DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 27, 28, 32, 35, 36 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harley, U.S. Patent Application No. 2020/0398139. As to Claim 21, Harley teaches a portable fielding system (100) comprising a chassis assembly (102) configured to mechanically support system components, paragraphs 0012 and 0047, noting that an expandable hopper may collapse for transport and that a launching mechanism may be supported by the chassis. Harley teaches a motorized yaw mechanism (130, 120, 118, 126) configured to drive rotation about a yaw axis (at 120) and comprising a rotary table, see drawing below, rotatable about the yaw axis, paragraph 0050. A motorized pitch mechanism (118, 204, 210) may be configured to drive rotation about a pitch axis, paragraphs 0049, 0052, 0053, and see drawing below. A motorized ball launcher mechanism (ball launching mechanism) may be configured to mechanically launch balls, paragraph 0058, noting motor driven launching wheels. A ball transport conduit (106 and ball dispensing channel) may be configured to convey balls, paragraph 0018. A motorized ball feeder mechanism (104) may be configured to mechanically feed balls into the ball transport conduit, paragraph 0084. The ball feeder mechanism, the ball transport conduit, the ball launcher mechanism, the pitch mechanism, the yaw mechanism may be arranged and physically coupled in a vertical order from top to bottom, see Figures 1 and 2, noting that the balls drop from the feeder mechanism to the ball transport conduit and descend to the ball launcher mechanism. The pitch mechanism, including (210) is on a front of the chassis below the launch point and above the yaw mechanism, including motor and wheels and the rear of the chassis.
As to Claim 27 and 35, Harley teaches that the pitch mechanism may comprise a launcher mounting plate (panel supporting lead screw nut (204)), movable through a range of pitch angles, paragraphs 0052, 0053, and see Figure 2. The launcher mounting plate may have a top side, see Figure 2. It is inherent that an opposite bottom side is present. As to Claims 28 and 36, the ball launcher mechanism may be attached to the top side of the launcher mounting plate, see drawing below.
As to Claim 32, Harley is applied as in Claim 21. As to Claim 40, Harley teaches an enclosure (1204) a powered display (touch screen), a powered microcontroller circuit board (1400) configured to interface with a plurality of user controls and to power and control at least the yaw mechanism, the pitch mechanism, and the ball launcher system, paragraphs 0067, 0107, 0109, 0122, and 0123. Given that the microcontroller may receive signals from a remote device to control operation of the system, it is inherent that electrical conductors electrically couple circuit ports of the microcontroller to respective motors, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-24, 29-31, 33, and 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harley, U.S. Patent Application No. 2020/0398139, in view of Shober et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2011/0303207 Harley substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claims 22 and 33, Harley is silent as to the chassis assembly comprising bottom, rear, and top subframes. Shober teaches a fielding system (sports training apparatus) comprising a chassis (40, 42), paragraph 0065. The chassis may comprise a bottom subframe (40), a rear subframe (62), and a top subframe (upper frame portion), each having an outer extent that forms a quadrilateral with four ends, paragraph 0065 and see Figure 1. The bottom subframe and the top subframe may be generally parallel to each other and disposed at different elevations, see Figure 1. One of the four ends of the bottom subframe may be attached to a bottom end of the rear subframe, see Figure 1. One of the four ends of the top subframe may be attached along the rear subframe at an elevation higher than the bottom subframe, see Figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the chassis with quadrilateral subframes arranged as claimed and as taught by Shober, to provide Harley with an outer surround for the fielding system to yield the predictable result of supporting the components of the mechanism. Harley, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for specifying that the bottom and top subframes may be parallel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the bottom and top subframes in parallel, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). As to Claim 23, Harley teaches that the ball feeder mechanism may be capable of receiving, holding, and discharging a plurality of balls, paragraph 0016, noting that a carousel may be configured to receive one or more balls from a hopper, that there is a storage configuration, and that balls may be received into the ball dispensing mechanism. Balls may be discharged one at a time into the ball transport conduit, paragraph 0017. As to Claim 24, Harley teaches that the ball feeder mechanism may be attached atop the fielding system, see Figure 1. Shober teaches that the top subframe may comprise the top of the fielding system, see Figure 1, suggesting that a feeder mechanism may be attached to the top subframe. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the fielding system with the feeder mechanism attached to the top subframe as taught and suggested, to provide Harley as modified with a feeder mechanism configured to take advantage of gravity to facilitate feeding balls to the transport conduit. As to Claims 29 and 37, Harley teaches a yaw motor (128) and a motor mounting plate (rear panel of fielding system), the yaw motor being fixed to the motor mounting plate and the motor mounting plate attached to a bottom of the chassis, paragraphs 0055, 0056 and see Figures 1 and 3. Harley, as modified, does not specify arranging the mounting plate to have an upward facing surface below and parallel to the bottom side of the rotary table. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the mounting plate as claimed since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Harley, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for indicating that the bottom panel to which the motor mounting plate is attached, is the bottom subframe. Shober discloses the lower portion of the fielding system to be the bottom subframe, see Figure 1, suggesting that the motor mounting plate at the bottom of the chassis may be the bottom subframe. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to attach the motor mounting plate to the bottom subframe, as suggested. As to Claims 30 and 38, Harley teaches that the yaw motor may comprise an output rotationally fixed to a motor pulley (304), paragraph 0056 and see Figure 3. It is inherent that a yaw motor output shaft provides rotation to the motor pulley. A belt (306) may be wrapped around the motor pulley and a driveshaft pulley, paragraph 0055, noting driving a rear wheel. It is inherent that a driveshaft may be disposed through and rotationally fixed to the driveshaft pulley, noting the driveshaft and rotated wheel on opposite sides of the lower chassis portion, see Figure 3. The driveshaft may be rotationally coupled with the rotary table to transmit torque to rotate the rotary table about the yaw axis, paragraphs 0055, 0056, and see drawing above. As to Claims 31 and 39, Harley teaches that the pitch mechanism may comprise a plurality of attachment provisions (204, 210, 212) on the pitch mechanism configured to attach the pitch mechanism to the top side of the rotary table, paragraphs 0052, 0053, and see Figure 2, noting that guide slots (212) control movement of bar (210) and screw nut (204) attach lead screw of pitch mechanism to rotary table to allow rotation of the lead screw to raise and lower rotary table for pitch adjustment.
Claim(s) 25, 26, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harley, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Cheng, X, Chinese Patent Application No. CN 106075864. Harley substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 25, Harley is silent as to a discharge barrel. Cheng teaches a fielding system (tennis ball ejection device), see Abstract. The fielding system by be provided with a discharge barrel (2) and a ball feed port (16) having a receiving end (lower end) to receive one or more balls (Detained Ways, 2nd paragraph and see Figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Harley with a discharge barrel and ball feed port connected to a ball transport conduit, as claimed and as taught by Cheng, to provide Harley with a known substitute mechanism for launching balls fed to a transport conduit. As to Claim 26, The opposite end of the ball feed port (at 4) opposite the receiving end forms an entrance to the discharge barrel, see Figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Harley, as modified, with ball feed port configured as claimed and as taught by Cheng, to provide Harley, as modified, with a known substitute configuration for delivering balls from a supply to a discharge barrel. As to Claim 34, Harley, together with the stated rationale is applied as in Claims 25 and 26.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 15 October 2026