Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 3, 2024, was filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 2, 4, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“A time domain position of the first transmission resource" in claim 2 (line 3-4), claim 4 (line 4-5), claim 16 (line 3-4), and claim 18 (line 4-5) should be replaced with - - the time domain position of the first transmission resource - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a time domain position of the first transmission resource” in claim 2 (line 2-3), claim 4 (line 2-3), claim 16 (line 2-3), and claim 18 (line 3), respectively.
“A transmission position of indication information" in claim 2 (line 5-6), claim 4 (line 5-6), claim 16 (line 5-6), and claim 18 (line 5-6) should be replaced with - - the transmission position of the indication information - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a transmission position of indication information” in claim 2 (line 4-5), claim 4 (line 3-4), claim 16 (line 4-5), and claim 18 (3-4), respectively.
“Indication information" in claim 2 (line 7), claim 4 (line 7), claim 16 (line 7), and claim 18 (line 7) should be replaced with - - the indication information - - to be consistent with the first citation of “indication information” in claim 2 (line 4-5), claim 4 (line 4), claim 16 (line 5), and claim 18 (line 4), respectively.
“Characteristic parameters" in claim 8 (line 3), claim 14 (line 3), and claim 20 (line 3) should be replaced with - - the characteristic parameters - - to be consistent with the first citation of “characteristic parameters” in claim 8 (line 2), claim 14 (line 2), and claim 20 (line 2), respectively.
“Channel information" in claim 8 (line 5), claim 14 (line 5), and claim 20 (line 5) should be replaced with - - the channel information - - to be consistent with the first citation of “channel information” in claim 8 (line 4), claim 14 (line 4), and claim 20 (line 4), respectively.
“A first duration" in claim 9 (line 7-8) should be replaced with - - the first duration - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a first duration” in claim 9 (line 5).
“Part or all of N pieces of first sensing result information" in claim 9 (line 8) should be replaced with - - the part or all of N pieces of first sensing result information - - to be consistent with the first citation of “part or all of N pieces of first sensing result information” in claim 9 (line 5-6).
“A transmission position of the first information" in claim 9 (line 10), should be replaced with - - the transmission position of the first information - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a transmission position of the first information” in claim 9 (line 9).
“At least one of the N pieces of first sensing result information comprises " in claim 11 (line 1-2) should be replaced with - - the at least one of the N pieces of first sensing result information comprises - - to be consistent with the first citation of “at least one of the N pieces of first sensing result information comprises” in claim 10 (line 7).
“Part or all of the N pieces of first sensing result information" in claim 13 (lines 2, 4, and 6) should be replaced with - - the part or all of the N pieces of first sensing result information - - to be consistent with the first citation of “part or all of N pieces of first sensing result information” in claim 9 (line 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 14-15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duan ‘913 (US 2025/0125913, “Duan ‘913”).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Duan ‘913 discloses a sensing measurement device (FIG. 3A, para 29 and 65; user equipment (UE)), comprising:
a processor and a memory storing at least one program, which when executed by the processor, cause the sensing measurement device (FIG. 3A, para 65 and 73; memory modules are stored in memory components, and are executed by a processor to cause the UE to perform functions) to:
transmit M pieces of first sensing result information over a first transmission resource (FIGS. 3A and 14, para 9, 66, and 111-114; UE transmits to a gNB1 multiple RF sensing report messages, where the transmissions are over time/frequency resources; multiple RF sensing report messages read on M pieces of first sensing result information; time/frequency resources read on a first transmission resource),
wherein the M pieces of first sensing result information are acquired based on M sets of sensing signals, and M is a positive integer greater than 1 (FIG. 14, para 111-114; the multiple RF sensing report messages include RF sensing results for multiple received RF sensing signals; as each RF sensing result is a result of sensing operation based on a received RF sensing signal, the number of RF sensing report messages is based on the same number of received RF sensing signals, and that number is a positive integer greater than 1),
wherein each set of the M sets of sensing signals comprises at least one sensing signal (FIG. 14, para 111-114; the multiple received RF sensing signals are multiple sets of RF sensing signals, where each set comprises one RF sensing signal).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Duan ‘913 teaches wherein the at least one program, which when executed by the processor, further cause the sensing measurement device to:
acquire N pieces of first sensing result information based on N sets of sensing signals, wherein N is greater than or equal to M (FIG. 14, para 111-114; the multiple RF sensing report messages include RF sensing results for multiple received RF sensing signals; as each RF sensing result is a result of sensing operation based on a received RF sensing signal, the number of RF sensing reports messages is based on the same number of sets of received RF sensing signals; thus, UE acquires the number of RF sensing results based on the number of received RF sensing signals, and the number of acquired RF sensing results is equal to the number of received RF sensing signals; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art), and
the N pieces of first sensing result information comprise the M pieces of first sensing result information (FIG. 14, para 111-114; the RF sensing report messages include RF sensing results for multiple received RF sensing signals; as each RF sensing result is a result of sensing operation based on a received RF sensing signal, the number of RF sensing results is based on the same number of received RF sensing signals; thus, the number of multiple RF sensing results comprise the number of multiple RF sensing results).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Duan ‘913 teaches wherein the M pieces of first sensing result information comprise information indicating at least one of:
characteristic parameters of the M sets of sensing signals (FIG. 14, para 111-114; RF sensing results include a signal indicator that is the received signal strength of the RF sensing signals; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art),
offset information or difference information of characteristic parameters of the M sets of sensing signals,
channel information experienced by the M sets of sensing signals,
offset information or difference information of channel information experienced by the M sets of sensing signals, or
an application-oriented sensing result.
