DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the Amendment filed May 12, 2026. Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 13, 16-18 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claims 1, 13 and 20 the limitation “processing the user profile and the one or more additional user profiles to derive a plurality of attribute values corresponding to respective attributes” is not supported by the original disclosure. The specification states that in the “the matchmaking algorithm 251 leverages the LLM's ability to simultaneously evaluate over fifty unique user traits and attributes- including career history, networking or career goals or objectives, behavioral trends, communication styles, and preferences” [00105]. This does not describe that user profiles are processed to derive a plurality of attribute values corresponding to respective attributes. Accordingly, the limitation is directed to impermissible new matter. Additionally, the specification does not describe how user profiles are used to derive attribute values. The claims do not satisfy the written description requirement if sufficient description of how the claimed function is to be performed are not disclosed by the specification, including how to program the disclosed computer to perform the claimed function. See MPEP 2161.01. Claims 2-12, and 14-19 by being dependents of Claims 1 and 13 respectively are also rejected.
In claims 1, 13 and 20 the limitation “applying weighting values to the plurality of attribute values to generate a composite compatibility value for each of the one or more additional users” is not supported by the original disclosure. The specification states that in one embodiment “various user preferences (e.g., professional background, industry, company name, job position/title, location, primary networking or career goal or objective, start deal timing, go to market timing, ideal deal size, deals per year, etc.) are weighted when determining similarity scores for matchmaking” [0137]. This does not describe that weighting values are applied to the plurality of attribute values to generate a composite compatibility value for each additional users. Accordingly, the limitation is directed to impermissible new matter. Claims 2-12, and 14-19 by being dependents of Claims 1 and 13 respectively are also rejected.
In claims 1, 13 and 20 the limitation “identifying the different user based on the composite compatibility values” is not supported by the original disclosure. The specification states that “in one embodiment, the unit 220 creates a per user matching history database 232 which identifies, for a particular user 10, one or more other users” [0078]. This does not describe that a different user is identified based on composite compatibility values. Accordingly, the limitation is directed to impermissible new matter. Claims 2-12, and 14-19 by being dependents of Claims 1 and 13 respectively are also rejected.
In claim 6 the limitation “wherein the implicit user data includes user behaviors and user preferences of the user, and the implicit user data is used to derive one or more attribute values of the user profile” is not supported by the original disclosure. The specification discloses “collecting explicit user data relating to a user associated with an event, and extrapolating implicit user data relating to the user from user interactions and content engagement patterns of the user. The method further comprises generating a user profile for the user by integrating the explicit user data with the implicit user data” [0041]. This does not describe that any implicit user data is used to derive one or more attribute values of the user profile. Accordingly, the limitation is directed to impermissible new matter.
In claims 7 and 17 the limitation “utilizing the one or more machine learning models to predict emerging industry or professional trends in an industry or profession relevant to the user, wherein the predicted trends are used to modify weighting of one or more attributes of the user profile” is not supported by the original disclosure. A review of the specification does not describe that there are any predicted trends used to modify weighting of one or more attributes of the user profile. Accordingly, the limitation is directed to impermissible new matter.
In claim 8 the limitation “refining the matchmaking algorithm based on the user feedback, including modifying one or more weighting values associated with attributes of the user profile” is not supported by the original disclosure. The specification states that “system 200 leverages user feedback to continuously fine-tune/refine the matchmaking algorithm 251 and in turn improve the overall professional networking experience of users” [0123]. This does not describe that refining the matchmaking algorithm based on the user feedback, includes modifying weighting values associated with attributes of the user profile. Accordingly, the limitation is directed to impermissible new matter.
In claims 10 and 18 the limitation “generating an interactive location-based heatmap of the event for display to the user, wherein the heatmap shows the location of the different user based on the professional match recommendation” is not supported by the original disclosure. A review of the specification does not describe that a heatmap shows the location of the different user based on the professional match recommendation. Accordingly, the limitation is directed to impermissible new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Specifically, claims 1-20 are directed toward at least abstract idea without significantly more. In accordance with MPEP § 2106, the rationale for this determination is explained below.
Representative claim 1 is directed towards a method, claim 13 is directed towards a system, claim 20 is directed towards a non-transitory medium, which are statutory categories of invention.
