DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: The preamble of each referenced dependent claim includes an incorrect preamble calling back to a parent claim directed to an adjustable bow sight when the parent claim is directed to an adjustable bow sight mount. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation comparing the radius of curvature to a largest dimension of said adjustable bow sight is unclear. The adjustable bow sight is not a claimed feature of the invention and there is no description of a bow sight which would inform a person of ordinary skill in the art as to dimensions of a bow sight comparable to a radius of curvature. The scope of the claim is indefinite.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation providing correspondence between a radius of curvature and an average draw length is unclear in that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not apprehend the procedure for determining the number of adult bows from which to calculate the average draw length and to decide upon factors to be used in evaluating correspondence.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In Claim 13, the limitation providing that the sight may be a scope purports to modify a feature which is not positively claimed. The scope of the claim is indefinite. As to Claim 14, the limitation providing that the riser is disposed between the first and second scope rings, the base and the scope is unclear in that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to discern the relative positions of the five features satisfying the claimed limitation. The scope of the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LoRocco et al., U.S. Patent No. 9,285,188. As to Claim 1, LoRocco teaches an adjustable bow sight mount (10) comprising a base (12) configured to be coupled to a riser of a bow, Col. 3, ln. 6-12. The base may be in a fixed position with respect to the riser, Col. 3, ln. 11-14. LoRocco teaches that the base may extend in a direction generally parallel to an archer’s aiming line through a sight window (60), see Figure 1, suggesting that the base may define a sight axis extending in a direction corresponding to an initial trajectory of an arrow shot from the bow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the bow sight mount with a base axis extending in the direction as claimed and as suggested. A sight mount (14) may be configured to facilitate attachment of a sight (16), Col. 3, ln 8-10. The sight mount may partially determine a position of a line of sight through the sight, Col. 7, ln. 4-11, noting that sight moves with the sight mount. LoRocco teaches a carrier (154) movably coupled between the base and the sight mount, Col. 7, ln. 4-7, and see Figure 1. An adjustment mechanism (190, 192) may be configured to facilitate selective movement of the carrier with respect to the base, resulting in a change of relative alignment between the base axis and the line of sight, Col. 7, ln. 52-65 and see Figure 13. As to Claim 4, LoRocco teaches that the carrier may include a follower (dovetail portion) and the base may include a guide (dovetail shaped slot) configured to mate, such that the guide and the follower together direct the carrier along a path with respect to the base, Col. 7, ln. 60-65 and see Figure 1, noting cooperating dovetail portion of carrier and complementary slot of base. As to Claim 5, LoRocco teaches that the follower may include a track, see Figure1, noting rearward most surface of the dovetail portion facing the rearward most surface of the guide.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, 7, 10-13, and 15-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LoRocco, in view of Roberts, U.S. Patent No. 5,092,0530. LoRocco, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 2, LoRocco teaches that the drive wheel (190) may have teeth (194) on the outer circumference, which engages the sight mount, Col. 7, ln. 50-52, but LoRocco does not specify that the adjustment mechanism may include rack and pinion gears. Roberts teaches an adjustment mechanism for a bow sight comprising a rack gear (20) fixed to a base (11) and a pinion gear (pinion wheel) rotatable about an axis that is fixed relative to a carrier (17), Col. 3, ln. 33-46 and see Figure 8. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide LoRocco, as modified, with rack and pinion gears, as taught by Roberts, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a known substitute mechanism for adjusting the sight mount. LoRocco, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for placing the rack on the sight mount and the pinion gear on the base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to reverse the positions of the rack and pinion gears since it has been held that mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. As to Claim 3, LoRocco teaches that the adjustment mechanism may include a knob (194), the pinion gear (190) being fixed to the knob and the carrier (154) moving with respect to the base responsive to rotating the adjustment knob, Col. 7, ln. 60-65. As to Claim 6, Roberts teaches that a path may be curved, Col. 1, ln. 68 – Col. 2, ln. 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a curved path, as taught by Roberts, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a path of the adjustable scope mount maintaining alignment with the archer. As to Claim 7, the examiner finds it to be inherent that the curved path has a radius of curvature. Further, Roberts teaches that the rack may be appropriately curved, suggesting that the radius of curvature is a result effective variable. LoRocco, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for indicating that the radius of curvature may be greater than a largest dimension of a bow sight. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to set the radius of curvature within the claimed range since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Claim 7 is treated as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC §112(b). As to Claim 10, Roberts teaches that the carrier (17) may be configured to move along a curved path with respect to the base (11), Col. 1, ln. 68 – Col. 2, ln. 11. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the carrier to move along a curved path as taught by Roberts, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with an adjustable scope mount maintaining alignment in a plurality of positions. As to Claim 11, Roberts is applied as in Claim 7 with regard to the indication that the path radius of curvature is a result effective variable. LoRocco, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for indicating that the radius of curvature may correspond to an average draw length of a number of adult bows. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to set the radius of curvature according to the claimed range since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, supra. Claim 11 is treated as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC §112(b). As to Claim 12, LoRocco teaches that the base may include a plurality of countersunk (conventional) holes (20) configured to receive a respective plurality of screws (fasteners) configured to thread into a respective plurality of threaded holes formed in the riser, Col. 3, ln 11-14 and see Figure 2, noting that fasteners extending into countersunk holes may be considered to be countersunk. As to Claim 13, Roberts teaches that a sight mount may include a scope ring (15) mounted to the carrier and the sight may be a scope (16), Col. 3, ln. 11-15 and see Figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a scope ring retaining a scope on the carrier, as taught by Roberts, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a scope type sight on the adjustable carrier to yield the predictable result of facilitating use of a scope in combination with an adjustable feature. Claim 13 is treated as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC §112(b). As to Claim 15, Roberts teaches that an adjustment mechanism may include a knob (22), a pinion gear (22a), and a rack gear (20),and the pinion gear may be fixed to the knob and the pinion gear meshes with the rack gear, Col. 3, ln. 41-43 and see Figure 2. It is inherent that a shaft couples the knob to the pinion gear and that the shaft extends along a shaft axis. The carrier may move along a path with respect to the base, Col. 3, ln. 44-52, but the shaft is fixed to the carrier and moves with respect to the base, see Figure 2. The rack gear may be fixed to the base, see Figure 1. The carrier and the pinion gear advance along the path in forward and reverse directions in response to clockwise and counter-clockwise rotation of the pinon gear about a shaft axis, Col. 3, ln. 44-52. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the sight mount with a shaft, knob, pinion gear and rack gear arranged as claimed and as taught by Roberts, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a known substitute configuration for vertically adjusting a bow sight. LoRocco, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for reversing the pinion gear and rack gear. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place the rack gear on the carrier so that the rack gear may move along the path upon rotation of a pinion gear remaining stationary with respect to the base, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. As to Claim 16, Roberts teaches that a guide (14a and slotted portion of base at 11b) may be provided on the base and carrier. A first portion (slotted portion) being part of the base and the second portion (14a) being configured to engage the first portion such that the guide may direct the carrier along a path with respect to the base, Col. 3, ln. 7-13 and see Figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a guide coupled between the base and the carrier, configured as claimed and as taught by Roberts, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a carrier movable with respect to a base directed along a path, to yield the predictable result of facilitating adjustment of the sight along a curved path. As to Claim 17, Roberts teaches that a first portion of the guide may be integral with the base, Col. 3, ln. 7-8, noting a slot in the base. The second portion of the guide may be formed as part of a sight securing means (14), coupled to the carrier, Col. 3, ln. 11-13 and Col. 4, ln. 3-10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide LoRocco, as modified, with the guide configured with a first portion integral with the base and a second portion coupled to the carrier, as taught by Roberts, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a known substitute configuration for providing a guide. LoRocco, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for configuring the second portion of the guide as separate parts secured together. