DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 14-20, in the reply filed on 06/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams (US 2014/0052145 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Adams discloses (see abstract; paras. [0025]-[0037]; figs. 1-7) a pulse generator (includes 30, fig. 1) for generating a shock wave (para. [0032]) in a shock wave catheter system (fig. 1), the pulse generator comprising:
a first voltage source (34, para. [0028]; fig. 1) having a first polarity (positive terminal) and configured to provide a first voltage (provides voltage pulses) across one or more electrodes (includes center electrode 26 and ring electrode 28) of the shock wave catheter system to prime an aqueous environment or generate one or more bubbles in a fluid surrounding the one or more electrodes (first low voltage applied to pre-grow a bubble, para. [0032]); and
a second voltage source (36) having a second polarity (negative terminal) and configured to provide a second voltage (provides voltage pulses) across the one or more electrodes (paras. [0028]-[0029]) to generate an electrical arc at the one or more electrodes (paras. [0028]-[0029]),
wherein the first polarity of the first voltage source is configured to be opposite from the second polarity of the second voltage source (positive and negative terminals considered to be opposite).
Regarding claim 15, Adams discloses the pulse generator of claim 14. Adams further discloses wherein the first voltage source is a low voltage source configured to generate a voltage between 50-250 V (low voltage 90 at 50 V, generated by power source 30 which positive terminal 34 is connected to, para. [0035]; figs. 1 and 6-7), and the second voltage source is a high voltage source configured to generate a voltage between 2,000-10,000 V (high voltage 94 at 3000 V, generated by power source 30 which negative terminal 36 is connected to, para. [0035]; figs. 1 and 6-7).
Regarding claim 18, Adams discloses the pulse generator of claim 14. Adams further discloses further comprising: a first switch (72, para. [0034]) coupled to the first voltage source (via 30, fig. 6); a second switch (74) coupled to the second voltage source (via 30); and a controller (70) coupled to the first switch and the second switch (fig. 6), and configured to independently open and close the first switch and the second switch (turns on 72 and 74 independently, para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 19, Adams discloses the pulse generator of claim 18. Adams further discloses wherein when the first switch is closed (considered to be closed when 72 is turned on), current from the first voltage source is configured to reach a top electrode of the one or more electrodes (considered to reach a top electrode of pair of electrodes 26 and 28 when low voltage 90 is applied, para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 20, Adams discloses the pulse generator of claim 18. Adams further discloses wherein when the second switch is closed (considered to be closed when 74 is turned on), current from the second voltage source is configured to reach a bottom electrode of the one or more electrodes (considered to reach a bottom electrode of pair of electrodes 26 and 28 when high voltage 94 is applied, para. [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Ding (US 2025/0226685 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Adams discloses the pulse generator of claim 14.
However, Adams fails to disclose further comprising: one or more separation components configured to electrically separate the first voltage source from the second voltage source.
Ding teaches (paras. [0155]-[0156]; figs. 7-8), in the same field of endeavor, a pulse generator (includes 219, para. [0151]) comprising one or more separation components (diode) configured to electrically separate signals (implements isolation between controller and circuit), for the purpose of reducing leakage current of the entire system and improving stability of an output signal of the first controller (para. [0155]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control logic 70 of power source 30 of Adams to include a diode electrically separating 34 from 36, in order to reduce leakage current when the low voltage and high voltages are applied to the entire system and improve stability of the output signals of the control logic, based on the suggestions and teachings of Ding (para. [0155]).
Regarding claim 17, Adams (as modified) teaches the pulse generator of claim 16. Adams (as modified) further teaches wherein the one or more separation components include a diode (para. [0155] of Ding).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0303946 A1 to Ku, disclosing a shock wave device with polarity switching.
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771