Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekonen (US 2010/0085985) in view of Jeong (US 2018/0220140).
For claim 1, Pekonen discloses an image display system ([0001] Digital Video Broadcasting (DVB) systems), comprising:
a host, comprising: a micro controller unit (MCU) ([0072] FIG. 11 shows apparatus 1100 for generating a digital stream in accordance with certain embodiments of the invention. Processor 1101 obtains content 1151, 1153 for services A and B through data interface 1105 and generates a data stream, which may comprise transport streams (TS) 1155 and 1157.),
configured to transmit a switch signal indicating transmitted image data being row data or compressed data ([0035] Signaling data includes both a static signaling part and dynamic signaling part, where the static signaling part and the dynamic signaling part include static and dynamic parameters, respectively, for the PLP mapping on the data stream. With an embodiment of the invention, configurable signaling data is static because it does not change over a frame interval for data 351. Consequently, configurable data (static signaling part) 301a, 301b, 301c, and 301d are the same. However, dynamic data 319a, 320a, 321a, and 322a may change over each frame. The PLP mapping for data symbols 323a, 324a, 325a, and 326a are contained in signaling data 319a/301a, 320a/301b, 321a/301c, and 322a/301d, respectively. Also, data symbols 323a, 324a, 325a, and 326a map to data symbols 323b, 324b, 325b, and 326b for frames 311, 313, 315, and 317, respectively.); and
comprising:
a memory ([0064] Each signaling segment is stored in memory in step 911 until all of the signaling segments are received for the configurable data);
a decompression unit ([0019] FIG. 9 shows a flow diagram for decoding physical layer post-signaling data in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.); and
a switching element, configured to store the row data into the memory according to the switch signal, or transmit the compressed data to the decompression unit to generate restored data ([0036] Because the dynamic signaling part may change from data frame to data frame, dynamic signaling data is mapped into each data frame, where dynamic data 319a, 320a, 321a, and 322a maps into dynamic data 319b, 320b, 321b, and 322b for frames 311, 313, 315, and 317, respectively. However, because configurable data 301a, 301b, 301c, and 301d are the same (static over frames 311, 313, 315, and 317), only configurable data 301a (which may include encoded bits) is mapped into output data 353 by segmenting configurable data 301a into data segments 303, 305, 307, and 309 corresponding to frames 311, 313, 315, and 317, respectively.),
which is then stored into the memory ([0064] In step 907, the signaling segment with configurable data in the current received frame is extracted. (With some embodiments of the invention, steps 905 and 907 may occur in a different order.) The L1-post dynamic (for the current frame) is received in order to find the position of the current frame within a super frame to enable the synchronization for the L1-post conf split over several frames. With some embodiments of the invention, if the L1-post conf synchronization can be found by some other means than L1-post dyn, the steps 905 and 907 can be performed in different order. Each signaling segment is stored in memory in step 911 until all of the signaling segments are received for the configurable data. (For example, for the configuration shown in FIG. 3, four signaling segments are extracted from four frames.) The configurable data may then be decoded in step 913 in accordance with the encoding of the transmitted configurable data in step 703 as shown in FIG. 7.).
While Pekonen teaches ([0074] Service selection 1261 is determined from a user (not shown) choosing a service through user interface 1209 and processor 1201. Processor 1201 then consequently provides service data 1263 to user interface 1209.)does not specifically teache a display device ([0074] Service selection 1261 is determined from a user (not shown) choosing a service through user interface 1209 and processor 1201. Processor 1201 then consequently provides service data 1263 to user interface 1209.), Pekonen does not expressly disclose a display device.
However, Jeong teaches a display device ([0024] display device 130). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the switching teachings of Pekonen with the display teachings of Jeong for the predictable benefit of providing a user with viewable video data.
For claim 2, Pekonen discloses wherein the host further comprises a flash configured to store the compressed data and the row data ([0073] Processor 1101 may execute computer executable instructions from a computer-readable medium, e.g., memory 1103. Computer storage media may include volatile and nonvolatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules or other data. Computer storage media include, but is not limited to, random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), electronically erasable programmable read only memory (EEPROM), flash memory or other memory technology).