Although, claim 1 is directed toward a statutory category of invention, the claim however, is directed towards a judicial exception namely an abstract idea. The limitations that set forth the abstract idea recites: collecting explicit user data relating to a user associated with an in-person event; extrapolating implicit user data relating to the user from user interactions and content engagement patterns of the user; generating a user profile for the user by integrating the explicit user data with the implicit user data; dynamically updating the user profile based on real-time data; and generating, via a matchmaking algorithm, a professional match recommendation for the user based on the user profile and one or more additional user profiles of one or more additional users, wherein the professional match recommendation suggests the user professionally network with a different user having one or more attributes that are complementary to the user; and generating the professional match recommendation comprises: processing the user profile and the one or more additional user profiles to derive a plurality of attribute values corresponding to respective attributes; applying weighting values to the plurality of attribute values to generate a composite compatibility value for each of the one or more additional users; and identifying the different user based on the composite compatibility values. These limitations, comprise commercial interactions including, marketing or sales activities; business relations; and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, including following rules or instructions. As such, the limitations are directed towards the abstract grouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed as a whole under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (see MPEP 2106.04(d)), the additional elements provided by the claim amount to merely using a computer as a tool to apply an abstract idea. In particular the claim recites the additional elements: utilizing one or more machine learning models, which is the mere use of a computer as a tool to perform the abstract ideas, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Simply applying the abstract idea by a computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claim recites the additional limitations of a machine learning model, a processor and memory (claim 13), which do not constitute significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment1. Viewing these limitations as a combination, the additional elements amount to no more than merely applying the exception using generic computer components, executing ordinary functions of a computer. Merely applying an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. See TLI Communications LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (mere recitation of concrete or tangible components is not an inventive concept). Therefore, the limitations of the claim as a whole, when viewed individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
A review of dependent claims 2-12, likewise, do not recite any limitations that would remedy the deficiencies outlined above. The claims only further add to the abstract idea, with no elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or constitute significantly more. Further still, claims 13-20 suffer from substantially the same deficiencies as outlined with respect to claims 1-12 and are also rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 12-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne (US Publication 2020/0252431) in view of Willis (US Publication 2014/0372328).
A. In regards to Claim 1 and 13, Byrne teaches method and system comprising:
a processor; Byrne [0004];
and a non-transitory processor-readable memory device storing instructions that when executed by the at least one processor causes the at least one processor to perform operations including: Byrne [0073];
collecting explicit user data relating to a user associated with an in-person event; Byrne [0021: data sources may also include event attendance database, comprising user profile data derived from lists of attendees at relevant events, such as technical meetings or training events];
extrapolating implicit user data relating to the user from user interactions and content engagement patterns of the user; Byrne [0022: data sources may include work assignment database, comprising user profile data derived from records of work assignments performed by system users and associated interactions];
generating a user profile for the user by integrating the explicit user data with the implicit user data; Byrne [0023: as the skilled person will appreciate, any combination of the above example data sources and any other suitable data sources for deriving user profile data relating to system users, may be used in example implementations of the present disclosure, according to application and/or user requirements];
dynamically updating the user profile based on real-time data; Byrne [0023: the user profile data in the data sources are dynamically updated over time, for example to add new system users and/or new user profile data, or to remove system users (as soon as profile data changes)];
processing the user profile and the one or more additional user profiles to derive a plurality of attribute values corresponding to respective attributes; Byrne [0019: plurality of data sources comprising data relating to set of system users (referred to as “user profile data” or simply “user data”); each data source may comprise user profile data comprising values of generic or custom properties (i.e., data attributes) for system users; example, data sources may define values of generic or custom properties of an employee profile associated with each system user; 0052: identifies properties (i.e., data attributes) from the same data source that are common to multiple system users; compare data values for one or more properties of user data from the same data source for the different system users];
Byrne does not specifically disclose, and generating, via a matchmaking algorithm utilizing one or more machine learning models, a professional match recommendation for the user based on the user profile and one or more additional user profiles of one or more additional users; this is disclosed by Willis [0073: one or more other employees having some connection to the user's profile information are identified (e.g., by applying one or more similarity algorithms to identify other similar employees), recommendations engine may search the other employees' profile information and/or activity on the professional community's social network to identify information to recommend to the user; recommendations engine may recommend that the user follow the other employee or consider the other employee a role model. However, these are only examples; it should be appreciated that aspects of the invention are not limited to any of the particular examples];
wherein the professional match recommendation suggests the user professionally network with a different user having one or more attributes that are complementary to the use; this is disclosed by Willis [0073: recommendations engine may recommend that the user follow the other employee or consider the other employee a role model. However, these are only examples; it should be appreciated that aspects of the invention are not limited to any of the particular examples];
and generating the professional match recommendation comprises:
applying weighting values to the plurality of attribute values to generate a composite compatibility value for each of the one or more additional users; this is disclosed by Willis [0071: points may be assigned for each matching (compatibility) professional characteristic; a weight may be assigned to each (plurality) professional characteristic to combine the points into a similarity score for pair of employees; to identify other employees similar to the user, similarity scores between the user and other employees may be ranked and thresholded];
and identifying the different user based on the composite compatibility values.
