DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18/967,544 filed on 12/06/2024.
Claims 2 – 13, 15 – 19, and 24 – 25 are amended.
Claims 14, 20 – 23 are cancelled
Claims 1 – 13, 15 – 19, and 24 – 25 are pending and rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/07/2025. was fully considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 8 – 11, 13, 16 – 17, and 24 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 20050172524 – Grant et al. hereinafter as GRANT
Regarding Claim 1
GRANT discloses:
(Original) A cast accessory for an attachment of a machine, the cast accessory being locatable on a wing/side edge of the attachment comprising one or more hidden wear indicating means being configurable to become visible only when a wear level of the accessory reaches a threshold value; (abstract - cast wear members and wing and side edges of a bucket)
wherein the threshold value indicates the requirement of repair or replacement to prevent damage or additional wear to the accessory and/or a main structure of the attachment.( para. 0082, 0095 and 0093 – wear indicating holes 136 – where in wear indicating hole 136 , when the rear portion of the wear indicator hole is showing than its time for a replacement)
Regarding Claim 2
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the accessory comprises an exterior surface subject to wear while the machine is in use; wherein the exterior surface being configurable for displaying the wear indicating means when the wear reaches the threshold value. ( para. 0082, 0095 and 0093 – wear indicating holes 136 – where in wear indicating hole 136 , when the rear portion of the wear indicator hole is showing than its time for a replacement)
Regarding Claim 3
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the accessory with the one or more wear indicating means is formed as an integral assembly through a casting process. Para. 0071 – lip wear segments are cast)
Regarding Claim 4
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more wear indicating means are at least partially or fully embedded within the accessory at a depth corresponding to a depth indicating
wear sufficient to result in replacement or repair of the accessory.( fig. 6 and para. 0082 - The wear indicator is depth indicator for replacement)
[AltContent: textbox (Depth wear for need of replacement)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Regarding Claim 5
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed claim 1, wherein the accessory comprises a main planar body formed for sitting flush to the outside surface of the wing/side edge of the side wall of the attachment.(para. 0062 - wing and wing wear attachments 36 and 38)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Wear indicator plurality)]
Regarding Claim 6
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed claim 1, wherein the accessory comprises a locating means protruding from the main planarly body for engaging with the wing/side edge of the side wall of the bucket; wherein the locating means provides a lip acting as the locating means for the accessory onto the attachment so that compressive forces do not detach the accessory from the attachment. ( fig 1 and 2 with fasteners as shown above)
Regarding Claim 8
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 3, wherein the one or more wear indicating
means are formed/located on an interior surface of the accessory; wherein the one
or more wear indicating means extend from the interior surface to a plane spaced
apart from the exterior surface towards the interior surface. ( see annotated fig. 6 above for wear indicator on an interior surface of the wear part)
Regarding Claim 9
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wear indicating means comprises at least one recess on the accessory; wherein the at least one recess is recessed to a depth into the accessory
corresponding to a depth indicating wear sufficient to result in replacement or repair of the accessory. ( see annotated fig. 6 above for wear recess to indicate depth indicator)
Regarding Claim 10
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wear indicating means comprises a plurality of recesses; wherein the plurality of recesses provides a visual indicating means to an operator of
the vehicle that wear sufficient to result in replacement or repair of the accessory has
occurred.( Fig. 1 where in 136 is in a plurality of spots on the wear elements to indicate replacement)
Regarding Claim 11
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more wear indicating means comprise a first end, a second end, and one or more sidewalls.( See fig. 6 – where in the annotated figure shows a first end, a second end and one or more sidewalls)
Regarding Claim 13
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the accessory comprises one or more sides; wherein the one or more sides comprise a first side, a second side and two lateral sides; and wherein
the accessory comprises a front surface and a back surface.
