DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statement filed 12/24/2024 has been considered and is included in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujii et al. (US 2023/0311800, noted in IDS filed 12/4/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Fujii et al. discloses a vehicle front structure (Fig. 1) including a front bumper cover (2) having an opening (11) and a sensor (8) disposed in a region corresponding to the opening (Figs. 1-2), comprising: a cover member disposed on a vehicle front side with respect to the sensor (paragraph [0024] mentions a housing for the sensor) and provided so as to cover the sensor (paragraph [0024] mentions a housing for the sensor); and an air guide member (4) disposed on a vehicle rear side with respect to the sensor (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Fujii et al. discloses the vehicle front structure of claim 1 and further discloses a front grille (5) provided in the opening (11), wherein the sensor is attached to the front grille (Figs. 1 and 3, attached via support board (8b)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (US 2023/0311800, noted in IDS filed 12/4/2024) in view of Bigot et al. (CN 108473103, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 2, Fujii et al. discloses the vehicle front structure of claim 1, and discloses wherein the air guide member is provided so as to extend from the cover member toward the vehicle rear side (Fig. 2). However, Fujii et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the air guide member is inclined so as to be positioned downward toward the vehicle rear side when viewed from the side.
Bigot et al., like Fujii et al., teaches a vehicle front structure and further teaches wherein the air guide member (3) is inclined so as to be positioned downward toward the vehicle rear side when viewed from the side (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle front structure of Fujii et al. to include a downward incline for the air guide member as taught by Bigot et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an extended direction for the air flow once disturbed by the sensor in order to reduce turbulence in the air flow.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (US 2023/0311800, noted in IDS filed 12/4/2024) in view of Mori et al. (US 2023/0311799).
Regarding claim 3, Fujii et al. discloses the vehicle front structure of claim 1. However, Fujii et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the air guide member is provided to have a width that becomes smaller toward the vehicle rear side when viewed in plan.
Mori et al., like Fujii et al., teaches a vehicle front structure, and further teaches wherein the air guide member is provided to have a width that becomes smaller toward the vehicle rear side when viewed in plan (Fig. 3 shows the decrease in width as the air guide member (4) extends toward the vehicle rear side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle front structure of Fujii et al. to provide a smaller width as the air guide member extends rearward as taught by Mori et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the air directly towards the spacing made from grill shutters in order to further redirect the air flow towards the radiator (Mori et al.: paragraph [0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Takahashi et al. (US 2020/0011989) teaches a vehicle front structure with sensor, camera, and radar in housing attached to a grille. Kobayashi (US 2019/0377061) teaches a radar device that explicitly notes a millimeter-wave radar mounted on a vehicle.
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643