DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 14, 19, 27, and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re. claim 14: “peripheral portion” should be changed to - -peripheral portions- - in line 2.
Re. claim 19: - -pairs of- - should be inserted before “adjacent linear portions” found in line 1.
Re. claim 27: “position” should be changed to - -positioned- - in line 2.
Re. claim 31: “includes” should be removed from line 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the length b" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of this Office Action, it is assumed to mean “the width b” as defined in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 14-17, 19, 21-24, 26, 28, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (US 2013/0163200 A1).
Re. claim 12: Takahashi discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel (26); and (see fig. 1; para. 0028)
an outer case (20) that surrounds a rear surface (23) of the display panel, sides (22) of the display panel, and a front peripheral edge (22) of the display panel, the outer case comprises a back cover that faces the rear surface of the display panel, (see fig. 1, 3; para. 0028)
wherein the back cover comprises:
a plurality of spaced-apart parallel linear portions (portion 63 of 60) that extend in a first direction (vertical direction) that is parallel to a front plane of the display panel, the linear portions having a back surface (64a-d) and rounded corner portion at both ends of each linear portion that extend in the first directions, and (see fig. 6-10; para. 0041-0045)
a plurality of connecting portions (portions of 62 between adjacent 63) that extend in the first direction, the connecting portions connect to adjacent linear portions of the linear portions, the connection portions are positioned at a depth inward toward the display panel with respect to the back surface of the adjacent linear portions (portions of 62 are closer toward the display panel than back surfaces 64b). (see fig. 6-10; para. 0041-0045)
Re. claim 14: Takahashi discloses wherein the back cover has two outer peripheral portions (outer portions of 33) that bracket the linear portions (60 and 63), (see fig. 3, 13; para. 0030-0033)
the two outer peripheral portions are oriented in the first direction and separated from each other in a second direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and forms a plane with the first direction that is parallel to the front plane of the display panel (26). (see fig. 3, 13)
Re. claim 15: Takahashi discloses wherein there are a plurality of the connecting portions (portions of 62 between adjacent 63) that connect each adjacent pair of the linear portions (63). (see fig. 6-10; para. 0041-0045)
Re. claim 16: Takahashi discloses wherein the plurality of connecting portions (portions of 62 between adjacent 63) between one pair of adjacent linear portions has a pitch a (vertical distance between adjacent 62 portions) in the first direction (vertical direction) and thickness t2 (material thickness), the connecting portions of the pair of connection portions has a width (horizontal width) b in a second direction and thickness t1 (material thickness), the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and forms a plane with the first direction that is parallel to the front plane of the display panel, in which a following expression is satisfied:
(t1/t2)3>a/b. (see fig. 6-10)
Re. claim 17: Takahashi discloses wherein the pitch width a (vertical distance between adjacent 62 portions) is larger than the width b (horizontal width between adjacent portions). (see fig. 6)
Re. claim 19: Takahashi discloses wherein the adjacent linear portions (adjacent 63) each have a concave squared indent (see fig. 10) on an interior side of the linear portions that extend in the first direction (into and out of the page in fig. 10) in which the adjacent linear portions each have two opposing walls which form the concave squared indent such that the two opposing walls have a thickness t3. (see fig. 6-10)
Re. claim 21: Takahashi discloses wherein the thickness t2 and the thickness t3 are the same thickness (material thickness is the same throughout). (see fig. 6-10)
Re. claim 22: Takahashi discloses wherein a space surrounded by the linear portions of the linear portions and the connecting portions adjacent to each other in the first direction is formed as an intake and exhaust hole (63a-d). (see fig. 10; para. 0041-0046)
Re. claim 23: Takahashi discloses wherein the back cover comprises a series of exhaust holes (vertically aligned 63 holes can operate as exhaust and inlet holes due to natural convection). (see fig. 6-8)
Re. claim 24: Takahashi discloses wherein the outer casing comprises a bezel (24) that surrounds the display panel and is positioned before the back cover. (see fig. 3; para. 0028)
Re. claim 26: Takahashi discloses an electronic substrate (10) that generates heat, wherein the electronic substrate is positioned between the display panel and the rear cover, and the heat is exhausted through the exhaust holes. (see fig. 3-4; para. 0064-0065)
Re. claim 28: Takahashi discloses wherein the adjacent linear portions (adjacent 63) each have a concave squared indent (see fig. 10) on an interior side of the linear portions that extend in the first direction (into and out of the page in fig. 10) in which the adjacent linear portions each have two opposing walls which form the concave squared indent such that the two opposing walls have a thickness t3. (see fig. 6-10)
Re. claim 31: Takahashi discloses wherein the bezel (24) includes forms a frame shape that is continuous. (see fig. 3; para. 0028)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 2013/01632000 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Shin (US 2007/0127208 A1).
Re. claims 13 and 30: Takahashi fails to disclose:
wherein the linear portions and the connecting portions are integrally formed by injection molding; and
wherein the back cover is formed from molten resin.
Shin discloses:
wherein the linear portions and the connecting portions are integrally formed by injection molding; and
wherein the back cover is formed from molten resin. (see para. 053-0056)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the linear portions and the connecting portions and the back cover of Takahashi by integrally formed injection molding of molten resin as taught by Shin. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to quickly form the parts of the display device. (Shin para. 0053)
Claim(s) 25, 27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Howe et al. (US 2020/0018514 A1).
Re. claim 25: Takahashi fails to disclose:
wherein the bezel includes second exhaust holes.
However, Howe discloses:
A display device (1) comprising a bezel (100),
wherein the bezel includes second exhaust holes. (see fig. 1, 2; para. 0011)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include second exhaust holes in the bezel of Takahashi as taught by Howe. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to increase the amount of natural convection cooling within the device by increasing the airflow by having additional holes.
Re. claim 27: Takahashi discloses an electronic substrate (10) that generates heat, wherein the electronic substrate is position between the display panel and the rear cover, and the heat is exhausted through the exhaust holes and the second exhaust holes. (see fig. 3-4; para. 0064-0065)
Re. claim 29: Howe discloses wherein the second exhaust holes are elongated and grouped into at least two groups in which each group includes multiple second exhaust holes which are parallel to one another. (see fig. 1, 2)
Double Patenting
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,200,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re. claim 18: the limitations of “wherein the thickness t1 is larger than the thickness t2” would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Re. claim 20: the limitations of “wherein the thickness t1 is larger than a thickness t3 of the protrusion in the second direction” would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ogura (US 2014/0347816 A1) discloses a display with a plurality of linear cooling portions. Hiradate et al. (US 2010/0271361 A1) discloses a display apparatus with heat producing circuit elements and cooling therefor.
September 30, 2026
/ADAM B DRAVININKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841