DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the first paragraph of the specification should be updated to indicate the present status of the priority application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 1/15/26 (2); 11/5/25; 10/22/25; 5/28/25 has/have been acknowledged and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-14 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gavriely (U.S. Pat. 6,168,568).
Regarding claim 1, Gavriely discloses a method for medical diagnosis, comprising: recording voice signals (e.g. 12) due to sounds spoken by a patient and propagating out through a nose and mouth of the patient into a voice microphone (e.g. Col. 31, l. 66 to Col. 32, l. 11); recording acoustic signals output (e.g. 4), simultaneously with the voice signals, by an acoustic transducer in contact with a thorax of the patient (e.g. Col. 11, ll. 25-31); computing a transfer function between the recorded voice signals and the recorded acoustic signals or between the recorded acoustic signals and the recorded voice signals (e.g. Col. 32, ll. 54-65); evaluating the computed transfer function in order to detect a change in a medical condition of the patient (e.g. Col. 31, l.50 to Col. 32, l. 26); and issuing an alert in response to the change indicated by the computed transfer function (e.g. Col. 4, ll. 57-60).
Regarding claim 2, Gavriely further discloses wherein evaluating the computed transfer function comprises: evaluating a deviation between the computed transfer function and a baseline transfer function; and detecting a change in the medical condition of the patient responsively to the evaluated deviation (e.g. Col. 31, l.50 to Col. 32, l. 26).
Regarding claim 5, Gavriely further discloses wherein evaluating the computed transfer function comprises assessing an interstitial lung disease in the patient (e.g. Col. 31, l.50 to Col. 32, l. 26).
Regarding claim 7, Gavriely further discloses wherein recording the acoustic signals comprises eliminating heart sounds from the acoustic signals output by the acoustic transducer before computing the transfer function (e.g. Col. 29, ll. 44-56; “Filter”).
Regarding claim 8, Gavriely further discloses wherein eliminating the heart sounds comprises detecting intervals of occurrence of extraneous sounds, including the heart sounds, in the acoustic signals, and eliminating the intervals from the acoustic signals that are used in computing the transfer function (e.g. Col. 29, ll. 44-56; “Filter”).
Regarding claim 9, Gavriely further discloses wherein eliminating the heart sounds comprises filtering the heart sounds out of the recorded acoustic signals before computing the transfer function (e.g. Col. 29, ll. 44-56; “Filter”).
Regarding claim 10, Gavriely further discloses wherein recording the acoustic signals comprises receiving at least first and second acoustic signals, respectively, from at least first and second acoustic transducers in contact with the thorax, and wherein filtering the heart sounds comprises applying a delay in arrival of the heart sounds in the second acoustic signal relative to the first acoustic signal in combining the first and second acoustic signal while filtering out the heart sounds (e.g. Col. 7, ll. 25-31).
Regarding claim 11, Gavriely further discloses wherein computing the transfer function comprises computing respective spectral components of the recorded voice signals and the recorded acoustic signals at a set of frequencies, and calculating a set of coefficients representing a relation between the respective spectral components (e.g. Col. 24, ll. 44-67).
Regarding claim 12, Gavriely further discloses wherein the coefficients are a representation of a cepstrum (e.g. Col. 9, ll. 31-38; “inverse fourier”).
Regarding claim 13, Gavriely further discloses wherein computing the transfer function comprises calculating a set of coefficients representing a relation between the recorded voice signals and the recorded acoustic signals in terms of an infinite impulse response filter (e.g. Col. 29, ll.44-56).
Regarding claim 14, Gavriely further discloses wherein computing the transfer function comprises calculating a set of coefficients representing a relation between the recorded voice signals and the recorded acoustic signals in terms of a predictor in a time domain (e.g. Col. 7, l. 64 to Col. 8, l. 16).
Regarding claim 17, Gavriely further discloses wherein computing the transfer function comprises calculating a set of time-varying coefficients representing a temporal relation between the recorded voice signals and the recorded acoustic signals (e.g. Col. 20, ll. 21-28).
