DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument(s):
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant argues “Kovacic and Kim, alone or in combination, fail to disclose the combination of features recited in claim 1. Certain example embodiments involve a first up-converting circuitry and a second up-converting circuitry that provide output terminals configured to provide first RF signals including phases different from each other and second RF signals including phases different from each other. The Office Action relies on the conversion/mixing 102a-102x and phase shifters 212a-212z as corresponding to the claimed first and second up-converting circuitry. In addition, the Office Action relies on the T/R switches 206 a, 206 b, ... 206 z of Kovacic as corresponding to the claimed one or more switches. As shown in Fig. 6B of Kovacic (reproduced below), Kovacic teaches that each of the switches and antennas combinations (e.g., switch 206a and antenna 207a and switch 206b and antenna 207b) recites a single signal from the respective phase shifters 212a-212z. However, Kovacic fails to disclose or suggest that any of the T/R switches 206 a, 206 b, ... 206 z are "configured to enable and/or disable an electrical connection between any one of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth output terminals and any one of the plurality of antennas," as called for in claim 1. As shown in Fig. 6B, each of the T/R switches 206 a, 206 b, ... 206 z is connected to a single shifter of the phase shifters 212a-212z providing a signal for output by the respective antenna. Switch 206 a, for example, merely switches between receiving a signal provided by the phase shifter 212a or transmitting a signal to the phase shifter 213a. None of the T/R switches 206 a, 206 b, ... 206 z connectable to different antennas of the antennas 207a -207z. The crossbar switch 103 of Kovacic also does not correspond to the claimed one or more switches because the crossbar switch 103 of Kovacic is not connectable to output terminals providing phase shifted first or second RF signals. As shown in Figs. 6A and 6B, the phase shifting is performed after the signals are passed through the cross bar. Moreover, Kovacic discloses a switch that enables a path for transmitting an up- converted signal (e.g., a radio frequency (RF) signal) to a phase shifter. In contrast, amended claim 1 recites a switch that enables a path for transmitting a signal for which phase shifting has already been completed to an antenna. Thus, Kovacic fails to disclose the first and second up-converting circuitry and the one or more switches of amended claim 1. Further, Kovacic fails to disclose a single circuitry capable of performing both up- converting and phase shifting. Since up-converting and phase shifting are performed separately in Kovacic, an insertion loss occurs in the path transmitting the up-converted signal to the phase shifter. Such insertion loss may cause distortion of the up-converted signal, thereby degrading performance when radiating a single signal (i.e., an up- converted signal including the same information) with different phases.”
Examiner’s Response:
Regarding the argument(s) set forth above, Examiner disagrees with the Applicant and submits that combination of Kovacic and Kim render claim 1 obvious because, given claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, Kovacic teaches a first up-converting circuitry and a second up-converting circuitry that provide output terminals configured to provide first RF signals including phases and second RF signals including phases (Fig. 4, data conversion/mixing 102a-102x and (i.e., first and second up-converting circuits) convert baseband signals outputted by baseband circuit 101 to RF signals, RF splitter 211 and phase shifters 212a-212z phase shift the RF signals, as a result, the combination of data conversion/mixing 102a-102x, RF splitter 211, and phase shifters 212a-212z are interpreted to be the first and second up-converting circuitries). And Kim teaches a multi-antenna device comprising n phase shifters that shift the upconverted signals (Fig. 2, phase shifters 107-1b to 107-nb), wherein the phases are different (paragraph [0039]). It is also, noted that, given the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, the first and second up-converting circuits may be interpreted to be the same since claim 1 does not specify that the first and second up-converting circuits. Kovacic further teaches T/R switches 206 a, 206 b, ... 206 z are configured to enable and/or disable an electrical connection between any one of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth output terminals and any one of the plurality of antennas since, given the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, T/R switches 206a-206z are collectively configured to enable and/or disable a electrical connection between any one of the plurality of output terminals a-z at the output of phase shifters 212a-212z and any one of the plurality of antennas (Fig. 6B, T/R switches 206a-206z, antennas 207a-207z). Examiner further disagrees with the Applicant regarding the argument that “Kovacic fails to disclose a single circuitry capable of performing both up- converting and phase shifting. Since up-converting and phase shifting are performed separately in Kovacic, an insertion loss occurs in the path transmitting the up-converted signal to the phase shifter. Such insertion loss may cause distortion of the up-converted signal, thereby degrading performance when radiating a single signal” since, given the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation, the up-converting circuitry could be interpreted to be the combination of data conversion/mixing 102a-102x, RF splitter 211, and phase shifters 212a-212z. Emphasis added.
