CTFR 18/968,169 CTFR 85271 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The Office Action is in response to an AMENDMENT entered 2/18/2026. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20160066040 A1 to Webster in view of US Pub. No. 20070112792 A1 to Majumder . As to claims 1, 12 and 20 , Webster a method comprising: identifying an embedding comprising a representation of a media item access history associated with a client device associated with a user with respect to a first set of media items previously accessed by one or more client devices associated with the user ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7, ¶0012, 0017, 0032, 0039, determining a user profile information that is associated with a user of media client, used to track content associated with media client and/or to track content associated with a user of media client, watch history); determining whether one or more embedding relevance criteria are satisfied with respect to the media item access history of the client device ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7, ¶0039, 0044, 0046-0048, determining whether the event is associated with a watch event such as with a watch event based on, e.g., the satisfaction of a threshold (e.g., playing more than a certain percentage of an episode and/or playing an episode to within a certain time of the episode's end); responsive to determining that the one or more embedding relevance criteria are satisfied, selecting a media item of a second set of media items not yet accessed by the client device based on the embedding ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7, ¶0030, 0039, 0044, 0046-0048, 0050-0051, based on the determined event to be associated a watch event, selecting a plurality of content items e.g. next episodes of a series not watched and/or future contents based on the profile for displaying the personalized watch next suggestion); and providing the client device with access to the selected media item ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7, ¶0055-0058, providing the display device with access to the content items in the watch next suggestions). Webster does not expressly disclose identifying an embedding comprising a vector representation of a media item access history associated with a client device associated with a user with respect to a first set of media items previously accessed by one or more client devices associated with the user Majumder discloses identifying an embedding comprising a vector representation of a media item access history associated with a client device associated with a user with respect to a first set of media items previously accessed by one or more client devices associated with the user ( Majumder ¶0027, 0034, 0042, 0044, generating profile vector having a vector space associated with content with which the user previously interacted/viewed associated with the user device). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster by identifying an embedding comprising a vector representation of a media item access history associated with a client device associated with a user with respect to a first set of media items previously accessed by one or more client devices associated with the user as disclosed by Majumder . The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of using vector representations for data analysis capturing semantic meaning enhancing the personalization of content to the user. As to claims 5 and 16 , Webster discloses responsive to determining that the one or more embedding updated criteria are not satisfied, identifying media item access history data associated with a third set of media items accessed by the client device since the embedding was generated ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7, ¶0046, 0048-0052, modify the tracking list based on the event if it is determined that the event is associated with a tracking list modification in response to determining that the watch event does not identify a watched episode more recent than the last watched episode generating an updated embedding based on the identified media item access data ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7, ¶0046, 0048-0052, updating the user profile associated with the user by adding the watched episode to the user's watch history and modifying the last watched list); and selecting an additional media item of the second set of media items not yet accessed by the client device based on the embedding ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7,¶0030, 0039, 0044, 0046-0048, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, based on the determined event to be associated a watch event, selecting a plurality of content items e.g. next episodes of a series not watched and/or future contents based on the profile for displaying the personalized watch next suggestion and providing the display device with access to the content items in the watch next suggestions). As to claims 6 and 17 , Webster discloses wherein the media item access data comprises at least one of an identifier associated with one or more of the third set of media items, a duration of access to the one or more of the third set of media items by the client device, a category associated with the one or more of the third set of media items, one or more characteristics associated with content of the one or more of the third set of the media items, an indication of one or more user interactions with respect to the one or more of the third set of media items by the user associated with the client device, or an indication of one or more user reactions with respect to one or more of the third set of media items by the user ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7,¶0012, 0030-0032, 0037, content metadata including content identifier, series, season, episode, genre, etc). As to claim 9 , Webster discloses wherein the media item of the second set of media items is further selected responsive to a request received from the client device to access one or more media items ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7, ¶0055-0058, user selecting the watch next to access the watch next suggestions of the contents). As to claim 11 , Webster discloses wherein the second set of media items is associated with a first content sharing platform, and wherein each of the first set of media items is associated with at least one of the first content sharing platform or one or more second content sharing platforms ( Webster Fig. 1-3, 5-7, ¶0030, 0032, 0037, 0039, 0056-0057, the watch next suggestions media associated with content providers, VOD, and/or broadcast channels, and the watched content items associated with content providers, VOD, and/or broadcast channels) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20160066040 A1 to Webster in view of US Pub. No. 20070112792 A1 to Majumder and in further view of US Pub. No. 20240022795 A1 to Panchaksharaiah . As to claims 2 and 13 , Webster and Majumder do not expressly disclose wherein determining whether the one or more embedding relevance criteria are satisfied with respect to the media item access history of the client device comprises at least one of: determining whether a difference between prior media item engagement data associated with the client device and current media item engagement data associated with the client device falls below a threshold difference; determining whether a current time period corresponds to an expected media item access time period for the client device based on the media item access history of the client device; determining whether a number of media items accessed by the client device after generation of the identified embedding falls below a threshold number of media items; determining whether a number of requests indicating an update to an embedding associated with the client device falls below a threshold number; or determining whether metadata for the embedding indicates that the identified embedding is invalid. Panchaksharaiah discloses determining whether a number of media items accessed by the client device after generation of the identified embedding falls below a threshold number of media items ( Panchaksharaiah ¶0032, 0051, accessing user profile and determining whether number of content items consumed is below a threshold). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster and Majumder by determining whether a number of media items accessed by the client device after generation of the identified embedding falls below a threshold number of media items as disclosed by Panchaksharaiah . The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predicable results of determining if the content items consumed is below a threshold number, improving identifying content items of interest to the user enhancing the user’s experience . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20160066040 A1 to Webster in view of US Pub. No. 20070112792 A1 to Majumder and in further view of US Pub. No. 20230230178 A1 to Yoon As to claim 10 , Webster and Majumder do not expressly disclose wherein the selected media item includes at least one of a short-form video item or a long-form video item. Yoon discloses wherein the selected media item includes at least one of a short-form video item or a long-form video item ( Yoon ¶0084, short and long form videos). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webster and Majumder by wherein the selected media item includes at least one of a short-form video item or a long-form video item as disclosed by Yoon . The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predicable results of providing different lengths of video thereby enhancing the user’s experience . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 14, 15, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the 101 rejections. Response to Arguments 07-38 Applicant's arguments with respect to claim s 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-13, 16-17 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Claims 1-20 have been rejected. Correspondence Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KYU CHAE whose telephone number is (571)270-5696. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00am -4:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, NASSER MOAZZAMI can be reached on 571-272-4195. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KYU CHAE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 Application/Control Number: 18/968,169 Page 2 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 18/968,169 Page 4 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 18/968,169 Page 5 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 18/968,169 Page 6 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 18/968,169 Page 8 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 18/968,169 Page 9 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 18/968,169 Page 10 Art Unit: 2426