DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 12-14, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bai (Pub No 20240292293)
Regarding claims 1 and 13 and 17,
Bai teaches a method of a terminal, comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information on first reference signal resources; (interpreted as The RRC reconfiguration message may indicate a candidate LTM cell configuration, which may indicate a configuration of one or multiple candidate LTM target cells, see para [0073])
obtaining a measurement result by performing measurement on the first reference signal resources; (interpreted as measuring an L1 metric in a candidate cell associated with an LTM (block 910), see para [0106] [0158]. Reception component 1102 may receive communications, such as reference signals, control information, data communications, or a combination thereof, from the apparatus 1108, see para [0144]. L1 Metric is a reference signal received power, para [0160])
performing layer 1 (L1) filtering on the measurement result; and (interpreted as the filtered L1 metric may be different from a cell level metric defined for a legacy L3 event (e.g., only filtering in a time domain). The L1 metric may be filtered based at least in part on the standard predefinition, or based at least in part on the indication from the network node, see para [0100])
in response to the L1-filtered measurement result satisfying a measurement reporting condition, reporting the L1-filtered measurement result to the base station. (interpreted as The UE may transmit, to a network node, an L1 measurement report based at least in part on the L1 metric in the candidate cell satisfying the triggering event condition, see para [0027])
Regarding claim 2 and 18,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing of the L1 filtering on the measurement result comprises: identifying a filtering window; in response to the filtering window being a new filtering window, performing initialization of the L1 filtering; and performing the L1 filtering based on the filtering window. (interpreted as the filtered L1 metric may be different from a cell level metric defined for a legacy L3 event (e.g., only filtering in a time domain), see para [0100]
Regarding claim 3,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the performing of the L1 filtering based on the filtering window comprises: identifying L1 measurement samples within the filtering window; and performing the L1 filtering based on the L1 measurement samples. (Interpreted as beam metric may be an L1 or spatial/time domain filtered L1 measurement, see para [0096]. For example, at a first time, the top K beams may correspond to cell identifiers of 4, 5, 5, and 7, which may correspond to RSRP values of −100 dB, −112 dB, −120 dB, and −140 dB, respectively, and at a second time, the top K beams may correspond to cell identifiers of 4, 7, 5, and 7, which may correspond to RSRP values of −102 dB, −114 dB, −120 dB, and −144 dB, respectively, which may satisfy the triggered event condition, see para [0097])
Regarding claim 5,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the performing of the L1 filtering based on the filtering window comprises: identifying an L1-filtered measurement result of a previous filtering window of the filtering window; identifying L1 measurement samples within the filtering window; and performing the L1 filtering based on the L1 measurement samples within the filtering window and the L1-filtered measurement result of the previous filtering window. (Interpreted as beam metric may be an L1 or spatial/time domain filtered L1 measurement, see para [0096]. For example, at a first time, the top K beams may correspond to cell identifiers of 4, 5, 5, and 7, which may correspond to RSRP values of −100 dB, −112 dB, −120 dB, and −140 dB, respectively, and at a second time, the top K beams may correspond to cell identifiers of 4, 7, 5, and 7, which may correspond to RSRP values of −102 dB, −114 dB, −120 dB, and −144 dB, respectively, which may satisfy the triggered event condition, see para [0097])
Regarding claim 12 and 14,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the measurement reporting condition is satisfied when an L1-filtered L1 measurement result of a reference signal resource of a candidate cell is equal to or greater than an L1-filtered L1 measurement result of a reference signal resource of a serving cell, by a second offset. (interpreted as when a best beam among a plurality of beams (e.g., all beams) or a subset of beams (e.g., the subset of beams may be indicated by the network node) of a measured candidate cell is greater than or smaller than an absolute threshold or is greater than or smaller than a best beam of a serving cell plus an offset. As another example, the triggered event condition may be satisfied when the best beam among the plurality of beams or the subset of beams of the measured candidate cell is greater than or smaller than the absolute threshold or the best beam of the serving cell plus the offset, see para [0097])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai (Pub No 20240292293) further in view of Chae (Pub No 20210051500)
Regarding claim 4,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 3, however does not teach wherein the performing of the L1 filtering based on the L1 measurement samples comprises: applying weights to the L1 measurement samples; and performing the L1 filtering based on the L1 measurement samples to which the weights are applied.
