DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minagawa (US Patent Application No. 2021/0372895).
Regarding claim 1, Minagawa teaches a polymer coated substrate (page 1, paragraphs [0001], [0005]) comprising a glass substrate (page 3, paragraph [0037], page 5, paragraph [0064]) and a hydrophilic polymer layer (page 1, paragraphs [0001], [0005]) comprising a blend of hydrophilic polymers (page 6, paragraph [0071]), the hydrophilic polymer layer being on a surface of the glass substrate (page 1, paragraphs [0001], [0005], page 3, paragraph [0037], page 5, paragraph [0064]).
Minagawa does not disclose wherein the hydrophilic polymers have different molecular weights. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in molecular weights involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the molecular weight of the hydrophilic polymers of Minagawa in order to provide selective adsorption and adhesion to cancer cells (Minagawa, page 6, paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 2, Minagawa does not disclose wherein the hydrophilic polymers include hydrophilic polymers with a difference in number average molecular weight of 30000 or more. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in molecular weights involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the molecular weight of the hydrophilic polymers of Minagawa in order to provide selective adsorption and adhesion to cancer cells (Minagawa, page 6, paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 3, Minagawa does not disclose wherein the hydrophilic polymers include hydrophilic polymers include hydrophilic polymers with a difference in number average molecular weight of 50000 or more. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in molecular weights involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the molecular weight of the hydrophilic polymers of Minagawa in order to provide selective adsorption and adhesion to cancer cells (Minagawa, page 6, paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 4, Minagawa teach wherein the hydrophilic polymers include hydrophilic polymers represented by the following formula (I):
wherein R51 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group; R52 represents an alkyl group; p represents 1 to 8; m represents 1 to 5; and n represents the number of repetitions (page 1, paragraphs [0009], [0010]).
Regarding claim 5, Minagawa teach wherein the hydrophilic polymers include a copolymer of hydrophilic monomers represented by the following (II) below and a different monomer:
wherein R51 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group; R52 represents an alkyl group; p represents 1 to 8; and m represents 1 to 5 (page 1, paragraphs [0010]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 6, Minagawa teaches wherein the hydrophilic polymer layer has a thickness of 10 to 1000 nm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 30 to 3000 nm (page 1, paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Minagawa teaches wherein a scaffold protein is adsorbed onto a surface of the hydrophilic polymer layer, wherein the scaffold protein is fibronectin (page 1, paragraph [0014], page 7, paragraph [0089]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 9/16/2026