Willis [0071: the other employees having similarity scores (compatibility values) above the threshold may be identified; 0084: GUI provides, for each (different) candidate, one or more summary metrics; for example, an evaluation score is provided relating to the candidate's overall value to the professional community].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Byrne with the teachings from Willis with the motivation to collect profile information provided by an employee via an interface, which may be aggregated with other profile information stored and or maintained by a profile manager, and recommendations may then be made based on the total aggregated profile information. Willis [0058].
B. In regards to Claims 2 and 14, Byrne does not specifically disclose, wherein the one or more machine learning models include one or more deep learning models. This is disclosed by Willis [0072: similarity algorithms include pattern matching algorithms, k-means clustering algorithms, fuzzy k-means clustering algorithms, Euclidean neighborhood algorithms]. The motivation being the same as stated in claim 1
C. In regards to Claim 5, Byrne discloses, further comprising: identifying one or more intricate patterns and correlations across the user profile and the one or more additional user profiles by processing a plurality of attribute values associated with the user profile and the one or more additional user profiles. Byrne [0020: social interactions database comprising user profile data derived from monitoring communications between users such as email, webchat and telephone communications; historical activity database and social interactions database may define values of properties (i.e., data attributes) associated with interactions of system users, such as membership of a group or network; 0055: identify only combinations of common data values for properties from multiple different data sources; as the skilled person will appreciate, use any suitable technique to identify the required combinations of common user profile attributes according to application and/or user requirements; thus, for example, identify three or more properties from two or more data sources that are common to at least two system users from the user data.].
D. In regards to Claim 12, Byrne discloses, wherein the user is present at the event. Byrne [0021: user profile data derived from lists of attendees at relevant events]. The motivation being the same as set forth in claim 9.
Claims 3-4, 6, 8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne (US Publication 2020/0252431) in view of Willis (US Publication 2014/0372328) in further view of Larsen (US Publication 2026/0010923).
A. In regards to Claims 3 and 15, Byrne does not specifically disclose, wherein the one or more deep learning models include one or more large language models (LLMs). This is disclosed by Larsen [0035: natural language processing model component may be particularly configured for implementing one or more language models, such as term frequency inverse document frequency (TF-IDF), Bidirectional Encoder Representations from Transformers (BERT), Generative Pre-trained Transformer 2 (GPT2), Robustly Optimized BERT].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Byrne with the teachings from Larsen with the motivation to provide a means for managing organization dynamics, employee results, customized experience tracks, employee/user reminders, post-event updates and meetups, social media marketing, biometric data, customized engagement management; and permit users to update their profile information, upload documents, and input user preferences/settings. Larsen [0068].
B. In regards to Claims 4 and 16, Larsen additionally and/or alternatively disclose, wherein the real-time data includes at least one of user preferences of the user, user feedback from the user, communication patterns of the user, or emerging industry or professional trends in an industry or profession relevant to the user, and the real-time data is used to update one or more attribute values of the user profile during the in-person event. Larsen [0018: during the event real-time feedback can be received and evaluated, such as sentiment data indicative of sentiment of the plurality of participants during the event; 0062: analyze various data regarding the one or more users (e.g., user profile information and/or user demographic information) and modify the content of the engagement in real-time based on this information]. The motivation being the same as set forth in claim 3.
C. In regards to Claim 6, Byrne does not specifically disclose, wherein the implicit user data includes user behaviors and user preferences of the user, and the implicit user data is used to derive one or more attribute values of the user profile. This is disclosed by Larsen [0031: database(s) stores various (encrypted) data, including user activity data, user preferences data, engagement event content, and artificial intelligence/machine learning training data that can be modified and leveraged by server system; 0029: analyze user input data (e.g., user preferences, sentiment analysis, semantic analysis of user responses etc.), classify and rank information associated with users; 0018: real-time feedback can be received and evaluated, such as sentiment data indicative of sentiment of the plurality of participants]. The motivation being the same as set forth in claim 3.
D. In regards to Claim 8, Byrne does not specifically disclose, further comprising: collecting user feedback from the user; and refining the matchmaking algorithm based on the user feedback, including modifying one or more weighting values associated with attributes of the user profile. This is disclosed by Larsen [0009: server system may receive feedback from the one or more users and fine-tune the natural language processing model based on the feedback from the one or more user; 0044: rankings, classifications, and predictions made by the natural language processing model component and/or machine learning model component may be evaluated via one or more evaluation models, such as exact match (EM) (i.e., measures the percentage of predictions that match any one of the ground truth answers exactly), F1 (i.e., the weighted average of Precision and Recall), span-F1, and/or span-EM, which generate scores for each prediction; 0062: analyze various data regarding the one or more users (e.g., user profile information and/or user demographic information) and modify the content of the engagement]. The motivation being the same as set forth in claim 3.
