DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18967416 filed 12/03/2024 claims foreign priority to 2024-001755, filed 01/10/2024.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 01/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claim limitations “a setting unit” (claims 1-13), “a management unit" (claims 1-13) and “control unit” (claims 1-13) have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “configured to” coupled with functional language “set a UI screen” (claims 1-13) and “in a case where the user changes a setting value on the UI screen in the state of the set type to execute the job, store the changed setting value” (claims 1-13) and “in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, display the UI screen” (claims 1-13) without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-3 and 5-7 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification, referenced by the PGPUB, for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
• “a setting unit” – Specification [0116], line 3 – It appears that the corresponding structure is a processor.
• “a management unit" – Specification [0116], line 3– It appears that the corresponding structure is a processor.
• “control unit" – Specification [0116], line 3– It appears that the corresponding structure is a processor.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US 2017/0085730) in view of Watariuchi (US 2015/0188748).
Regarding claim 1, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP) executing a job relating to image processing, the image forming apparatus comprising (With reference to a block diagram in FIG. 1, a description is given of the hardware configuration of a multifunction peripheral (MFP) 103, which is an example of the job processing apparatus according to the first exemplary embodiment of the present invention, [0022], lines 1-2):
a setting unit configured to set a UI screen corresponding to an application for executing the job so that the UI screen is in a state of a type selected by a user from a plurality of types (FIG. 4A is a copy execution screen 400 on which default copy job settings are reflected. The values of default job settings are reflected by, for example, importing Extensible Markup Language (XML) data describing the values of the default job settings. The default job settings may be device settings, group settings, or individual settings. This XML data is stored in the storage device 120. For example, the user can optionally set the number of copies 401 (e.g., “1”, “5”, or “10”) through the numeric keypad. Further, for example, the user presses a color selection button 402 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select a color to be output (e.g., “full-color”, “monochrome”, or “unicolor”), [0071], lines 1-4, [0072], lines 1-3);
a management unit configured to, in a case where the user changes a setting value on the UI screen in the state of the set type to execute the job, store the changed setting value associated with information on the set type (FIG. 4A is a copy execution screen 400 on which default copy job settings are reflected. The values of default job settings are reflected by, for example, importing Extensible Markup Language (XML) data describing the values of the default job settings. The default job settings may be device settings, group settings, or individual settings. This XML data is stored in the storage device 120. For example, the user can optionally set the number of copies 401 (e.g., “1”, “5”, or “10”) through the numeric keypad. Further, for example, the user presses a color selection button 402 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select a color to be output (e.g., “full-color”, “monochrome”, or “unicolor”). FIG. 4B is a copy execution screen 410 on which copy job settings changed from the default copy job settings are reflected. In an example of FIG. 4B, as the copy job settings, the type of finishing is changed to “stapling”, and the type of two-sided copying is changed to “two-sided.fwdarw.two-sided”. The setting value storage control unit 154 can store, in addition to the display language setting, accessibility settings such as a screen color reversal setting, a key repeat speed setting, a brightness/luminance setting, and a sound volume setting, and settings for controlling a job of each function (referred to as “job settings”). In the case of the copy function, for example, the setting value storage control unit 154 can store a color, finishing, two-sided copying, and a density as the job settings, [0071], lines 1-4, [0072], lines 1-3, [0074], lines 1-3, [0080], lines 1-5); and
Maeda does not specifically disclose concept of control unit configured to, in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, display the UI screen in a state of the other type using a setting value associated with information on the other type out of setting values stored by the management unit.
