DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11239448 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations in claim 1 and claim 20 are anticipated by claim 1 and claim 18 of the patent US 11239448 B2.
Application 18968196
Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. US 11239448 B2
Claim 1
1. An organic light-emitting display panel having a display area and a non-display area, and the organic light-emitting display panel comprising:
1. An organic light-emitting display panel having a display area and a non-display area, and the organic light-emitting display panel comprising:
a thin film transistor layer;
a thin film transistor layer;
an organic light-emitting layer located at a side of the thin film transistor layer close to a light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel and comprising a plurality of light-emitting pixels;
an organic light-emitting layer located at a side of the thin film transistor layer close to a light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel;
a microlens array layer located at a side of the organic light-emitting layer close to the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel;
a microlens array layer located at a side of the organic light-emitting layer close to the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel;
a refractive index matching layer located at a side of the microlens array layer close to the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel; and
a refractive index matching layer located at a side of the microlens array layer close to the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel; and
at least one filling layer provided in the non-display area,
at least one filling layer provided in the non-display area;
wherein the organic light-emitting layer comprises a plurality of light-emitting pixels, the refractive index matching layer comprises a plurality of first lens structures corresponding to the plurality of light-emitting pixels, the plurality of first lens structures protrude towards a first direction that is a direction from the refractive index matching layer to the thin film transistor layer; the thin film transistor layer comprises at least one inorganic layer extending from the display area to the non-display area, and
wherein the microlens array layer comprises a plurality of second lens structures, the plurality of second lens structures protrude towards a second direction that is a direction from the thin film transistor layer to the refractive index matching layer; and
18. The organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 1, wherein the microlens array layer comprises a plurality of second lens structures, the plurality of second lens structures protrude towards a second direction that is a direction from the thin film transistor layer to the refractive index matching layer.
the at least one filling layer is arranged at a side of the at least one inorganic layer close to the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel;
wherein a material of the at least one filling layer is the same as at least one of a material of the microlens array layer or a material of the refractive index matching layer.
a material of the at least one filling layer is the same as at least one of a material of the microlens array layer or a material of the refractive index matching layer;
wherein the organic light-emitting display panel further comprises an encapsulation layer, the encapsulation layer is arranged between the organic light-emitting layer and the microlens array layer, and the encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic layer, a first organic layer and a second inorganic layer that are stack along the first direction, wherein the encapsulation layer extends from the display area to a part of the non-display area; and a barrier wall is provided in the non-display area; and wherein in the non-display area, one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer comprises a second hole formed at a side of the barrier wall facing away from the display area; and at least one of the first inorganic layer or the second inorganic layer extends from the display area to an area located between the second hole and the barrier wall.
Claims 2-14 and 16-20
Claims 2-20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (US 20180040854 A1) in view of Shim (US 20160079564 A1), and further in view of Yamae (US 20160020431 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Sung discloses an organic light-emitting display panel having a display area and a non-display area, and the organic light-emitting display panel (Fig. 1; [0023]: an organic light emitting diode (“OLED”) display device; Fig. 2; [0028]: an active matrix-type organic light emitting diode display device; Fig. 2; [0050]: the thin film encapsulation layer 301 is disposed on the second electrode 213 so as to protect the OLED 210; Fig. 2; [0053]: the inorganic layer 330 extends from display area to the non-display area as illustrated in Fig. 2; Fig. 4; [0080]: the OLED display device 102 may include an OLED 210 and a thin film encapsulation layer 302.) comprising:
a thin film transistor layer (Fig. 2; [0027]: a switching thin film transistor; a driving TFT; Fig. 2; [0028]: two TFTs; the switching TFT 10 and the driving TFT 20);
an organic light-emitting layer located at a side of the thin film transistor layer close to a light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel ([0027]: the OLED 210 emits light based on a driving signal; Fig. 2; [0033]: the driving power allows an organic light emitting layer 212 of the OLED 210 in a selected pixel to emit light; an organic light emitting layer 212 of the OLED 210 is above the TFT and close to the organic layer 320 as illustrated in Fig. 2;