Regarding claim 18, Gavriely further discloses wherein calculating the set of time-varying coefficients comprises identifying a pitch of the spoken voice signals, and constraining the time-varying coefficients to be periodic, with a period corresponding to the identified pitch (e.g. Col. 1, ll. 29-40).
Regarding claim 19, Gavriely discloses an apparatus for medical diagnosis, comprising: a memory (e.g. 22), which is configured to store recorded voice signals due to sounds spoken by a patient and propagating out through a nose and mouth of the patient into a voice microphone and recorded acoustic signals output (e.g. Col. 31, l. 66 to Col. 32, l. 11), simultaneously with the voice signals, by an acoustic transducer in contact with a thorax of the patient (e.g. 4,12; Col. 11, ll. 12-25; Col. 12, ll. 16-21; Col. 31, l. 66 to Col. 32, l. 11; Col. 32, ll. 33-40); and a processor (e.g. 20; Col. 11, ll. 34-41), which is configured to compute a transfer function between the recorded voice signals and the recorded acoustic signals or between the recorded acoustic signals and the recorded voice signals, and to evaluate the computed transfer function in order to detect a change in a medical condition of the patient (e.g. 32, ll. 33-40, Col. 32, ll. 54-65), and to issue an alert in response to the change indicated by the computed transfer function.
Regarding claim 20, Gavriely discloses a computer software product, comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium in which program instructions are stored, which instructions, when read by a computer, cause the computer to receive voice signals (e.g. 12) due to sounds spoken by a patient and propagating out through a nose and mouth of the patient into a voice microphone (e.g. Col. 31, l. 66 to Col. 32, l. 11); acoustic signals output (e.g. 4), simultaneously with the voice signals, by an acoustic transducer in contact with a thorax of the patient (e.g. Col. 11, ll. 25-31); to compute a transfer function between the recorded voice signals and the recorded acoustic signals or between the recorded acoustic signals and the recorded voice signals (e.g. Col. 32, ll. 54-65); and evaluate the computed transfer function in order to assess a medical condition of the patient (e.g. Col. 31, l.50 to Col. 32, l. 26).
Regarding claim 21, Gavriely further discloses wherein the baseline transfer function is derived from one or more transfer functions that were computed for the patient during a preceding period (e.g. Col. 31, l.50 to Col. 32, l. 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gavriely as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7-14 and 17-21 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2009/0036777 hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 3, Gavriely discloses the claimed invention except for the system being used for determining edema in the thorax. However, Zhang discloses a similar system that utilizes acoustic recordings to sense edema as set forth in Paragraphs 3 and 6 to provide a known means for sensing edema using acoustic waves to determine status of congestive heart failure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Gavriely, with edema analysis as taught by Zhang, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of analyzing the acoustic signals for edema to determine severity and status of congested heart failure.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gavriely as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7-14 and 17-21 above, and further in view of Dines et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0166279 hereinafter “Dines”).
Regarding claim 15, Gavriely discloses the claimed invention except for the system applying a prediction error using adaptive filter coefficients. However, Dines discloses a similar system that utilizes adaptive filter coefficients as set forth in Paragraphs 108 and 111 to provide a known means for decreasing the influence of noise in the signal for enhanced analysis. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Gavriely, with adaptive noise filtering as taught by Dines, since such a modification would provide the predictable results providing a known means for decreasing the influence of noise in the signal for enhanced analysis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-15 and 17-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-13 and 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,484,211. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed toward the same subject matter, specifically recording voice signals, recording acoustic signals and computing a transfer function of the signals and evaluating the function for a medical condition. See the chart below for the corresponding claims.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-15 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 18 and 35 of U.S. Patent No. 12,207,903. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed toward the same subject matter, specifically recording voice signals, recording acoustic signals and computing a transfer function of the signals and evaluating the function for a medical condition. See the chart below for the corresponding claims.
Current Claims
11,484,211
12,207,903
1
1
1
2
1
2
5
3
3
7
5
4
8
6
5
9
7
6
10
8
7
11
9
8
12
10
9
13
11
10
14
12
11
15
13
12
17
15
13
18
16
14
19
17
18
20
18
35
21
19
22
20
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mo et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0005491) – discloses a dual microphone system using a transfer function to determine health data.
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792