Response to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Amendments and Remarks filed on 05/04/2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follow:
Regarding the Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 101: Applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The examiner agrees that the internal and external camera units that work cooperatively based on user eye gaze and the specific image processing techniques integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the 101 claim rejections are withdrawn.
Regarding the Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant has amended the independent claim and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application and the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached below in the FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
However, since the examiner is using the same cited prior art for the claimed subject matter, the examiner will address the remarks that remain relevant.
On page 10, applicant submits that Boykin does not teach the limitation “transmitting a message to the at least one object.” The claim does not limit how the message is transmitted or what kind of message. Therefore, Boykin does teach transmitting a message to a selected object by activating a light bar after an object has been selected. The activation of a light sends the message of someone is here to help. If applicant wants the limitation of “transmitting a message” to only include inter-vehicle communication or sending a message to an electronic device, then it needs to be included in the claim language. Additionally, Boykin does teach providing an alert notification to any other vehicle that may be nearby or heading in the general direction of the detected object of interest [Boykin ¶ 0063]. It would have been obvious to send an alert to the object of interest as well with predictable results.
On page 11, applicant submits "The objects identified in Mohan are advertisement boards, physical shops, and billboards, rather than tourist attractions, public places, and places of interest." Under broadest reasonable interpretation, physical shops are considered public places or places of interest. The examiner is confused by applicant’s statement of “the objects are identified through recognition of text or an image relating to the object, rather than the object itself as claimed.” Applicant’s claims are directed towards “obtain one or more images captured by one or more cameras of the external camera unit”. Therefore, applicant is also identifying objects by an image relating to/taken of the object.
On page 11, applicant submits “Mohan is silent as to adding the location of the selected object as a destination in a navigation system of the vehicle.” Claim 9 only requires “at least one of” either providing information or adding a location which means only one of the two actions needs to be rejected. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
On page 11, applicant submits “Mohan does not teach providing information about the object of interest as described in the present application, such as a name of the object, its exact geolocation, parking possibilities, and official website, phone number, and so on.” The examiner submits that providing information is much broader than the examples given in the specification. Therefore, if desired, applicant must amend the claim language to limit what type of information is provided to align with the examples given in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohan (US PGPub 2020/0073520) in view of Boykin (US PGPub 2018/0025636).
Regarding claim 1, Mohan discloses A driver assistance system of a vehicle, comprising:
a processing unit positioned in the vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0038 "The microprocessor 202a may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces, and/or code that may be configured to execute a set of instructions stored in the memory 204." And Figure 2 a vehicle 102 and microprocessor 202a]; and
an internal camera unit configured to track an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0022 "In accordance with an embodiment, the first plurality of image sensors 110a to 110e may be configured to capture a plurality of images of the occupant 104 inside the vehicle 102. The captured plurality of images may be utilized to determine user information such as a head position and an eye gaze of one or more occupants including the occupant 104 of the vehicle 102. "];
an external camera unit configured to image a surrounding environment of the vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0023 " In accordance with an embodiment, the second image sensor 112 may further include a plurality of image sensors (not shown) to capture the 360-degree view of the surroundings of the vehicle 102."]; and
non-transitory memory storing instructions that when executed cause the processing unit to [Mohan ¶ 0038 "The microprocessor 202a may comprise suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces, and/or code that may be configured to execute a set of instructions stored in the memory 204."]:
receive a first user input from an occupant of the vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The disclosed media display system may include a first image sensor, inside the vehicle, to determine user information, such as a head position/an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle, to determine a direction-of-view of the occupant."];
in response to the first user input, obtain one or more images captured by one or more cameras of the external camera unit in a direction based on the eye gaze tracked by the internal camera unit [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The media display system may further include a second image sensor, outside the vehicle, to capture a portion of a view surrounding the vehicle based on the determined direction-of-view of the occupant."];
identify, within the one or more images, one or more objects corresponding to the first user input [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The media display system further controls display of the captured portion of the view surrounding the vehicle on a display medium. Each image frame of a set of image frames in the displayed portion of the view surrounding the vehicle may include one or more objects-of-interest of the occupant."]; and
display the one or more images on the display device [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The media display system further controls display of the captured portion of the view surrounding the vehicle on a display medium. Each image frame of a set of image frames in the displayed portion of the view surrounding the vehicle may include one or more objects-of-interest of the occupant."];
receive second user input selecting at least one object of the one or more objects [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The disclosed media display system may receive a selection of desired object-of-interest from the occupant and may further recognize the selected object-of-interest and communicate with a content source related to the selected object-of-interest."];
Mohand does not teach take one or more actions based on the selected at least one object of the one or more objects, wherein the selected at least one object is a vehicle or person, and the action comprises transmitting a message to the selected at least one object.