; [0034]: the OLED 210 emits light; [0036]: a second electrode 213 on the organic light emitting layer 212; [0051]: the organic layer 320) and comprising a plurality of light-emitting pixels (Fig. 1; [0024]: a pixel defining layer; [0028]: the OLED display device 101 displays an image using a plurality of pixels; [0029]: the pixel defining layer defines pixels; [0032]: select a pixel to perform light emission);
a microlens array layer located at a side of the organic light-emitting layer close to the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel (Fig. 6; [0061]: a low refractive index layer 321 is a microlens array and overlaps the organic light emitting layer 212; the organic layer 320 includes a low refractive index layer 321 overlapping the organic light emitting layer 212;
);
a refractive index matching layer located at a side of the microlens array layer close to the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel (Fig. 2; [0061]: a high refractive index layer 322 is a refractive index matching layer and is disposed on the low refractive index layer 321); and
wherein the microlens array layer comprises a plurality of second lens structures (Fig. 2; [0063]: the low refractive index layer 321 is disposed in the aperture 191 of the pixel defining layer 190; [0064]: the concave surface 321a is positioned in the aperture 191; [0074]: the high refractive index layer 322 having the convex surface 322a may function as a convex lens; the high refractive index layer 322 may serve to collimate light like a convex lens.),
wherein a material of the at least one filling layer is the same as at least one of a material of the microlens array layer or a material of the refractive index matching layer (Fig. 2; [0035]: the planarization layer 146 and the insulating interlayer 145 include substantially a same material; [0067]: the first inorganic layer 310 and the second inorganic layer 330 include substantially a same material; Fig. 1; [0061]: the high refractive index layer 322;
; fill same material as the high refractive index layer 322 in left side area and right side area as illustrated in Fig. 2; [0070]: the low refractive index layer 321 includes a light transmissive organic material having low refractive index; [0072]: the high refractive index layer 322 includes a light transmissive organic material having high refractive index).
Sung fails to explicitly disclose:
at least one filling layer provided in the non-display area,
the plurality of second lens structures protrude towards a second direction that is a direction from the thin film transistor layer to the refractive index matching layer.
In same field of endeavor, Shim teaches:
at least one filling layer provided in the non-display area ([0037]: a display area DA and a non-display area are defined; Fig. 2; [0056]: a first circuit unit PCU1 is formed in the non-display area; Fig. 3; [0060]: the passivation layer 108 is formed as a single layer formed of an organic material or be formed of multiple layers of the organic material; [0084]: the plurality of first holes H1 are located at the periphery of the non-display area that is formed outside the display area DA and surround the display area DA; Fig. 3; [0092]: the display area DA and the non-display area are defined;
; Fig. 3; [0103]: the plurality of second holes H2 are formed in various shapes, located at the periphery of the non-display area that is formed outside the display area DA, and surround the display area DA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sung to include at least one filling layer provided in the non-display area as taught by Shim. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve light efficiency; to improve the light efficiency of the organic light-emitting display apparatus; to improve the adhesion strength of the encapsulating layer TFE as taught by Shim in paragraphs [0070-0071], and [0082].
Sung in view of Shim fails to explicitly disclose:
the plurality of second lens structures protrude towards a second direction that is a direction from the thin film transistor layer to the refractive index matching layer.
In same field of endeavor, Yamae teaches:
the plurality of second lens structures protrude towards a second direction that is a direction from the thin film transistor layer to the refractive index matching layer (Fig. 1; [0077]: a light diffusion layer 2; the light reflective electrode 4 is an electrode paired with the light transmissive electrode 3;
; second direction is from a substrate 1 with thin film transistors to a light transmissive electrode 3 above the refractive index matching layers 21 and 22 as illustrated in Fig. 1; [0191]: allocate the protruded part or the recessed part to each uneven section; [0192]: the protruded parts are randomly allocated; Fig. 18 A-B; [0193]: the protruded parts 11 or the recessed parts 12 are arranged;
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sung in view of Shim to include the plurality of second lens structures protrude towards a second direction that is a direction from the thin film transistor layer to the refractive index matching layer as taught by Yamae. The motivation for doing so would have been to greatly improve the light-outcoupling efficiency of the organic EL element; to obtain the organic EL element and the lighting device which have the enhanced light-outcoupling efficiency and the reduced view angle dependence, and thereby are excellent in the light emitting property as taught by Yamae in paragraphs [0004], [0009], [0039], and [0161].
