DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-4, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
2. The application is filed on 12/04/2024 but claims the benefit of foreign application number JP 2023-211164 filed on 12/14/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/04/2024 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over TSUJI(US 20200307639 A1) (hereinafter TSUJI) in view of OKUHARA (US 20220234606 A1) (hereinafter OKUHARA).
Regarding claim 1, TSUJIdiscloses a vehicle control apparatus (Fig. 1, vehicle control system (1) configured for autonomous driving, and having a control unit (15)) 0), configured to execute an automatic driving control for driving a vehicle to a target space (para 06, control unit is configured to execute a stop process by which the vehicle is parked, para 45, control unit 15 is configured to execute autonomous driving control) based on an instruction transmitted by a remote operation apparatus that a user outside the vehicle operates (para 30, recognition device 6 is a device that detects objects located outside of the vehicle, para 35, control unit 15 can communicate with a portable terminal carried by a person such as a pedestrian present outside the vehicle),
wherein, the vehicle control apparatus is configured to: stop the vehicle and make the remote operation apparatus perform a first notification, when a predetermined stop condition is satisfied while the automatic driving control is being executed (Fig. 2, flowchart of a stop process, para 06, vehicle control system (1, 101, 201, 301, 401) configured for autonomous driving, condition acquiring unit (61) configured to acquire a surrounding condition of the vehicle, execute a stop process by which vehicle is parked and generate first notification when a person is present within predetermined range, para 20, autonomous driving that issues notification when vehicle has come to a stop, para 55, stop event in which the vehicle is brought to a stop when a certain condition is met (i.e., predetermined stop condition is satisfied), (i.e., first notification)); and
make the remote operation apparatus perform a second notification, when the user does not approach the vehicle after the first notification (para 76, unit 42 operates the external notification device 14 to notify the people outside of the vehicle, para 06, second notification volume when a person is not present within the predetermined range (ST14) (i.e., user does not approach the vehicle), para 103, person is not present within the predetermined range from the vehicle, the notification of the horn 14c is set to the second notification volume (ST14) (i.e., user does not approach the vehicle), para 14, 90, vehicle control system 1 described in the following with reference to FIG. 4, ST12, ST13 and ST14, )).
Even though TSUJIdiscloses apparatus perform first notification and second notification TSUJIspecifically fail to disclose second notification that is different from the first notification for remote operation apparatus.
In analogous art, OKUHARA discloses second notification in a manner that is different from the first notification for remote operation apparatus (Fig. 1, warning device 13, controller 4, external device 1, para 63, output a first notification command when autonomous emergency mode; and output a second notification command for controlling the notification unit different from the first notification command, para 15, vehicle control controller 4 causes driving assist control to an autonomous steering mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system that communicates with a vehicle and performs a notification indicating a state of the vehicle disclosed by TSUJIto use vehicle control device to perform autonomous emergency driving control in which a vehicle travels along a target travel path as taught by OKUHARA to include driving assist control to outputs the first notification command for controlling the notification unit when the avoidance operation mode is the autonomous, and outputs second notification command for controlling the notification unit different from the first notification command [OKUHARA, paragraph 45].
Regarding claim 2, TSUJIfails to discloses the vehicle control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle control apparatus is configured to make the remote operation apparatus perform the second notification in a manner that attracts an attention of the user more strongly than the first notification.
OKUHARA discloses the vehicle control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle control apparatus is configured to make the remote operation apparatus perform the second notification in a manner that attracts an attention of the user more strongly than the first notification (notification in two steps, in which the second step is a stronger notification (is more easily noticed by driver) [044], and second notification command is a command for controlling the notification unit in order to give a visual notification or an aural notification to the driver [061] and output a second notification command for controlling notification unit different from first notification command [063]).
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over TSUJI(US 20200307639 A1) (hereinafter TSUJI) in view of OKUHARA (US 20220234606 A1) (hereinafter OKUHARA) and further in view of ITO (US 20220315059 A1) (hereinafter ITO).
Regarding claim 3, TSUJIdiscloses apparatus perform first notification and second notification [Abstract, [06]].
TSUJIand OKUHARA fails to discloses vehicle control apparatus is configured to make the remote operation apparatus perform a third notification in a manner that is different from the first notification and the second notification, with priority over the second notification, when an object that is approaching the vehicle is present after the first notification.
In analogous art, ITO discloses vehicle control apparatus is configured to make the remote operation apparatus perform a third notification in a manner that is different from the first notification and the second notification, with priority over the second notification, when an object that is approaching the vehicle is present after the first notification ([0145, notification provided by third notifier 22 which is different from first notifier 1, and para [0153], different priorities according to status of the vehicle, and third notifier 22 provide notification according to the priority status and to provide notification which has a high priority).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system that communicates with a vehicle and performs a notification indicating a state of the vehicle disclosed by TSUJIand OKUHARA to use notifier that provides a notification of the status of the function and to provides a predetermined notification when the abnormality in the notification of the status of the function is detected as taught by ITO to provide the notification of the abnormality in the function used for automatic travelling, which has a high priority and notify vehicles that an abnormality in the function used for automatic travelling of the vehicle has occurred [ITO, paragraph 154].
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including ALL of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688