DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, 13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the curvature of the top end of the panel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the curvature of the bottom end of the panel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the outer periphery of the panel" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the curvature of the top end of the panel" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the curvature of the bottom end of the panel" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the front end" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the rear end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 16-19 all depend from claim 10. Claims 16-18 are duplicates of claims 11-13. Based on the fact dependent claims 16-19 come after independent claim 15, the Examiner believes claims 16-19 are intended to depend from claim 15, not claim 10.
If claim 19 is amended to depend from claim 15 - claim 15 recites the limitation "the curvature of the top end of the panel" and "the curvature of the bottom end of the panel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 states “the panel includes a pair of opposing side portions that are linear from the curvature of the top end of the panel to the curvature of the bottom end of the panel”. Claim 19 depends from claim 10 which also states “the panel includes a pair of opposing side portions that are linear from the curvature of the top end of the panel to the curvature of the bottom end of the panel”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forrest et al. (US 7000797) (hereinafter Forrest).
Regarding Claim 1
Forrest teaches a can end (below – Fig. 1A and 6) comprising: a panel (69) formed in the can end, the panel including a front end (shown at 82), a rear end (shown at 78), and a perimeter (70) spaced inwardly from an outer periphery of the can end, a score (22) formed in the panel, the score being spaced inwardly from the outer periphery, the panel including a cent bead (89) extending upwardly from the can end, the score being located on one side of the cent bead, wherein an imaginary axis (X-X) extends through a center of the can end and evenly divides the cent bead, wherein a distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis may be greater than 0.080 inches [i.e. 0.1 inches], and wherein the panel is tapered from the front end to the rear end (Col. 3, Ln. 44-57; Col. 6, Ln. 52-60; Col. 7, Ln. 19-34).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3
Forrest teaches the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is 0.1 inches (Col. 6, Ln. 52-60).
Regarding Claim 4
Forrest teaches the imaginary axis (X-X) extends through a 6 o’clock position when the can end is held by a consumer in a position for drinking.
Regarding Claim 5
Forrest teaches the distance minimizes or eliminates cracks or breakages during forming, inasmuch as Applicant does.
Regarding Claim 8
Forrest teaches the panel includes a pair of opposing side portions (80a/b) that are linear from a curvature of a top end (shown at 82) of the panel to a curvature of a bottom end (shown at 78) of the panel.
Regarding Claim 9
Forrest teaches the outer periphery of the panel has a smaller radius at a pair of opposing side portions (shown at 78) than a remaining portion (shown at 76) of the outer periphery of the panel.
Regarding Claim 10
Forrest teaches a can end (Fig. 1A and 6) comprising: a panel (69) formed in the can end, the panel including a perimeter (70) spaced inwardly from an outer periphery of the can end, a score (22) formed in the panel, the score being spaced inwardly from the outer periphery, the panel including a cent bead (89) extending upwardly from the can end, the score being located on one side of the cent bead, wherein an imaginary axis (X-X) extends through a center of the can end and evenly divides the cent bead, and wherein a distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis may be greater than 0.080 inches [i.e. 0.1 inches], and wherein the panel includes a pair of opposing side portions (80a/b) that are linear from a curvature of a top end (shown at 82) of the panel to a curvature of a bottom end (shown at 78) of the panel (Col. 3, Ln. 44-57; Col. 6, Ln. 52-60; Col. 7, Ln. 19-34).
Regarding Claims 11 and 12
Forrest teaches the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is 0.1 inches (Col. 6, Ln. 52-60).
Regarding Claim 13
Forrest teaches the panel is tapered from a front end (shown at 82) to a rear end (shown at 78).
Regarding Claim 14
Forrest teaches the outer periphery of the panel has a smaller radius at a pair of opposing side portions (shown at 78) than a remaining portion (shown at 76) of the outer periphery of the panel.
Regarding Claim 15
Forrest teaches a can end (Fig. 1A and 6) comprising: a panel (69) formed in the can end, the panel including a perimeter (70) spaced inwardly from an outer periphery of the can end, a score (22) formed in the panel, the score being spaced inwardly from the outer periphery, the panel including a cent bead (89) extending upwardly from the can end, the score being located on one side of the cent bead, wherein an imaginary axis (X-X) extends through a center of the can end and evenly divides the cent bead, and wherein a distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis may be greater than 0.080 inches [i.e. 0.1 inches], and wherein the outer periphery of the panel has a smaller radius at a pair of opposing side portions (shown at 78) than a remaining portion (shown at 76) of the outer periphery of the panel (Col. 3, Ln. 44-57; Col. 6, Ln. 52-60; Col. 7, Ln. 19-34).
Regarding Claims 16 and 17
Forrest teaches the distance between the outer periphery of the panel and the score along the imaginary axis is 0.1 inches (Col. 6, Ln. 52-60).
Regarding Claim 18
Forrest teaches the panel is tapered from a front end (shown at 82) to a rear end (shown at 78).
Regarding Claim 19
Forrest teaches the panel includes a pair of opposing side portions (80a/b) that are linear from a curvature of a top end (shown at 82) of the panel to a curvature of a bottom end (shown at 78) of the panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heinicke et al. (US 2001/0002671) (hereinafter Heinicke).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7
Forrest teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Forrest does not specifically teach a taper defined on the panel is between 0.001 and 0.005 inches, or more specifically 0.003 inches.
Heinicke teaches a can end (below – Fig. 3) comprising: a panel (12) formed in the can end, the panel including a front end, a rear end, and a perimeter (shown at 30) spaced inwardly from an outer periphery of the can end, a score (18) formed in the panel, the score being spaced inwardly from the outer periphery.
Heinicke further teaches the can end has a thickness that can range from 0.011 to 0.013 inches. This means that where the thickness transitions from 0.011 inches to 0.013 inches, due to mechanical tolerances, the panel has areas of at least one taper between 0.001 and 0.005 inches, or roughly 0.003 inches. (Paragraphs [0002] and [0033]).
Forrest and Heinicke are analogous inventions in the field of can ends. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the thickness of can end with the teachings of the can end having a varying thickness (with a taper between the thicker and thinner portions of the can end) of Keinicke in order to provide a realistic can end thickness, which includes a varying thickness occurring within manufacturing tolerances (i.e. has variation/taper).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 1 was amended to include that the panel includes a front end and a rear and that the panel is tapered from the front end to the rear end. This was not previously claimed, and as such the rejection has been amended to address the new limitations above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 16 June 2026