For claim 3, Pekonen discloses wherein the compressed data is directly stored into the flash at a compressed status, or generated by compressing predetermined row data using a compression unit of the MCU and then stored into the flash ([0058] Configurable data is generated in step 701 and encoded in step 703. In step 705 the encoded configurable data is interleaved over the desired number of signaling segments in order to obtain time diversity. The signaling data may be stored in step 709 and subsequently transmitted through a digital terrestrial television broadcasting system in step 711.).
For claim 4, Pekonen discloses wherein the host is configured to transmit the row data or the compressed data to the display device via a transmission interface, and the transmission interface is selected from a 8080 interface, an SPI interface, an I2C interface and an MIPI interface ([0001] Devices interact typically with the physical layer through a synchronous parallel interface (SPI), synchronous serial interface (SSI), or asynchronous serial interface (ASI). Data is typically transmitted in MPEG-2 transport streams with some additional constraints (DVB-MPEG).).
For claim 5, Pekonen discloses wherein the compressed data comprises at least one of a base map, wallpaper and a fixed image file ([0042] The above approach may be applied to any data that is static (in size and content) during the interleaving/repetition period. (With the example shown in FIG. 3, data is static if the content remains the same over 4 frames.)).
within a displayed image to be shown on the display device ([0075] A user (not shown) chooses a service through user interface 1209 to generate service selection indication 1261 to processor 1201. Accordingly, processor 1201 selects PLPs 1257 and 1259 that are associated with the selected service in order to render the service on device 1207.).
For claim 6, Pekonen discloses wherein the row data comprises an image file, characters or values changing with time ([0036] Because the dynamic signaling part may change from data frame to data frame, dynamic signaling data is mapped into each data frame).
For claim 7, Pekonen discloses wherein the host is a smartphone, a notebook computer or a tablet computer, and the image display device is a wearable electronic device ([0074] FIG. 12 shows apparatus 1200 for processing a digital stream in accordance with some embodiments of the invention. Receiver 1205 processes RF signal 1251, e.g., a digital terrestrial television broadcast signal, to obtain PLPs 1253 and 1255. Service renderer 1207 forms streams 1257 and 1259 for selected services from PLPs 1253 and 1255 based on service selection 1261. Service selection 1261 is determined from a user (not shown) choosing a service through user interface 1209 and processor 1201. Processor 1201 then consequently provides service data 1263 to user interface 1209. [0075] A user (not shown) chooses a service through user interface 1209 to generate service selection indication 1261 to processor 1201. Accordingly, processor 1201 selects PLPs 1257 and 1259 that are associated with the selected service in order to render the service on device 1207.).
For claim 8, Pekonen discloses wherein the switch signal is sent prior to the transmitted image data [0060] FIG. 8 shows a mapping of signaling cells to P2 symbols before the frequency interleaver in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.
For claim 9, while Pokenon does not, Hass teaches wherein the compressed data is transmitted only in a low power state, and the row data is transmitted only in a normal state ([0004] Then again, the publication “Ultra-low Power OLED Microdisplay for Extended Battery Life” by Uwe Vogel et al., published in SID 2017 Digest, p. 1125-1128, describes a memory cell matrix circuit, of the SRAM (Static Random Access Memory) type. In this circuit, the image is stored in memory in a memory matrix and the state of the latter only changes when the data to be displayed changes. This type of circuit does not need to be refreshed periodically, it is a static display that is perfectly suitable for displays of the graphic type. Its main advantages are low consumption for static images or low change rate as well as the possibility of addressing the matrix directly by a microcontroller without passing through a video controller.). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the switching teachings of Pekonen with the display teachings of Hass for the predictable benefit of providing for Extended Battery Life.
For claim 10, while Pokenon does not, Hass teaches wherein the display device is configured to send a low power signal to the host upon entering the low power state, and the host is configured to transmit the compressed data after receiving the low power signal ([0073] The third use mode is a mixed mode referred to as overlay, which involves both the static portion 280 and the dynamic portion 270 of the circuit. The display of the sub-pixel 290 is controlled by the converter formed by T.sub.ANA 315. In this case, the display portion 390 allows both the video signal 31 and the stream coming from the various memory cells 355,360 to pass through.). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the switching teachings of Pekonen with the display teachings of Hass for the predictable benefit of providing for Extended Battery Life.
