DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 36-39, 41-45, and 56 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 36-39, 41-42, 44-45, and 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bojarski et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0029093 A1; hereinafter “Bojarksi”).
Bojarksi discloses the following regarding claim 36: a computing system comprising: memory storing computer executable instructions (paras. 0211, 0426-0432, known to be inherent computer components); and one or more processors (paras. 0211, 0426-0432, known to be inherent computer components) configured to: generate a virtual model of a glenoid bone of a patient and a virtual model of a glenoid implant (paras. 0286, 0303-0304, 0310); send instructions to an output device (e.g., computer monitor or display screen) of a user to cause the output device to display the virtual model of the glenoid implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid bone (paras. 0286, 0303-0304, 0310); perform virtual pre-operative analysis based on one or more of user input of the user or execution of the computer executable instructions to adjust the virtual model of the glenoid implant, wherein to adjust the virtual model of the glenoid implant (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0291, 0310-0312, 0328-0329, 0357-0360, 0419-0429), the one or more processors are configured to: adjust a placement of the virtual model of the glenoid implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid bone (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0357-0360, 0419-0429); evaluate bone support based on the virtual model of the glenoid implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid bone by determining a seating of the virtual model of the glenoid implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid bone (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0357-0360, 0419-0429, 0435-0439); and based on evaluating the bone support, adjust a geometry of the virtual model of the glenoid implant (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0357-0360, 0419-0429), and generate a virtual model of a final glenoid implant for the patient based on the virtual pre-operative analysis (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0357-0360, 0419-0429).
Bojarksi discloses the following regarding claim 37: the system of claim 36, wherein to perform the virtual pre-operative analysis, the one or more processors are configured to send instructions to the output device of the user to display simulations of one or more adjustments to the virtual model of the glenoid implant, the one or more adjustments corresponding to the one or more of the user input of the user or the execution of the computer executable instructions (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0310, 0357-0360, 0419-0429).
Bojarksi discloses the following regarding claim 38: the system of claim 36, wherein to generate the virtual model of the glenoid bone, the one or more processors are configured to generate the virtual model of the glenoid bone based on images taken of the glenoid bone of the patient (paras. 0281-0294).
Bojarksi discloses the following regarding claim 39: the system of claim 36, wherein the virtual model of the glenoid bone and the virtual model of the glenoid implant comprise three dimensional (3D) virtual models (paras. 0310-0312).
Bojarksi discloses the following regarding claim 41: the system of claim 36, wherein to adjust the placement of the virtual model of the glenoid implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid bone, the one or more processors are configured to one or more of: align the virtual model of the glenoid implant with the virtual model of the glenoid bone; or adjust a medialization of the virtual model of the glenoid implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid bone (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0357-0360, 0419-0429, 0435-0439).
Bojarksi discloses the following regarding claim 42: the system of claim 36, wherein to adjust the geometry of the virtual model of the glenoid implant, the one or more processors are configured to adjust a width of the virtual model of the glenoid implant (paras. 0211, 0214).
Bojarksi discloses the following regarding claim 44: the system of claim 36, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select a size of the virtual model of the glenoid implant from a range of sizes based on the one or more of the user input of the user or the execution of the computer executable instructions (paras. 0210-0216, 0231, 0377-0379, 0463).
Bojarksi discloses the following regarding claim 45: the system of claim 36, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate a virtual model of one of a natural humeral head or a humeral head implant; and send instructions to the output device of the user to cause the output device to display the virtual model of the one of the natural humeral head or the humeral head implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid implant (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0310, 0357-0360, 0377-0379, 0419-0429).
Bojarksi discloses the following regarding claim 56: a computing system comprising: memory storing computer executable instructions (paras. 0211, 0426-0432, known to be inherent computer components); and one or more processors (paras. 0211, 0426-0432, known to be inherent computer components) configured to: generate a virtual model of a glenoid bone of a patient and a virtual model of a glenoid implant (paras. 0286, 0303-0304, 0310); send instructions to an output device (e.g., computer monitor or display screen) of a user to cause the output device to display the virtual model of the glenoid implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid bone (paras. 0286, 0303-0304, 0310); perform virtual pre-operative analysis based on one or more of user input of the user or execution of the computer executable instructions to adjust the virtual model of the glenoid implant, wherein to adjust the virtual model of the glenoid implant (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0291, 0310-0312, 0328-0329, 0357-0360, 0419-0429), the one or more processors are configured to: evaluate bone support based on the virtual model of the glenoid implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid bone by determining a seating of the virtual model of the glenoid implant with respect to the virtual model of the glenoid bone (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0357-0360, 0419-0429, 0435-0439), and based on evaluating the bone support, adjust a geometry of the virtual model of the glenoid implant (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0357-0360, 0419-0429); and generate a virtual model of a final glenoid implant for the patient based on the virtual pre-operative analysis (paras. 0231-0234, 0271-0272, 0281-0294, 0357-0360, 0419-0429).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bojarski in view of Bojarski et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0071802 A1; hereinafter “the ‘802 reference”).
Bojarski discloses the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above. However, it does not explicitly recite adjusting a retroversion of the virtual model of the glenoid implant; or adjust an inferior tilt of the virtual model of the glenoid implant. The ‘802 reference teaches that adjusting the geometry of the virtual model of the implant comprises adjusting a retroversion of the virtual model of the glenoid implant; or adjusting an inferior tilt of the virtual model of the glenoid implant (paras. 0012, 0057, 0070, 0111-0126), for the purpose of ensuring that the implant will properly fit its implantation site. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust features of the models of Bojarski, according to the teachings of the ‘802 reference, in order to ensure that the implant will properly fit a particular patient's anatomy. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ANN HU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774