DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 9, 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,194,711. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims related to a laminated glass that is broader than that of Patent 12,194,711.
Instant Application (18/967,960) Claim
Corresponding Patent 12,194,711 Claim
1
1, 12
2
2
3
4
4
3
5
6
9
7
11
8
9
10
11
1
12
2
13
4
14
3
15
16
9
17
11
18
19
20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “the conductive adhesive is combined with the conductive substrate” is ambiguous as to the metes and bounds of the claims. It is unclear how the conductive adhesive would be combined with the substrate. Instead, the limitation is interpreted to mean “the conductive adhesive is attached to the conductive substrate”.
Claims 2-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on the rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gima (US 2022/0250359 A1) in view of Zhang et al (US Publication No.: US 2026/0173678 A1, “Zhang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Gima discloses a laminated glass, comprising an electronic device (Figures 1A-1B), a protective layer (Figure 1B, protective layer 13/152), and two glass pieces (Figure 1B, two glass pieces 12/11), wherein:
The electronic device comprises
A device body (Figure 1A, device body 14),
A conductive substrate (Figure 1B, conductive substrate 154),
A conductive adhesive tape electrode (Figure 1B, conductive adhesive tape electrode 156; Paragraph 0059), and
A lead-out electrode (Figure 1A, lead-out electrode 16; Paragraph 0042),
The conductive adhesive tape electrode has at least one surface coated with conductive adhesive (Paragraph 0059),
The surface coated with the conductive adhesive is attached to the conductive substrate (Figure 1B, conductive adhesive tape electrode 156 is attached to conductive substrate 154; Paragraph 0059)).
The lead-out electrode is placed on the conductive adhesive tape electrode or the conductive substrate and is conductively connected to the conductive adhesive tape electrode (Paragraph 0042; Figure 1A discloses the conductive adhesive tape electrode connected to the lead-out electrode 16),
The protective layer is prefixed onto a side of one of the two glass pieces with conductive adhesive and at a location that corresponds to the conductive adhesive tape electrode (Figure 1B, protective layer 13/152); and
The electronic device is sandwiched between the two glass pieces and the two glass pieces are pressed together to form the laminated glass (Figures 1A-1B, glass pieces 11, 12; Paragraph 0027), wherein
The protective layer covers and seals the conductive adhesive tape electrode (Figure 1B, protective layer 13 covers and seals the conductive adhesive tape electrode 156).
Gima fails to disclose that the protective layer prevents diffusion of plasticizers, additives, and external moisture and oxygen into the conductive adhesive tape electrode.
However, Zhang discloses a similar laminated glass where the protective layer prevents diffusion of plasticizers, additives, and external moisture and oxygen into the conductive adhesive tape electrode (Zhang, Figure 3 and Paragraph 0062 disclose that the protective layer (sealant) 50 covers and seals the conductive adhesive tape electrode 60 and prevents oxygen or liquid or gas from intruding into the conductive adhesive tape electrode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protective layer as disclosed by Gima to include a protective layer that effectively seals the conductive adhesive tape electrode to prevent diffusion of various materials as disclosed by Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving or avoiding the corrosion of the connections within a display (Zhang, Paragraph 0062).
Regarding Claim 2, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the laminated glass of claim 1, wherein the conductive adhesive is applied on both surface of the conductive adhesive tape electrode, and the protective layer is attached to the conductive adhesive tape electrode via the conductive adhesive (Gima, Paragraph 0059; Figure 1B).
Regarding Claim 3, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the laminated glass of claim 1, wherein the protective layer is selected from at least one of the protective film and protective adhesive, the protective film comprising one of polyethylene terephthalate film, polyimide film, epoxy resin film, polyethylene film, or polypropylene film, and the protective adhesive comprising one of epoxy resin, UV-curable resin, two-component epoxy adhesive, conductive copper adhesive, or conductive silver adhesive (Gima, Paragraph 0093).