[AltContent: textbox (Second side)][AltContent: textbox (First side)][AltContent: textbox (back)][AltContent: textbox (Front)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lateral sides)]
Regarding Claim 16
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the accessory is formed of abrasion-resistant metal.( para. 0019 - Steel)
Regarding Claim 17
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein the attachment is a bucket of excavator;( fig. 1 para. 0061 - – attachment is bucket of excavator – 20 ) wherein the attachment comprises one or more sidewalls; ( Fig. 1 – 28 and 30 are sidewalls) wherein each sidewall comprises one or more side edges;( See fig. 1 – sidewall edges shown in annotated figure) wherein the sidewalls are connected to a shell and an upper support to define the main structure of the attachment; wherein the shell defines a base and a back;(fig. 1 - para. 0061 - ) wherein the base comprises a leading edge;( Fig. 1 – leading edge 44) and wherein the back has a curved shape wherein the back comprises an inner surface that defines a cavity of the bucket. ( See fig. 1 para. 0061 – annotated figure)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Back curve opposite of inner curve shape and inner surface cavity)][AltContent: textbox (shell)][AltContent: textbox (Leading edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Shell back)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Sidewall edges)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Sidewall )]
Regarding Claim 24
GRANT discloses:
An attachment of an excavator comprises
one or more cast accessory accessories as claimed in claim 1.( See figure 1 where in the cast accessories are the wear plates)
Regarding Claim 25
GRANT discloses:
A method for manufacturing the cast accessory as
claimed in claim 1, the method comprising casting a wear indicating means into the
accessory using a casting process, wherein the wear indicating means being
configurable to become visible only when a wear level of the accessory reaches a
threshold value; wherein the threshold value indicates the requirement of repair or
replacement to prevent damage or additional wear to the accessory and/or a main
structure of the attachment. ( fig. 6 and para. 0082 - The wear indicator is depth indicator for replacement)
[AltContent: textbox (Depth wear for need of replacement)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 12, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 20050172524 – Grant et al. hereinafter as GRANT
Regarding Claim 7
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed claim 1, wherein the one or more wear indicating means are exposed when the depth of the main planar body of the wear indicating means is worn down by 50%.
GRANT discloses of wear plate segments that are subject to wear where in the material that is worn is the likelihood of damage to the lip and controlling how soon a replacement part is required to the risk of damage. ( para .0093) The percentage of wear depth of the main planar body of the wear is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the percentage of wear depth as it has been held that routine optimization of the a results effective variable is obvious on this case to achieve a wear indication of the depth of the main planar body to determine replacement.
Regarding Claim 12
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 11, wherein the one or more wear indicating means has a depth
that extends from the first end to the second end towards the exterior surface of the accessory; and wherein the wear indicating means comprises the depth between 4mm to 15mm.
GRANT discloses of wear indications that determine the depths of the indicators can be determine based on how large or small the indicator needs to increase relative to the thickness of the wear part and thus require the ability for adjustments. ( para .0093)The wear depth range is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the wear depth range as it has been held that routine optimization of the a results effective variable is obvious on this case to achieve a wear depth indicator indicating of the depth necessary for determine replacement.
[AltContent: textbox (First side - sidewall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First end)][AltContent: textbox (Second end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 15
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 11, wherein the second end of the one or more wear indicating means becomes exposed when an original width of the accessory is reduced to approximately half. (See figure 6)
GRANT discloses of wear indications that determine the depths of the indicators can be determine based on how large or small the indicator needs to increase relative to the thickness of the wear part and thus require the ability for adjustments. ( para .0093) The wear width of the accessory is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the wear width of the accessory as it has been held that routine optimization of the a results effective variable is obvious on this case to achieve a wear depth necessary for determine replacement.
Regarding Claim 18
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in any preceding claim 1, wherein the accessory comprises a head being locatable on a wing/side edge of an opening of the attachment; wherein the head comprises the lip being locatable
on the side edge/wing of the attachment; and wherein the head has a specified width
configurable to reduce to approximately one-fifth when the wear indicating means is
displayed. ( Fig. 1 – head 257 with lip , 246 wind side edge of attachment, accessory located on wing edge 36)
GRANT discloses of wear indications that determine the depths of the indicators can be determine based on how large or small the indicator needs to increase relative to the thickness of the wear part and thus require the ability for adjustments. ( para .0093) The wear width of the head is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the wear width of the head as it has been held that routine optimization of the a results effective variable is obvious on this case to achieve a wear width of the head as necessary for determine replacement.
[AltContent: textbox (lip)][AltContent: textbox (width)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (head)]
Regarding Claim 19
GRANT discloses:
The cast accessory as claimed in claim 18,
wherein the head of the accessory is to be shaped such that there is no gap between
the accessory and a corresponding side/surface of a corner tooth attached to the
leading edge of the attachment. ( see fig. 12 – head shape conform to wing side surface)
Conclusion
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671