DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “performing skin pass rolling on the alloyed heat-treated steel sheet” and the phrase “the alloyed heat-treated steel sheet” lacks antecedent basis as only annealing is recited (i.e. heat treating) and no alloying of the sheet is recited. Claim 5 is included in this rejection as it depends upon a rejected claim. This may be overcome by amending to positively recite an alloying treatment or making claim 4 dependent upon claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitano et al. (JP2006-342412 – machine translation) in view of Blumenau et al. (WO2016/055227 – machine translation).
Considering claim 1, Kitano teaches a method of forming a steel sheet (abstract) comprising continuous casting an alloy comprising by mass C: 0.0040-0.02%, Si: ≤1.5%, Mn: 0.5-3.0%, P: 0.01-0.1%, S: ≤ 0.02%, N: ≤0.005%, sol. Al ≤1.0%, Mo: 0.3% or less, Ti: 0.005-1.0%, Nb: 0.02-0.2%, B: 0.003% or less and trace elements with the balance Fe and unavoidable impurities (Paragraphs 10 and 35-36). The steel is cast in a slab, reheating then hot rolling the slab, coiling the hot rolled steel sheet, cold rolling, annealing, and then subsequently hot dip galvanized in a zinc bath (Paragraphs 10, 19, 37, and 40). The casting rate Vc in m/min is 1 ≤ 4.5 – 0.5(12/93)(Nb/C) (Paragraph 11). However, Kitano does not teach the claimed Cu content.
In a related field of endeavor, Blumenau teaches a cold-rolled steel flat product (Paragraph 1) used in automotive body construction, etc. (Paragraphs 4-5). The steel consists by mass of C:0.0001-0.003%, Si: 0.001-0.025%, Mn: 0.05-0.20%, P: 0.001-0.015%, Al: 0.02-0.055%, Ti: 0.01-0.1%, the rest Fe and impurities (Paragraphs 60-68), optionally N: 0.001-0.004%, Mo: up to 0.015% (Paragraphs 69-73) and the content of B, Cu, etc. should not exceed 0.2 wt.% (Paragraph 168) with examples of Cu ranging from 0.011-0.017% (Table 1).
As both Kitano and Blumenau teach methods of forming steel sheets for automotive applications they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Kitano with the Cu content of Blumenau as this is considered a combination of conventionally known materials in a steel composition and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Modified Kitano teaches a method of manufacturing a plated steel sheet with composition and casting velocity overlapping that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Kitano teaches where the stab is heated to 1100-1300 °C then rolled finishing at 870-1250 °C (Paragraphs 19 and 37), coiled at 450-640 °C (Paragraph 37), cold rolled with a reduction of 50-90% (Paragraph 38), and annealed at 900 °C or less (Paragraph 39). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 3, Kitano teaches where after casting, the steel slab is cooled with water of 0.5-4.0 L/kg of steel (Paragraph 36). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 4, Blumenau teaches where the steel is subjected to skin pass working with a mean roughness Ra of 1.0-2.5 µm (Paragraph 199). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 5, Blumenau teaches where the skin pass degree (e.g. reduction ratio) is 0.4-0.7% (Paragraph 199). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 6, Kitano teaches where galvanized sheet is subsequently alloy heat treated at 530 °C (Paragraph 41).
Conclusion
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784