However, Watariuchi specifically teaches concept of control unit configured to, in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, display the UI screen in a state of the other type using a setting value associated with information on the other type out of setting values stored by the management unit (A value 503 is a common setting value desired by the tenant. "2 in 1" is set in "copy_settings.nup". This indicates that it is desired to set "2 in 1" in all of the image forming apparatuses held by a tenant. A tenant configuration data updating unit 355 updates tenant configuration data held by the tenant configuration data holding unit 354. A service person who manages the image forming apparatuses held by the tenant or a manager of the image forming apparatus may update the tenant configuration data. The update instruction by the service person is performed on a setting screen that is displayed on a web browser running on the terminal device 102B in the service person environment 110, [0075], lines 3-5, [0076], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Maeda with concept of control unit configured to, in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, display the UI screen in a state of the other type using a setting value associated with information on the other type out of setting values stored by the management unit of Watariuchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system that manages a setting value (configuration data) for switching the operations of an image forming apparatus at collective management, (Watariuchi, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 2, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), wherein the management unit stores the changed setting values associated with information on the plurality of types in a nonvolatile storage unit (FIG. 4A is a copy execution screen 400 on which default copy job settings are reflected. The values of default job settings are reflected by, for example, importing Extensible Markup Language (XML) data describing the values of the default job settings. The default job settings may be device settings, group settings, or individual settings. This XML data is stored in the storage device 120. For example, the user can optionally set the number of copies 401 (e.g., “1”, “5”, or “10”) through the numeric keypad. Further, for example, the user presses a color selection button 402 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select a color to be output (e.g., “full-color”, “monochrome”, or “unicolor”). FIG. 4B is a copy execution screen 410 on which copy job settings changed from the default copy job settings are reflected. In an example of FIG. 4B, as the copy job settings, the type of finishing is changed to “stapling”, and the type of two-sided copying is changed to “two-sided.fwdarw.two-sided”. The setting value storage control unit 154 can store, in addition to the display language setting, accessibility settings such as a screen color reversal setting, a key repeat speed setting, a brightness/luminance setting, and a sound volume setting, and settings for controlling a job of each function (referred to as “job settings”). In the case of the copy function, for example, the setting value storage control unit 154 can store a color, finishing, two-sided copying, and a density as the job settings, [0071], lines 1-4, [0072], lines 1-3, [0074], lines 1-3, [0080], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), further comprising the nonvolatile storage unit (In a first exemplary embodiment, setting information of a job received from a user having logged into a job processing apparatus is stored in a storage unit in association with identification information of the user. Embodiment(s) of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’), [0021], lines 1-2, [0147], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), wherein types set by the setting unit includes a first type different from the plurality of types, and the management unit does not store, in the nonvolatile storage unit, a setting value changed by the user on the UI screen in a state of the first type to execute a job (user can optionally set the number of copies 401 (e.g., “1”, “5”, or “10”) through the numeric keypad. Further, for example, the user presses a color selection button 402 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select a color to be output (e.g., “full-color”, “monochrome”, or “unicolor”). Further, for example, the user presses a magnification button 403 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can set the magnification (e.g., “equal magnification (100%)”, “70%”, “141%”, or “automatic”). Further, for example, the user presses a sheet selection button 404 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select the sheet feeding source of sheets to be used for printing (e.g., “automatic”, “cassette 1: A4”, “cassette 2: A3”, or “manual-bypass tray”), [0072], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 5, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), wherein the control unit, in a case where the UI screen in the state of the first type is displayed, displays the UI screen on which a setting value is an initial value (The setting value storage control unit 154 can store, in addition to the display language setting, accessibility settings such as a screen color reversal setting, a key repeat speed setting, a brightness/luminance setting, and a sound volume setting, and settings for controlling a job of each function (referred to as “job settings”), [0080], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), wherein the control unit, in a case where the user gives an instruction to execute the job on the UI screen in the state of the first type, displays the UI screen on which the setting value is the initial value (The setting value storage control unit 154 can store, in addition to the display language setting, accessibility settings such as a screen color reversal setting, a key repeat speed setting, a