Detailed Action
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on December 3, 2024 complies with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609, and therefore has been placed in the application file. The information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: Environment-Responsive Projection Device Providing AI-Generated Contextual Images.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 lacks antecedent basis for “the at least one target image.” This appears to be a typographical error where the word “image” should have been written as “picture.”
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 21–23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim element “artificial intelligence model” is a limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder coupled with the functions of “determine a target theme corresponding to the surrounding environment according to the sensing result,” “search a target picture database that matches the target theme from the plurality of picture databases,” and “generate[] the at least one target picture according to the target theme in response to not searching out the target picture database from the plurality of picture databases.”
The written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, acts, or algorithm for the specific computer-implemented function claimed. Instead, the written description merely discloses the following:
The artificial intelligence model 200 includes, for example, a chatbot with a machine learning algorithm and a picture generator. The chatbot is, for example, any pre-trained chatbot such as Chat Generative Pre-trained Transformer (ChatGPT), Microsoft Bing, Google Bard, or ERNIE Bot, etc., or may be a dedicated chatbot trained by a domain-specific material. The picture generator may be, for example, any one of pre-trained picture generators such as Jasper Art, Midjourney, DALL-E 2, DALL-E 3, Stability AI DreamStudio, Wombo Art, Stable Diffusion, etc.
(Spec. ¶ 52).
There are several problems with this disclosure:
(1) Saying that the model includes “a chatbot with a machine learning algorithm and a picture generator” is neither a description of a corresponding structure nor the acts or algorithm for performing the function. Those terms are simply additional generic placeholders—it moves the problem from the claims to the specification.
(2) “Chat Generative Pre-trained Transformer (ChatGPT), Microsoft Bing, Google Bard, or ERNIE Bot, etc.,” and/or “a dedicated chatbot trained by a domain-specific material” are not artificial intelligence models. The are chat-based frontends to large language models.
(3) There is no evidence anywhere in this specification that any of the chatbots mentioned in (2) above were pre-configured, at the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform the functions of searching a picture database for pictures that match a sensing result, performing the conditional logic deciding to generate a synthetic image when one is not found, and then actually performing the separate step of generating the image scratch.
(4) Likewise, “Jasper Art, Midjourney, DALL-E 2, DALL-E 3, Stability AI DreamStudio, Wombo Art, Stable Diffusion, etc.” are all descriptions of generative image models. None of these models, on their own, were known to perform the functions of “determine a target theme corresponding to the surrounding environment according to the sensing result” or “search a target picture database that matches the target theme from the plurality of picture databases.” And while those models may have been capable of generating a picture according to a prompt, none of them were configured to do so “in response to not searching out the target picture database from the plurality of picture databases,” on their own.
Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph; or (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. § 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. § 132(a) ); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Based on the Examiner’s understanding of the claimed subject matter and disclosure, it appears likely that “artificial intelligence model” was a typographical or translation error, where “artificial intelligence module” was likely intended. The Examiner recommends amending the claims and the specification to replace “model” with “module” throughout the specification and claim 21, and further amending claim 21 as follows:
21. A projection system, comprising an environment sensing device, a projection device, a plurality of picture databases, and an artificial intelligence [[model]] module, wherein
the environment sensing device is configured to sense a surrounding environment of the projection device to obtain a sensing result,
the artificial intelligence [[model]] module comprises a processor, is coupled to the environment sensing device and the plurality of picture databases, and the processor is configured [[to]] to:
determine a target theme corresponding to the surrounding environment according to the sensing result, [[and]]
search a target picture database that matches the target theme from the plurality of picture databases,
wherein the projection device is coupled to the artificial intelligence [[model]] module, and the projection device is configured to project a projection image having the at least one target picture.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1–23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0053799 A1 (hereafter “Rastogi”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0240274 A1 (hereafter “Cronin”).