However, in a related field of invention, Boykin does teach wherein the selected at least one object is a vehicle or person, and the action comprises transmitting a message to the selected at least one object [Boykin ¶ 0063 “Alert notifications and/or images and metadata may also be sent to any other vehicle or officer that may be nearby or heading in the general direction of the detected object of interest.” And ¶ 0067 "(v) Activating a hardware function—In addition to or instead of the activation of data recording (iii, above), equipment or systems may be activated depending on the detected content (e.g., automatic activation of the vehicle's light bar if a crash scene is detected). " The message of someone is there to help is indicated by the light bar being activated and is transmitted to the vehicles and people involved in the crash. Additionally, an alert can be sent to other vehicles.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the object identification system using a first and second user input as taught by Mohan with transmitting a message to said object as taught by Boykin in order to create a more effective and useable system.
Regarding claim 3, Mohan and Boykin teach claim 1. Mohan further teaches wherein the selected at least one object is a place or object of interest, and wherein the action comprises at least one of:
providing information about the selected at least one object to the occupant of the vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The disclosed media display system may further receive a real-time or near-real time video feed from the content source to provide the AR/VR shopping experience to the occupant while travelling."], and
adding a location of the selected at least one object as a destination in a navigation system of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 5, Mohan as modified by Boykin teaches claim 2. Boykin further teaches wherein the selected at least one object is a vehicle or person, and the action comprises at least one of:
storing one or more images captured by the external camera unit in the non-transitory memory [Boykin ¶ 0065 " (iii) Activating data recording—An onboard storage device may start saving the information being captured by the camera device. Other camera devices in the vehicle can be triggered to start recording. The captured information may also be transmitted concurrently via the communication network to be stored at the police station or another location."];
adjusting one or more vehicle operation states; and
transmitting a message to an appropriate authority [Boykin ¶ 0063 "(i) Providing an alert—The officer may be given a visual and/or audible alert on his vehicle display that a positive match has been detected. An alert may also be sent via the communication network to the police station or other locations"].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the object identification system using a first and second user input as taught by Mohan with transmitting a message to an authority or storing images as taught by Boykin in order to create a more effective and useable system.
Regarding claim 6, Mohan and Boykin teach claim 1. Mohan further teaches wherein the one or more image are obtained from temporary memory, wherein the temporary memory is configured to store images for a buffer period of time that is adjustable based on a speed of the vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0076 "The sliding window buffer 204a may be configured to store a predetermined number of image frames. In accordance with an embodiment, the microprocessor 202a may be configured to determine the predetermined number based on the speed of the vehicle 102 and a storage capacity of the sliding window buffer 204a."].
Regarding claim 7, Mohan and Boykin teach claim 1. Mohan further teaches wherein the non-transitory memory stores further instructions that when executed cause the processing unit to:
identify the one or more images from a larger set of images based on one or more secondary inputs relating to the first user input, wherein the one or more secondary inputs include at least one of:
eye-gaze tracking information obtained by interior vehicle cameras, the eye-gaze tracking information indicating a region in which the one or more objects are located; and
region information included in the first user input [Mohan ¶ 0075 "The first set of image frames 502 may include the second view surrounding the vehicle 102 which may be captured by the second image sensor 112 in the determined direction-of-view of the occupant 104."].
Regarding claim 8, Mohan and Boykin teach claim 1. Mohan further teaches wherein to obtain the one or more images, the processing unit is configured to cause the one or more cameras of the external camera unit to capture new images specific to the first user input [Mohan ¶ 0032 "the media display system 108 may be further configured to control the second image sensor 112 (disposed outside the vehicle 102) to capture a first portion of a second view surrounding the vehicle 102 in the determined direction-of-view of the occupant 104."].