Chae teaches wherein the performing of the L1 filtering based on the L1 measurement samples comprises applying weights to the L1 measurement samples; and performing the L1 filtering based on the L1 measurement samples to which the weights are applied. (Interpreted as FIG. 23 shows an example of the weighted average on sidelink RLM measurement samples. The reason for the higher weight towards the last part of the on-duration may be give greater importance to the most recently received measurement sample. This weighting process may be called as L1 filtering by distinguishing it from L3 filtering., see para [0239]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the samples taught by Bai with the weights taught by Chae with the motivation being to give more value to measurements of greater importance.
Claim(s) 6-9, 15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai (Pub No 20240292293) further in view of Sakhnini (Pub No 20230397028)
Regarding claim 6 and 19,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, configuration information on second reference signal resources; obtaining a measurement prediction result by performing measurement prediction on the second reference signal resources according to the configuration information; (interpreted as measuring an L1 metric in a candidate cell associated with an LTM (block 910), see para [0106][0158]. Reception component 1102 may receive communications, such as reference signals, control information, data communications, or a combination thereof, from the apparatus 1108, see para [0144]. L1 Metric is a reference signal received power, para [0160])
performing L1 filtering on the measurement result; and (interpreted as the filtered L1 metric may be different from a cell level metric defined for a legacy L3 event (e.g., only filtering in a time domain). The L1 metric may be filtered based at least in part on the standard predefinition, or based at least in part on the indication from the network node, see para [0100])
in response to the L1-fitered measurement result satisfying a measurement reporting condition, reporting the L1-filtered measurement result to the base station. (interpreted as The UE may transmit, to a network node, an L1 measurement report based at least in part on the L1 metric in the candidate cell satisfying the triggering event condition, see para [0027])
However, Bai does not teach the measurements, configuration, and reporting being for a prediction.
Sakhnini teaches the prediction measurement (interpreted as the one or more processors may be configured to transmit configuration information that includes a rule for transmitting model parameter information associated with a model for predicting an L1 measurement or for transmitting a combination of the model parameter information and an L1 measurement report. The one or more processors may be configured to receive the model parameter information or the combination based at least in part on the rule, see para [0010])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the measurement taught by Bai with the measurement prediction taught by Sakhnini with the motivation being to conversive signaling resources and reduce latency.
Regarding claim 7,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 6, however does not teach wherein the prediction configuration information further includes a measurement prediction condition, and the performing of the measurement prediction on the second reference signal resources comprises: in response to the measurement prediction condition being satisfied, performing measurement prediction on the second reference signal resources according to the prediction configuration information.
Sakhnini teaches wherein the prediction configuration information further includes a measurement prediction condition, and the performance of the measurement prediction on the second reference signal resources comprises: in response to the measurement prediction condition being satisfied, performing measurement prediction on the second reference signal resources according to the prediction configuration information. (Interpreted as the model may use parameter values to predict the future L1 measurements based on past L1 measurements or model parameter values. Therefore, rather than transmitting actual L1 measurements, a receiving entity (e.g., network entity 510) may use model parameter information (e.g., one or more model parameter values) received from the UE 520 to predict future L1 measurements for one or more future time occasions for reporting. As a result, the UE 520 and the network entity 510 may conserve signaling resources and reduce latency, see para [0088])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the measurement taught by Bai with the measurement prediction taught by Sakhnini with the motivation being to conversive signaling resources and reduce latency.
Regarding claim 8,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the measurement condition is satisfied when a value obtained by adding a first offset to an L1-filterd L1 measurement result of a reference signal resource of a candidate cell is greater than or equal to an L1-filtered L1 measurement result of a reference signal resource of a serving cell. (interpreted as when a best beam among a plurality of beams (e.g., all beams) or a subset of beams (e.g., the subset of beams may be indicated by the network node) of a measured candidate cell is greater than or smaller than an absolute threshold or is greater than or smaller than a best beam of a serving cell plus an offset. As another example, the triggered event condition may be satisfied when the best beam among the plurality of beams or the subset of beams of the measured candidate cell is greater than or smaller than the absolute threshold or the best beam of the serving cell plus the offset, see para [0097])
However, Bai does not teach the measurements, configuration, and reporting being for a prediction.
Sakhnini teaches the prediction measurement (interpreted as the one or more processors may be configured to transmit configuration information that includes a rule for transmitting model parameter information associated with a model for predicting an L1 measurement or for transmitting a combination of the model parameter information and an L1 measurement report. The one or more processors may be configured to receive the model parameter information or the combination based at least in part on the rule, see para [0010])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the measurement taught by Bai with the measurement prediction taught by Sakhnini with the motivation being to conversive signaling resources and reduce latency.
