Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. (USP 6,482,309) in view of Scholz et al. (US PG Pub. 2003/0194447A1).
Green et al. discloses an invention relating to compositions and devices for transferring anti-infective activity to medical devices through electrolytic generation of elemental iodine, allowing for its transfer to the polymer base of urinary and venous catheters, wound drain tubes, and other medical devices, conferring to such devices prophylactic and therapeutic treatment of implant-linked infections, see column 1, second paragraph. The reference teaches that the device may comprise a medical device such as a catheter, drain tube, or implant. Alternatively, the device may comprise an insert member configured to be slidably insertable into a lumen of a medical device or insertable around the medical device, to transfer the anti-infective oxidant from the device into a wall of the medical device defining the medical device lumen, (see column 5, lines 21-27 and lines 58-62). The reference teaches that an alternative insert member which embodies features of the invention, has the anode member embedded within a polymeric wall of the insert member. The polymeric wall, formed of a polymeric material such as silicone, is impregnated with the oxidant generating formulation, such as potassium iodide. In such embodiment, the insert member is a solid-walled member, however, in alternative embodiments, the insert member may be hollow, so that the polymeric wall having the oxidant generating formulation dispersed therein defines at least in part a lumen or chamber. The cathode member is also included in fabrication of the device running parallel to the anodic lead wire. Arrows lateral to the long axis of the device illustrate the egress of nascent iodine from the polymer base as it is formed and diffuses outward from the polymeric wall and into surrounding body fluids and tissues in contact with the device, (see column 10, lines 7-21). Use of citric acid (buffering agent) and sodium iodate (oxidizing agent) is taught in table 1 of column 15.
Green et al. do not teach the amount of available iodine and povidone iodine.
Scholz et al. teaches antiseptic compositions and methods, see title. Scholz et al. teaches that the composition comprises antimicrobial iodine with an available iodine concentration of at least about 0.25 wt. % and water, see abstract. The reference teaches povidone-iodine that generates elemental iodine with an available iodine no greater than 1.0wt. %, see [0009]. Scholz teaches iodophore including polyvinylpyrrolidone (povidone) to be in an amount greater than 5 wt. %, see [0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized available iodine from povidone-iodine concentration of at least about 0.25% and manipulate this amount for optimum antibacterial effect by performing experimental manipulations. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because substitution of one source of elemental iodine with another would have provided predictable results of obtaining an antimicrobial solution sued in a medical device.
Nonstatutory double patenting rejection
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-16 of (U.S. Patent No. 12,171,235).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims recite an antimicrobial catheter system for a patient, the system comprising: a catheter device having a lumen and an inflatable balloon defined by a wall formed of an elastomeric polymer that is liquid-impermeable and gas-permeable, the inflatable balloon being configured for at least partial placement into the patient; and an antimicrobial solution that is introducible in a stable state into the lumen to inflate the balloon of the catheter device, the antimicrobial solution comprising 0.01% to 1% iodine by weight and 85% to 98% water by weight; whereupon introduction of the antimicrobial solution into the balloon is configured to provide a vapor pressure differential to the antimicrobial solution to generate free elemental iodine such that the elemental iodine diffuses through the wall of the balloon to form an antimicrobial region proximate an outer surface of the wall of the chamber. The patented claims recite an antimicrobial catheter system for a patient, the system comprising: a catheter device having a lumen and an inflatable balloon defined by a wall formed of an elastomeric polymer that is liquid-impermeable and gas-permeable, the inflatable balloon being configured for at least partial placement into the patient; and an antimicrobial solution that is introducible in a stable state into the lumen to inflate the balloon of the catheter device, the antimicrobial solution comprising 0.01% to 1% iodine by weight and 85% to 98% water by weight; whereupon introduction of the antimicrobial solution into the balloon provides a vapor pressure differential to the antimicrobial solution to generate free elemental iodine such that the elemental iodine diffuses through the wall of the balloon to form an antimicrobial region proximate an outer surface of the wall of the chamber. The patented antimicrobial catheter reads on the claimed antimicrobial catheter system.
Correspondence
/SNIGDHA MAEWALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612