brightness/luminance setting, and a sound volume setting, and settings for controlling a job of each function (referred to as “job settings”). In the case of the copy function, for example, the setting value storage control unit 154 can store a color, finishing, two-sided copying, and a density as the job settings, [0080], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), further comprising a display unit configured to display the UI screen (The setting value storage control unit 154 can store, in addition to the display language setting, accessibility settings such as a screen color reversal setting, a key repeat speed setting, a brightness/luminance setting, and a sound volume setting, and settings for controlling a job of each function (referred to as “job settings”), [0080], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), wherein information indicating a state of a currently set type is stored in a nonvolatile storage unit, and the control unit, in a case where the application is activated to display the UI screen, displays the UI screen corresponding to the information indicating the state of the currently set type stored in the storage unit (When a user logs into the MFP 103, the setting value storage control unit 154 reads individual setting values (or device setting values) from the storage device 120 and reflects the read setting values on various settings of the MFP 103. This enables the user having logged into the MFP 103 to use the MFP 103 in the state where the individual setting values (or the device setting values) are reflected. Control unit 153 stores an identifier for uniquely identifying the job, a user identifier (an authentication ID) of the owner of the job, information indicating the type of the job, and information indicating the status (the state or the progress state) of the job, in the storage device 120 in association with each other, [0081], lines 1-4, [0082], lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 9, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), wherein the control unit displays at least a portion of a background of the UI screen differently for each of the plurality of types (interrupt control unit 155 manages information of a job that is being executed in the background. The storage device 120 stores, as information of a job that is being executed in the background, for example, a job identifier, a user identifier of the owner of the job, information regarding whether the job is being executed in the background, and information regarding whether an error occurs in the job. Next, an example of the authentication screen displayed on the display 119 is described. For example, according to the fact that a key (hereinafter referred to as an “authentication key”) for calling the authentication screen is pressed, the authentication screen is displayed on the display 119. [0084], lines 1-4, [0085], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP),
Maeda does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the setting unit, in a case where a user operation for pressing a predetermined tab included in the UI screen is performed, changes a currently set type to the other type.
However, Watariuchi specifically teaches concept of wherein the setting unit, in a case where a user operation for pressing a predetermined tab included in the UI screen is performed, changes a currently set type to the other type (A value 503 is a common setting value desired by the tenant. "2 in 1" is set in "copy_settings.nup". This indicates that it is desired to set "2 in 1" in all of the image forming apparatuses held by a tenant. A tenant configuration data updating unit 355 updates tenant configuration data held by the tenant configuration data holding unit 354. A service person who manages the image forming apparatuses held by the tenant or a manager of the image forming apparatus may update the tenant configuration data. The update instruction by the service person is performed on a setting screen that is displayed on a web browser running on the terminal device 102B in the service person environment 110, [0075], lines 3-5, [0076], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Maeda with concept of wherein the setting unit, in a case where a user operation for pressing a predetermined tab included in the UI screen is performed, changes a currently set type to the other type of Watariuchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system that manages a setting value (configuration data) for switching the operations of an image forming apparatus at collective management, (Watariuchi, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 11, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), further comprising a scanner, wherein the application is an application that executes a job for transmitting scanned image data obtained by the scanner scanning a document (The controller unit 100 of the MFP 103 is connected to a scanner unit 200, which is an image input device, and a printer unit 300, which is an image output device. The controller unit 100 controls the input and output of image information. The scanner unit 200 includes an automatic document feeding unit 450 and an image reading unit 190, which will be described below with reference to FIG. 2. The automatic document feeding unit 450 conveys documents stacked in a document tray. The image reading unit 190 reads an image of each document using an optical sensor such as a charge-coupled device (CCD) sensor. Then, the image reading unit 190 transfers image data generated by reading the image of the document to the controller unit 100, [0027], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 12, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP),
Maeda does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the management unit, in a case where the user changes the setting value on the UI screen, updates the setting value associated with information on a type indicated on the UI screen into the changed setting value.