Regarding Claim 4, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the laminated glass of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the protective layer is between 10um and 1000um (Paragraph 0098).
Regarding Claim 5, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the laminated glass of claim 1, wherein the protective layer is a protective film and partially covers the conductive substrate (Gima, Figure 1B discloses protective film 13 at least partially covers the conductive substrate 154).
Regarding Claim 6, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the laminated glass of claim 1, wherein the protective layer is a protective adhesive (Gima, Paragraph 0033 discloses a protective adhesive 132/133), and the two glass pieces are pressed together such that the protective adhesive is applied in a point-to-point manner to cover and seal the conductive adhesive tape electrode onto the conductive substrate (Gima, Figure 1B, protective layer 132/133 entirely covers conductive adhesive tape electrode 156 such that the conductive adhesive tape electrode 156 is entirely sealed and covered in a point-to-point manner).
Regarding Claim 7, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the laminated glass of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is selected from one of liquid crystal device, electrochromic device, organic light-emitting device, thin-film heating device, or thin-film solar cell device (Gima, Paragraph 0049).
Regarding Claim 8, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the laminated glass of claim 1.
Gima fails to disclose that the conductive adhesive comprises an acrylic pressure-sensitive conductive adhesive or a conductive adhesive obtained by mixing conductive fillers with a matrix selected from polyimide, phenolic resin, or polyurethane.
However, Zhang discloses a similar lamination where the conductive adhesive comprises an acrylic pressure-sensitive conductive adhesive or a conductive adhesive obtained by mixing conductive fillers with a matrix selected from polyimide, phenolic resin, or polyurethane (Zhang, Paragraph 0062 discloses the conductive adhesive is an anisotropic conductive film adhesive, which is generally obtained by mixing conductive fillers with a matrix of polyimide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conductive adhesive as disclosed by Gima to be obtained by mixing conductive fillers with a matrix as disclosed by Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving or avoiding the corrosion of the connections within a display (Zhang, Paragraph 0062).
Regarding Claim 9, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the laminated glass of claim 1, wherein the lead-out electrode extends to an exterior of the laminated glass (Gima, Figure 1A discloses lead-out electrode 16 extending to an exterior of the laminated glass).
Regarding Claim 10, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the laminated glass of claim 1, wherein the conductive adhesive tape electrode comprises a metal film selected from copper, silver, or aluminum (Gima, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 11, Gima discloses a method for preparing laminated glass (Figures 1A-1B), wherein
The laminated glass comprises an electronic device (Figures 1A-1B), the electronic device comprising
A device body (Figure 1A, device body 14),
A conductive substrate (Figure 1B, conductive substrate 154),
A conductive adhesive tape electrode (Figure 1B, conductive adhesive tape electrode 156; Paragraph 0059),
A lead-out electrode (Figure 1A, lead-out electrode 16; Paragraph 0042), and
Two glass pieces (Figures 1A-1B, glass pieces 11, 12), wherein
The conductive adhesive tape electrode has at least one surface coated with conductive adhesive (Paragraph 0059),
The surface coated with the conductive adhesive is attached to the conductive substrate (Figure 1B, conductive adhesive tape electrode 156 is attached to conductive substrate 154; Paragraph 0059).
The lead-out electrode is configured on the conductive adhesive tape electrode or the conductive substrate and is conductively connected to the conductive adhesive tape electrode (Paragraph 0042; Figure 1A discloses the conductive adhesive tape electrode connected to the lead-out electrode 16),
Interlayer adhesive is applied on a side of at least one of the two glass pieces facing the electronic devices (Paragraph 0100 discloses adhesiveness between the two glass pieces 11 and 12), and
The method for preparing the laminated glass comprises:
Prefixing a protective layer onto a side of one of the two glass pieces with conductive adhesive and at a location that corresponds to the conductive adhesive tape electrode (Figure 1B, protective layer 13/152);
Sandwiching the electronic device between the two glass pieces and pressing the two glass pieces together to form the laminated glass comprising the electronic device (Figures 1A-1B, glass pieces 11, 12; Paragraph 0027), wherein
The protective layer covers and seals the conductive adhesive tape electrode (Figure 1B, protective layer 13 covers and seals the conductive adhesive tape electrode 156).