Regarding claim 9, Duan ‘913 discloses a method for transmitting sensing result information, applicable to a first node (FIGS. 3A and 14, para 65-66, and 111-114; UE transmits to a gNB1 multiple RF sensing report messages), the method comprising:
transmitting first information over a second transmission resource upon receiving N sets of sensing signals, wherein N is a positive integer (FIGS. 3A and 14, para 9, 66, and 111-114; UE transmits to a gNB1 multiple RF sensing report messages, where the transmissions are over time/frequency resources; the RF sensing report messages include RF sensing results for multiple received RF sensing signals; thus, UE transmits multiple RF sensing report messages over frequency resources upon receiving a number of RF sensing signals, where the number is a positive integer; multiple RF sensing report messages read on first information; frequency resources read on a second transmission resource); and
transmitting, in response to receiving schedule information within a first duration, part or all of N pieces of first sensing result information over a third transmission resource scheduled by the schedule information; or,
transmitting, in response to a third transmission resource within a first duration, part or all of N pieces of first sensing result information over the third transmission resource (FIG. 14, para 111-114; UE transmits multiple RF sensing report messages, where the transmissions are over time/frequency resources; the RF sensing report messages include RF sensing results for multiple received RF sensing signals; thus, UE transmits multiple RF sensing report messages over time resources upon receiving a number of RF sensing signals; therefore, UE transmits multiple RF sensing report messages over time resources, in response to the time resources within a time duration of the time resources; a time duration of the time resources reads on a first duration; the time resources read on a third transmission resource; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art),
wherein a start point of the first duration is a transmission position of the first information (FIG. 14, para 111-114; UE transmits multiple RF sensing report messages over time resources; thus, the start point of the time duration of the time resources is a transmission position of the multiple RF sensing report messages; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art) or is determined based on a transmission position of the first information,
the N pieces of first sensing result information are acquired based on the N sets of sensing signals (FIG. 14, para 111-114; the multiple RF sensing report messages include RF sensing results for multiple received RF sensing signals; as each RF sensing result is a result of sensing operation based on a received RF sensing signal, the number of RF sensing results is based on the same number of received RF sensing signals), and
each set of the N sets of sensing signals comprises at least one sensing signal (FIG. 14, para 111-114; the multiple received RF sensing signals are multiple sets of RF sensing signals, where each set comprises one RF sensing signal).
Regarding claim 10, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
Further, Duan ‘913 teaches wherein the first information comprises information indicating at least one of:
an application-oriented sensing result, wherein the application-oriented sensing result is determined based on the N sets of sensing signals;
resource request information, wherein the resource request information is for requesting the third transmission resource; or
information acquired based on at least one of the N pieces of first sensing result information (FIG. 14, para 111-114; UE transmits to a gNB1 multiple RF sensing report messages; thus, the gNB1 acquires information in the multiple RF sensing report messages; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Regarding claim 14, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
Further, Duan ‘913 teaches wherein the N pieces of first sensing result information comprise information indicating at least one of:
characteristic parameters of the N sets of sensing signals (FIG. 14, para 111-114; RF sensing results include a signal indicator that is the received signal strength of the RF sensing signals; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art),
offset information or difference information of characteristic parameters of the N sets of sensing signals,
channel information experienced by the N sets of sensing signals, or
offset information or difference information of channel information experienced by the N sets of sensing signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan ‘913, in view of Zhang ‘345 (US 2015/0201345, “Zhang ‘345”).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Duan ‘913 teaches wherein the M sets of sensing signals are last M sets of sensing signals prior to a first time position (FIG. 14, para 66 and 111-114; UE receives multiple RF sensing signals before sending multiple RF sensing report messages; signals are received over time resources; thus, UE receives the multiple RF sensing signals as last multiple RF sensing signals prior to a time position that is the end time of the time resources; the end time of the time resources reads on a first time position);
wherein
the first time position is a time domain position of the first transmission resource (FIG. 14, para 66 and 111-114; UE receives multiple RF sensing signals before sending multiple RF sensing report messages; signals are received over time resources; thus, UE receives the multiple RF sensing signals as last multiple RF sensing signals prior to a time position that is the end time of the time resources; the end time of the time resources reads on the first time position; therefore, the end time of the time resources is a time domain position of the time resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art),
the first time position is determined based on a time domain position of the first transmission resource,
the first time position is a transmission position of indication information, or,
the first time position is determined based on a transmission position of indication information.
