DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to application number 18,967,832 filed on December 4th, 2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on December 4th, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18, 23-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US 20250024322 A1).
Regarding claim 1,30, Hong discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause a transmitting device to: detect a condition associated with a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) status report transmission, wherein the condition is associated with a protocol data unit set (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0142 discloses “For example, the discard status report may be triggered when one or more of a PDCP entity reconfiguration request of the higher layer (RRC) and a PDCP data recovery request of the higher layer (RRC) are made. As another example, the discard status report may be triggered when any discard timer associated with the PDU Set (or the PDU Set discard timer or the PDCP discard timer for the PDCP SDU associated with the PDU Set) expires. As another example, the discard status report may be triggered when any discard timer (or the PDU Set discard timer, or the PDCP discard timer for the PDCP SDU associated with the PDU Set) associated with the PDU Set reaches a specific threshold indicated by the base station. As another example, the discard status report may be triggered when a PDU Set Importance (PSI)-based PDU Set PDUs discard is set/configured/indicated by the base station.”); and transmit, based at least in part on detecting the condition, a PDCP status report that indicates a first sequence number corresponding to a first protocol data unit that is not to be transmitted by the transmitting device and that indicates a quantity of sequence numbers corresponding to a quantity of protocol data units beginning with the first protocol data unit that are not to be transmitted by the transmitting device (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0143 discloses “As another example, when the discard status report is triggered, the UE (or the transmitting PDCP entity of the UE) may generate/compile the discard status report. The UE (or the transmitting PDCP entity of the UE) may submit the corresponding discard status report to the first PDCP PDU for transmission to the lower layer.” Paragraph 0158 discloses “For example, the corresponding PDCP Control PDU may include the field (FDC field) for indicating the COUNT/HFN/PDCP_SN value of the first discarded PDCP SDU. As another example, the corresponding PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the COUNT/HFN/PDCP_SN value of the last discarded PDCP SDU. As another example, the PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the total/whole number of discarded PDCP SDUs (or PDCP SDUs COUNTs) from the first discarded PDCP SDU to the last discarded PDCP SDU. As another example, the PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the number of discarded PDCP SDUs (or PDCP SDUs COUNTs) from the first discarded PDCP SDU to the last discarded PDCP SDU but not including the same (e.g., total number of discarded PDCP SDUs-1). As another example, the corresponding PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the COUNT/HFN/PDCP_SN value of the PDCP SDU included in the first discarded PDU Set. As another example, the corresponding PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the COUNT/HFN/PDCP_SN value of the PDCP SDU included in the last discarded PDU Set.”).
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PDCP status report includes a protocol data unit type definition that indicates a packet loss associated with the quantity of protocol data units as information during data plane activity from the transmitting device to a receiving device (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0186 discloses “For example, the discard status report may be transmitted through a PDCP control PDU having a PDU type field value distinguished from the PDCP status report. The PDU type field is a value for indicating the control information type of the PDCP control PDU. For example, the PDCP status report is transmitted with the PDU type field set to 000. Alternatively, the discard status report may be transmitted with the PDU type field set to 100. In other words, the discard status report is transmitted through the PDCP control PDU and is set to a PDU type value different from the conventional PDCP status report.”).
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PDCP status report includes a bitmap that indicates the first sequence number and the quantity of sequence numbers (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0188 discloses “Further, the discard status report may include a bitmap field indicating whether to discard the PDCP SDU. For example, the bitmap field may indicate whether to discard for each PDCP SDU discarded in the transmitting PDCP entity. In other words, the bitmap field indicates which SDU is discarded, and which SDU is not discarded in the transmitting PDCP entity. The bit position of the Nth bit of the bitmap field is N. In other words, the bit position of the first bit of the bitmap field is 1. For example, the bitmap field may indicate whether to discard with one bit for each PDCP SDU.”).
Regarding claim 4, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PDCP status report includes a list that indicates the first sequence number and the quantity of sequence numbers (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0158).
Regarding claim 5, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a discard timer-based packet discard at a PDCP layer (US20250024322 A1 Paragraphs 0085 and 0132).
