DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19, species (a-i), drawn to the second layer is a high gloss surface sheet, and species (b-ii), drawn to the third layer is a structural skin in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10, 14-16 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/11/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description: at [0018] reference sign 44 is mentioned, however, the figures do not appear to include reference sign 44.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: FIG. 2 and FIG. 4C include reference character 32, however, the Specification does not mention reference character 32. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In reference to claim 13, it is suggested to (1) in line 1, insert a space between “11” and “wherein” and (2) in line 2 amend “of a structural skin” to “or a structural skin”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durham et al. (US 2022/0024183) (Durham) in view of Ferguson et al. (US 2016/0096353) (Ferguson), with claim 2 further taken in view of evidence by Dymax Multi-Cure 6-621.
In reference to claims 1 and 11-12, Durham teaches a composite sandwich panel assembly ([0007]) (corresponding to a composite sandwich panel assembly). The composite sandwich panel assembly includes an open area core having a first face and an opposing second face ([0007]) (corresponding to a first layer having a first face and a second face opposing the first face). A high gloss surface sheet is adhered to the first face of the open area core by a first adhesive layer ([0007]; [0025]) (corresponding to a first adhesive provided on the first face of the first layer; a second layer adhered to the first face of the first layer by the first adhesive). The first adhesive layer is formed of a curable formulation ([0025]).
Durham further teaches a structural skin is adhered to the second side of the open area core by a second adhesive layer ([0007]; [0028]) (corresponding to a third layer adhered to the second face of the first layer by a second adhesive provided on the second face of the first layer). The same adhesive formed both first adhesive layer and second adhesive layer ([0028]).
Durham does not explicitly teach a first optical fiber having a first end, a second end, and a length therebetween, the length of the first optical fiber embedded within the first adhesive, as presently claimed.
Ferguson teaches an assembly and curing of a structure ([0001]). The structure can be formed or repaired in a more efficient manner, such as by eliminating the need for elevated temperatures and reducing the need for elevated pressures for substantial periods of time ([0006]; [0016]; [0043]). The structure includes a ultraviolet curable adhesive, such as Multi-Cure® 6-621 Series adhesive provided by Dymax® Corporation and one or more side-emitting light guiding members positioned within the light-curable adhesive ([0007]; [0008]; [0029]; [0031]) (corresponding to a UV curable adhesive). The light guiding member includes one or more optical fibers ([0031]) (corresponding to a first optical fiber having a first end, a second end, and a length therebetween, the length of the first optical fiber embedded within the first adhesive).
A light source is communicably connected to the light guiding member in order to introduce light into the guiding members and to cause light to propagate therethrough ([0034]). The light propagates through the side-emitting light guiding members so as to cure the light-curable adhesive ([0014]; [0016]) (corresponding to the first optical fiber having a refractive index such that UV light applied to the first end of the first optical fiber is emitted along the length of the first optical fiber). FIGS. 1-3 show the light guiding member 16 extends beyond the curable adhesive 14 and is connected to the light source 18 (corresponding to the first end of the first optical fiber being free of the first adhesive).
In light of the motivation of Ferguson, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to have the first and second adhesive layers of Durham be the ultraviolet curable adhesive having a light guiding member positioned within the curable adhesive, in order to provide an assembly that is formed and repaired in a more efficient manner, such as by eliminating the need for elevated temperatures and reducing the need for elevated pressures for substantial periods of time, and thereby arriving at the presently claimed invention.
In reference to claim 2, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the ultraviolet curable adhesive is Multi-Cure® 6-621 Series adhesive provided by Dymax® Corporation (Ferguson, [0029]). As evidence by Dymax Multi-Cure 6-621 is a clear transparent adhesive (Color, p. 3) (corresponding to the first adhesive is transparent).
In reference to claim 3, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Durham further teaches the open area core is formed of a lightweight material that defines a plurality of pores so as to reduce the overall density of the open area core ([0021]) (corresponding to the first layer is a low density core defining a plurality of pores).
In reference to claim 4, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above. Durham further teaches the open area core is formed from materials that includes cellulosics, thermoplastics, thermosets, metal and foam ([0021]) (corresponding to the low density core is formed of at least one of a cellulosic, thermoplastic, thermoset, metal, or foam).
In reference to claim 5, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above. Durham further teaches the open area core has walls defining an ordered array of pores, the pores have a shape that include hexagonal, circular, rhomboidal, triangular, parallelogram quadrilateral and regular quadrilateral ([0018]-[0019]) (corresponding to the plurality of pores define an array of at least one shape of hexagonal, circular, rhomboidal, triangular, parallelogram quadrilateral, or regular quadrilateral).
In reference to claim 6, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Durham teaches the high gloss surface sheet is adhered to the first face of the open area core by the first adhesive layer ([0007]; [0025]) (corresponding to the second layer is one of a high gloss surface sheet).
In reference to claim 7, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 6, as discussed above. Durham further teaches the high gloss surface sheet is formed from sheet molding compound (SMC), thermoplastic, dicyclopentadiene (DCPD), overmolded polyurethane (PU) or a combination thereof ([0024]) (corresponding to the high gloss surface sheet is present and formed of any one of: sheet molding compound (SMC), thermoplastic sheet, dicyclopentadiene (DCPD), or overmolded polyurethane (PU)).
In reference to claim 8, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 7, as discussed above. Durham further teaches the high gloss surface sheet includes an additive, the additive includes glass fiber, carbon fiber, inorganic particulate filler, glass microspheres, carbon nanotubes, graphene, low profile additives and moisture scavengers ([0024]) (corresponding to the high floss surface sheet is present and comprises a filler of at least one of: glass fiber, carbon fiber, carbon nanotubes, graphene, inorganic particulate fillers, glass microspheres, low profile additives, or moisture scavengers).
In reference to claim 9, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 6, as discussed above. Durham further teaches a thickness of the high gloss surface sheet ranges from 0.5 to 5 millimeters ([0024]) (corresponding to the high gloss surface sheet is present and has a thickness of from 0.5 to 3.5 mm).
In reference to claim 13, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. Durham teaches the structural skin is adhered to the second side of the open area core ([0028]) (corresponding to the third layer is a structural skin).
In reference to claim 17, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 13, as discussed above. Durham further teaches the structural skin is formed of a fiber mat ([0028]) (corresponding to the structural skin is present and formed of a fiber mat).
In reference to claim 18, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. Durham further teaches the high gloss surface and the structural skin are joined together along an edge of the composite sandwich panel assembly to form a seal, wherein the seal inhibits moisture from entering the interior of the composite sandwich panel assembly ([0032]) (corresponding to the second layer and the third layer are joined together to form an edge defining a moisture resistant seal).
In reference to claim 19, Durham in view of Ferguson teaches the limitations of claim 18, as discussed above. Durham further teaches a gasket is disposed between the high gloss surface sheet and the structural skin at the edge ([0033]) (corresponding to a gasket disposed between the second layer and the third layer at the edge).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, namely Foran et al. (WO 2021/146518), Durham et al. (US 2022/0063384) and Foran et al. (US 2022/0242086), is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. However, the rejections using these references would be cumulative to the rejections of record set forth above.
/MARY I OMORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784