Regarding to claim 2, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 1, wherein in the second direction, the second lens structure is at least partially non-overlapping with the light emitting pixel (Sung; Fig. 2; [0063]: the low refractive index layer 321 is disposed in the aperture 191 of the pixel defining layer 190; ).
Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses wherein in the second direction, the second lens structure is at least partially non-overlapping with the light emitting pixel (Yamae; Fig. 4; [0077]: the light diffusion layer 2 is partially non-overlapping with light emitting layer as illustrated in Fig. 4;
).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 3, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the thin film transistor layer comprises at least one inorganic layer extending from the display area to the non-display area (Sung; Fig. 2; [0026]: the buffer layer 120 include at least one inorganic layer and organic layer; Fig. 2; [0053]: the inorganic layer 330 extends from display area to the non-display area as illustrated in Fig. 2; [0052]: two inorganic layers 310 and 330), and the at least one filling layer is arranged at a side of the at least one inorganic layer close to the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel (Sung; [0024]: a pixel defining layer 190; Fig. 2; [0061]: the high refractive index layer 322 has a higher refractive index and is filling layer; Fig. 2; [0069]: a material forming the low refractive index layer 321 does not completely fill the aperture 191; a material forming the low refractive index layer 321 is filing layer);
a barrier wall is provided in the non-display area (Sung; Fig. 2; [0048]: the aperture 191 of the pixel defining layer 190 is defined by a side wall 195); and
Sung in view of Shim and Yamae further discloses:
the thin film transistor layer comprises at least one inorganic layer extending from the display area to the non-display area (Shim; Fig. 3; [0099]: the first inorganic layer 121 and the second inorganic layer 122 extend from left side to right side, i.e. from display area to non-display area as illustrated in Fig. 3;
),
in the non-display area, one inorganic layer of the at least one inorganic layer comprises a second hole formed at a side of the barrier wall facing away from the display area (Shim; Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0082]: a plurality of holes are formed in one or more of the first organic layer 141 or the second organic layer 142;
; Fig. 4; [0117]: the plurality of first holes H1 are formed in the second organic layer 142 and the plurality of second holes H2 are formed in the first organic layer 141).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 4, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 3, wherein the at least one filling layer extends to a second position of the non-display area (Fig. 2; [0080]: the encapsulating organic layer 140 includes a first organic layer 141 and a second organic layer 142); and
a distance between the second hole and the display area is smaller than a distance between the second position and the display area (Shim; Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0082]: a plurality of holes are formed in one or more of the first organic layer 141 or the second organic layer 142;
; Fig. 4; [0117]: the plurality of first holes H1 are formed in the second organic layer 142 and the plurality of second holes H2 are formed in the first organic layer 141).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 5, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 3, further comprising an encapsulation layer, wherein the encapsulation layer is arranged between the organic light-emitting layer and the microlens array layer (Sung; Fig. 2; [0055]: the inorganic layers 310 and 330, which have a high density of thin film, may prevent or efficiently reduce infiltration of external contaminants such as moisture or oxygen), and the encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic layer, a first organic layer and a second inorganic layer that are stack along the first direction (Sung; Fig. 2; [0056]: the inorganic layers 310 and 330 and the organic layer 320; [0057]: the thin film encapsulation layer 301); and
at least one of the first inorganic layer or the second inorganic layer extends from the display area to an area located between the second hole and the barrier wall (Sung; Fig. 2; [0048]: the aperture 191 of the pixel defining layer 190 is defined by a side wall 195).