Claim 1
Rastogi teaches:
A
“FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example system 100 for generating context-aware, dynamic visualizations,” Rastogi ¶ 18, which “includes a computing device 102.” Rastogi ¶ 19. The components of system 100, particularly computing device 102, may be implemented with the processing device depicted in FIG. 7, Rastogi ¶ 18, which will also be referenced in this rejection where appropriate.
Rastogi strongly suggests (but does not explicitly disclose) that the computing device 102 may be a projection device in two ways. First, Rastogi teaches that the computing device 102 may take the form of “virtualized reality devices/platforms (e.g., virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR)).” Rastogi ¶ 19. Such devices are known to employ micro-projection elements such as waveguide projectors or micro-displays cast onto a visor to overlay visualizations into the user’s field of view. Second, Rastogi also teaches that the computing device may use “slide presentation applications” in conjunction with their disclosed invention, Rastogi ¶ 82, which those of ordinary skill in the art know are typically used in conference rooms or with classroom projectors.
Nevertheless, Rastogi does not appear to explicitly disclose the projector itself. This will be addressed below.
an environment sensing module configured to sense a surrounding environment of the projection device to obtain a sensing result;
Within the visualization generator 110 of computing device 102, there is a context extractor 204 module that “extracts relevant context signals for ultimately generating visualizations.” Rastogi ¶ 33. The context extractor 204 is configured to extract context including weather data in the computing device’s current location, Rastogi ¶¶ 36–37, the time, which informs current lighting conditions, see Rastogi ¶¶ 34 and 39, landmarks and other information about the computing device 102’s current city, Rastogi ¶ 47, and voice or other audio input, see Rastogi ¶¶ 59 and 84.
In terms of the hardware implementation, the visualization generator 110 (of which the context extractor 204 is an component) is one of the many program modules 706 stored in a computer memory and executable to perform its tasks of determining the above-mentioned conditions. See Rastogi ¶ 80.
a storage circuit unit configured to store a plurality of picture databases; and
The computing device includes a system memory 704, Rastogi ¶ 80, as well as other additional data storage devices 709–710. Rastogi ¶ 81. “[A] number of program modules and data files may be stored in the system memory 704,” Rastogi ¶ 82, and in particular, “a database of images may be stored in a manner that allows for the images to be searched with, or based on, the context signals that are extracted.” Rastogi ¶ 72.
Careful readers will observe that claim 1 does not require the storage circuit unit to have a plurality of picture databases stored on it. Claim 1 merely requires a projection device with a storage unit that is “configured to” perform the function of storing a plurality of picture databases on it and a processor that merely searches a minimum of one “target picture database” for images that match a theme. “Functional claim language that is not limited to a specific structure covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function. Therefore, if the prior art discloses a device that can inherently perform the claimed function, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. § 103 may be appropriate.” MPEP § 2114 (subsection IV.).
Since Rastogi teaches a memory that is configured to store multiple databases including at least one database that stores pictures organized to match or align with a queried category, see Rastogi ¶ 72, it follows that Rastogi’s memory is at least capable of performing the function of storing multiple such databases.
Moreover, irrespective of whether Rastogi’s disclosure meets this element as currently worded in the claim, it will be shown below why a plurality of picture databases was obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
a processor coupled to the storage circuit unit and the environment sensing module,
“In a basic configuration, the computing device 700 includes at least one processing unit 702 and [the] system memory 704,” Rastogi ¶ 80, such that the processing unit 702 executes the program modules 706 stored thereon. Rastogi ¶ 82.
wherein the processor is configured to execute:
“While executing on the processing unit 702, the program modules 706 may perform processes including one or more of the stages of the methods 500 and 600, illustrated in FIG. 5-6.” Rastogi ¶ 82.
