with the front housing, as Milbourne et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is it facilitates the assembly of the transmission assembly (para 90 of Milbourne et al.).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya (US 20220193791) in view of Bixler et al. (US 2007/0201748).
Regarding claim 8/1, Kamiya discloses the invention as discussed above, except wherein the second rear housing portion further includes a peripheral rim having a plurality of mating face ends, and the first rear housing portion further includes a plurality of corresponding end faces on a top peripheral ridge thereof, and the plurality of mating face ends and the plurality of corresponding end faces are configured to nest together.
Bixler et al. teach a device wherein the second rear housing portion further includes a peripheral rim having a plurality of mating face ends, and the first rear housing portion further includes a plurality of corresponding end faces on a top peripheral ridge thereof, and the plurality of mating face ends and the plurality of corresponding end faces are configured to nest together (Figs 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kamiya wherein the second rear housing portion further includes a peripheral rim having a plurality of mating face ends, and the first rear housing portion further includes a plurality of corresponding end faces on a top peripheral ridge thereof, and the plurality of mating face ends and the plurality of corresponding end faces are configured to nest together, as Bixler et al. teach.
The motivation to do so is it would facilitate assembly of the apparatus (para 70 of Bixler et al.).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya (US 20220193791) in view of Milbourne et al. (US 2008/0051247).
Regarding claim 9/1, Kamiya discloses the invention as discussed above, except wherein the first plurality of gears is a first set of planetary gears, and the second plurality of gears is a second set of planetary gears.
Milbourne et al. teach an apparatus wherein the first plurality of gears is a first set of planetary gears, and the second plurality of gears is a second set of planetary gears (Fig 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kamiya wherein the first plurality of gears is a first set of planetary gears, and the second plurality of gears is a second set of planetary gears, as Milbourne et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is it facilitates gear sets to perform a speed reduction and torque multiplication (para 10 of Milbourne et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834