DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the rejection set forth below addressing the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 1029a)(1) as being anticipated by Matwijcow (US 5207696).
Regarding claim 17, Matwijcow discloses a surgical knife comprising: a handle (10) defining a longitudinal axis; and a blade (see image below) having a distal end( 31) and an opposite proximal end (32, 36) connected the handle, the blade having opposite inner and outer edges each extending parallel to the longitudinal axis (see image below), the distal end including a cutting edge extending from the inner edge to the outer edge, wherein the blade is connected to the handle such that the longitudinal axis does not intersect the cutting edge and is offset from the inner and outer edges, and the outer edge is offset from an outer surface of the handle (see image below, offset from both outer surface 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 18, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the longitudinal axis is a central longitudinal axis (see image above).
Regarding claim 19, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the cutting edge is continuously curved from the inner edge to the outer edge (figure 3).
Regarding claim 20, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the blade comprises an aperture (34) positioned between the inner edge to the outer edge.
Regarding claim 21, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 20, wherein the aperture is spaced apart from the cutting edge (figure 3).
Regarding claim 22, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 20, wherein the aperture is spaced apart from the handle (figure 3).
Regarding claim 23, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the blade has a width that is greater than a radius of the handle (the limitation ‘a radius of the handle’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the radius of circular gear 50, meeting the limitations).
Regarding claim 24, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the blade has a width in a plane of the blade between the inner and outer edges that is greater than a radius of the handle (the limitation ‘a radius of the handle’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the radius of circular gear 50, meeting the limitations).
Regarding claim 25, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the blade has a width in a plane of the blade between the inner and outer edges that is greater than one-half of a radius of the handle (the limitation ‘a radius of the handle’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the radius of circular gear 50, meeting the limitations).
Regarding claim 26, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the blade has a width in a plane of the blade between the inner and outer edges that is greater than a dimension of the handle, the dimension being perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the dimension being defined by the outer surface of the handle (the limitation ‘a dimension of the handle’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the dimension annotated below defined on one side by an outer surface of the handle).
Regarding claim 27, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the blade has a width in a plane of the blade between the inner and outer edges that is greater than one-half of a dimension of the handle, the dimension being perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the dimension being defined by the outer surface of the handle (see image above, the limitation ‘a dimension of the handle’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the dimension annotated above defined on one side by an outer surface of the handle).
Regarding claim 28, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the blade has a width in a plane of the blade between the inner and outer edges that is 0.8 times greater than a dimension of the handle, the dimension being perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the dimension being defined by the outer surface of the handle (see image above, the limitation ‘a dimension of the handle’ is sufficiently broad to encompass an dimension annotated above defined on one side by an outer surface of the handle and meeting the claimed dimensions) .
Regarding claim 29, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 17, wherein the handle (50) includes a cylindrical portion (50), a transition portion (43), a reduced portion (17) and a bridge segment (44), the bridge segment being coupled directly to the proximal end, the cylindrical portion defining the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 30, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 29, wherein the transition portion is positioned between the cylindrical portion and the reduced portion, opposite inner and outer edges extending parallel to the longitudinal axis (figure 3).
Regarding claim 31, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 29, wherein the transition portion (43) is positioned between the cylindrical portion and the reduced portion, an inner edge of the transition portion extending non-parallel to the longitudinal axis, an opposite outer edge of the transition portion extending parallel to the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 32, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 31, wherein the transition portion is positioned between the cylindrical portion and the reduced portion, opposite inner and outer edges extending parallel to the longitudinal axis (figure 3).
Regarding claim 33, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 29, wherein the longitudinal axis intersects the transition portion, the reduced portion and the bridge segment (figure 3).
Regarding claim 34, Matwijcow discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 29, wherein the bridge segment includes a relief recess (opening for blade, figure 2) configured to provide clearance for the bridge segment to exit a cannula.
Regarding claim 35, Matwijcow discloses a surgical knife comprising: a handle (10) defining a central longitudinal axis; and a blade having a distal end (31) and an opposite proximal end (32) connected the handle, the blade having opposite inner and outer edges each extending parallel to the central longitudinal axis (See image above), the distal end including a cutting edge (35) extending from the inner edge to the outer edge, the cutting edge being continuously curved from the inner edge to the outer edge, the blade comprising an aperture (34) positioned between the inner edge to the outer edge, the aperture is spaced apart from the cutting edge and the handle wherein the blade is connected to the handle such that the central longitudinal axis does not intersect the cutting edge and is offset from the inner and outer edges (see image above), and the outer edge is offset from an outer surface of the handle (see image below, offset from both outer surface 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 36, Matwijcow discloses a surgical knife comprising: a handle (10) defining a central longitudinal axis; and a blade having a distal end (31) and an opposite proximal end (32) connected the handle, the blade having opposite inner and outer edges each extending parallel to the central longitudinal axis (See image above), the distal end including a cutting edge extending from the inner edge to the outer edge, wherein the blade is connected to the handle such that the central longitudinal axis does not intersect the cutting edge and is offset from the inner and outer edges (See image above), wherein the blade has a width in a plane of the blade between the inner and outer edges that is greater than one-half of a radius of the handle (the limitation ‘a radius’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the radius of member 50), and wherein the blade has a width in a plane of the blade between the inner and outer edges that is greater than one-half of a dimension of the handle, the dimension being perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis, the dimension being defined by an outer surface of the handle (see image above, ‘a dimension’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the dimension in the annotated figure above), and the outer edge is offset from an outer surface of the handle (see image above, offset from both outer surface 1 and 2).
Double Patenting
Claims 17-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12185971. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of Patent 12185971 recites a handle defining a longitudinal axis; and a blade having a distal end and an opposite proximal end connected the handle, the blade having opposite inner and outer edges each extending parallel to the longitudinal axis, the distal end including a cutting edge extending from the inner edge to the outer edge, wherein the blade is connected to the handle such that the longitudinal axis does not intersect the cutting edge and is offset from the inner and outer edges (claim 1). Therefore, patent 12185971 claims 1-20 are in
essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 17-35. It has been held that a
generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. Since
application claims 17-35 are is anticipated by patent 12185971 claims 1-20, it is not patentably
distinct from patent claim 12185971.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771