For claim 11, while Pokenon does not, Hass teaches wherein the host further comprises a flash and a first memory, and the MCU is further configured to read image data from the flash to be stored into the first memory for characters and images overlapping processing configured as the transmitted image data signal ([0073] . . . the display portion 390 allows both the video signal 31 and the stream coming from the various memory cells 355,360 to pass through. [0084] FIG. 7 shows a variant 500 of the first embodiment but able to be given in three embodiments. Said variant consists in adding a memory cell 505 connected to the gate of SW2 in each of the embodiments. Regardless of the polarization mode of the OLED, in voltage or in current, and regardless of the embodiment implementing SRAM type memories, said memory cell makes it possible to switch off the video data of the pixel to only leave the graphic channel on the pixel.). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the switching teachings of Pekonen with the display teachings of Hass for the predictable benefit of providing for Extended Battery Life.
For claim 12, while Pokenon does not, Hass teaches wherein the compressed data is transmitted to reduce system resource at the host end ([0060] . . . each L1-signaling part may obtain the best possible time diversity available for P2 symbols.). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the switching teachings of Pekonen with the display teachings of Hass for the predictable benefit of providing for Extended Battery Life.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Han; Yuoonman US 20210160415 A1 IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS AND METHOD
Wang; Xin et al. US 20200014906 A1 METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR IMMERSIVE MEDIA CONTENT OVERLAYS
Jin; Haipeng et al. US 20110016313 A1 HEADER COMPRESSION FOR TUNNELED IPsec PACKET
ENDO; Hiroharu US 20170221414 A1 TIMING CONTROLLER
Antunes; Joseph et al. US 20110243247 A1 METHOD OF DECODING A DVB SERVICE, METHOD OF MANAGING THE DECODING, ASSEMBLY OF A DVB-H RECEIVER AND OF A MEMORY AND TERMINAL
PRIEL; MICHAEL et al. US 20150348514 A1 A METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR ADAPTIVE GRAPHICS COMPRESSION AND DISPLAY BUFFER SWITCHING
Dunton; Randy R. US 20110109797 A1 Screen Filled Display of Digital Video Content
YI; Yunjung et al. US 20190190687 A1 METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR SUPPORTING MECHANISMS FOR FLEXIBLE DUPLEX OPERATIONS AT SYMBOL LEVEL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
HARADA; Kenji US 20100128019 A1 LIQUID CRYSTAL DISPLAY DEVICE
SHIN; Min Kyung et al. US 20250190697 A1 HALLUCINATION SCORING METHOD AND APPARATUS IN HALLUCINATION SCORING SYSTEM
Emoto; Norishige et al. US 20070182835 A1 Video information distribution and display system
SASAKI; Taiji et al. US 20110142426 A1 RECORDING MEDIUM, PLAYBACK DEVICE, AND INTEGRATED CIRCUIT
LIANG; Jr-Kai US 20240040155 A1 IMAGE DISPLAY SYSTEM SENDING COMPRESSED DATA
PARK; Jinyong et al. US 20220189364 A1 DISPLAY DRIVING CIRCUIT AND OPERATING METHOD FOR PERFORMING ENCODING AND DECODING
Matsueda, Yojiro US 20020158855 A1 Display device
Ghosh; Subir et al. US 20150138229 A1 SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR COMPOSITING A DISPLAY IMAGE FROM DISPLAY PLANES USING ENHANCED BIT-LEVEL BLOCK TRANSFER HARDWARE
HIGASHI; Masafumi et al. US 20200184615 A1 IMAGE PROCESSING DEVICE, IMAGE PROCESSING METHOD, AND IMAGE PROCESSING PROGRAM
Phillips; Chris et al. US 20210021908 A1 IMMERSIVE VIDEO WITH ADVERTISEMENT CONTENT
/NEIL R MIKESKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485