Regarding claim 9, Mohan teaches A method for a driver assistance system, comprising:
receiving a first user input from an occupant of a vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The disclosed media display system may include a first image sensor, inside the vehicle, to determine user information, such as a head position/an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle, to determine a direction-of-view of the occupant."];
in response to the first user input, obtaining one or more images of a surrounding environment of the vehicle captured by an external camera unit in a direction based on an eye gaze tracked by an internal camera unit [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The media display system may further include a second image sensor, outside the vehicle, to capture a portion of a view surrounding the vehicle based on the determined direction-of-view of the occupant."];
receiving a second user input from the occupant of the vehicle, the second user input including a selection of at least one of the one or more highlighted objects [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The disclosed media display system may receive a selection of desired object-of-interest from the occupant and may further recognize the selected object-of-interest and communicate with a content source related to the selected object-of-interest."]; and
wherein each object of the one or more objects comprises one of a tourist attraction, a public place, and a place of interest [Mohan ¶ 0017 “The one or more objects-of-interest may include road-side physical shop, advertisement boards, billboards, sale offers, a logo, products within the physical shop) located in the surrounding of the vehicle which the occupant may want to purchase while moving.”]
causing an action to be performed in response to the second user input, wherein the action comprises at least one of providing information about the selected at least one object to the occupant of the vehicle and adding a location of the selected at least one object as a destination in a navigation system of the vehicle. [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The disclosed media display system may further receive a real-time or near-real time video feed from the content source to provide the AR/VR shopping experience to the occupant while travelling."].
Mohan does not teach based on the first user input, identifying one or more objects in the one or more images, annotating the one or more images to highlight the one or more objects, and displaying at least one of the one or more annotated images by means of a display unit.
However, in a related field of invention, Boykin does teach
based on the first user input, identifying one or more objects in the one or more images, wherein each object of the one or more objects comprises one of a tourist attraction, a public place, and a place of interest; [Boykin ¶ 0071 "The collection and processing of image data may be stopped and started as desired by a user (e.g. an officer in the vehicle) entering a command (e.g., a voice command or a command that is typed/keyed/entered by touchpad) or pushing a button on the computer 12 or on a BWC 29, or by another incoming communication (e.g. from the alert dispatching source) instructing the computer 12 to cancel or start/resume the particular search/analysis."];
annotating the one or more images to highlight the one or more objects [Boykin ¶ 0064 "[0064] (ii) Displaying an image—A video or still image of the detected content may be displayed on the vehicle display. A snapshot (such as video frame 20, 30 or 40) can be displayed, highlighting or putting a bounding box (such as 21, 31, or 41) around the object detected, "];
displaying at least one of the one or more annotated images by means of a display unit [Boykin ¶ 0064 "[0064] (ii) Displaying an image—A video or still image of the detected content may be displayed on the vehicle display. A snapshot (such as video frame 20, 30 or 40) can be displayed, highlighting or putting a bounding box (such as 21, 31, or 41) around the object detected, "];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the object identification system using a first and second user input as taught by Mohan with displaying annotated images as taught by Boykin in order to create a more effective and useable system for identifying objects of interest.
Regarding claim 11, Mohan as modified by Boykin teaches claim 9. Boykin further teaches wherein the selected at least one object is a vehicle or person, and the action comprises transmitting a message to the selected at least one object [Boykin ¶ 0067 "(v) Activating a hardware function—In addition to or instead of the activation of data recording (iii, above), equipment or systems may be activated depending on the detected content (e.g., automatic activation of the vehicle's light bar if a crash scene is detected). " The message of someone is there to help is indicated by the light bar being activated and is transmitted to the vehicles and people involved in the crash.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the object identification system using a first and second user input as taught by Mohan with transmitting a message to said object as taught by Boykin in order to create a more effective and useable system for identifying objects of interest.
Regarding claim 12, Mohan as modified by Boykin teaches claim 9. Boykin further teaches wherein the selected at least one object is a vehicle or person, and the action comprises at least one of:
storing one or more images captured by the external camera unit in non-transitory memory [Boykin ¶ 0065 " (iii) Activating data recording—An onboard storage device may start saving the information being captured by the camera device. Other camera devices in the vehicle can be triggered to start recording. The captured information may also be transmitted concurrently via the communication network to be stored at the police station or another location."]; and
transmitting a message to an appropriate authority [Boykin ¶ 0063 "(i) Providing an alert—The officer may be given a visual and/or audible alert on his vehicle display that a positive match has been detected. An alert may also be sent via the communication network to the police station or other locations"].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the object identification system using a first and second user input as taught by Mohan with transmitting a message or storing images as taught by Boykin in order to create a more effective and useable system for identifying objects of interest.
Regarding claim 13, Mohan as modified by Boykin teaches claim 9. Boykin further teaches herein annotating the one or more images to highlight the one or more identified objects in the displayed one or more images comprises at least one of
framing each object of the one or more identified objects by means of a frame [Boykin ¶ 0064 "[0064] (ii) Displaying an image—A video or still image of the detected content may be displayed on the vehicle display. A snapshot (such as video frame 20, 30 or 40) can be displayed, highlighting or putting a bounding box (such as 21, 31, or 41) around the object detected, "];
marking each object of the one or more identified objects by means of a specific color; and
marking each object of the one or more identified objects by means of a number, letter or symbol.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the object identification system using a first and second user input as taught by Mohan with displaying an annotated image as taught by Boykin in order to create a more effective and useable system for identifying objects of interest.