However, Duan ‘913 does not specifically disclose wherein indication information instructs a first node to transmit the M pieces of first sensing result information.
Zhang ‘345 teaches wherein indication information instructs a first node to transmit the M pieces of first sensing result information (para 18; indication information instructs a UE to send measurement result information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Duan ‘913’s sensing measurement device that transmits sensing result information over a transmission resource, to include Zhang ‘345’s indication information that instructs a UE to send measurement result information. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a measurement report in time and save air interface resources (Zhang ‘345, para 5-6).
9. Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan ‘913, in view of Zhang ‘345, and further in view of Liu ‘649 (US 2024/0430649, “Liu ‘649”).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 3 and 17, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Duan ‘913 teaches wherein
the second time position is a time domain position of the first transmission resource (FIG. 14, para 66 and 111-114; UE receives multiple RF sensing signals before sending multiple RF sensing report messages; signals are received over time resources; thus, UE receives the multiple RF sensing signals as last multiple RF sensing signals prior to a time position that is the end time of the time resources; the end time of the time resources reads on the second time position; therefore, the end time of the time resources is a time domain position of the time resources; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art),
the second time position is a transmission position of indication information,
the second time position is determined based on a time domain position of the first transmission resource, or,
the second time position is determined based on a transmission position of indication information.
However, Duan ‘913 does not specifically disclose wherein indication information instructs a first node to transmit the M pieces of first sensing result information.
Zhang ‘345 teaches wherein indication information instructs a first node to transmit the M pieces of first sensing result information (para 18; indication information instructs a UE to send measurement result information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Duan ‘913’s sensing measurement device that transmits sensing result information over a transmission resource, to include Zhang ‘345’s indication information that instructs a UE to send measurement result information. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a measurement report in time and save air interface resources (Zhang ‘345, para 5-6).
However, Duan ‘913 in combination with Zhang ‘345 does not specifically disclose wherein the N sets of sensing signals are last N sets of sensing signals prior to a second time position.
Liu ‘649 teaches wherein the N sets of sensing signals are last N sets of sensing signals prior to a second time position (para 155; sensing signals are received at one time; thus, sensing signals are received prior to a later time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined sensing measurement device of Duan ‘913 and Zhang ‘345, to include Liu ‘649’s sensing signals that are received at one time. The motivation for doing so would have been to implement sensing to provide security and ensure quality of service (Liu ‘649, para 4).
10. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan ‘913, in view of Zhang ‘345, and further in view of Liu ‘649, and further in view of Kiukkonen ‘543 (US 2013/0059543, “Kiukkonen ‘543”).
Regarding claim 5, Duan ‘913 in combination with Zhang ‘345 and Liu ‘649 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 4, as outlined above.
However, Duan ‘913 in combination with Zhang ‘345 and Liu ‘649 does not specifically disclose wherein a value of M is indicated by the indication information.
Kiukkonen ‘543 teaches wherein a value of M is indicated by the indication information (para 58; a number of sensing results is indicated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined sensing measurement device of Duan ‘913, Zhang ‘345, and Liu ‘649, to include Kiukkonen ‘543’s indicated number of sensing results. The motivation for doing so would have been to address the impracticality of a cognitive radio device receiving detection results from all nearby cognitive radios due to the generated amount of signaling (Kiukkonen ‘543, para 3-5).
Regarding claim 6, Duan ‘913 in combination with Zhang ‘345 and Liu ‘649 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 4, as outlined above.
However, Duan ‘913 in combination with Zhang ‘345 and Liu ‘649 does not specifically disclose wherein information for determining the M pieces of first sensing result information from the N pieces of first sensing result information is indicated by the indication information.