Gima fails to disclose that the protective layer prevents diffusion of plasticizers, additives, and external moisture and oxygen into the conductive adhesive tape electrode.
However, Zhang discloses a similar laminated glass where the protective layer prevents diffusion of plasticizers, additives, and external moisture and oxygen into the conductive adhesive tape electrode (Zhang, Figure 3 and Paragraph 0062 disclose that the protective layer (sealant) 50 covers and seals the conductive adhesive tape electrode 60 and prevents oxygen or liquid or gas from intruding into the conductive adhesive tape electrode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protective layer as disclosed by Gima to include a protective layer that effectively seals the conductive adhesive tape electrode to prevent diffusion of various materials as disclosed by Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving or avoiding the corrosion of the connections within a display (Zhang, Paragraph 0062).
Regarding Claim 12, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the conductive adhesive is applied on both surface of the conductive adhesive tape electrode, and the protective layer is attached to the conductive adhesive tape electrode via the conductive adhesive (Gima, Paragraph 0059; Figure 1B).
Regarding Claim 13, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the protective layer is selected from at least one of the protective film and protective adhesive, the protective film comprising one of polyethylene terephthalate film, polyimide film, epoxy resin film, polyethylene film, or polypropylene film, and the protective adhesive comprising one of epoxy resin, UV-curable resin, two-component epoxy adhesive, conductive copper adhesive, or conductive silver adhesive (Gima, Paragraph 0093).
Regarding Claim 14, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein a thickness of the protective layer is between 10um and 1000um (Paragraph 0098).
Regarding Claim 15, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the protective layer is a protective film and partially covers the conductive substrate (Gima, Figure 1B discloses protective film 13 at least partially covers the conductive substrate 154).
Regarding Claim 16, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the protective layer is a protective adhesive (Gima, Paragraph 0033 discloses a protective adhesive 132/133), and the two glass pieces are pressed together such that the protective adhesive is applied in a point-to-point manner to cover and seal the conductive adhesive tape electrode onto the conductive substrate (Gima, Figure 1B, protective layer 132/133 entirely covers conductive adhesive tape electrode 156 such that the conductive adhesive tape electrode 156 is entirely sealed and covered in a point-to-point manner).
Regarding Claim 17, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is selected from one of liquid crystal device, electrochromic device, organic light-emitting device, thin-film heating device, or thin-film solar cell device (Gima, Paragraph 0049).
Regarding Claim 18, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 11.
Gima fails to disclose that the conductive adhesive comprises an acrylic pressure-sensitive conductive adhesive or a conductive adhesive obtained by mixing conductive fillers with a matrix selected from polyimide, phenolic resin, or polyurethane.
However, Zhang discloses a similar lamination where the conductive adhesive comprises an acrylic pressure-sensitive conductive adhesive or a conductive adhesive obtained by mixing conductive fillers with a matrix selected from polyimide, phenolic resin, or polyurethane (Zhang, Paragraph 0062 discloses the conductive adhesive is an anisotropic conductive film adhesive, which is generally obtained by mixing conductive fillers with a matrix of polyimide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conductive adhesive as disclosed by Gima to be obtained by mixing conductive fillers with a matrix as disclosed by Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving or avoiding the corrosion of the connections within a display (Zhang, Paragraph 0062).
Regarding Claim 19, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the lead-out electrode extends to an exterior of the laminated glass (Gima, Figure 1A discloses lead-out electrode 16 extending to an exterior of the laminated glass).
Regarding Claim 20, Gima in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the conductive adhesive tape electrode comprises a metal film selected from copper, silver, or aluminum (Gima, Paragraph 0047).
Conclusion
/MARIAM QURESHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2871