Sung in view of Shim and Yamae further discloses at least one of the first inorganic layer or the second inorganic layer extends from the display area to an area located between the second hole and the barrier wall (Shim; Fig. 2; [0044]: the barrier layer 102 may be formed of various inorganic materials; the barrier layer 102 may also be disposed on the peripheral area PA; Fig. 2; [0093]: the barrier layer 102 and the buffer layer 103 are formed on the substrate 101).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 6, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 5, wherein at least one of the first inorganic layer or the second inorganic layer extends to a first position of the non-display area (or is optional; Shim; Fig. 2; [0075]: the encapsulating inorganic layer 120 cover the display area DA on the substrate 101, extend to an outer region of the substrate 101, and be formed on the display area inorganic layer 110; Fig. 2; [0077]: the encapsulating inorganic layer 120 includes a first inorganic layer 121 and a second inorganic layer 122; Fig. 3; [0082]: a plurality of first holes H1 formed in the second organic layer 142 are filled with the second inorganic layer 122 disposed on the second organic layer 142; Fig. 4; [0117]: the plurality of first holes H1 are formed in the second organic layer 142 and the plurality of second holes H2 are formed in the first organic layer 141), the at least one filling layer extends to a second position of the non-display area (Shim; Fig. 2; [0080]: the encapsulating organic layer 140 includes a first organic layer 141 and a second organic layer 142), and a distance from the first position to the display area is shorter than a distance from the second position to the display area (Shim; Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0082]: a plurality of holes are formed in one or more of the first organic layer 141 or the second organic layer 142;
; Fig. 4; [0117]: the plurality of first holes H1 are formed in the second organic layer 142 and the plurality of second holes H2 are formed in the first organic layer 141).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 7, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 1, wherein the at least one filling layer comprises a first filling layer and a second filling layer that are stacked, a material of the first filling layer is the same as the material of the microlens array layer, and a material of the second filling layer is the same as the material of the refractive index matching layer (Sung; Fig. 2; [0035]: the planarization layer 146 and the insulating interlayer 145 may include substantially a same material; Fig. 2; [0061]: a high refractive index layer 322 is disposed on the low refractive index layer 321; same materials from left to right side;
; Fig. 2; [0070]: The low refractive index layer 321 may include a light transmissive organic material having low refractive index; Fig. 2; [0072]: the high refractive index layer 322 includes a light transmissive organic material having high refractive index).
Sung in view of Shim and Yamae further discloses wherein the at least one filling layer comprises a first filling layer and a second filling layer that are stacked along the second direction (Yamae; Fig. 1; [0077]: a light diffusion layer 2; the light reflective electrode 4 is an electrode paired with the light transmissive electrode 3;
; second direction is from a substrate 1 with thin film transistors to a light transmissive electrode 3 above the refractive index matching layers 21 and 22 as illustrated in Fig. 1; [0191]: allocate the protruded part or the recessed part to each uneven section).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 8, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 7, wherein an orthographic projection of the microlens array layer on the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel is border on an orthographic projection of the first filling layer on the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel (Yamae; Fig. 4; [0077]: the light transmissive electrode 3 is on a surface of the light diffusion layer 2;
; [0078]: the second embodiment and the fifth embodiment each include two light emitting layers E.).
Regarding to claim 9, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 7, an orthographic projection of the refractive index matching layer on the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel is border on an orthographic projection of the second filling layer on the light-exiting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel (Yamae; Fig. 4; [0077]: the light transmissive electrode 3 is on a surface of the light diffusion layer 2;
; [0078]: these are organic EL elements with single-unit structures).
Regarding to claim 10, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 7,
wherein a contact surface between the first filling layers and second filling layers is uneven (Sung; Fig. 1; [0061]: the high refractive index layer 322;
; fill same material as the high refractive index layer 322 in left side area and right side area as illustrated in Fig. 2; [0070]: the low refractive index layer 321 includes a light transmissive organic material having low refractive index; [0072]: the high refractive index layer 322 includes a light transmissive organic material having high refractive index ).
Sung in view of Shim and Yamae further discloses wherein a contact surface between the first filling layers and second filling layers is uneven (Yamae; [0177]: the uneven structure 20 be formed at the interface between the first transparent material layer 21 and the second transparent material layer 22; [0178]: a flat surface above the uneven structure).
The motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 11, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 7, wherein the first filling layer comprises at least one first hole filled with the refractive index matching layer (Shim; Fig. 3; [0082]: a plurality of first holes H1 formed in the second organic layer 142 are filled with the second inorganic layer 122 disposed on the second organic layer 142; Fig. 4; [0117]: the plurality of first holes H1 are formed in the second organic layer 142 and the plurality of second holes H2 are formed in the first organic layer 141.).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 12, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 7, wherein the first filling layer and the micro-lens array layer are formed by a same process, and the second filling layer and the refractive index matching layer are formed by a same process (Sung; Fig. 2; [0035]: the planarization layer 146 and the insulating interlayer 145 may include substantially a same material; Fig. 2; [0061]: a high refractive index layer 322 is disposed on the low refractive index layer 321; same materials from left to right side;
; [0069]: the first inorganic layer 310 has a higher surface tension than that of the low refractive index layer 321; a portion of the material forming the low refractive index layer 321 moves, due to the surface tension, up the side wall 195 along the first inorganic layer 310; the low refractive index layer 321 is formed by, for example, an inkjet method; Fig. 2; [0070]: the low refractive index layer 321 includes a light transmissive organic material having low refractive index; Fig. 2; [0072]: the high refractive index layer 322 includes a light transmissive organic material having high refractive index).
Regarding to claim 13, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 3, wherein the non-display area comprises a third filling structure, the second hole is filled with the third filling structure (Shim; Fig. 3; [0082]: a plurality of first holes H1 formed in the second organic layer 142 are filled with the second inorganic layer 122 disposed on the second organic layer 142; Fig. 3; [0102]: a plurality of second holes H2 may be formed in the first organic layer 141 and filled with the first inorganic layer 121; Fig. 4; [0117]: the plurality of first holes H1 are formed in the second organic layer 142 and the plurality of second holes H2 are formed in the first organic layer 141;
); and
at least one of the first inorganic layer or the second inorganic layer extends to the non-display and partially covers the third filling structure (Shim; Fig. 3; [0102]: a plurality of second holes H2 may be formed in the first organic layer 141 and filled with the first inorganic layer 121; Fig. 4; [0117]: the plurality of first holes H1 are formed in the second organic layer 142 and the plurality of second holes H2 are formed in the first organic layer 141;
).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 14, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 13, further comprising a planarization layer, wherein the third filling structure and the planarization layer are made of a same material (Sung; Fig. 2; [0035]: the planarization layer 146 and the insulating interlayer 145 include substantially a same material; [0067]: the first inorganic layer 310 and the second inorganic layer 330 include substantially a same material; Fig. 1; [0061]: the high refractive index layer 322;
; fill same material as the high refractive index layer 322 in left side area and right side area as illustrated in Fig. 2; [0070]: the low refractive index layer 321 includes a light transmissive organic material having low refractive index; [0072]: the high refractive index layer 322 includes a light transmissive organic material having high refractive index).
Regarding to claim 16, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 1, further comprising a color resistance layer, wherein the color resistance layer comprises a color resistance and a black matrix, the color resistance layer is located on one side, close to the light-emitting surface of the organic light-emitting display panel, of the refractive index matching layer (Shim; [0065]: the organic emission layer may be independently formed in OLEDs; the OLEDs may respectively emit red, green, and blue light; plurality of organic emission layers emit red, green, and blue light; color combinations for emitting white light is not limited to the description above), and the black matrix extends from the display area to the non-display area (Shim; [0084]: the plurality of first holes H1 are located at the periphery of the non-display area that is formed outside the display area DA and surround the display area DA; Fig. 3; [0092]: the display area DA and the non-display area are defined).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 17, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the refractive index matching layer comprises a plurality of first lens structures corresponding to the plurality of light-emitting pixels (Sung; Fig. 2; [0063]: the low refractive index layer 321 is disposed in the aperture 191 of the pixel defining layer 190 and has a concave surface 321a corresponding to the convex surface 322a of the high refractive index layer 322; [0064]: the concave surface 321a is positioned in the aperture 191; [0074]: the high refractive index layer 322 having the convex surface 322a may function as a convex lens; the high refractive index layer 322 may serve to collimate light like a convex lens), and the plurality of first lens structures protrude towards a first direction that is a direction from the refractive index matching layer to the thin film transistor layer (Sung; Fig. 2; [0061]: the high refractive index layer 322 has a convex surface 322a protruding toward the organic light emitting layer 212; Fig. 2; [0074]: the high refractive index layer 322 having the convex surface 322a may function as a convex lens; the high refractive index layer 322 may serve to collimate light like a convex lens;
; [0099]: the organic layer 320 having a lens structure increases light efficiency and visibility of the OLED display device 102).