Claim 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne (US Publication 2020/0252431) in view of Willis (US Publication 2014/0372328) in further view of Venkataraman (US Publication 2020/0167386).
A. In regards to Claims 7 and 17, Byrne discloses, further comprising: utilizing the one or more machine learning models to predict emerging industry or professional trends in an industry or profession relevant to the user; Byrne [0070: through the use of machine learning and multiple sources of user data, trends may be identified through exceptions providing override access to different system users in a particular context];
Byrne does not specifically disclose, wherein the predicted trends are used to modify weighting of one or more attributes of the user profile. This is disclosed by Venkataraman [0071: retrieve an attribute from the user profile, determine whether the attribute matches a trending topic, update a set of weightings by increasing a weighting associated with the attribute that matches the trending topic].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Byrne with the teachings from Venkataraman with the motivation to provide an application that adjusts recommendation of media asset different from a viewed media asset based on weightings of attributes retrieved from a user profile. Venkataraman [0146].
Claim 9, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne (US Publication 2020/0252431) in view of Willis (US Publication 2014/0372328) in further view of Meyssami (US Publication 2009/0132345).
A. In regards to Claim 9, Byrne does not specifically disclose, wherein the one or more additional users are associated with the same event or a similar event. This is disclosed by Meyssami [0138: system preferably forwards a message to attendees indicating a number of other users that are most similar in user profiles to the particular attendee, and optionally enables the attendee receiving the message to engage the connections].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Byrne with the teachings from Meyssami with the motivation to provide for the creation and updating of meta-profiles in communities which allows for understanding the interests and behaviors of users in a marketplace, by providing recommendations to such users, and for qualifying leads. Meyssami [0146].
B. In regards to Claims 11 and 19, Byrne does not specifically disclose, further comprising: scheduling a meeting or other networking activity between the user and the different user. This is disclosed by Meyssami [0138: system preferably forwards a message to attendees indicating a number of other users that are most similar in user profiles to the particular attendee, and optionally enables the attendee receiving the message to engage the connections; 0008: registering a large number of diverse users, the probability increases that a business development executive will be able to find a chain of contacts to a specific person at a specific company whom they would like to meet or talk with in order to explore a potential business relationship]. The motivation being the same as set forth in claim 9.
Claim 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne (US Publication 2020/0252431) in view of Willis (US Publication 2014/0372328) in further view of Samuel (US Publication 2014/0279034).
A. In regards to Claims 10 and 18, Byrne does not specifically disclose, further comprising: generating an interactive location-based heatmap of the event for display to the user, wherein the heatmap shows the location of the different user based on the professional match recommendation. This is disclosed by Samuel [0034: heat map module may use GPS mapping that may identify locations that are trending with respect to volume of guests and activity, and/or identify locations where people of user-specified interest are congregating, for example; the musing module may provide a search function for querying a % match to one or more other users for different criteria; the scan artist module may include features that may leverage the camera feature of a smart phone to scan a location for other users that may be identified by an icon that may be clicked-on for information about the other users/venues; and the intel module may provide specific relevant information regarding locations; 0038: the musings interface may provide the user with one or more recommendations for matches among MC users].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Byrne with the teachings from Samuel with the motivation to provide a heat map that lists places the user frequents and/or places that are trending along with the number of the user's contacts at such places [0039].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's filed arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive.
A. Applicant’s argument regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea but to a specific technological process for real-time adaptive data processing and algorithm control. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Processing “adaptive” data (even in a computing environment, i.e. real-time) is an abstract idea in and of itself. Controlling an algorithm as is also an abstract idea. The claims are directed to the abstract grouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity because they entail commercial interactions including, marketing or sales activities; business relations; and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, including following rules or instructions (recommendation for the user based on the user profile and one or more additional user profiles of additional users). (See 101 analysis above).
Applicant argues that the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; and recite a specific improvement to computer-implemented matchmaking systems. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims are directed to abstract ideas with no recited additional elements that integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application. Merely performing the abstract ideas in a computing environment does not amount to integration of the abstract ideas into a practical application. See Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 610-11 (2010); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), N.A., 792 F.3d 1363, 1366, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (“An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer”).