Regarding claim 6, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a discard that is based at least in part on a protocol data unit set importance indication (US20250024322 A1 Paragraphs 0142 discloses “As another example, the discard status report may be triggered when a PDU Set Importance (PSI)-based PDU Set PDUs discard is set/configured/indicated by the base station.”).
Regarding claim 7, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a discard that is based at least in part on a protocol data unit set integrated handling indicator (US20250024322 A1 Paragraphs 0095 discloses “3GPP SA2 WG defined PDU Set, PDU Set QoS parameter, and PDU Set information to effectively recognize and process XR application data in Rel-18. The PDU Set refers to one or more PDUs (e.g., one or more PDUs carrying the payload of one unit of information generated at the application level (e.g., frame(s) or video slice(s) etc. for XR Services)). PDU Set Integrated Handling Information (PSIHI) which is one of the PDU Set QoS parameters represents whether all PDUs of the PDU Set are needed for the usage of PDU Set by application layer. The PDU Set Importance (PSI) indicates information for identifying relative importance compared to other PDU sets in one QoS flow.”).
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a congestion indication (US20250024322 A1 Paragraphs 0085-0088. Here the data deluge is congestion experienced by the PDCP packets resulting in the loss of packets at the receiver. This condition triggers discarding packets associated to the PDU set and the transmission of the discard status packet by the transmitting PDCP entity).
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a dependency between two or more protocol data unit sets (US20250024322 A1 Paragraphs 0085-0088. Here the data deluge is congestion experienced by the PDCP packets resulting in the loss of packets at the receiver. This condition triggers discarding packets associated to the PDU set and the transmission of the discard status packet by the transmitting PDCP entity).
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a synchronization requirement between a plurality of flows in multi-modality traffic (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0148 discloses “As another example, the discard status report may include the corresponding information in the RRC reconfiguration complete message when the UE completes the RRC handover procedure by synchronizing with the target cell and/or sending the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the target base station.”).
Regarding claim 11, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein a first flow and a second flow are synchronized in a time domain, wherein a first protocol data unit set associated with the first flow is discarded due to a protocol data unit set delay budget, and wherein a second protocol data unit set associated with the second flow is discarded based at least in part on the first protocol data unit set being discarded (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0169 discloses “As another example, when checking whether the corresponding PDCP discard timer (or the PDU Set discard timer associated with the PDCP SDU) is running when (or before) performing transmission or retransmission of all PDCP SDUs already associated with the PDCP SN from the first PDCP SDU where successful delivery of the corresponding PDCP data PDU by the lower layer is not identified in ascending order of the COUNT values associated with the PDCP SDU before the PDCP entity reestablishment for the AM DRB (or for the AM DRB where the PDCP entity is not suspended), if the PDCP discard timer (or the PDU Set discard timer associated with the PDCP SDU) expires for the PDCP SDU, the UE may discard the corresponding PDCP SDU. The UE may discard any/remaining/all/all stored/not discarded/not discarded remaining/remaining, without being discarded, PDCP SDU(s) included in the corresponding PDU Set, together with the corresponding PDCP Data PDU(s). The UE may maintain/store discard-related information (e.g., PDU Set-related information associated with the discarded PDCP SDU). If the UE receives the (successive) PDCP SDU associated with/included in the corresponding PDU Set(s) from the higher layer, the UE discards the corresponding PDCP SDU (or discards the corresponding PDCP SDU without starting the discard timer associated with the corresponding PDCP SDU). Alternatively, the UE sets/configures/indicates the corresponding discard timer as 0 and operates. Alternatively, the UE discards the corresponding PDCP SDU without starting the discard timer associated with the corresponding PDCP SDU. Because the PDCP SDU has been discarded, the UE (or the transmitting PDCP entity) does not associate a COUNT value (corresponding to TX_NEXT) for the PDCP SDU. The UE (or transmitting PDCP entity) does not perform one or more header compression, uplink data compression, integrity protection, and ciphering, set the PDCP SN of the PDCP Data PDU, increment TX_NEXT by on. submit the resulting PDCP Data PDU to lower layer, and storage of the corresponding PDCP SDU for the corresponding PDCP SDU.”).
