DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “away from light source” is suggested as “away from the light source”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the scattering unit” lacks antecedent basis and is suggested as “a scattering unit”. Appropriate correction is required, whereby the best-deemed interpretation has been applied in the prior art rejection below.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the boundary shapes” lacks antecedent basis and is suggested as “boundary shapes”. Appropriate correction is required, whereby the best-deemed interpretation has been applied in the prior art rejection below.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the random distribution” lacks antecedent basis and is suggested as “a random distribution”. Appropriate correction is required, whereby the best-deemed interpretation has been applied in the prior art rejection below.
Double Patenting
Claims 6-10, 15, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-5 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,163,658 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and patent commonly recite the same structural limitations to the system/method/diffuser with the obvious exception that the claimed elements are found in different claim combinations [note table below].
18/967,307
U.S. Patent 12,163,658 B2
Claim 6
A plurality of light sources,
A diffuser including a distribution of microlenses,
Each light source aligned with a single microlens,
The system is in a static configuration.
Claim 13
Wherein the scattering unit…
Claim 14
Wherein the random distribution of microlenses…
Claim 1
A plurality of light sources
A diffuser including a random distribution of microlenses, wherein each microlens includes a scattering unit;
Wherein each light source is aligned with a single microlens.
Claims 7-10
Claims 2-5
Claim 15
Emitting light from a plurality of light sources, wherein each light source is aligned with a single corresponding microlens;
Receiving the emitted light from a single light source;
The system is in a static configuration.
Claim 17
The diffuser includes a random distribution of microlenses, wherein each microlens includes a scattering unit and has a boundary shape.
Claim 6
Emitting light from a plurality of light sources, wherein each light source is aligned with a single corresponding microlens;
Receiving the emitted light from a single light source;
The system is in a static configuration,
Wherein the diffuser includes a random distribution of microlenses, wherein each microlens includes a scattering unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Patent 9,620,688 B2).
With regards to Claim 1, Lee discloses a diffuser [Figures 1-18] including:
A random distribution of microlenses [e.g., (166)], wherein each microlens includes a scattering unit [e.g., (166b)] and a boundary shape [note Figures 4-5: various shapes formed by (166a, 166b)],
Wherein the random distribution of microlenses includes a randomized distribution of the boundary shapes [note Figures 4-5]; and
Wherein each scattering unit is randomly distributed across a surface of the diffuser at different scales [note Figures 4-5].
With regards to Claim 2, Lee discloses the scattering unit [e.g., (166b)] has a surface profile characterized by slopes that are configured to spread a light beam from an associated light source away from the microlens [note Figures 1-18].
With regards to Claim 3, Lee discloses the boundary shapes of the microlenses are defined by polygonal curves [e.g., Figure 9: (170a); Figure 18: (C)].
With regards to Claim 4, Lee discloses scattering unit being a sag profile [e.g., Figure 10: (170a) – in between the units; Figure 16: (188b)].
With regards to Claim 5, Lee discloses the random distribution of microlenses include a randomized distribution of sag profiles [note Figure 10 – the sag profiles are randomized].
Claims 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chakmakjian et al. (U.S. Patent 7,918,583 B2).
With regards to Claim 6, Chakmakjian discloses a system [note Figures 1-18] including:
A plurality of light sources (14); and
A diffuser (16, 18) including a distribution of microlenses [e.g., (16) and/or (18a)];
Wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources is aligned with a single microlens of the diffuser [note Figures 14A-C], and
Wherein the system is in a static configuration [note Figures 1-18].
With regards to Claim 7, Chakmakjian discloses each light source (14), of the plurality of light sources, is individually coherent [note Figures 1-18; Column 5, Lines 32-36].
With regards to Claim 8, Chakmakjian discloses the plurality of light sources (14) are mutually incoherent.
With regards to Claim 9, Chakmakjian discloses the microlenses (16) are present on a first surface of the diffuser oriented towards the light source [note Figures 1-18].
With regards to Claim 10, Chakmakjian discloses the microlenses (18a) are present on a second surface of the diffuser oriented away from (the) light source.
With regards to Claim 11, Chakmakjian discloses (the) a scattering unit [e.g., (18a)] having a surface profile characterized by slopes that are configured to spread a light beam from an associated light source away from the microlens [note Figures 14A-C].
With regards to Claim 12, Chakmakjian discloses (the) boundary shapes of the microlenses [e.g., (16) and/or (18a)] are defined by polygonal curves [note Figures 1-18, as broadly interpreted, whereby the polygonal curves are not defined to restrict/limit structure].
With regards to Claim 13, Chakmakjian discloses the scattering unit [e.g., (18a)] is a sag profile [note Figures 14A-C].
With regards to Claim 14, Chakmakjian discloses (the) a random distribution of microlenses [e.g., (16) – choosing randomly] including a randomized distribution of sag profiles [e.g., (18a)].
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chakmakjian et al. (U.S. Patent 7,918,583 B2).
With regards to Claim 15, Chakmakjian discloses a method of using a system [note Figures 1-18] including:
Emitting light from a plurality of light sources (14), wherein each light source of the plurality of light sources is aligned with a single corresponding microlens [e.g., (16) and/or (18a)] of a plurality of microlenses of a diffuser (16, 18); and
Receiving the emitted light from a single light source of the plurality of light sources in the corresponding microlens of the plurality of microlenses of the diffuser [note Figures 1-18];
Wherein the system is in a static configuration [note Figures 1-18].
With regards to Claim 16, Chakmakjian discloses each light source (14), of the plurality of light sources, is individually coherent [note Figures 1-18; Column 5, Lines 32-36].
With regards to Claim 17, Chakmakjian discloses the plurality of light sources (14) are mutually incoherent.
With regards to Claim 18, Chakmakjian discloses the diffuser includes a random distribution of microlenses [e.g., (16) and/or (18a) – choosing randomly], wherein each microlens includes a scattering unit [e.g., (18a)] and has a boundary shape [note Figures 1-18].
With regards to Claim 19, Chakmakjian discloses each scattering unit [e.g., (18a)] is randomly distributed across a surface of the diffuser at different scales [note Figures 14A-C].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, but is not considered exhaustive: U.S. Patent 6,859,326 B2 to Sales that teaches a random microlens array [Figures 1-42].
Friday, November 14, 2025
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875