Regarding claim 14, Mohan as modified by Boykin teaches claim 9. Mohan further teaches wherein obtaining the one or more images captured by the external camera unit comprises capturing new images with one or more cameras of the external camera unit based on the first user input [Mohan ¶ 0032 "the media display system 108 may be further configured to control the second image sensor 112 (disposed outside the vehicle 102) to capture a first portion of a second view surrounding the vehicle 102 in the determined direction-of-view of the occupant 104."].
Regarding claim 15, Mohan as modified by Boykin teaches claim 9. Boykin further teaches wherein obtaining the one or more images captured by the external camera unit comprises obtaining, from transitory memory, the one or more images captured by one or more cameras of the external camera unit based on the first user input [Boykin ¶ 0078 " The server 26 may also be configured to analyze the data stored in memory and/or captured by the camera device(s) 16 according to criteria established by an authorized user 27 having access to the server 26 via the communication network 18 (e.g. in response to a BOLO alert)."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the object identification system using a first and second user input as taught by Mohan with obtaining an image from memory as taught by Boykin in order to create a more effective and useable system for identifying objects of interest.
Regarding claim 16, Mohan as modified by Boykin teaches claim 15. Mohan further teaches wherein the transitory memory is configured to store images obtained by the external camera unit for a buffer period of time, wherein the buffer period of time is adjustable based on a speed of the vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0076 "The sliding window buffer 204a may be configured to store a predetermined number of image frames. In accordance with an embodiment, the microprocessor 202a may be configured to determine the predetermined number based on the speed of the vehicle 102 and a storage capacity of the sliding window buffer 204a."].
Regarding claim 17, Mohan as modified by Boykin teaches claim 9. Mohan further teaches wherein obtaining the one or more images captured by the external camera unit comprises filtering images obtained by the external camera unit to identify a subset of images relevant to the first user input [Mohan ¶ 0056 "In accordance with an embodiment, the microprocessor 202a may be further configured to generate a timeline (for example a sliding window) of the captured first portion of the first surrounding view 302a outside the vehicle 102 in the direction-of-view of the occupant 104."].
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boykin in view of Mohan.
Regarding claim 18, Boykin teaches A system in a vehicle, comprising:
a processing unit positioned in the vehicle [Boykin ¶ 0038 "As used throughout this disclosure the term “computer” encompasses special purpose microprocessor-based devices such as a digital video surveillance system" and ¶ 0071 “the vehicle computer 12”]; and
non-transitory memory storing instructions that when executed cause the processing unit to [Boykin ¶ 0038 "In general, memory or a storage device/drive represents a medium accessible by a computer (via wired or wireless connection) to store data and computer program instructions."]:
receive a voice prompt from an occupant of the vehicle via a voice processing unit [Boykin ¶ 0071 "The collection and processing of image data may be stopped and started as desired by a user (e.g. an officer in the vehicle) entering a command (e.g., a voice command or a command that is typed/keyed/entered by touchpad) or pushing a button on the computer 12 or on a BWC 29, or by another incoming communication (e.g. from the alert dispatching source) instructing the computer 12 to cancel or start/resume the particular search/analysis."];
in response to the voice prompt, obtain one or more images captured by the one or more external vehicle cameras [Boykin ¶ 0050 "The vehicle 10 is equipped with one or more camera devices 16 to capture image data from the real world. " and ¶ 0071 "At module 54, the analysis entails a data feed 56 of the image data from the linked camera device(s) 16 to the computer 12 microprocessor. The data feed 56 from the camera device(s) 16 to the computer 12 may be wireless or via cabling (e.g. using a wired onboard vehicle camera)."];
identify one or more objects relating to the voice prompt within the one or more images [Boykin ¶ 0053 "The computer 12 microprocessor is configured to search the captured image data for the presence of the designated content according to the received alert or communication." and 0071 "At module 60, the analysis continues with a scan of the image data captured by the camera device(s) 16 to detect for the presence of the designated content."];
display at least one of the one or more images on a display device [Boykin ¶ 0064 "(ii) Displaying an image—A video or still image of the detected content may be displayed on the vehicle display. A snapshot (such as video frame 20, 30 or 40) can be displayed, highlighting or putting a bounding box (such as 21, 31, or 41) around the object detected, and its movements can be tracked on the display in real-time or after the fact."];
take an action in response to the user selection based on the voice prompt and the selected at least one of the one or more objects [Boykin ¶ 0077 "For example, a user can select or draw an area on a map to display vehicles in a given region, along with their associated data such as specific location data/time/number of recorded events/event type/duration, license plate data, vehicle type, shape, color etc. If an event or specific data is of interest, the user can select an option to send a request to any or all vehicle computers 12 to scan their storage drives, that are continuously recording, for the desired information and send back a response with the search results or to retrieve the designated data with time markers of start and stop points to export video, snapshots, or metadata."], wherein the selected at least one object is a vehicle or person, and the action includes transmitting one or more messages to at least one recipient including the selected at least one object [Boykin ¶ 0063 “Alert notifications and/or images and metadata may also be sent to any other vehicle or officer that may be nearby or heading in the general direction of the detected object of interest.” And ¶ 0067 "(v) Activating a hardware function—In addition to or instead of the activation of data recording (iii, above), equipment or systems may be activated depending on the detected content (e.g., automatic activation of the vehicle's light bar if a crash scene is detected). " The message of someone is there to help is indicated by the light bar being activated and is transmitted to the vehicles and people involved in the crash. Additionally, an alert can be sent to other vehicles.].