Regarding claim 9,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the measurement condition is satisfied when an L1-filtered L1 measurement result of a reference signal resource of a serving cell is less than a threshold. (interpreted as “satisfying a threshold” may, depending on the context, refer to a value being greater than the threshold, greater than or equal to the threshold, less than the threshold, less than or equal to the threshold, equal to the threshold, not equal to the threshold, or the like, see para [0199])
However, Bai does not teach the measurements, configuration, and reporting being for a prediction measurement.
Sakhnini teaches the prediction measurement (interpreted as the one or more processors may be configured to transmit configuration information that includes a rule for transmitting model parameter information associated with a model for predicting an L1 measurement or for transmitting a combination of the model parameter information and an L1 measurement report. The one or more processors may be configured to receive the model parameter information or the combination based at least in part on the rule, see para [0010])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the measurement taught by Bai with the measurement prediction taught by Sakhnini with the motivation being to conversive signaling resources and reduce latency.
Regarding claim 15,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 13, teach further comprising: transmitting, to the terminal, configuration information for second reference signal resources and a reporting condition; and receiving, from the terminal, an L1-filtered measurement result for the second reference signal resources according to the prediction configuration information. (Interpreted as The RRC reconfiguration message may indicate a candidate LTM cell configuration, which may indicate a configuration of one or multiple candidate LTM target cells, see para [0073]. The method may include transmitting, to a UE, an L1 measurement report configuration. The method may include receiving from the UE and based at least in part on the L1 measurement report configuration, an L1 measurement report based at least in part on an L1 metric in a candidate cell satisfying a triggering event condition, the L1 metric in the candidate cell being associated with an LTM, see para [0008])
However, Bai does not teach the measurements, configuration, and reporting being for a prediction measurement.
Sakhnini teaches the prediction measurement (interpreted as the one or more processors may be configured to transmit configuration information that includes a rule for transmitting model parameter information associated with a model for predicting an L1 measurement or for transmitting a combination of the model parameter information and an L1 measurement report. The one or more processors may be configured to receive the model parameter information or the combination based at least in part on the rule, see para [0010])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the measurement taught by Bai with the measurement prediction taught by Sakhnini with the motivation being to conversive signaling resources and reduce latency.
Claim(s) 10-11, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai (Pub No 20240292293) further in view of Sakhnini (Pub No 20230397028) and Lunardi (Pub No 20230403606)
Regarding claims 10 and 16 and 20,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 7, however does not teach further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a feedback request for a prediction result accuracy; calculating the prediction result accuracy according to the feedback request; and transmitting the calculated prediction result accuracy to the base station.
Lunardi teaches further comprising receiving, from the base station, a feedback request for a prediction result accuracy; calculating the prediction result accuracy according to the feedback request; and transmitting the calculated prediction result accuracy to the base station. (Interpreted as According to some examples of the present disclosure, explicit or implicit feedback may be provided by a node receiving predicted resource status information, the feedback concerning the accuracy or confidence of the prediction. Provision of such feedback is illustrated in FIGS. 11a and 11b, which show a summary of steps which may be performed in example methods proposed herein, including feedback requested by the first RAN node. The second RAN is shown as performing measurements associated to the request for feedback and providing the feedback to the first RAN node. The second RAN node may also use the measurements, see para [0165])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the measurement taught by Bai with the measurement prediction taught by Lunardi with the motivation being to conversive signaling resources and reduce latency.
Regarding claim 11,
Bai teaches the method according to claim 10, however does not teach wherein the prediction result accuracy includes at least one of accuracy, precision, recall rate, false positive ratio, false negative ratio, or false ratio for the measurement prediction result.
Lunardi teaches wherein the prediction result accuracy includes at least one of accuracy, precision, recall rate, false positive ratio, false negative ratio, or false ratio for the measurement prediction result. (Interpreted as According to some examples of the present disclosure, explicit or implicit feedback may be provided by a node receiving predicted resource status information, the feedback concerning the accuracy or confidence of the prediction. Provision of such feedback is illustrated in FIGS. 11a and 11b, which show a summary of steps which may be performed in example methods proposed herein, including feedback requested by the first RAN node. The second RAN is shown as performing measurements associated with the request for feedback and providing the feedback to the first RAN node. The second RAN node may also use the measurements, see para [0165])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the measurement taught by Bai with the measurement prediction taught by Lunardi with the motivation being to conversive signaling resources and reduce latency.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461