DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Langhammer, patent number: US 10 237 066.
As per claim 1, Langhammer teaches a method comprising:
generating, using a first encryption key, a first set of round keys for rounds of an advanced encryption standard (AES) algorithm (providing round keys in an AES system, Key stage 1, Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 16-40, key expansion, col. 8, lines 44- 59);
generating, using a second encryption key, a second set of round keys for the rounds of AES algorithm (providing second set of round keys, key stage 2, Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 41-49);
determining different addresses, of a plurality of memory devices, for the first set of round keys and for the second set of round keys (round keys from stage circuits 111 and 112, col. 5, lines 26-49),
wherein first addresses of a first round key, of the first set of round keys, are determined based on: a round of AES algorithm associated with the first round key, the first encryption key, and first indexes of words included in the first round of key (key expansion based on words, col. 8, lines 44- 59), and
wherein second addresses of a second round key, of the second set of round keys, are determined based on a round of AES algorithm associated with the second round key, the second encryption key, and second indexes of words included in the second round of key (key expansion based on words, col. 8, lines 44- 59);
storing the first set of round keys and the second set of round keys in the different addresses (different storage for sets of round keys, col. 8, lines 60-67),
wherein the first round key is stored in a memory device, of the plurality of memory devices, using a first port of the memory device (register circuits for round keys 201 and 202, col. 8, lines 60-67), and
wherein the memory device is a dual port memory device that includes the first port and a second port (Dual port RAM, col. 8, lines 60-67); and
retrieving the first set of round keys and the second set of round keys from the different addresses (selecting round keys, col. 5, lines 26 - 41),
wherein the first round key is retrieved from the first memory device using the second port of the memory device (multiport RAM for reading and writing, col. 8, lines 60-67).
As per claim 2, Langhammer teaches wherein the memory device includes a static random access memory (RAM, col. 8, lines 60-67).
As per claim 3, Langhammer teaches wherein the memory device includes a register file (registers, col. 8, lines 60-67).
As per claim 4, Langhammer teaches wherein round keys, of the first set of round keys and of the second set of round keys, that are generated for a first round of AES algorithm are stored on a first memory device of the plurality of memory devices, and wherein round keys, of the first set of round keys and of the second set of round keys, that are generated for a second round of AES algorithm are stored on a second memory device of the plurality of memory devices (Storage, 111 and 112, col. 5, lines 26-49).
As per claim 5, Langhammer teaches wherein the first set of round keys and the second set of round keys are generated as part of AES-galois/counter mode (GCM) (GCM, col. 9, lines 24 - 31).
As per claim 6, Langhammer teaches wherein round keys, of the first set of round keys and of the second set of round keys, that are generated for a round of AES algorithm are stored on a particular memory device of the plurality of memory devices, and wherein storing the round keys, generated for the round of AES algorithm, on the particular memory device enables one AES-GCM instance to be used for the round keys for the round of AES algorithm (GCM, col. 9, lines 24 - 31).
As per claim 7, Langhammer teaches further comprising determining an address of a word of the first round key based on a round of AES algorithm associated with the first round key, the first encryption key, and an index of the word included in the first round of key (Key expansion, col. 8, lines 46-59).
As per claim 8, Langhammer teaches further comprising:
receiving a request to perform an AES algorithm on data using a word of the first round key;
determining a round for the AES algorithm, an encryption key for the round, and an index for the word;
obtaining from the memory device, via the second port, the word; and
performing the AES algorithm on the data to obtain encrypted data (encrypting, Fig. 1 130, col. 4, lines 33-49).
As per claim 9, Langhammer teaches a system comprising:
one or more processing units adapted to:
generate, using a first encryption key, a first set of round keys for rounds of an advanced encryption standard (AES) algorithm (providing round keys in an AES system, Key stage 1, Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 16-40, key expansion, col. 8, lines 44- 59);
generate, using a second encryption key, a second set of round keys for the rounds of AES algorithm (providing second set of round keys, key stage 2, Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 41-49);
determine different addresses, of a plurality of memory devices, for the first set of round keys and for the second set of round keys (round keys from stage circuits 111 and 112, col. 5, lines 26-49),
wherein first addresses of a first round key, of the first set of round keys, are determined based on: a round of AES algorithm associated with the first round key, the first encryption key, and first indexes of words included in the first round of key (key expansion based on words, col. 8, lines 44- 59), and
wherein second addresses of a second round key, of the second set of round keys, are determined based on a round of AES algorithm associated with the second round key, the second encryption key, and second indexes of words included in the second round of key (key expansion based on words, col. 8, lines 44- 59); and
store the first set of round keys and the second set of round keys in the different addresses (different storage for sets of round keys, col. 8, lines 60-67),
wherein the first round key is stored in a memory device, of the plurality of memory devices, using a first port of the memory device (register circuits for round keys 201 and 202, col. 8, lines 60-67), and
wherein the memory device is a dual port memory device that includes the first port and a second port (Dual port RAM, col. 8, lines 60-67).
As per claim 10, Langhammer teaches wherein the one or more processing units are adapted to retrieve the first set of round keys and the second set of round keys from the different addresses, wherein the first round key is retrieved from the first memory device using the second port of the first memory device (multiport RAM for reading and writing, col. 8, lines 60-67).
As per claim 11, Langhammer teaches wherein the memory device includes a dual-port static random access memory (RAM, col. 8, lines 60-67).
As per claim 12, Langhammer teaches wherein the memory device includes a dual-port register file (registers, col. 8, lines 60-67).
As per claim 13, Langhammer teaches wherein the first set of round keys and the second set of round keys are generated as part of AES-galois/counter mode (GCM) (GCM, col. 9, lines 24 - 31).
As per claim 14, Langhammer teaches wherein round keys, of the first set of round keys and of the second set of round keys, that are generated for a round of AES algorithm are stored on a particular memory device of the plurality of memory devices, and wherein storing the round keys, generated for the round of AES algorithm, on the particular memory device enables one physical AES-GCM instance to be used for the round keys for the round of AES algorithm (GCM, col. 9, lines 24 - 31).
As per claim 15, Langhammer teaches wherein the one or more processing units are adapted to determine an address of word of the first round key based on a round of AES algorithm associated with the first round key, the first encryption key, and an index of the word included in the first round of key (Key expansion, col. 8, lines 46-59).
Claims 16-20 are rejected based on claims 9 and 11-14.
Conclusion
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494