However, Watariuchi specifically teaches concept of wherein the management unit, in a case where the user changes the setting value on the UI screen, updates the setting value associated with information on a type indicated on the UI screen into the changed setting value (A value 503 is a common setting value desired by the tenant. "2 in 1" is set in "copy_settings.nup". This indicates that it is desired to set "2 in 1" in all of the image forming apparatuses held by a tenant. A tenant configuration data updating unit 355 updates tenant configuration data held by the tenant configuration data holding unit 354. A service person who manages the image forming apparatuses held by the tenant or a manager of the image forming apparatus may update the tenant configuration data. The update instruction by the service person is performed on a setting screen that is displayed on a web browser running on the terminal device 102B in the service person environment 110, [0075], lines 3-5, [0076], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Maeda with concept of wherein the management unit, in a case where the user changes the setting value on the UI screen, updates the setting value associated with information on a type indicated on the UI screen into the changed setting value of Watariuchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system that manages a setting value (configuration data) for switching the operations of an image forming apparatus at collective management, (Watariuchi, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Maeda discloses image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP), wherein job setting by the user is received without authenticating the user (FIG. 4A is a copy execution screen 400 on which default copy job settings are reflected. The values of default job settings are reflected by, for example, importing Extensible Markup Language (XML) data describing the values of the default job settings. The default job settings may be device settings, group settings, or individual settings. This XML data is stored in the storage device 120. For example, the user can optionally set the number of copies 401 (e.g., “1”, “5”, or “10”) through the numeric keypad. Further, for example, the user presses a color selection button 402 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select a color to be output (e.g., “full-color”, “monochrome”, or “unicolor”). FIG. 4B is a copy execution screen 410 on which copy job settings changed from the default copy job settings are reflected. In an example of FIG. 4B, as the copy job settings, the type of finishing is changed to “stapling”, and the type of two-sided copying is changed to “two-sided.fwdarw.two-sided”. The setting value storage control unit 154 can store, in addition to the display language setting, accessibility settings such as a screen color reversal setting, a key repeat speed setting, a brightness/luminance setting, and a sound volume setting, and settings for controlling a job of each function (referred to as “job settings”). In the case of the copy function, for example, the setting value storage control unit 154 can store a color, finishing, two-sided copying, and a density as the job settings, [0071], lines 1-4, [0072], lines 1-3, [0074], lines 1-3, [0080], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, Maeda discloses method for controlling an image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP) executing a job relating to image processing, the method comprising (With reference to a block diagram in FIG. 1, a description is given of the hardware configuration of a multifunction peripheral (MFP) 103, which is an example of the job processing apparatus according to the first exemplary embodiment of the present invention, [0022], lines 1-2):
setting a UI screen corresponding to an application for executing the job so that the UI screen is in a state of a type selected by a user from a plurality of types (FIG. 4A is a copy execution screen 400 on which default copy job settings are reflected. The values of default job settings are reflected by, for example, importing Extensible Markup Language (XML) data describing the values of the default job settings. The default job settings may be device settings, group settings, or individual settings. This XML data is stored in the storage device 120. For example, the user can optionally set the number of copies 401 (e.g., “1”, “5”, or “10”) through the numeric keypad. Further, for example, the user presses a color selection button 402 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select a color to be output (e.g., “full-color”, “monochrome”, or “unicolor”), [0071], lines 1-4, [0072], lines 1-3);
in a case where the user changes a setting value on the UI screen in the state of the set type to execute the job, storing the changed setting value associated with information on the set type (FIG. 4A is a copy execution screen 400 on which default copy job settings are reflected. The values of default job settings are reflected by, for example, importing Extensible Markup Language (XML) data describing the values of the default job settings. The default job settings may be device settings, group settings, or individual settings. This XML data is stored in the storage device 120. For example, the user can optionally set the number of copies 401 (e.g., “1”, “5”, or “10”) through the numeric keypad. Further, for example, the user presses a color selection button 402 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select a color to be output (e.g., “full-color”, “monochrome”, or “unicolor”). FIG. 4B is a copy execution screen 410 on which copy job settings changed from the default copy job settings are reflected. In an example of FIG. 4B, as the copy job settings, the type of finishing is changed to “stapling”, and the type of two-sided copying is changed to “two-sided.fwdarw.two-sided”. The setting value storage control unit 154 can store, in addition to the display language setting, accessibility settings such as a screen color reversal setting, a key repeat speed setting, a brightness/luminance setting, and a sound volume setting, and settings for controlling a job of each function (referred to as “job settings”). In the case of the copy function, for example, the setting value storage control unit 154 can store a color, finishing, two-sided copying, and a density as the job settings, [0071], lines 1-4, [0072], lines 1-3, [0074], lines 1-3, [0080], lines 1-5); and
Maeda does not specifically disclose concept of in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, displaying the UI screen in a state of the other type using a setting value associated with information on the other type out of stored setting values.