For these reasons, the rejection is maintained and this Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacic (US 2022/0209836) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Kim”, US 2019/0115880).
As to claim 1, Kovacic teaches an electronic device comprising: a plurality of antennas including a first antenna, a second antenna, a third antenna, and a fourth antenna (Figs. 4 and 6B, antennas 106aa-106az and 207a-507z, paragraphs [0164], Figs. 4 and 6B shows that the number of antennas can be four); first up-converting circuitry configured to: obtain a first signal on a baseband, generate a first radio frequency (RF) signal by up-converting the first signal, and provide the first RF signal to output terminals of the first up- converting circuitry, each of the output terminals of the first up-converting circuitry being configured to output the first RF signal with a different phase, wherein the output terminals of the first up-converting circuitry a first output terminal configured to output a first radio frequency (RF) signal having a first phase, a second output terminal configured to output the first RF signal having a second phase, and a third output terminal configured to output the first RF signal having a third phase, (Figs. 4 and 6b, data conversion/mixing 102a-102x, phase shifters 212a-212z, paragraphs [0165]-[0166] and [0179]); second up-converting circuitry configured to: obtain a second signal on a baseband, generate a second RF signal by up-converting the second signal, and provide the second RF signal to output terminals of the second up- converting circuitry, each of the output terminals of the second up-converting circuitry being configured to output the second RF signal with a different phase, wherein the output terminals of the second up-converting circuitry include: a second input terminal configured to obtain a second signal on a baseband, a fourth output terminal configured to output a second RF signal having a fourth phase, a fifth output terminal configured to output the second RF signal having a fifth phase, and a sixth output terminal configured to output the second RF signal having a sixth phase, the second RF signal being converted from the second signal (Figs. 4 and 6b, data conversion/mixing 102a-102x, phase shifters 212a-212z, paragraphs [0165]-[0166] and [0179]); and one or more switches that are connected to the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth output terminals and connected to the plurality of antennas, wherein the one or more switches are configured to enable and/or disable an electrical connection between any one of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth output terminals and any one of the plurality of antennas (Fig. 6B, switches 206a-206z, paragraphs [0176] and [0179]).
Kovacic does not expressly teach that the first phase, the second phase, and the third phase being different from each other; and the fourth phase, the fifth phase, and the sixth phase being different from each other.
Kim further teaches a multi-antenna device comprising n phase shifters that shift the upconverted signals (Fig. 2, phase shifters 107-1b to 107-nb), wherein the phases are different (paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the first phase, the second phase, and the third phase being different from each other; and the fourth phase, the fifth phase, and the sixth phase being different from each other in order to control phases of the signals inputted to the plurality of antennas to perform beamforming.
As to claim 20, Kovacic further teaches the first phase of the first RF signal provided to the first antenna using the one or more switches for a transmission to a first external electronic device (Figs. 1, 6B, and 8, phase shifters, switches, and antennas) corresponds to a phase used for receiving a RF signal from the first external electronic device through the first antenna (Fig. 8, phase shifter 322a is shared among RF transmit chain/path and RF receive chain/path, paragraph [0203]), wherein the second phase of the first RF signal provided to the second antenna using the one or more switches for a transmission to the first external electronic device corresponds to a phase used for receiving a RF signal from the first external electronic device through the second antenna (Fig. 8, phase shifter 322b is shared among RF transmit chain/path and RF receive chain/path, paragraph [0203]), wherein the fourth phase of the second RF signal provided to the third antenna using the one or more switches for a transmission to a second external electronic device corresponds to a phase used for receiving a RF signal from the second external electronic device through the third antenna (Fig. 8, another phase shifter 322 is shared among RF transmit chain/path and RF receive chain/path, paragraph [0203]), and wherein the fifth phase of the second RF signal provided to the fourth antenna using the one or more switches for a transmission to the second external electronic device corresponds to a phase used for receiving a RF signal from the second external electronic device through the fourth antenna (Fig. 8, another phase shifter 322 is shared among RF transmit chain/path and RF receive chain/path, paragraph [0203]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRESHTEH N AGHDAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 6/17/2026