DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
For purposes of examination, the claimed “skewer (92)” is being interpreted to encompass an axle, consistent with the Specification at [Para. 0009 ln. 1, which discloses that the skewer “Referring to FIGS. 1 through 4, a mudguard 91 is attached to a frame 93 of a bicycle by a skewer (or “axle”) 92”]. Under this broadest reasonable interpretation, a prior art axle meets the claimed “skewer” limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 1510603 A Pawsat (Pawsat).
Regarding claim 1, Pawsat discloses a bracket (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) including: a primary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B) including two branches (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B) and an arched section (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B) formed between the branches (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B), wherein the arched section (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B) of the primary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B) is connected to a mudguard (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B); two collars (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) respectively secured to the branches (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) of the primary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A), wherein the collars (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) receive two sections of a skewer (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A); and two nuts (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) engaged with two threaded sections of the skewer (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A).
Regarding claim 5, Pawsat discloses a secondary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) with two branches (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) and an arched section (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B) formed between the branches (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B) of the secondary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A), wherein the branches (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) of the secondary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) are respectively connected to the branches (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) of the primary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A), wherein the arched section (Annotated Pawsat Fig. B) of the secondary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) is connected to the mudguard (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A).
Regarding claim 6, Pawsat discloses each of the branches (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) of the primary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) extends at an angle (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) from the corresponding branch (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) of the secondary U-shaped element (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 1510603 A Pawsat (Pawsat) in view of US 8075010 B2 Talavasek (Talavasek).
Regarding claim 2, Pawsat discloses the collars (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A) and the corresponding nut (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A).
Pawsat fails to disclose a washer. However, Talavasek teaches a washer (Annotated Talavasek Fig. A) that can be placed between each of the said collars and the said corresponding nut.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pawsat’s collar and nut arrangement by incorporating a washer between each collar and the corresponding nut, as taught by Talavasek, in order to distributed the clamping load evenly across the collar surface and prevent damage to the collar during tightening of the nut. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would reduce loosening of the nut over time due to vibration, thereby improving the securement and longevity of the assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Pawsat discloses the collars (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A).
Pawsat fails to disclose two washers respectively on two sides of each of the collars. However, Talavasek teaches two washers (Annotated Talavasek Fig. A) that can be placed respectively on two sides of each of the said collars.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Pawsat, as modified by Talavasek, by incorporating two washers respectively on two sides of each collar, as taught by Talavasek, in order to distribute the clamping load evenly on both faces of the collar and prevent the collar from being marred or deformed by direct contact with adjacent components during assembly and tightening. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would provide a more secure and stable connection by preventing lateral shifting of the collar along the skewer/axle.
Regarding claim 4, Pawsat discloses the nuts (Annotated Pawsat Fig. A).
Pawsat fails to disclose that each of the nuts includes a lever. However, Talavasek teaches a nut including a lever (Annotated Talavasek Fig. A), but only teaches a single lever-actuated nut on one end of the skewer/axle, and does not disclose that each of the two nuts includes a lever.
Courts have held that “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected results is produced (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).” Here, Talavasek discloses a lever-actuated nut on one section of the skewer. Duplicating this lever-actuated nut structure to the second, opposing nut would provide the additional benefit of enabling tool-free actuation and removal from either side of the assembly, without producing any new or unexpected results.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the lever-actuated nut structure as taught by Talavasek such that each of the two nuts of Pawsat, as modified by Talavasek, includes a lever, in order to allow a user to tighten or loosen either nut without requiring a separate tool, thereby improving ease of assembly and disassembly from both sides of the bracket. Such a modification is merely a duplication of an essential working part and would not produce any new or unexpected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 9283809 B2, US 7976041 B2, US 6435533 B1.
/ASA FRANKLIN SOLOMON/Examiner, Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632