However, Watariuchi specifically teaches concept of in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, displaying the UI screen in a state of the other type using a setting value associated with information on the other type out of stored setting values (A value 503 is a common setting value desired by the tenant. "2 in 1" is set in "copy_settings.nup". This indicates that it is desired to set "2 in 1" in all of the image forming apparatuses held by a tenant. A tenant configuration data updating unit 355 updates tenant configuration data held by the tenant configuration data holding unit 354. A service person who manages the image forming apparatuses held by the tenant or a manager of the image forming apparatus may update the tenant configuration data. The update instruction by the service person is performed on a setting screen that is displayed on a web browser running on the terminal device 102B in the service person environment 110, [0075], lines 3-5, [0076], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Maeda with concept of in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, displaying the UI screen in a state of the other type using a setting value associated with information on the other type out of stored setting values of Watariuchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system that manages a setting value (configuration data) for switching the operations of an image forming apparatus at collective management, (Watariuchi, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 15, Maeda discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program which causes a computer to perform a method for controlling an image forming apparatus (fig. 1 item 103, MFP) executing a job relating to image processing, the method comprising (Embodiment(s) of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) for performing the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s), and by a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or controlling the one or more circuits to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s), [0147], lines 1-8):
setting a UI screen corresponding to an application for executing the job so that the UI screen is in a state of a type selected by a user from a plurality of types (FIG. 4A is a copy execution screen 400 on which default copy job settings are reflected. The values of default job settings are reflected by, for example, importing Extensible Markup Language (XML) data describing the values of the default job settings. The default job settings may be device settings, group settings, or individual settings. This XML data is stored in the storage device 120. For example, the user can optionally set the number of copies 401 (e.g., “1”, “5”, or “10”) through the numeric keypad. Further, for example, the user presses a color selection button 402 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select a color to be output (e.g., “full-color”, “monochrome”, or “unicolor”), [0071], lines 1-4, [0072], lines 1-3);
in a case where the user changes a setting value on the UI screen in the state of the set type to execute the job, storing the changed setting value associated with information on the set type (FIG. 4A is a copy execution screen 400 on which default copy job settings are reflected. The values of default job settings are reflected by, for example, importing Extensible Markup Language (XML) data describing the values of the default job settings. The default job settings may be device settings, group settings, or individual settings. This XML data is stored in the storage device 120. For example, the user can optionally set the number of copies 401 (e.g., “1”, “5”, or “10”) through the numeric keypad. Further, for example, the user presses a color selection button 402 on the copy execution screen 400 and thereby can select a color to be output (e.g., “full-color”, “monochrome”, or “unicolor”). FIG. 4B is a copy execution screen 410 on which copy job settings changed from the default copy job settings are reflected. In an example of FIG. 4B, as the copy job settings, the type of finishing is changed to “stapling”, and the type of two-sided copying is changed to “two-sided.fwdarw.two-sided”. The setting value storage control unit 154 can store, in addition to the display language setting, accessibility settings such as a screen color reversal setting, a key repeat speed setting, a brightness/luminance setting, and a sound volume setting, and settings for controlling a job of each function (referred to as “job settings”). In the case of the copy function, for example, the setting value storage control unit 154 can store a color, finishing, two-sided copying, and a density as the job settings, [0071], lines 1-4, [0072], lines 1-3, [0074], lines 1-3, [0080], lines 1-5); and
Maeda does not specifically disclose concept of in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, displaying the UI screen in a state of the other type using a setting value associated with information on the other type out of stored setting values.
However, Watariuchi specifically teaches concept of in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, displaying the UI screen in a state of the other type using a setting value associated with information on the other type out of stored setting values (A value 503 is a common setting value desired by the tenant. "2 in 1" is set in "copy_settings.nup". This indicates that it is desired to set "2 in 1" in all of the image forming apparatuses held by a tenant. A tenant configuration data updating unit 355 updates tenant configuration data held by the tenant configuration data holding unit 354. A service person who manages the image forming apparatuses held by the tenant or a manager of the image forming apparatus may update the tenant configuration data. The update instruction by the service person is performed on a setting screen that is displayed on a web browser running on the terminal device 102B in the service person environment 110, [0075], lines 3-5, [0076], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Maeda with concept of in a case where a currently set type is changed to another type based on selection by the user, displaying the UI screen in a state of the other type using a setting value associated with information on the other type out of stored setting values of Watariuchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system that manages a setting value (configuration data) for switching the operations of an image forming apparatus at collective management, (Watariuchi, [0002], lines 2-3).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681