determining a target theme corresponding to the surrounding environment according to the sensing result of the environment sensing module,
“At operation 504, the context signals that are selected or identified in operation 502 are extracted for further processing,” such as context signals about the current location and/or weather, Rastogi ¶ 62, as well as the other context signals mentioned earlier in this rejection, such as current lighting conditions, see Rastogi ¶¶ 34 and 39, landmarks and other information about the computing device 102’s current city, Rastogi ¶ 47, and voice or other audio input, see Rastogi ¶¶ 59 and 84.
and searching a target picture database that matches the target theme from the plurality of picture databases;
“[W]hen the context signals are generated, a query may be executed against the database to retrieve one or more images that satisfy the query.” Rastogi ¶ 72. The database “may be stored in a manner that allows for the images to be searched with, or based on, the context signals that are extracted,” e.g., “the images may include metadata and/or otherwise be tagged with data that include descriptors of the particular image,” and “[t]he metadata and/or tags may be configured to match or align with the categories of the different context signals that are being used.” Rastogi ¶ 72.
Rastogi’s process 500 therefore searches a target picture database that matches the target theme because the database that Rastogi’s process 500 searches contains metadata or tags that “match or align” with the categories of the context signals that are being searched.
It is acknowledged that this is different from the Applicant’s disclosed process in which one of the target picture databases have different themes, and the one with the matching theme is selected for searching, but that is not exactly how the claim recites this step. Furthermore, as will be discussed below, this technique of searching separately themed image collections was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and was obvious to apply to Rastogi’s process 500.
selecting at least one target picture from the target picture database in response to searching out the target picture database from the plurality of picture databases;
“A highest-ranking image may then be selected and used for the visualization that is incorporated into the user interfaces.” Rastogi ¶ 72.
generating the at least one target picture according to the target theme in response to not searching out the target picture database from the plurality of picture databases;
Carefully reading the above claim language, we see that the “generating the at least one picture” step is performed any time the target picture database is “not searched out.” The generating can occur as an alternative to performing the database search, rather than as merely a fallback responsive to a database searching failure, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. In other words, claim 1 does not say to perform the database search and generate the at least one target picture in response to not finding anything in the picture database; it merely says the generative step is performed in response to not searching the picture database in the first place.
Rastogi likewise teaches that, in cases where the database mechanism is not used, the system “utilizes generative AI models to generate the visualizations.” Rastogi ¶ 72. For this path, “an AI prompt is generated with the extracted context signals,” Rastogi ¶ 64, and “provided as input to the generative AI model,” which then “processes the received AI prompt and generates an output payload that includes a visualization according to the AI prompt.” Rastogi ¶ 66.
and enabling the
“At operation 512, the visualization in the output payload is processed. For example, the visualization may be sized and/or formatting to fit the particular portion of the application interface or operating system interface for which the visualization is to be displayed. At operation 514, the visualization is then caused to be displayed on as part of the user interface the respective application(s) and/or operating system running on the device.” Rastogi ¶ 67.
As mentioned above, the main difference between Rastogi and the claimed invention is that Rastogi’s computing device 102 does not include a traditional “projector” as its display.
Cronin, however, teaches both this and several other overlapping features, including:
A projection device, comprising:
Reference is made to FIG. 6, which depicts a system 600 comprising one or more projectors 304, 612. Cronin ¶¶ 53, 58–59, and 73.
an environment sensing module configured to sense a surrounding environment of the projection device to obtain a sensing result;
A “scanner/camera and sensors 310, 312, 314, and 316 may be disposed in the hotel room 300 individually or in combination.” Cronin ¶ 61.
a storage circuit unit configured to store a plurality of picture databases; and
“[A]ny of the memories described herein” may be used to store a plurality of databases 406, 412, and 420. Cronin ¶ 47. Room object database 412 stores “measurements, coordinates, floor plans, or any combination thereof” that may be “graphic-based.” Cronin ¶ 43. Room theme database 420 stores theme projection information that includes “image information, or video information, relating to items or images to be projected by the projector 304.” Cronin ¶ 48.
