Response to Arguments
First in regards to claims 1 and 11, Applicant argues Lei (US Patent Pub. # 2025/0031463) reference does not teach the limitation of “a blue light region; a green light region; and a red light region, wherein incoming light successively passes through the blue, green and red light regions" (See Remarks, pgs. 10-12). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically noting the Lei reference teaches a blue light region (B-channel sensing layer (e.g., a GaS layer of 25 nm)) (Para 57); a green light region (G-channel sensing layer (e.g., a InSe layer of 13 nm)) (Para 57); and a red light region (R-channel sensing layer (e.g., a CIS layer of 10 nm)) (Para 57), wherein incoming light successively passes through the blue (B-channels), green (G-channels) and red light regions (R-channels) (Para 57). Applicant cites the Applicant discloses a plurality of regions (blue light region, red light region, and green light region) disposed in a single, "P type doped region 202." Present Application, [0024], [0029]. These regions are easily distinguishable from the channel layers disclosed by Lei (Remarks Pg. 11). Examiner does not read the limitation that the blue, green and red region need to be disposed in a single, "P type doped region 202. Claim language required a blue, green and red region and wherein incoming light successively passes through the blue, green and red light regions. For this reason, the Examiner believes that Lei does teach the limitation of claims 1 and 11 and the rejection to the claim will be set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei (US Patent Pub. # 2025/0031463).
As to claim 1, Lei (Fig. 1B) discloses an image sensor, comprising:
a pixel array (three-pixel vertical color sensor array) (Para 38), comprising:
a plurality of filter-less pixels, wherein each pixel of the plurality of filter-less pixels comprises:
a blue light region (B-channel sensing layer (e.g., a GaS layer of 25 nm)) (Para 57);
a green light region (G-channel sensing layer (e.g., a InSe layer of 13 nm)) (Para 57); and
a red light region (R-channel sensing layer (e.g., a CIS layer of 10 nm)) (Para 57), wherein incoming light successively passes through the blue (B-channels), green (G-channels) and red light regions (R-channels) (Para 57), and
a readout circuitry (channel selection (CS) and pixel selection (PS) terminals) (Para 57), configured to:
receive color signal outputs comprising:
blue region signals from the blue light region (B-channels) (Para 57),
green region signals from the green light region (G-channels) (Para 57),
red region signals the red light region (R-channels) (Para 57), and
correct color signal outputs with a correction algorithm (3x3 matrix named color correction matrix (CCM)) (Para 52), the correction algorithm comprising:
a blue light correction algorithm (matrix elements are the normalizing parameters that equalize the CIS (Red), InSe (Green), and GaS (Blue) spectral area) configured to correct the blue region signals by a first amount of green light and a second amount of red light absorbed within the blue light region (Para 52),
a red light correction algorithm (matrix elements are the normalizing parameters that equalize the CIS (Red), InSe (Green), and GaS (Blue) spectral area) configured to correct the red region signals by a third amount of blue light and a fourth amount of green light absorbed within the red light region Para 52), and
a green light correction algorithm (matrix elements are the normalizing parameters that equalize the CIS (Red), InSe (Green), and GaS (Blue) spectral area) configured to correct the green region signals by a fifth amount of blue light and a sixth amount of red light absorbed within the green light region (Para 52); and
output corrected color signals (corrected tristimulus values) provided by the correction algorithm (color correction matrix) (Para 52).
As to claim 11, this claim differs from claim 1 only in that the claim 1 is an image sensor claim whereas claim 11 is a method of color-correcting the image sensor. Thus claim 11 is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER K PETERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 7/17/2026