Regarding to claim 18, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 1, wherein in the first direction, the first lens structure at least partially overlaps the light emitting pixel (Sung; Fig. 6; [0061]: a low refractive index layer 321 is a microlens array and overlaps the organic light emitting layer 212; the organic layer 320 includes a low refractive index layer 321 overlapping the organic light emitting layer 212;
).
Regarding to claim 19, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 1, wherein the refractive index matching layer has a refractive index greater than a refractive index of the microlens array layer (Sung; Fig. 2; [0061]: the high refractive index layer 322 has a higher refractive index than that of the low refractive index layer 321; [0074]: the high refractive index layer 322 having the convex surface 322a may function as a convex lens; the high refractive index layer 322 may serve to collimate light like a convex lens; Fig. 3; [0076]: the low refractive index layer 321 and the high refractive index layer 322;
).
Regarding to claim 20, Sung discloses a display apparatus, comprising an organic light-emitting display panel, wherein the organic light-emitting display panel has a display area and a non-display area, and the organic light-emitting display panel comprises (Fig. 1; [0023]: an organic light emitting diode (“OLED”) display device; Fig. 2; [0028]: an active matrix-type organic light emitting diode display device; Fig. 2; [0050]: the thin film encapsulation layer 301 is disposed on the second electrode 213 so as to protect the OLED 210; Fig. 2; [0053]: the inorganic layer 330 extends from display area to the non-display area as illustrated in Fig. 2; Fig. 4; [0080]: the OLED display device 102 may include an OLED 210 and a thin film encapsulation layer 302):
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 20.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (US 20180040854 A1) in view of Shim (US 20160079564 A1), in view of Yamae (US 20160020431 A1), and further in view of Yairi (US 20140160063 A1).
Regarding to claim 15, Sung in view of Shim and Yamae discloses the organic light-emitting display panel according to claim 1,
Sung in view of Shim and Yamae fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a touch layer, wherein the touch layer comprises a touch electrode and a touch wire electrically connected to the touch electrode, and the touch wire extends from the display area to the non-display area.
In same field of endeavor, Yairi teaches:
further comprising a touch layer, wherein the touch layer comprises a touch electrode and a touch wire electrically connected to the touch electrode, and the touch wire extends from the display area to the non-display area (Fig. 1B; [0032]: a deformable region 113 of the tactile layer 110 cooperating with the substrate 118 to define a cavity 125;
; Fig. 1A; [0033]: a display, e.g., a touchscreen, of a computing device includes non-display area as illustrated in Fig. 1A; ; [0052]: the sensor 140 includes a projected capacitance touch sensor including a first layer of a first set of parallel electrodes and a second layer of a second set of parallel electrodes; [0055]: the capacitive touch also includes a second conductor arranged within the cavity 125; Fig. 3; [0075]: a display 150 coupled to the substrate 118 opposite the tactile layer 110 and configured to visually output an image through the tactile surface 111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sung in view of Shim and Yamae to include further comprising a touch layer, wherein the touch layer comprises a touch electrode and a touch wire electrically connected to the touch electrode, and the touch wire extends from the display area to the non-display area as taught by Yairi. The motivation for doing so would have been to apply the user interface 100 over a display, e.g., a touchscreen, of a computing device; to detect the presence of a finger or stylus touch on the tactile surface 111, depression of the deformable region 113 in the expanded setting, and/or any other suitable type of input; to improve a capacitive sensing circuit 141's ability to detect fingers resting on a tactile element in the expanded setting as taught by Yairi in paragraphs [0033], [0049], and [0110]
Conclusion
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616