a processor coupled to the storage circuit unit and the environment sensing module, wherein the processor is configured to execute:
“[A]s shown in FIG. 6, the computer system 602 includes a processor 604, e.g., CPU,” and a “memory 606 may store instructions that, when executed by the processor 604, cause the processor 604 to perform operations as described herein.” Cronin ¶ 53.
selecting at least one target picture from the target picture database in response to searching out the target picture database from the plurality of picture databases;
“A virtual reality creation module 424 obtains the object data 414 and the theme projection information 422 for creating contents based on the obtained object data 414 and theme projection information 422.” Cronin ¶ 49.
enabling the projection device to project a projection image having the at least one target picture.
“A virtual reality transmission module 426 transmits the virtual reality data to the projector 304. The projector 304 is disposed in the hotel room 300 and is configured to project the virtual reality data in alignment or correspondence with the object 302.” Cronin ¶ 49.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Rastogi’s traditional display with Cronin’s projector 304. One would have been motivated to utilize a projector based on an explicitly recognized “need to improve the uniqueness of [resort or theme park] attractions and to extend the availability of the attractions.” Cronin ¶ 2.
Claim 2
Rastogi and Cronin teach the projection device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute:
determining a target style corresponding to the surrounding environment according to the sensing result, and searching the target picture database according to the target theme and the target style.
In addition to the context signals discussed in the rejection of claim 1 (corresponding to the theme), “[o]peration 502 may also include receiving additional data from the user regarding stylistic preferences for the visualizations that are generated. For instance, stylistic data may indicate an art type, format, and/or genre for the visualizations that are generated.” Rastogi ¶ 61. “Accordingly, when the context signals are generated, a query may be executed against the database to retrieve one or more images that satisfy the query.” Rastogi ¶ 72.
Claim 3
Rastogi and Cronin teach the projection device according to claim 1,
wherein after the processor generates the at least one target picture, the processor is configured to store the at least one target picture into the storage circuit unit.
Rastogi at least inherently discloses that the output payload of the AI model is stored in memory—if only a cache or the RAM of storage 710—because the computing device processes the output payload (e.g., sizing and formatting), and holds the image on the screen for at least a refresh period (e.g., four hours). See Rastogi ¶¶ 66–68.
Additionally, for longer term storage, Rastogi further teaches that “[n]ew images may also be added to the database over time,” for retrieval during the database driven version of the method. Rastogi ¶ 73.
Claim 4
Rastogi and Cronin teach the projection device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute:
generating a prompt according to the target theme, and selecting or generating the at least one target picture according to the prompt.
“At operation 506, an AI prompt is generated with the extracted context signals. For instance, the AI prompt may include static text and dynamic text. The dynamic text is populated with the extracted context signals to the form the AI prompt that is then provided to the generative AI model.” Rastogi ¶ 64.
Claim 5
Rastogi and Cronin teach the projection device according to claim 1,
wherein the environment sensing module comprises a sound receiving device to receive sounds from the surrounding environment to generate sound data,
“The computing device 700 may also have one or more input device(s) 712 such as . . . a sound input device.” Rastogi ¶ 84.
wherein the sensing result comprises the sound data, and the processor is configured to analyze the sound data to determine at least one sound source type corresponding to the sound data,
“At operation 502, an input for a selection of context signals may be received. The input may be a user input that is received from an input device of the computing device (e.g., touch screen, voice input, mouse, keyboard).” Rastogi ¶ 59.
and determine the target theme corresponding to the surrounding environment according to the at least one sound source type.
“At operation 504, the context signals that are selected or identified in operation 502 are extracted for further processing and/or inclusion into an AI prompt.” Rastogi ¶ 62.
Claim 6
Rastogi and Cronin teach the projection device according to claim 5,
wherein the sound data comprises a user’s voice instruction,
“At operation 502, an input for a selection of context signals may be received. The input may be a user input that is received from an input device of the computing device (e.g., touch screen, voice input, mouse, keyboard).” Rastogi ¶ 59.
and the processor is configured to determine the corresponding target theme according to the user’s voice instruction.