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a second guide portion integral with the carrier, since it has been held that use of one piece construction instead of rigidly secured parts is merely an obvious matter of engineering choice, In re Larson, 340 F. 2d 965,98, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). As to Claim 18, LoRocco teaches that a locking mechanism (198, 196) may be configured to selectively transition between a locked and unlocked position, the position of a drive wheel (190) being fixed, preventing movement of the carrier, when in the locked position and free to rotate, for elevating the carrier when in the unlocked position, Col. 7, ln. 65 – Col. 8, ln. 9. As to Claim 19, Roberts teaches that a path for a carrier (along rack gear 20) may be curved, Col. 3, ln. 3-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a curved path, as taught by Roberts, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with an adjustable sight mount rotating a sight as a bow is lifted or lowered to yield the predictable result of maintaining alignment with an archer’s eye.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LoRocco, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LaVire, U.S. Patent No. 2,654,152. LoRocco, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 8, LoRocco, as modified, does not teach that the carrier may be movable between a plurality of discrete positions. LaVire teaches an adjustable bow sight, Col. 1, ln. 1. LaVire teaches a carrier (26) selectively movable between a plurality of spaced-apart discrete positions with respect to a base (25), Col. 2, ln. 33-39 and Col. 3, ln. 29-35. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a carrier selectively movable between discrete locations on the base, as taught by LaVire, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with discrete spaced-apart locations for disposing the carrier, to yield the predictable result of facilitating consistent locations for selectively positioning the carrier. As to Claim 9, LaVire teaches that the carrier may include a detent (60) and the base may include a plurality of valleys (61) positioned and configured to selectively engage the detent, with each of the valleys corresponding to one of the discrete positions, Col. 3, ln. 29-35 and see Figures 2 and 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide LoRocco, as modified, with cooperating detent and valleys, as taught by LaVire, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a known substitute configuration for selective positioning of a carrier in one of a plurality of discrete positions.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LoRocco, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DeGrace et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2016/0059628. LoRocco, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 20, LoRocco teaches a locking mechanism, as discussed above, but LoRocco, is silent as to the locking mechanism comprising a cam, a pin, and a biasing member. Degrace teaches a member (11) rotatably coupled to a base (12), paragraph 0031. A locking mechanism (20) may be provided including a cam (22), a pin (23), and a biasing member (24), paragraph 0032. The pin may be seated in a bore (251) in a knob (25), paragraph 0032. The cam may include a cam surface (211) that urges against an end of the pin (212), paragraph 0044 and see Figure 1. The biasing member may urge the pin into a retracted position within the bore, paragraph 0043. Rotation of the cam urges the pin to an extended position from the bore into a complementary opening in the base, allowing rotation of the knob. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a locking mechanism including a cam, a pin, and a biasing member arranged as claimed and as taught by Degrace, to provide LoRocco, as modified, with a known substitute configuration for a locking mechanism. LoRocco, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for reversing the biased configuration of the pin to allow instead of preventing rotation when the cam urges the pin against biasing force of the spring. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the at the effective filing date to reverse the biasing configuration of the pin, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Double Patenting
Claim1-6, 8-10, and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,188,748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 1, noting that given front and rear edges, it follows that the base may have a base axis and the examiner finds that the movable carrier may be considered to be an adjustment mechanism. Further, claim 1 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claims 2, 4, 13, and 14. Claim 2 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 3. Claim 3 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claims 5, 6, and 19. Claim 4 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 8. Claim 5 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 9. Claim 3 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 10, noting that mating of a guide and follower provide movement along a curved path. Claim 6 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 12. Claim 7 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 15, noting that a shaft inherently includes a shaft axis. Claim 1 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 16, noting that a follower may be considered a counterpart to a 2nd portion of a follower. Claims 8-10 of the patent disclose the limitations of Claims 17-20 respectively.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 26 October 2026