DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McEldowney (US Patent 5,875,911).
With regards to claim 1, McEldowney discloses a tooling assembly for forming a panel on a can end, the tooling assembly comprising:
an upper panel cap (214);
an upper panel insert (234) disposed in the upper panel cap;
wherein the upper panel insert is tapered from a front end thereof to a back end thereof [180 is tapered above section 5A cut-line in Figure 4, as discussed in column 8, lines 36-37];
a lower panel cap (212);
wherein the upper panel insert and the lower panel cap are configured to engage opposite sides of a can end, such that a panel is formed thereon, as see in Figure 5A.
With regards to claim 2, McEldowney discloses wherein a pair of opposing side portions of a perimeter corresponding to a rivet button of the can end comprises a first radius [nose bead 150 being formed into rivet 124 – this process would form radii at each area where the can end is bent, as shown in Figures 4, 5A and 5B].
With regards to claim 4, McEldowney discloses wherein a remaining portion of the perimeter of the can end comprises a second radius [nose bead 150 being formed into rivet 124 – this process would form radii at each area where the can end is bent, as shown in Figures 4, 5A and 5B].
With regards to claim 6, McEldowney discloses wherein a pocket is defined on the lower panel cap, wherein the pocket is configured to receive loose metal pressed by the upper panel insert [relief portion 236, as seen in Figures 5A and 5B].
With regards to claim 7, McEldowney discloses wherein the pocket comprises a rounded edge, as seen in Figures 5A and 5B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McEldowney.
McEldowney discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the first radius is between 0.010 and 0.030 inch; wherein the second radius is between 0.030 and 0.050 inch and wherein the rounded edge has a radius between 0.020 and 0.040 inch. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed radii, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It is noted that Applicant has not disclosed that having this particular radii provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem and since it appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentable distinguish over McEldowney.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US 2014/0366605.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725