DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18-19 recites the limitation "The method of claim 16" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 16 is directed to an access point and never recites “a method”. It appears that claims 18-19 are supposed to dependent on the method claim 17 instead of claim 16.
Claim 20 is dependent on claim 19 and therefore rejected for the same reasoning as claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-9, 11-12, 15-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xin’871 (US 2023/0058871).
Xin ‘871 discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a first STA (see STA3 476 in Fig. 36; such STAs are also shown in Fig. 17-19) in a wireless network (see network 70 shown in Fig. 19), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory (see CPU 18 coupled to RAM 20 in Fig. 17), the processor configured to cause: transmitting, to an AP (see AP MLD1 474 in Fig. 36 or see AP MLD#1 72 in Fig. 19), a request that requests a resource from the AP for a transmission performed between a second STA and the AP (see TWT request 654 in Fig. 36 for the communication on link 2 between the AP MLD1 474 and STA5 478), wherein the first STA and the second STA are associated with the AP (see Fig. 36, wherein both STA3 476 and STA5 478 are in communication with AP MLD1 474; also see paragraph [0112], which shows that STA3 and STA5 are both associated with AP MLD#1 72).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the request frame further requests a resource from the AP for a transmission performed between the first STA and the AP (see TWT req 654 in Fig. 36, which also requests resource for communication on Link1 between STA3 476 and the AP MLD1 474).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the request frame requests a resource from the AP for transmission performed by a plurality of STAs (see TWT req 654 in Fig. 36, which also requests resource for communication on Link1 between STA3 476 and the AP MLD1 474 and on Link2 between STA5 478 and the AP MLD1 474).
Regarding claim 7, receiving, from the AP, a trigger frame that allocates a TXOP and, performing a communication with the AP during the allocated TXOP (see trigger frame 662 and 664 in Fig. 36, wherein the trigger frame allocates the TXOP during I-TWT5 SP 661 for the transmission of messages 666-680).
Regarding claim 8, wherein: the trigger frame is received during a TWT SP established between the first STA and the AP (see Fig. 36, wherein the trigger frames 662 is received during the I-TWT5 SP 661 established between STA3 476 and AP MLD1 474).
Regarding claim 9, an AP (see AP MLD1 474 in Fig. 36 or see AP MLD#1 72 in Fig. 19) in a wireless network (see network 70 shown in Fig. 19), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory (see CPU 18 coupled to RAM 20 in Fig. 17), the processor configured to cause: receiving, from a first STA (see STA3 476 in Fig. 36), a request that requests a resource from the AP for a transmission performed by a second STA (see TWT request 654 in Fig. 36 for the communication on link 2 between the AP MLD1 474 and STA5 478), and transmitting, to the second STA, a first trigger frame that allocates a TXOP to the second STA in response to the request frame (see trigger frame 664 being sent from the MLD1 474 to the STA5 478 on Link2 in response to the request frame 654).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the request frame further requests a resource from the AP for a transmission performed by the first STA (see TWT req 654 in Fig. 36, which also requests resource for communication on Link1 between STA3 476 and the AP MLD1 474).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the request frame requests a resource from the AP for a transmission performed by a plurality of STAs (see TWT req 654 in Fig. 36, which also requests resource for communication on Link1 between STA3 476 and the AP MLD1 474 and on Link2 between STA5 478 and the AP MLD1 474).
Regarding claim 15, transmitting, to the first STA, a second trigger frame that allocates a TXOP in response to the request frame (see Trigger Frame 662 sent to STA3 to allocate the TXOP 661 in response to the TWT req frame 654 in Fig. 36).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the first trigger frame is transmitted to the second STA during a first TWT SP (see Trigger Frame 664 sent to STA5 during I-TWT5 SP on Link2 661 Fig. 36); and the second trigger frame is transmitted to the first STA during a second TWT SP (see Trigger Frame 662 sent to STA3 during I-TWT5 SP on Link1 661 Fig. 36).