Even if the scale of monitoring metrics and people/businesses cannot be accomplished in the mind, the claims are nonetheless, still directed to an abstract idea, namely Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Furthermore, Applicant’s claims are not analogous to Enfish nor McRO; they have different claim sets and different fact patterns. And unlike Enfish and McRO, Applicant’s claimed methods are directed to abstract ideas similar to concepts previously identified in Alice; and there is no technical support/technical evidence in Applicant’s specification that the instant claimed invention, when implemented, improves any technological process. Indeed, Applicant’s specification describes improving an abstract idea, as it states that its “system 200 leverages user feedback to continuously fine-tune/refine the matchmaking algorithm 251 and in turn improve the overall professional networking experience of users.” [00123].
Applicant submits that the claims recite a specific improvement to computer-implemented matchmaking systems that require a specific adaptive processing mechanism. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. An abstract idea implemented on a computer does not make it eligible. In contrast to DDR, Applicant’s claimed limitations are merely being implemented by computer components. Moreover, because a claim discloses a specific improvement to a particular problem does not automatically render it patent eligible. See Bilski, 561 U.S.at 599–601 (concluding that claims fell outside § 101 notwithstanding the fact that they disclosed a very specific method of hedging against price increases); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 593 (1978) (rejecting the argument “that if a process application implements a principle in some specific fashion, it automatically falls within the patentable subject matter of § 101”); and Alice v. CLS Bank, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2358–60 (2014) (claims fell outside of 35 U.S.C. 101 even though they described a very specific method for conducting intermediated settlement).
Applicant submits that the claims are further tied to a specific technological environment, namely an in- person event, and require real-time interaction signals obtained from user activity, which reinforces that it is a practical application. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Limiting an abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use is not indicative of integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h); Bilski, 561 U.S.at 610–11. Notwithstanding, managing a user’s activity or interactions between people/users is an abstract idea grouped under Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Applicant submits that the amended claims provide an inventive concept that is not well- understood, routine, or conventional. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Merely applying the abstract by a computer does not provide for an inventive concept. See TLI Communications LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (mere recitation of concrete or tangible components is not an inventive concept). Like BASCOM, Applicant’s claims are directed to an abstract concept but unlike BASCOM, they do not improve any technology neither are they unconventional. (See 101 analysis above). Even assuming arguendo that the amended claims were not well- understood, routine, or conventional, they would still be ineligible. As even newly discovered judicial exceptions are still exceptions, despite their novelty. For example, the mathematical formula in Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 591-92, 198 USPQ 193, 198 (1978), the laws of nature in Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 73-74, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1968 (2012), and the isolated DNA in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, 106 USPQ2d 1972, 1978 (2013) were all novel, but were considered by the Supreme Court to be judicial exceptions. See MPEP 2106.04.I. Thus, the amended claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, regardless if they impose specific operational constrains on how the system functions.
As such, the claims as a whole, in view of Alice, do not connote an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself; and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection is maintained.
C. In regards to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection Applicant argues that the references are silent regarding the limitations: generating the professional match recommendation comprises: processing the user profile and the one or more additional user profiles to derive a plurality of attribute values corresponding to respective attributes; applying weighting values to the plurality of attribute values to generate a composite compatibility value for each of the one or more additional users; and identifying the different user based on the composite compatibility values. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Byrne discloses, processing the user profile and the one or more additional user profiles to derive a plurality of attribute values corresponding to respective attributes; in that a plurality of data sources comprising data relating to set of system users (referred to as “user profile data” or simply “user data”); each data source may comprise user profile data comprising values of generic or custom properties (i.e., data attributes) for system users; example, data sources may define values of generic or custom properties of an employee profile associated with each system user; Byrne [0019]; and that it identifies properties (i.e., data attributes) from the same data source that are common to multiple system users; compare data values for one or more properties of user data from the same data source for the different system users. Byrne [0052].
In combination Willis discloses that points may be assigned for each matching (compatibility) professional characteristic; a weight may be assigned to each (plurality) professional characteristic to combine the points into a similarity score for pair of employees; to identify other employees similar to the user, similarity scores between the user and other employees may be ranked and thresholded. Willis [0071]. And that the other employees having similarity scores (compatibility values) above the threshold may be identified; Willis [0071]; additionally, Willis provides, for each (different) candidate, one or more summary (composite) metrics; for example, an evaluation score is provided relating to the candidate's overall value to the professional community. Willis [0084].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E CARVALHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622
1 See, Alice Corp. Pty Ltd. v. CLS Bank lnt'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2360 (2014) (noting that none of the hardware recited “offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking ‘the use of the [method] to a particular technological environment,’ that is, implementation via computers” (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 610-11 (2010))).