Boykin does not teach an internal camera unit configured to track an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle, one or more external vehicle cameras configured to image a surrounding environment of the vehicle, obtain one or more images captured by the one or more external vehicle cameras in a direction based on the eye gaze tracked by the internal camera unit, and receive user selection of at least one of the one or more objects.
However, in a related field of invention, Mohan does teach
an internal camera unit configured to track an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0022 "In accordance with an embodiment, the first plurality of image sensors 110a to 110e may be configured to capture a plurality of images of the occupant 104 inside the vehicle 102. The captured plurality of images may be utilized to determine user information such as a head position and an eye gaze of one or more occupants including the occupant 104 of the vehicle 102. "]
one or more external vehicle cameras configured to image a surrounding environment of the vehicle [Mohan ¶ 0023 " In accordance with an embodiment, the second image sensor 112 may further include a plurality of image sensors (not shown) to capture the 360-degree view of the surroundings of the vehicle 102."]
obtain one or more images captured by the one or more external vehicle cameras in a direction based on the eye gaze tracked by the internal camera unit [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The media display system may further include a second image sensor, outside the vehicle, to capture a portion of a view surrounding the vehicle based on the determined direction-of-view of the occupant."]
receive user selection of at least one of the one or more objects [Mohan ¶ 0017 "The disclosed media display system may receive a selection of desired object-of-interest from the occupant and may further recognize the selected object-of-interest and communicate with a content source related to the selected object-of-interest."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the object identification system using artificial intelligence as taught by Boykin with using a second user input as a human in the loop system as taught by Mohan in order to create a more effective and useable system for identifying objects of interest.
Regarding claim 19, Boykin as modified by Mohan teaches claim 18. Boykin further teaches wherein the action further includes at least one of adjusting one or more vehicle operation states and obtaining and displaying information regarding the selected at least one of the one or more objects [Boykin ¶ 0077 "For example, a user can select or draw an area on a map to display vehicles in a given region, along with their associated data such as specific location data/time/number of recorded events/event type/duration, license plate data, vehicle type, shape, color etc. If an event or specific data is of interest, the user can select an option to send a request to any or all vehicle computers 12 to scan their storage drives, that are continuously recording, for the desired information and send back a response with the search results or to retrieve the designated data with time markers of start and stop points to export video, snapshots, or metadata."].
Regarding claim 20, Boykin as modified by Mohan teaches claim 19. Boykin further teaches wherein:
adjusting the one or more vehicle operation states comprises adjusting one or more settings of an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS);
transmitting one or more messages to at least one recipient comprises transmitting messages to at least one of the selected at least one of the one or more objects, other vehicles in a vicinity of the vehicle, and emergency services [Boykin ¶ 0077 "For example, a user can select or draw an area on a map to display vehicles in a given region, along with their associated data such as specific location data/time/number of recorded events/event type/duration, license plate data, vehicle type, shape, color etc. If an event or specific data is of interest, the user can select an option to send a request to any or all vehicle computers 12 to scan their storage drives, that are continuously recording, for the desired information and send back a response with the search results or to retrieve the designated data with time markers of start and stop points to export video, snapshots, or metadata."]; and
obtaining the information regarding the selected at least one of the one or more objects comprises accessing one of a database and a cloud [Boykin ¶ 0077 “storage drives”].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.E.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3666