Regarding claim 17, a method performed by a first STA (see STA3 476 in Fig. 36; such STAs are also shown in Fig. 17-19) in a wireless network (see network 70 shown in Fig. 19), comprising: transmitting, to an AP (see AP MLD1 474 in Fig. 36 or see AP MLD#1 72 in Fig. 19), a request that requests a resource from the AP for a transmission performed between a second STA and the AP (see TWT request 654 in Fig. 36 for the communication on link 2 between the AP MLD1 474 and STA5 478), wherein the first STA and the second STA are associated with the AP (see Fig. 36, wherein both STA3 476 and STA5 478 are in communication with AP MLD1 474; also see paragraph [0112], which shows that STA3 and STA5 are both associated with AP MLD#1 72).
Regarding claim 19, receiving, from the AP, a trigger frame that allocates a TXOP and, performing a communication with the AP during the allocated TXOP (see trigger frame 662 and 664 in Fig. 36, wherein the trigger frame allocates the TXOP during I-TWT5 SP 661 for the transmission of messages 666-680).
Regarding claim 20, wherein: the trigger frame is received during a TWT SP established between the first STA and the AP (see Fig. 36, wherein the trigger frames 662 is received during the I-TWT5 SP 661 established between STA3 476 and AP MLD1 474).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,5-6, 10, 13-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin’871 as applied to claims 1, 3, 9, 11 and 16 above, and further in view of Batta (US 2024/0224160).
Xin’871 discloses the features as shown above.
Xin‘871 does not explicitly disclose the following features: regarding claims 2 and 18, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the second STA; regarding claim 5, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the first STA; regarding claim 6, wherein the request frame further comprises a first element associated with QoS requirement for the first STA and a second element associated with QoS requirement for the second STA; regarding claim 10, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the second STA; regarding claim 13, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the first STA; regarding claim 14, wherein the request frame further comprises a first element associated with QoS requirement for the first STA and a second element associated with QoS requirement for the second STA (Xin’871 discloses the use of a TSPEC element in Fig. 1-2 and the use of RTA-TSPEC element to specify QoS requirements for the R-TWT requests in Fig. 29-32, also see paragraph [0157] and [0308], but does not specify the use of TSPEC element to indicate QoS requirement for the TWT request in Fig. 36 as applied to the rejections above).
Batta discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the second STA (see “The TWT request can indicate a set of TWT parameters that the wireless communication device proposes for a TWT session between the wireless communication device and the target AP. The wireless communication device can include the TWT request in a resource information container (RIC) contained in the frame. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey resource request(s) of other type(s) in addition to the TWT request. For instance, in some examples, in addition to the TWT request, the RIC can include resource request(s) indicating traffic specification (TSPEC) traffic stream setup request(s), block acknowledgment (BA) setup request(s) or a combination of both. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey multiple TWT requests by including multiple TWT requests in the RIC, optionally in combination with resource request(s) of other type(s) such as TSPEC request(s), BA request(s), or both” recited in paragraph [0031], wherein TWT requests, such as the TWT request in Fig. 36 of Xin’871, may be included in a RIC that also indicates the TSPEC for the requested resource; therefore, the TWT request in Xin’871 may be replaced by a RIC of Batta that includes the TWT request for Link1 (for STA3) and Link2 (for STA5) and the corresponding TSPEC elements).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the first STA (see “The TWT request can indicate a set of TWT parameters that the wireless communication device proposes for a TWT session between the wireless communication device and the target AP. The wireless communication device can include the TWT request in a resource information container (RIC) contained in the frame. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey resource request(s) of other type(s) in addition to the TWT request. For instance, in some examples, in addition to the TWT request, the RIC can include resource request(s) indicating traffic specification (TSPEC) traffic stream setup request(s), block acknowledgment (BA) setup request(s) or a combination of both. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey multiple TWT requests by including multiple TWT requests in the RIC, optionally in combination with resource request(s) of other type(s) such as TSPEC request(s), BA request(s), or both” recited in paragraph [0031], wherein TWT requests, such as the TWT request in Fig. 36 of Xin’871, may be included in a RIC that also indicates the TSPEC for the requested resource; therefore, the TWT request in Xin’871 may be replaced by a RIC of Batta that includes the TWT request for Link1 (for STA3) and Link2 (for STA5) and the corresponding TSPEC elements).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the request frame further comprises a first element associated with QoS requirement for the first STA and a second element associated with QoS requirement for the second STA (see “The TWT request can indicate a set of TWT parameters that the wireless communication device proposes for a TWT session between the wireless communication device and the target AP. The wireless communication device can include the TWT request in a resource information container (RIC) contained in the frame. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey resource request(s) of other type(s) in addition to the TWT request. For instance, in some examples, in addition to the TWT request, the RIC can include resource request(s) indicating traffic specification (TSPEC) traffic stream setup request(s), block acknowledgment (BA) setup request(s) or a combination of both. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey multiple TWT requests by including multiple TWT requests in the RIC, optionally in combination with resource request(s) of other type(s) such as TSPEC request(s), BA request(s), or both” recited in paragraph [0031], wherein TWT requests, such as the TWT request in Fig. 36 of Xin’871, may be included in a RIC that also indicates the TSPEC for the requested resource; therefore, the TWT request in Xin’871 may be replaced by a RIC of Batta that includes the TWT request for Link1 (for STA3) and Link2 (for STA5) and the corresponding TSPEC elements).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the second STA (see “The TWT request can indicate a set of TWT parameters that the wireless communication device proposes for a TWT session between the wireless communication device and the target AP. The wireless communication device can include the TWT request in a resource information container (RIC) contained in the frame. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey resource request(s) of other type(s) in addition to the TWT request. For instance, in some examples, in addition to the TWT request, the RIC can include resource request(s) indicating traffic specification (TSPEC) traffic stream setup request(s), block acknowledgment (BA) setup request(s) or a combination of both. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey multiple TWT requests by including multiple TWT requests in the RIC, optionally in combination with resource request(s) of other type(s) such as TSPEC request(s), BA request(s), or both” recited in paragraph [0031], wherein TWT requests, such as the TWT request in Fig. 36 of Xin’871, may be included in a RIC that also indicates the TSPEC for the requested resource; therefore, the TWT request in Xin’871 may be replaced by a RIC of Batta that includes the TWT request for Link1 (for STA3) and Link2 (for STA5) and the corresponding TSPEC elements).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the first STA (see “The TWT request can indicate a set of TWT parameters that the wireless communication device proposes for a TWT session between the wireless communication device and the target AP. The wireless communication device can include the TWT request in a resource information container (RIC) contained in the frame. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey resource request(s) of other type(s) in addition to the TWT request. For instance, in some examples, in addition to the TWT request, the RIC can include resource request(s) indicating traffic specification (TSPEC) traffic stream setup request(s), block acknowledgment (BA) setup request(s) or a combination of both. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey multiple TWT requests by including multiple TWT requests in the RIC, optionally in combination with resource request(s) of other type(s) such as TSPEC request(s), BA request(s), or both” recited in paragraph [0031], wherein TWT requests, such as the TWT request in Fig. 36 of Xin’871, may be included in a RIC that also indicates the TSPEC for the requested resource; therefore, the TWT request in Xin’871 may be replaced by a RIC of Batta that includes the TWT request for Link1 (for STA3) and Link2 (for STA5) and the corresponding TSPEC elements).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the request frame further comprises a first element associated with QoS requirement for the first STA and a second element associated with QoS requirement for the second STA (see “The TWT request can indicate a set of TWT parameters that the wireless communication device proposes for a TWT session between the wireless communication device and the target AP. The wireless communication device can include the TWT request in a resource information container (RIC) contained in the frame. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey resource request(s) of other type(s) in addition to the TWT request. For instance, in some examples, in addition to the TWT request, the RIC can include resource request(s) indicating traffic specification (TSPEC) traffic stream setup request(s), block acknowledgment (BA) setup request(s) or a combination of both. In some examples, the wireless communication device can use the frame to convey multiple TWT requests by including multiple TWT requests in the RIC, optionally in combination with resource request(s) of other type(s) such as TSPEC request(s), BA request(s), or both” recited in paragraph [0031], wherein TWT requests, such as the TWT request in Fig. 36 of Xin’871, may be included in a RIC that also indicates the TSPEC for the requested resource; therefore, the TWT request in Xin’871 may be replaced by a RIC of Batta that includes the TWT request for Link1 (for STA3) and Link2 (for STA5) and the corresponding TSPEC elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current Application to modify the system of Xin’871 using features, as taught by Batta, in order to allow fast BSS transition procedures by conducing certain security and QoS-related communication exchanges in combination with authentication and association message exchanges (see paragraph [0003] of Batta).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xin’168 (US 2023/0139168) also disclose the claimed features as shown below.