Regarding claim 12, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a protocol data unit set integrated handling indication (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0095 discloses “3GPP SA2 WG defined PDU Set, PDU Set QoS parameter, and PDU Set information to effectively recognize and process XR application data in Rel-18. The PDU Set refers to one or more PDUs (e.g., one or more PDUs carrying the payload of one unit of information generated at the application level (e.g., frame(s) or video slice(s) etc. for XR Services)). PDU Set Integrated Handling Information (PSIHI) which is one of the PDU Set QoS parameters represents whether all PDUs of the PDU Set are needed for the usage of PDU Set by application layer. The PDU Set Importance (PSI) indicates information for identifying relative importance compared to other PDU sets in one QoS flow.”).
Regarding claim13, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the protocol data unit set integrated handling indication indicates for the transmitting device to skip transmitting the quantity of protocol data units based at least in part on application forward error correction information (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0095 discloses “3GPP SA2 WG defined PDU Set, PDU Set QoS parameter, and PDU Set information to effectively recognize and process XR application data in Rel-18. The PDU Set refers to one or more PDUs (e.g., one or more PDUs carrying the payload of one unit of information generated at the application level (e.g., frame(s) or video slice(s) etc. for XR Services)). PDU Set Integrated Handling Information (PSIHI) which is one of the PDU Set QoS parameters represents whether all PDUs of the PDU Set are needed for the usage of PDU Set by application layer. The PDU Set Importance (PSI) indicates information for identifying relative importance compared to other PDU sets in one QoS flow.” If all PDUs of the PDU Set are needed then remaining PDU’s of the PDU set are discarded as disclosed by paragraph 0096.).
Regarding claim 14, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a packet loss between a central unit and distributed unit (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0162 discloses “When the PDU-Set-discard-instruction information/PDU-Set-integrate-processing-information is set/configured/indicated for one QoS flow (or for one or more PDU-Set(s) included in one QoS flow, or for the DRB associated with the corresponding PDU Set, or for the PDCP entity associated with the corresponding PDU Set) (in the base station/UE), if it is known (or identified) that one PDU of one PDU-Set is lost, the remaining PDUs of the corresponding PDU Set may be considered as not being required by the application layer. Further, a discard operation may be performed not to unnecessarily consume radio resources.”)
Regarding claim 15, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a packet loss that is based at least in part on a protocol data unit set integration handling indication, a relative prioritization, or a memory requirement (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0095 discloses “3GPP SA2 WG defined PDU Set, PDU Set QoS parameter, and PDU Set information to effectively recognize and process XR application data in Rel-18. The PDU Set refers to one or more PDUs (e.g., one or more PDUs carrying the payload of one unit of information generated at the application level (e.g., frame(s) or video slice(s) etc. for XR Services)). PDU Set Integrated Handling Information (PSIHI) which is one of the PDU Set QoS parameters represents whether all PDUs of the PDU Set are needed for the usage of PDU Set by application layer. The PDU Set Importance (PSI) indicates information for identifying relative importance compared to other PDU sets in one QoS flow.”).
Regarding claim 16, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a signaling-related reconfiguration process (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0142 discloses “For example, the discard status report may be triggered when one or more of a PDCP entity reconfiguration request of the higher layer (RRC) and a PDCP data recovery request of the higher layer (RRC) are made.”).
Regarding claim 17, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the signaling-related reconfiguration process is an inter-central-unit handover or a PDCP relocation (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0142 discloses “As another example, for DRBs configured to send the discard status report in uplink via RRC, the UE (transmitting PDCP entity) may trigger the discard status report when the higher layer indicates one of PDCP reconfiguration and PDCP data recovery.)”
Regarding claim 18, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with a packet loss that is based at least in part on a hybrid automatic repeat request failure and a corresponding radio link control packet loss or PDCP packet loss (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0162 discloses “When the PDU-Set-discard-instruction information/PDU-Set-integrate-processing-information is set/configured/indicated for one QoS flow (or for one or more PDU-Set(s) included in one QoS flow, or for the DRB associated with the corresponding PDU Set, or for the PDCP entity associated with the corresponding PDU Set) (in the base station/UE), if it is known (or identified) that one PDU of one PDU-Set is lost, the remaining PDUs of the corresponding PDU Set may be considered as not being required by the application layer. Further, a discard operation may be performed not to unnecessarily consume radio resources.”. Additionally, Paragraph 0137).
