DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 of US Application No. 18/968,126, filed on 04 December 2024, are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 04 December 2024 has been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control device for controlling a movable part . . . configured to execute rainfall determination” in claim 1.
control device – electronic control unit (see Applicant’s specification at ¶ [0008]-[0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the vehicle is equipped with a second movable part that does not assume the second state”. However, claim 1, from which claim 4 depends recites “a movable part . . . is able to switch between a first state in which space inside of a vehicle cabin and space outside of the vehicle are disconnected and a second state in which the space inside of the vehicle cabin and the space outside of the vehicle are connected”. Claim 1 defines a moveable part as being switchable between a first state and a second state. Claim 4 introduces a first moveable part and a second movable part. However, the first and second moveable parts are still the moveable parts recited in claim 1 and are both subject to the limitations of claim 1, i.e., have a first state and a second state as defined in the claim. However, claim 4 subsequently eliminates the second state for the second moveable part, which directly contradicts the requirements of claim 1. Therefore, claim 4 is indefinite.
Claim 5 is indefinite because it depends from claim 4, which is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over https://web.archive.org/web/20220122042046/https://github.com/teslamotors/light-show#readme (teslamotors/light show, “Tesla”) in view of Peterson et al. (US 2011/0190962 A1, “Peterson”).
Regarding claim 1, Tesla discloses a light show guide and teaches:
control device for controlling a movable part applied to a vehicle equipped with the movable part that is able to switch between a first state in which space inside of a vehicle cabin and space outside of the vehicle are disconnected and a second state in which the space inside of the vehicle cabin and the space outside of the vehicle are connected, [ ] (closures, e.g., liftgates, mirrors, windows, doors, may be opened, danced, closed – see at least ‘Closure channels’).
Tesla fails to teach that is configured to execute rainfall determination processing for determining whether rainfall is occurring, wherein when determination is made that rainfall is occurring in the rainfall determination processing, the movable part is not controlled to the second state.
However, Peterson discloses a system and method for controlling power windows of a vehicle and teaches:
control device [ ] that is configured to execute rainfall determination processing for determining whether rainfall is occurring (at 104, exterior condition, e.g., rain, temperature, solar load, is monitored – see at least Fig. 2 and ¶ [0033]), wherein when determination is made that rainfall is occurring in the rainfall determination processing, the movable part is not controlled to the second state (at 106, based on a measured valued from step 104 as measured by one or more condition sensors 60, 62, 64, determination is made if opening windows should be inhibited – see at least Fig. 2 and ¶ [0034]; at 108, if the determination at 106 is ‘YES’, opening of power windows is inhibited – see at least Fig. 2 and ¶ [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light show of Tesla to determine rainfall and not control the movable part to the second state based on the determined rainfall, as taught by Peterson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would prevent rain from entering a vehicle through an open window (Peterson at ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Tesla further teaches:
wherein the movable part includes at least one of a door and a power window (closures, e.g., liftgates, mirrors, windows, doors, may be opened, danced, closed – see at least ‘Closure channels’).
Regarding claim 3, Tesla further teaches:
wherein
the vehicle further includes a speaker (music plays from the cabin speakers during the show – see at least ‘Closure channels’ at ‘Other notes’),
the control device is configured to execute particular processing of outputting music from the speaker, and also operating the movable part (music plays from the cabin speakers during the show – see at least ‘Closure channels’ at ‘Other notes’; during the show, closures, e.g., liftgates, mirrors, windows, doors, may be opened, danced, closed – see at least ‘Closure channels’).
The combination of Tesla and Peterson further teaches:
when determination is made in the rainfall determination processing that rainfall is occurring, music is output from the speaker without controlling the movable part to the second state in the particular processing (at 106, based on a measured valued from step 104 as measured by one or more condition sensors 60, 62, 64, determination is made if opening windows should be inhibited – see at least Fig. 2 and ¶ [0034]; at 108, if the determination at 106 is ‘YES’, opening of power windows is inhibited – see at least Fig. 2 and ¶ [0036]; i.e., opening of windows is inhibited but there is no inhibition of music).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light show of Tesla to output music but no control the movable part to the second state, as taught by the combination of Tesla and Peterson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the vehicle to run the light show (Tesla at ‘Running a custom show on a vehicle’) while preventing rain from entering a vehicle through an open window (Peterson at ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Tesla further teaches:
wherein
the movable part is a first movable part (during the show, closures, e.g., liftgates, mirrors, windows, doors, may be opened, danced, closed – see at least ‘Closure channels’),
the vehicle further is equipped with a second movable part that does not assume the second state (during the show, closures, e.g., liftgates, mirrors, windows, doors, may be opened, danced, closed – see at least ‘Closure channels’),
the control device is configured to perform control to output music from the speaker, and also to operate the first movable part and the second movable part in the particular processing (music plays from the cabin speakers during the show – see at least ‘Closure channels’ at ‘Other notes’; during the show, closures, e.g., liftgates, mirrors, windows, doors, may be opened, danced, closed – see at least ‘Closure channels’), and
[ ].
The combination of Tesla and Peterson further teaches:
when determination is made that rainfall is occurring in the rainfall determination processing, music is output from the speaker, and also the second movable part is operated, without controlling the first movable part to the second state in the particular processing (at 106, based on a measured valued from step 104 as measured by one or more condition sensors 60, 62, 64, determination is made if opening windows should be inhibited – see at least Fig. 2 and ¶ [0034]; at 108, if the determination at 106 is ‘YES’, opening of power windows is inhibited – see at least Fig. 2 and ¶ [0036]; i.e., opening of windows is inhibited but there is no inhibition of music or movement of mirrors).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light show of Tesla to output music and operate the second moveable part but not control the first movable part to the second state, as taught by the combination of Tesla and Peterson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the vehicle to run the light show (Tesla at ‘Running a custom show on a vehicle’) while preventing rain from entering a vehicle through an open window (Peterson at ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Tesla further teaches:
wherein the second movable part is a side mirror (during the show, closures, e.g., liftgates, mirrors, windows, doors, may be opened, danced, closed – see at least ‘Closure channels’).
Conclusion
/AARON L TROOST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666