DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “the water buffer” lacks antecedent basis. Claim 6 is rejected for its dependency.
Regarding claims 5-7, the limitation “control unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
NOTE: Examiner suggests “control unit” be amended to “controller” to preclude this interpretation and rejection
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS6331271U, hereinafter FOR1, in view of Larinoff (US4296802A).
Regarding claim 1, FOR1 teaches a water cooling system (see Fig. 1) comprising: a compressed gas cooler (air cooler 2) configured to cool compressed gas compressed by a compressor that takes in a gas being processed; a wet-type water cooler (cooling tower 1) into which condensed water generated in the compressed gas cooler is introduced as makeup water (via drain pipe 13); a cooling water pump (pump 8) configured to send cooling water discharged from the wet-type water cooler to a cold end of the compressed gas cooler to cool the compressed gas by means of the cooling water; a first condensed water line pipe (drain pipe 13) configured to send condensed water discharged from the compressed gas cooler; and a first flow rate regulating valve (see valve 9) provided in the first condensed water line pipe that is configured to regulate a flow rate of the condensed water.
FOR1 does not teach a dry-type water cooler configured to cool the cooling water discharged from a warm end of the compressed gas cooler.
Larinoff teaches (see Fig. 1) a dry-type water cooler (dry cooling tower 12) configured to cool the cooling water discharged from a warm end of the compressed gas cooler.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified FOR1 to include the dry cooler of Larinoff, in order to conserve water by using the dry cooler when ambient conditions permit (Col. 1, lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 2, FOR1 as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2, and FOR1 as modified further teaches a cooling water line pipe configured to send the cooling water discharged from the wet-type water cooler (see line with pump) to the cold end of the compressed air cooler (2), wherein the cooling water line pipe is further configured to send the cooling water from the warm end of the compressed air cooler to the dry-type water cooler (as modified above), and wherein the cooling water line pipe is further configured to send the discharged cooling water to the wet-type water cooler (1).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS6331271U, hereinafter FOR1, in view of Larinoff (US4296802A) and Li (CN211261216U).
Regarding claims 3-6, FOR1 as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and FOR1 does not teach a water buffer for storing the condensed water, a second condensed water line pipe configured to send condensed water from the water buffer to the wet-type water cooler; and a second flow rate regulating valve provided in the second condensed water line pipe that is configured to regulate the flow rate of the condensed water; a first control unit configured to control the first flow rate regulating valve to control the amount of condensed water supplied, a first control unit that controls the second flow rate regulating valve to control the amount of condensed water supplied.
Li teaches (see Fig. 1) a water buffer (water storage tank 2) for storing the condensed water (via condensed water collector 1), a second condensed water line pipe (line with valve 10) configured to send condensed water from the water buffer to the wet-type water cooler (cooling tower 6); and a second flow rate regulating valve (valve 10) provided in the second condensed water line pipe that is configured to regulate the flow rate of the condensed water; a first control unit (controller - Page 3) configured to control the first flow rate regulating valve (9) to control the amount of condensed water supplied, a first control unit (controller - Page 3) that controls the second flow rate regulating valve (10) to control the amount of condensed water supplied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified FOR1 to include the buffer tank, valve and controls of Li, in order to provide means to store the water for additional uses, such as irrigation and the like (Page 4).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS6331271U, hereinafter FOR1, in view of Larinoff (US4296802A) and Furlong (US20160348979A1).
Regarding claim 7, FOR1 as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, and FOR1 does not teach a second control unit configured to control an operation rate of the dry-type water cooler in accordance with an increase or decrease in the cost of electric power.
Furlong teaches a second control unit (50 Fig. 1) configured to control an operation rate of the dry-type water cooler (dry cooler 142) in accordance with an increase or decrease in the cost of electric power (see Fig. 10 & ¶[0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified FOR1 to include the controls of Furlong, in order to reduce operating costs (¶[0079]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS6331271U, hereinafter FOR1, in view of Larinoff (US4296802A) and Klein (US6912859B2).
Regarding claim 8, FOR1 teaches the water cooling system according to claim 1 for a compressor, however, does not explicitly teach the water cooling system is provided to an air separation device.
Klein teaches wherein such a main compressor and cooling tower system (Fig. 1-2, with main air compressor cooler, condensate water collector, cooling tower) is provided to an air separation device (air separation plant – Col. 1, lines 35-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified FOR1 to provide such a water cooling system to an air separation device, in order to improve efficiency and reduce cost to an air separation plant (Col. 11, lines 0-15).
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763