Regarding claim 23, Hong discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause a receiving device to: receive a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) status report that indicates a first sequence number corresponding to a first protocol data unit that is not to be transmitted by a transmitting device and that indicates a quantity of sequence numbers corresponding to a quantity of protocol data units beginning with the first protocol data unit that are not to be transmitted by the transmitting device; and process one or more other protocol data units based at least in part on the PDCP status report (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0143 discloses from the perspective of the transmitter “As another example, when the discard status report is triggered, the UE (or the transmitting PDCP entity of the UE) may generate/compile the discard status report. The UE (or the transmitting PDCP entity of the UE) may submit the corresponding discard status report to the first PDCP PDU for transmission to the lower layer.” Paragraph 0158 discloses “For example, the corresponding PDCP Control PDU may include the field (FDC field) for indicating the COUNT/HFN/PDCP_SN value of the first discarded PDCP SDU. As another example, the corresponding PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the COUNT/HFN/PDCP_SN value of the last discarded PDCP SDU. As another example, the PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the total/whole number of discarded PDCP SDUs (or PDCP SDUs COUNTs) from the first discarded PDCP SDU to the last discarded PDCP SDU. As another example, the PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the number of discarded PDCP SDUs (or PDCP SDUs COUNTs) from the first discarded PDCP SDU to the last discarded PDCP SDU but not including the same (e.g., total number of discarded PDCP SDUs-1). As another example, the corresponding PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the COUNT/HFN/PDCP_SN value of the PDCP SDU included in the first discarded PDU Set. As another example, the corresponding PDCP Control PDU may include the field for indicating the COUNT/HFN/PDCP_SN value of the PDCP SDU included in the last discarded PDU Set.”).
Regarding claim 24, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the PDCP status report is received in accordance with a condition, wherein the condition is associated with a protocol data unit set (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0142 discloses “For example, the discard status report may be triggered when one or more of a PDCP entity reconfiguration request of the higher layer (RRC) and a PDCP data recovery request of the higher layer (RRC) are made. As another example, the discard status report may be triggered when any discard timer associated with the PDU Set (or the PDU Set discard timer or the PDCP discard timer for the PDCP SDU associated with the PDU Set) expires. As another example, the discard status report may be triggered when any discard timer (or the PDU Set discard timer, or the PDCP discard timer for the PDCP SDU associated with the PDU Set) associated with the PDU Set reaches a specific threshold indicated by the base station. As another example, the discard status report may be triggered when a PDU Set Importance (PSI)-based PDU Set PDUs discard is set/configured/indicated by the base station.”).
Regarding claim 25, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the PDCP status report includes a protocol data unit type definition that indicates a packet loss associated with the quantity of protocol data units as information during data plane activity from the transmitting device to the receiving device (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0186 discloses “For example, the discard status report may be transmitted through a PDCP control PDU having a PDU type field value distinguished from the PDCP status report. The PDU type field is a value for indicating the control information type of the PDCP control PDU. For example, the PDCP status report is transmitted with the PDU type field set to 000. Alternatively, the discard status report may be transmitted with the PDU type field set to 100. In other words, the discard status report is transmitted through the PDCP control PDU and is set to a PDU type value different from the conventional PDCP status report.”).
Regarding claim 26, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the PDCP status report includes a bitmap that indicates the first sequence number and the quantity of sequence numbers (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0188 discloses “Further, the discard status report may include a bitmap field indicating whether to discard the PDCP SDU. For example, the bitmap field may indicate whether to discard for each PDCP SDU discarded in the transmitting PDCP entity. In other words, the bitmap field indicates which SDU is discarded, and which SDU is not discarded in the transmitting PDCP entity. The bit position of the Nth bit of the bitmap field is N. In other words, the bit position of the first bit of the bitmap field is 1. For example, the bitmap field may indicate whether to discard with one bit for each PDCP SDU.”).