“At operation 504, the context signals that are selected or identified in operation 502 are extracted for further processing and/or inclusion into an AI prompt.” Rastogi ¶ 62.
Claim 7
Rastogi teaches the projection device according to claim 1,
wherein the environment sensing module comprises an image capturing device to capture the surrounding environment to generate image data,
“The computing device 700 may also have one or more input device(s) 712 such as a keyboard, a mouse, a pen, a sound input device, a touch input device, a camera.” Rastogi ¶ 84.
wherein the sensing result comprises the image data, and the processor is configured to identify an object in the image data, and determine the
“New images may also be added to the database over time and may include user-acquired images (e.g., images captured by a camera of the device). When the new image is added to the database, the image may be analyzed and tagged with the metadata discussed above. The analysis of the images may be performed using an AI and/or generative AI model to generate the metadata tags that match or align with context signals. For example, an AI prompt may be generated that requests a generative AI model to generate tags according to a set of different context signal categories. The generative AI model processes the new image with the prompt and generates an output payload that includes the tags. The tags may then be stored with the image (e.g., as metadata) in the database of images.” Rastogi ¶ 73.
In other words, like the claimed invention, Rastogi’s device has a camera, and the software of Rastogi’s device automatically tags the images with the context signals (the claimed theme data), so that they may later be retrieved when the current context signals match. This is different from the claimed invention, which uses the camera to determine the current context signals themselves, and obtain other images that are responsive to what the camera captured.
Cronin, however, teaches:
wherein the environment sensing module comprises an image capturing device to capture the surrounding environment to generate image data,
A “scanner/camera and sensors 310, 312, 314, and 316 may be disposed in the hotel room 300 individually or in combination.” Cronin ¶ 61. “In even further embodiments of the system 600, a proximity sensor 332 may be disposed in the hotel room 300. The proximity sensor 332 may be configured detect a presence of the guest 202 in the hotel room 300.” Cronin ¶ 72.
wherein the sensing result comprises the image data, and the processor is configured to identify an object in the image data, and determine the target theme corresponding to the surrounding environment according to the object.
“For example, the proximity sensor 332 may detect the presence of the guest 202 via the personal device 204 worn by the guest 202. According to such embodiment, the processor 604 may control the projecting of the virtual reality content 306 by the projector 304 on the object 302 based on a detection of the presence of the guest 202 in the hotel room 300 by the proximity sensor 332. As such, the system 600 need not necessarily project the virtual reality content 306 on the item 302 when the guest 202 is not present.” Cronin ¶ 72.
Claim 8
Rastogi and Cronin teach the projection device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute:
setting a system setting of the projection device, and setting the at least one target picture as at least one of a desktop, a standby screen, and an icon of an application of the projection device.
“At operation 514, the visualization is then caused to be displayed on as part of the user interface the respective application(s) and/or operating system running on the device. For instance, the visualization may be populated into the designated portion of the user interface, such as the banner of the messaging application discussed above.” Rastogi ¶ 67. “Other user interface elements, such as icon 306 and text 308, may also be displayed in a particular color that matches or is based on the visualization generated by the generative AI model and displayed in the banner 304. In other examples, the color used for the display of the icon 306 and/or the text 308 may be based on the context signal used to generate the AI prompt and visualization.” Rastogi ¶ 50.
Claim 9
Rastogi and Cronin teach the projection device according to claim 1,
wherein the projection device further comprises an input/output unit coupled to the processor,
“The input may be a user input that is received from an input device of the computing device (e.g., touch screen, voice input, mouse, keyboard).” Rastogi ¶ 59.
wherein the processor is further configured to execute: receiving and recording a user evaluation from the input/output unit,
“Relative weights may also be selected for each of the context signals. For instance, a user interface may be provided that allows the user to rank or set the relative importance of each of the context signals that are selected.” Rastogi ¶ 59.
and generating a prompt of the at least one target picture according to the user evaluation.