Kiukkonen ‘543 teaches wherein information for determining the M pieces of first sensing result information from the N pieces of first sensing result information is indicated by the indication information (para 58; a number of sensing results is indicated; thus, information for determining the number of sensing results from the number of sensing results is indicated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined sensing measurement device of Duan ‘913, Zhang ‘345, and Liu ‘649, to include Kiukkonen ‘543’s indicated number of sensing results. The motivation for doing so would have been to address the impracticality of a cognitive radio device receiving detection results from all nearby cognitive radios due to the generated amount of signaling (Kiukkonen ‘543, para 3-5).
11. Claims 7, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan ‘913, in view of Kiukkonen ‘543.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Duan ‘913 teaches wherein the at least one program, which when executed by the processor, cause the sensing measurement device to:
receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information is indicative of information (FIG. 14, para 111-114; UE receives RF sensing configuration information indicating information for RF sensing signals).
Although Duan ‘913 discloses the configuration information is indicative of information, Duan ‘913 does not specifically disclose configuration information is indicative of information indicating at least one of: the first transmission resource, or a value of M.
Kiukkonen ‘543 teaches configuration information is indicative of information indicating at least one of:
the first transmission resource, or
a value of M (para 58; a number of sensing results is indicated; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Duan ‘913’s sensing measurement device that transmits sensing result information over a transmission resource, to include Kiukkonen ‘543’s indicated number of sensing results. The motivation for doing so would have been to address the impracticality of a cognitive radio device receiving detection results from all nearby cognitive radios due to the generated amount of signaling (Kiukkonen ‘543, para 3-5).
Regarding claim 12, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
However, Duan ‘913 does not specifically disclose wherein the first information is indicative of a value of N.
Kiukkonen ‘543 teaches wherein the first information is indicative of a value of N (para 58; a number of sensing results is indicated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Duan ‘913’s sensing measurement device that transmits sensing result information over a transmission resource, to include Kiukkonen ‘543’s indicated number of sensing results. The motivation for doing so would have been to address the impracticality of a cognitive radio device receiving detection results from all nearby cognitive radios due to the generated amount of signaling (Kiukkonen ‘543, para 3-5).
12. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan ‘913, in view of Yao ‘229 (US 2024/0284229, “Yao ‘229”).
Regarding claim 11, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 10, as outlined above.
However, Duan ‘913 does not specifically disclose wherein the information acquired based on at least one of the N pieces of first sensing result information comprises: sensing result information in the N pieces of first sensing result information that has a value less than a first threshold; sensing result information in the N pieces of first sensing result information that has a value greater than a second threshold; or sensing result information in the N pieces of first sensing result information that has a value change reaching a hopping condition.
Yao ‘229 teaches wherein the information acquired based on at least one of the N pieces of first sensing result information comprises:
sensing result information in the N pieces of first sensing result information that has a value less than a first threshold;
sensing result information in the N pieces of first sensing result information that has a value greater than a second threshold (para 168; sensing measurement result is greater than a threshold; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art); or
sensing result information in the N pieces of first sensing result information that has a value change reaching a hopping condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Duan ‘913’s sensing measurement device that transmits sensing result information over a transmission resource, to include Yao ‘229’s sensing measurement result that is greater than a threshold. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve sensing performance (Yao ‘229, para 3).
13. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan ‘913, in view of Prasad ‘933 (US 2020/0228933, “Prasad ‘933”).
Regarding claim 13, Duan ‘913 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 9, as outlined above.
However, Duan ‘913 does not specifically disclose further comprising: not transmitting part or all of the N pieces of first sensing result information in response to receiving the schedule information upon the first duration; not transmitting part or all of the N pieces of first sensing result information in response to not receiving the schedule information prior to expiration of the first duration; or not transmitting part or all of the N pieces of first sensing result information in response to the third transmission resource upon the first duration.
Prasad ‘933 teaches further comprising:
not transmitting part or all of the N pieces of first sensing result information in response to receiving the schedule information upon the first duration;
not transmitting part or all of the N pieces of first sensing result information in response to not receiving the schedule information prior to expiration of the first duration; or
not transmitting part or all of the N pieces of first sensing result information in response to the third transmission resource upon the first duration (para 105; base station discards data packets for transmission periods of inability to transmit; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Duan ‘913’s sensing measurement device that transmits sensing result information over a transmission resource, to include Prasad ‘933’s base station that discards data packets for transmission periods of inability to transmit. The motivation for doing so would have been to implement a multicast broadcast single frequency network (MBSFN) on unlicensed spectrum (Prasad ‘933, para 84 and 91-93).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474