Regarding claim 27, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the PDCP status report includes a list that indicates the first sequence number and the quantity of sequence numbers (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0158).
Regarding claim 28, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the receiving device to process the one or more other protocol data units based at least in part on the PDCP status report, are configured to cause the receiving device to provide the one or more other protocol data units to an upper layer without waiting to receive the quantity of protocol data units (US20250024322 A1 Paragraph 0141 discloses “If the SDUs/PDUs are discarded through any of the above-described functions in the UE (base station), it may be preferable for the UE (base station) to indicate the discarded sequence number (SN) to the base station (UE). When the UE (or transmitting PDCP entity of the UE/base station) discards the PDCP SDU(s) already associated with the PDCP SN, an SN gap may be caused in the transmission PDCP data PDUs of the UE/base station. This may increase the PDCP reordering delay in the receiving PDCP entity of the base station/UE. The UE or the base station may be delayed according to various factors. It may be preferable to provide discarded information to support rapid processing of XR and media application data requiring low-latency high-speed transmission. In particular, in the handover process, it is possible to effectively transmit/receive PDCP data by reducing the reordering delay at the receiving side while avoiding unnecessary transmission/retransmission of the discarded PDCP SDU/PDU through the corresponding information.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-22 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US20250024322 A1) further in view of Fu (WO 2021146865 A1 Translation).
Regarding claims 19,29, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Hong fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to request, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links.
However in an analogous art Fu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to request, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links (WO 2021146865 A1 Page1 Paragraph 2 discloses (In this embodiment, when the first condition is met, the PDCP entity triggers the PDCP PDU duplication transmission mode and sends the PDCP PDU to the second device. Based on the foregoing embodiment, the PDCP entity includes the receiving PDCP entity or transmitting PDCP entity. The receiving entity of the network device performs repeated packet detection and/or discarding, and obtains the PDCP PDU sent by the terminal device at the sending end.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Fu wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to request, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links, in order to ensure and support link reliability and low latency.
Regarding claim 20, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Hong fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to configure, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links.
However in an analogous art Fu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to configure, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links (WO 2021146865 A1 Page1 Paragraph 2 discloses (In this embodiment, when the first condition is met, the PDCP entity triggers the PDCP PDU duplication transmission mode and sends the PDCP PDU to the second device. Based on the foregoing embodiment, the PDCP entity includes the receiving PDCP entity or transmitting PDCP entity. The receiving entity of the network device performs repeated packet detection and/or discarding, and obtains the PDCP PDU sent by the terminal device at the sending end.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Fu wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to configure, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links, in order to ensure and support link reliability and low latency.
Regarding claim 21, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Hong fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to enable, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links.
However in an analogous art Fu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to enable, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links (WO 2021146865 A1 Page1 Paragraph 2 discloses (In this embodiment, when the first condition is met, the PDCP entity triggers the PDCP PDU duplication transmission mode and sends the PDCP PDU to the second device. Based on the foregoing embodiment, the PDCP entity includes the receiving PDCP entity or transmitting PDCP entity. The receiving entity of the network device performs repeated packet detection and/or discarding, and obtains the PDCP PDU sent by the terminal device at the sending end.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Fu wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to enable, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links, in order to ensure and support link reliability and low latency.
Regarding claim 22, Hong discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Hong fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to disable, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links.
However, in an analogous art Fu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to disable, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links (WO 2021146865 A1 Page1 Paragraph 2 discloses (In this embodiment, when the first condition is met, the PDCP entity triggers the PDCP PDU duplication transmission mode and sends the PDCP PDU to the second device. Based on the foregoing embodiment, the PDCP entity includes the receiving PDCP entity or transmitting PDCP entity. The receiving entity of the network device performs repeated packet detection and/or discarding, and obtains the PDCP PDU sent by the terminal device at the sending end.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Fu wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitting device to disable, based at least in part on detecting the condition, PDCP packet duplication activation or PDCP packet duplication deactivation across a plurality of radio link control links, in order to ensure and support link reliability and low latency.
Conclusion
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Samuel Dilan Rutnam/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471