DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 11-13 be found allowable, claims 16-18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16-18 all depend from claim 10. Claims 16-18 are duplicates of claims 11-13. Based on the fact dependent claims 16-18 come after independent claim 15, the Examiner believes claims 16-18 are intended to depend from claim 15, not claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a first embodiment (Fig. 1A-5) of Forrest et al. (US 7000797) (hereinafter Forrest1) in view of a second embodiment (Fig. 6) of Forrest et al. (US 7000797) (hereinafter Forrest2).
Regarding Claim 10
Forrest1 teaches a can end (below - Fig. 1A and 5) comprising: a panel (69) formed in the can end, the panel including a front end (shown at 82), a rear end (shown at 78), and a perimeter (70) spaced inwardly from an outer periphery of the can end, a score (22) formed in the panel, the score being spaced inwardly from the outer periphery, the panel including a cent bead (89) extending upwardly from the can end, the score being located on one side of the cent bead, wherein an imaginary axis (X-X) extends through a center of the can end and evenly divides the cent bead; wherein a distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is about 0.050 inches; and wherein the panel includes a pair of opposing side portions (80a/b) that are linear from a curvature of a front end (shown at 82) of the panel to a curvature of a rear end (shown at 78) of the panel (Col. 3, Ln. 44-57; Col. 6, Ln. 40-51; Col. 7, Ln. 19-34).
Forrest1 does not teach a distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is greater than 0.080 inches
Forrest2 teaches a can end (below - Fig. 6) comprising: a panel (69) formed in the can end, the panel including a front end (shown at 78), a rear end (shown at 82), and a perimeter (70) spaced inwardly from an outer periphery of the can end, a score (22) formed in the panel, the score being spaced inwardly from the outer periphery, the panel including a cent bead (89) extending upwardly from the can end, the score being located on one side of the cent bead, wherein an imaginary axis extends through a center of the can end and evenly divides the cent bead; wherein a distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is greater than 0.080 inches [i.e. 0.1 inches] (Col. 3, Ln. 44-57; Col. 6, Ln. 52-60; Col. 7, Ln. 19-34).
Forrest1 and Forrest2 are analogous inventions in the field of can ends. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis of Forrest1 with the teachings of the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis being greater than 0.080 inches of Forrest2, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Further, Forrest teaches that the embodiments of Forrest1 and Forrest2 are functional equivalents, in that the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score may be a constant number (i.e. 0.1 inches) (Col. 6, Ln. 52-60).
Regarding Claims 11 and 12
Forrest1 in view of Forrest2 (hereinafter “modified Forrest”) teaches all the limitations of claim 10 as shown above. Forrest2 further teaches the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is 0.1 inches (Col. 6, Ln. 52-60).
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Forrest teaches all the limitations of claim 10 as shown above. Forrest1 further teaches the panel is tapered from a front end (shown at 82) to a rear end (shown at 78).
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Forrest teaches all the limitations of claim 10 as shown above. Forrest1 further teaches the outer periphery of the panel has a smaller radius at a pair of opposing side portions (shown at 78) than a remaining portion (shown at 76) of the outer periphery of the panel.
Regarding Claim 15
Forrest1 teaches a can end (Fig. 1A and 5) comprising: a panel (69) formed in the can end, the panel including a front end (shown at 82), a rear end (shown at 78), and a perimeter (70) spaced inwardly from an outer periphery of the can end, a score (22) formed in the panel, the score being spaced inwardly from the outer periphery, the panel including a cent bead (89) extending upwardly from the can end, the score being located on one side of the cent bead, wherein an imaginary axis (X-X) extends through a center of the can end and evenly divides the cent bead; wherein a distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is about 0.050 inches; and wherein the outer periphery of the panel has a smaller radius at a pair of opposing side portions (shown at 78) than a remaining portion (shown at 76) of the outer periphery of the panel (Col. 3, Ln. 44-57; Col. 6, Ln. 52-60; Col. 7, Ln. 19-34).
Forrest2 teaches a can end (Fig. 6) comprising: a panel (69) formed in the can end, the panel including a front end (shown at 78), a rear end (shown at 82), and a perimeter (70) spaced inwardly from an outer periphery of the can end, a score (22) formed in the panel, the score being spaced inwardly from the outer periphery, the panel including a cent bead (89) extending upwardly from the can end, the score being located on one side of the cent bead, wherein an imaginary axis extends through a center of the can end and evenly divides the cent bead; wherein a distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is greater than 0.080 inches [i.e. 0.1 inches] (Col. 3, Ln. 44-57; Col. 6, Ln. 52-60; Col. 7, Ln. 19-34).
Forrest1 and Forrest2 are analogous inventions in the field of can ends. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis of Forrest1 with the teachings of the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis being greater than 0.080 inches of Forrest2, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). Further, Forrest teaches that the embodiments of Forrest1 and Forrest2 are functional equivalents, in that the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score may be a constant number (i.e. 0.1 inches) (Col. 6, Ln. 52-60).
Regarding Claims 16 and 17
Forrest1 in view of Forrest2 (hereinafter “modified Forrest”) teaches all the limitations of claim 15 as shown above. Forrest2 further teaches the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is 0.1 inches (Col. 6, Ln. 52-60).
Regarding Claim 18
Modified Forrest teaches all the limitations of claim 15 as shown above. Forrest1 further teaches the panel is tapered from a front end (shown at 82) to a rear end (shown at 78).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Closest prior art – Forrest et al. (US 7000797) (previously cited) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art does not teach the panel is inclined, with regards to the imaginary axis, from the front end to the rear end.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the amended claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/LAURA E. PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733