Xin‘168 discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a first STA (see STA3 84 in Fig. 43) in a wireless network (see network 70 shown in Fig. 16), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory (see CPU 18 coupled to RAM 20 in Fig. 14), the processor configured to cause: transmitting, to an AP (see AP MLD1 70 in Fig. 43), a request that requests a resource from the AP for a transmission performed between a second STA and the AP (see Fig. 43, wherein STA3 84 transmits a request 1314 for communications on link1 and link2, wherein Link2 is used for the transmission between STA5 88 and the AP MLD1 70), wherein the first STA and the second STA are associated with the AP (see Fig. 43, wherein both STA3 84 and STA5 88 are in communication with AP MLD1 70; also see paragraph [0099] and Fig. 16, which shows that STA3 and STA5 are both associated with AP MLD#1 70).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the second STA (see “If a R-TWT scheduled MLD requests the membership of a ML R-TWT for the transmission of a traffic stream under a Traffic Specification (TSPEC) or a QoS Characteristics element during the ML R-TWT SPs, then the AP considers whether it can satisfy the QoS requirements of the traffic stream based on the capacity of all the links where the ML R-TWT SPs are scheduled” recited in paragraph [0117]; such that the ML-R-TWT request 1314 in Fig. 43 would include the TSPEC or QoS characteristics element for both link1 84 (for STA3 84) and link2 88 (for STA5 88)).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the request frame further requests a resource from the AP for a transmission performed between the first STA and the AP (see Fig. 43, wherein STA3 84 transmits a request 1314 for communications on link1 and link2, wherein Link1 is used for the transmission between STA3 84 and the AP MLD1 70).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the request frame includes QoS requirement for the first STA (see “If a R-TWT scheduled MLD requests the membership of a ML R-TWT for the transmission of a traffic stream under a Traffic Specification (TSPEC) or a QoS Characteristics element during the ML R-TWT SPs, then the AP considers whether it can satisfy the QoS requirements of the traffic stream based on the capacity of all the links where the ML R-TWT SPs are scheduled” recited in paragraph [0117]; such that the ML-R-TWT request 1314 in Fig. 43 would include the TSPEC or QoS characteristics element for both link1 84 (for STA3 84) and link2 88 (for STA5 88)).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the request frame further comprises a first element associated with QoS requirement for the first STA and a second element associated with QoS requirement for the second STA (see “If a R-TWT scheduled MLD requests the membership of a ML R-TWT for the transmission of a traffic stream under a Traffic Specification (TSPEC) or a QoS Characteristics element during the ML R-TWT SPs, then the AP considers whether it can satisfy the QoS requirements of the traffic stream based on the capacity of all the links where the ML R-TWT SPs are scheduled” recited in paragraph [0117]; such that the ML-R-TWT request 1314 in Fig. 43 would include the TSPEC or QoS characteristics element for both link1 84 (for STA3 84) and link2 88 (for STA5 88)).
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473