“At operation 506, an AI prompt is generated with the extracted context signals.” Rastogi ¶ 64.
Claim 10
Rastogi and Cronin teach the projection device according to claim 9,
wherein the storage circuit unit is configured to store a personalized database,
“[A] database of images may be stored in a manner that allows for the images to be searched with, or based on, the context signals that are extracted.” Rastogi ¶ 72. “New images may also be added to the database over time and may include user-acquired images (e.g., images captured by a camera of the device).” Rastogi ¶ 73.
the personalized database comprises at least one evaluated picture,
“For instance, the images may include metadata and/or otherwise be tagged with data that include descriptors of the particular image. The metadata and/or tags may be configured to match or align with the categories of the different context signals that are being used.” Rastogi ¶ 72.
and the at least one evaluated picture is the at least one target picture with the user evaluation,
“Accordingly, when the context signals are generated, a query may be executed against the database to retrieve one or more images that satisfy the query.” Rastogi ¶ 72. Recall from the rejection of claim 9 that the context signals are ranked and/or set with user-selected importance levels. Hence, when the database retrieves images that satisfy the query, it is retrieving the image(s) whose “metadata and/or tags [are] configured to match or align with the categories of the different context signals that are being used.” Rastogi ¶ 72.
wherein the processor is further configured to execute:
identifying at least one of a characteristic parameter and prompt of the evaluated picture; and
“[T]he images may include metadata and/or otherwise be tagged with data that include descriptors of the particular image . . . . Accordingly, when the context signals are generated, a query may be executed against the database to retrieve one or more images that satisfy the query.” Rastogi ¶ 72.
selecting or generating the at least one target picture according to at least one of the characteristic parameter and the prompt.
“A highest-ranking image may then be selected and used for the visualization that is incorporated into the user interfaces.” Rastogi ¶ 72.
Claims 11–13
Claims 11–13 recite exactly the same method that the projection device of claims 1–3 performs as part of its normal operation, and therefore, the prior art’s disclosure of the device claims necessarily discloses the corresponding method claims. See MPEP § 2112.02.
Claim 14
Rastogi and Cronin teach the control method of the projection device according to claim 11, wherein after the step of determining the target theme corresponding to the surrounding environment, the control method further comprises:
generating a prompt by the processor according to the target theme;
“At operation 506, an AI prompt is generated with the extracted context signals. For instance, the AI prompt may include static text and dynamic text. The dynamic text is populated with the extracted context signals to the form the AI prompt that is then provided to the generative AI model.” Rastogi ¶ 64.
wherein the step of selecting the at least one target picture from the target picture database comprises: selecting the at least one target picture by the processor according to the prompt; and
In the case of the database path, “when the context signals are generated, a query may be executed against the database to retrieve one or more images that satisfy the query.” Rastogi ¶ 72. The database “may be stored in a manner that allows for the images to be searched with, or based on, the context signals that are extracted,” e.g., “the images may include metadata and/or otherwise be tagged with data that include descriptors of the particular image,” and “[t]he metadata and/or tags may be configured to match or align with the categories of the different context signals that are being used.” Rastogi ¶ 72.
wherein the step of generating the at least one target picture according to the target theme comprises: generating the at least one target picture by the processor according to the prompt.
In the case of the generative AI path, Rastogi’s AI model “processes the received AI prompt and generates an output payload that includes a visualization according to the AI prompt.” Rastogi ¶ 66.
Claims 15–20
Claims 15–20 recite exactly the same method that the projection device of claims 5–10 performs as part of its normal operation, and therefore, the prior art’s disclosure of the device claims necessarily discloses the corresponding method claims. See MPEP § 2112.02.
