DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 12/4/2024.
Claims 1-20 are examined.
Claims 1-5, 12-14, 17-20 are rejected.
Claims 6-11, 15-16 are objected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11, 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner notes that ‘Reason for Allowance’ will be described upon selection of claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/4/2024.
Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12-14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by U.S. Publication 2025/0047466 to Wong et al. (hereinafter known as “Wong”) and U.S. Patent 11,916,900 to Mars et al. (hereinafter known as "Mars”).
As per claim 1 Wong teaches, a device for authorizing a computer program to carry out one or more instructions, the device comprising:
a housing (Wong Fig 1 element 182 para 35 teaches information handling system 100, house microcontroller 150 executing firmware instructions of an I/O device wireless communication packet polling and reception system 186-2);
a processor coupled to a communication interface configured to receive a challenge; (Wong Fig 3 302 304 para 61, teaches element 382 in order to engage in the encryption and decryption processes of the data packets within the data packet communication frames example at dongle 382 executing a random number generator);
a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium operably coupled to the processor and configured to store a cryptographic item;
a motion detector configured to detect a tapping gesture on the housing, wherein the motion detector is arranged inside the housing (Wong para 22 teaches information handling system 100 touchpad/trackpad 150, a stylus 148, or a gesture or touch screen input device where gesture and input pad covers tapping gesture of claimed limitation);
wherein the processor is configured to:
create an authorization signal based on the challenge and the cryptographic item (Wong Fig 3 para 22. 61 teaches secure setup process between the mouse 352 and dongle 382 with encryption and decryption processes of the data packets within the data packet communication frames with random number generator and by generating an initial key used to begin to encrypt and decrypt the data packets within each data packet communication frame).
Wong does not teach Mars teaches,
transmit the authorization signal via the communication interface in response to detecting the tapping gesture. (Mars col 13 lines 55 to col 14 line 15 teaches - user perform a series of physical actions with smart device 102, step 250 where different types of actions may include the user waving smart device 102 to the left, right, up, down; rotating smart device along an x, y or z axis and tapping or applying pressure to smart device 102 along with moving smart device 102 in a pattern, such as side-to-side, circular or ovoid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Wong-Mars before him or her, to combine Wong’s a motion detector configured to detect a tapping gesture on the housing, wherein the motion detector is arranged inside the housing (Wong abstract and para 22 Fig 1, 2) with Mars’s teaching of detecting the tapping gesture (Mars col 13 lines 55 to col 14 line 15 and Fig 2). The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide customized secure functionality to users for control of device(s) (Mars col 3 lines 30-40).
As per claim 2 combination of Wong-Mars teaches, the device of claim 1, wherein the housing is adapted to enclose the processor and the non-transitory computer-readable memory medium (Wong para 29 teaches solid-state memory which houses non-volatile read-only memories or volatile type memory and random-access memory or other volatile re-writable memory).
As per claim 3 combination of Wong-Mars teaches, the device of claim 1, wherein the housing is a solid protection housing composed of a rigid material (Wong para 48 teaches housing of the information handling system 200, where housing covers solid protection (example usb drive or mouse or hardware token) as known in art to one of ordinary skills).
As per claim 4 combination of Wong-Mars teaches, the device of claim 1, wherein the device does not comprise movable or fragile parts arranged on the housing (Wong para 48 teaches dongle 282 and/or the mouse microcontroller 272 such as mouse 252).
As per claim 5 combination of Wong-Mars teaches, the device of claim 1, wherein the device is further configured to:
obtain a first signal based on the tapping gesture;
determine that the first signal exceeds a threshold at a first time; and
detect a first tap of the tapping gesture when the first signal does not exceed the threshold at another time within a first predetermined time period (T.sub.r1) (MARS col 13 lines 50-67 - user perform a series of physical actions with smart device 102, step 250 where different types of actions may include the user waving smart device 102 to the left, right, up, down; rotating smart device along an x, y or z axis; tapping or applying pressure to smart device 102 and moving smart device 102 in a pattern, such as side-to-side, circular or ovoid. Further col 15 lines 20-45 teaches threshold for errors of perturbation data for predetermined gesture data step which covers claimed limitation with motivation in claim 1).
As per claim 12 combination of Wong-Mars teaches, the device of claim 1, wherein the motion detector comprises an accelerometer (Mars teaches Fig 4 col 16 lines 20-40 teaches accelerometer) or a 3-dimensional microelectromechanical system (3D MEMS).
As per claim 13 combination of Wong-Mars teaches, the device of claim 1, wherein the motion detector is further configured to:
execute detecting the tapping gesture in response to receiving the challenge (MARS col 13 lines 50-67 - user performs series of physical actions with smart device 102, step 250 where different types of actions may include the user waving smart device 102 to the left, right, up, down; rotating smart device along an x, y or z axis and tapping or applying pressure to smart device 102 and motivation as described in claim 1).
Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected in accordance with claim 1.
Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected in accordance with claim 1.
Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected in accordance with claim 2.
Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected in accordance with claim 5.
As per claim 20 combination of Wong-Mars teaches, the non-transitory computer-readable memory medium of claim 17, wherein the program instructions are further executable to:
cause the motion detector to execute detecting the tapping gesture in response to receiving the challenge (MARS col 13 lines 50-67 - user performs series of physical actions such as tapping or applying pressure to smart device 102 and motivation as described in claim 1).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wong et al US Publication 20250047466
Mars et al US Patent 11916900
Zarakas et al US Patent 11893576
Neubauer et al US Publication 20150336421
Aurongzeb et al US Publication 20250076998
Feng et al US Publication 20200313881
Wang et al US Publication 20250190589
Conclusion
/VIRAL S LAKHIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431