Claim 21
Claim 21 recites the broader system of which the device of claim 1 is a part. Since every component of claim 21 was mentioned and mapped in the rejection of claim 1, the findings and rationale provided in claim 1 are hereby reincorporated as applied to claim 21, by reference. Accordingly, claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Rastogi in view of Cronin.
Claims 22 and 23
Rastogi and Cronin teach the projection system of claim 21, and to the extent that claims 22 and 23 require the AI model and picture databases to be disposed either in the device or a cloud server Rastogi further teaches that “the components of systems disclosed herein are distributed across multiple processing devices. For instance, input may be entered on a user device or client device and information may be processed on or accessed from other devices in a network, such as one or more remote cloud devices or web server devices.” Rastogi ¶ 18.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wenhu Chen et al, Re-imagen: Retrieval-augmented text-to-image generator (arXiv preprint 2022) available at https://arxiv.org/abs/2209.14491, teaches a holistic approach for retrieving images and generating them with a GAN.
US 20030088832 A1 Information material program e.g. advertisements selection method, involves sensing presence of individuals in predetermined area and selecting information material program based on individual characteristics
US 20060004834 A1 System for interacting with media files e.g. video files in network server, enables remote control device to manipulate media files using displayed user interface, and displays modified files on display device and remote control device
US 20070236671 A1 Image pattern and color projecting system, has projector configured to project light on surface e.g. wall, and controller configured to compare reflected light with selected characteristic e.g. pattern, which includes color
US 20070172155 A1 Photo automatic linking system for e.g. recognition purpose, has search engine extracting information about best-fit match or matches of facial images associated with image, along with electronic information from database
US 20120297325 A1 System for managing distribution of decorating content for decorating hotel, has display device for displaying content items, and user interface receiving decorating preferences from user, where display of items is based on preferences
US 20180240274 A1 Method for enhancing hotel service using virtual reality, involves displaying projection in reserved hotel room using projector and three-dimensional modeling tool based on extracted data relating to dimensions and objects in hotel room
US 20180068019 A1 Method for generating video based on theme by electronic device, involves querying image database to obtain images, determining that count of images satisfies threshold based on definition, and generating theme-based video including images
US 20180204059 A1 Method for contextual driven intelligence, involves identifying model from multiple models based on contextual information and object recognized in image based model and displaying icon at device
US 20200311116 A1 Method for curating and presenting collections of media content, involves curating collection of media content based on category and input context, and causing display of presentation of collection of media content at client device
US 20200334262 A1 Method for presenting images of features or products for room or location, involves predicting image from ingestion images to be pleasing to user based on training model, and presenting image through computer system
WO 2022005158 A1 Device for rendering change in content generated based on interaction with user, has processor for obtaining image included in identified domain and corresponding to domain attribute through neural network model and providing image as output
US 20230298492 A1 Display control method applied to automobiles, involves controlling projection device to project in automobile in response to display instruction by terminal device, so that image projected by projection device is displayed in automobile
CN 112685581 A Method for recommending projection content by using electronic device involves obtaining environment image of projection device, determining digital image to be pushed from candidate push digital image and pushing image to projection device
US 20210263970 A1 Non-transitory computer readable medium storing program for generating meaningful theme-based folders for media items, includes instruction for generating digital image navigation graphical user interface comprising collection of digital images
US 20240242405 A1 System for enabling dynamically generated virtual environments for different types of communications between users such as text messages and real-time voice and/or video communications, has virtual environment creation module that selects one of virtual building blocks based on virtual objects
US 20250004557 A1 Method for generating personalized image content for customization of prompts for use with artificial intelligence, involves passing prompt through generative artificial intelligence to generate image that includes aspects of target scene
US 20260186802 A1 Method for displaying wallpaper in image processing system, involves displaying first and second wall paper when respective wall paper display event is detected, where first and second wall paper comprises respective foreground object and respective background picture.
Conclusion
Justin R. Blaufeld
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2151
/Justin R. Blaufeld/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151