Double Patenting
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,185,912. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of Claim 18 of the present patent application are claimed in Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,185,912, such that this is an anticipation-type nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
A comparison of Claim 1 of present US Patent Application 18/968,253 and US Patent No. 12,185,912 is shown in the chart below:
US Patent Application 18/968,253
US Patent 12,185,912
Claim 18.
Claim 1.
A method of manufacturing an elevator of a medical device, the method comprising:
A method of manufacturing an elevator of a medical device, the method comprising:
forming a pivot portion at a proximal end of the elevator, wherein the pivot portion tapers proximally, wherein a proximalmost end of the pivot portion forms a proximal-facing face or a proximal edge; and
using an additive manufacturing method, forming a pivot portion at a proximal end of the elevator, wherein the pivot portion tapers proximally such that a proximalmost end of the elevator is thinner than more distal portions of the pivot portion, wherein the proximalmost end forms a proximal-facing face or a proximal edge; and
forming (i) a body of the elevator that is distal to the pivot portion and (ii) a control arm of the elevator, the control arm having one or more hollow portions, wherein the control arm is configured to be connected to a control element for exerting a force on the elevator.
using the additive manufacturing method, forming (i) a body of the elevator that is distal to the pivot portion and (ii) a control arm of the elevator, the control arm having one or more hollow portions, wherein the body includes a surface configured to contact an instrument inserted in a working channel of the medical device, and wherein the control arm is configured to be connected to a control element for exerting a force on the elevator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolberg et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0249894 – “Kolberg”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kolberg discloses:
An elevator for use with a medical device (Kolberg paragraphs [0001] and [0005], “The present invention relates to an endoscope head comprising an endoscope head body in which at least one working channel is formed, wherein an Albarran lever capable of being pivoted is provided on the distal side of the endoscope head body…the duodenoscope comprises an Albarran lever which, by pivoting, allows the tools that are being advanced through the working channel to be selectively redirected”), the elevator including:
an elevator body (Kolberg FIG. 1, distal portion of Albarran lever 2) having a surface (Kolberg FIG. 1, surface 24) for interacting with a medical instrument inserted through a working channel of the medical device (Kolberg FIG. 1, working channel 13; Kolberg paragraph [0061], “A tool, such as a guide wire, guided through the working channel 13 is lifted up by the curved portion 133 and comes into contact with the working channel surface 24 of the Albarran lever 2 when being further advanced in the proximal direction”);
a pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot yoke 22 and rotation shaft 451) proximal of the elevator body, wherein the pivot portion includes a tapered portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, surface 221 of pivot yoke 22) that tapers proximally such that a proximalmost end of the pivot portion is thinner than more distal portions of the pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing surface 221 tapering proximally to make the proximal end of pivot yoke 22 thinner than the distal portion of yoke 22); and
a control arm (Kolberg, FIG. 6, activation lever 454) wherein the control arm includes one or more hollow portions (Kolberg FIG. 6, control wire receiving member 454).
Regarding Claim 2, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot yoke 22) further comprises a rounded portion proximal of the tapered portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing rounded portion of pivot yoke 22 proximal to the tapered surface 221), wherein the rounded portion has a rounded surface (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing rounded surface at proximal end of pivot yoke 22), and wherein the pivot portion is solid in all cross-sections (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing the solid structure of pivot yoke 22).
Regarding Claim 3, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 2, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the pivot portion further includes a rectangular portion (Examiner-annotated Kolberg FIG. 7 shown below, showing cross-section plane that defined a rectangular portion between the tapered portion 221 and the rounded portion of pivot yoke 22) , wherein the rectangular portion connects the rounded portion to the tapered portion, and wherein the rectangular portion includes a pair of parallel surfaces that are approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the control arm (Examiner interprets the cross-section plane to have a width, which runs parallel to the longitudinal axis of the longitudinal axis of the lever 454 when connected to Albarran lever 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the tapered portion includes a first tapered surface and a second tapered surface, and wherein each of the first and the second tapered surfaces taper towards one another at a same angle (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing fork portion 22 with two parallel contact surfaces, each having similarly-angled proximal surfaces).
Regarding Claim 5, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the proximalmost end of the pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot yoke 22) forms a proximal-facing face (Kolberg FIG. 7, rounded proximal facing faces of pivot yoke 22) or a proximal edge of the elevator.
Regarding Claim 6, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the proximalmost end of the pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, rotation shaft 451 that is a component of the pivot portion) extends along the elevator body and the control arm (Kolberg FIG. 6, showing rotation shaft 451 extending from Albarran lever to activation lever 454).
Regarding Claim 7, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the proximalmost end of the pivot portion (Kolberg rotation shaft 451) extends along an entirety of a width of the elevator (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing pivot lever arm 452 aligned to mate with lever fork yoke 22, such that the rotation shaft 451 extends along the yoke 22 and the activation lever 454 shown in Kolberg FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the control arm (Kolberg, FIG. 6, activation lever 454 having a control wire barrel receiving member 455) is configured to be connected to a control element for exerting a force on the elevator (Kolberg paragraph [0085], “activation lever 454 comprises a control wire barrel receiving member 455 into which a barrel of a control wire (not shown) is inserted. The control wire is activated from the proximal side of the endoscope head 1, for example by a control member, such as a joystick”).
Regarding Claim 10, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 9, as described above.
Kolberg further teaches wherein the control arm (Kolberg, FIG. 6, activation lever 454) includes a receptacle (Kolberg, FIG. 6, activation lever 454 having a control wire barrel receiving member 455) defined at the distal end of the control arm, and wherein the control element is received within the receptacle (Kolberg paragraph [0085], “activation lever 454 comprises a control wire barrel receiving member 455 into which a barrel of a control wire (not shown) is inserted.).
Regarding Claim 11, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the elevator body (Examiner-annotated Kolberg FIG. 6 shown below, Albarran lever 2) defines a first longitudinal axis (Kolberg FIG. 6, first axis), wherein the control arm (Kolberg FIG. 6, pivot lever 45) defines a second longitudinal axis (Kolberg FIG. 6, second axis), and wherein the first longitudinal axis and the second longitudinal axis extend in different directions (Kolberg FIG. 6, showing Albarran lever 2 and pivot lever 45 on different longitudinal axes in the endoscope head body 11).
Regarding Claim 12, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 11, as described above.
Kolberg teaches wherein the proximalmost end of the pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot yoke 22 and rotation shaft 451) is approximately perpendicular to the second longitudinal axis (Kolberg FIG. 6, showing rotation shaft 451 perpendicular to second axis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolberg et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0249894 – “Kolberg”) in view of Kitano et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0078041 – “Kitano”).
Regarding Claim 8, Kolberg discloses the features of Claim 1, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses a junction (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot lever 45) disposed between the control arm (Kolberg, FIG. 6, activation lever 454) and the elevator body (Kolberg FIG. 1, Albarran lever 2). Although it appears that the pivot lever 45 needs to be rigid enough so that it does not bend or fail when rotating the Albarran lever 2, Kolberg does not explicitly state that a yield strength of the junction is greater than a yield strength of at least a portion of the elevator body.
Kitano teaches a junction (Kitano FIG. 22, driving arm 211 having a polygonal shaft that connects to elevator base 210, shown in Kitano FIG. 17, which raises a treatment instrument) having a yield strength that is greater than a yield strength of at least a portion of the elevator body (Kitano paragraph [0128], “Because the treatment instrument is thick and hard, the strength of the driving arm 211 is required to raise the treatment instrument.” Examiner interprets this as teaching that the driving arm 211 and its connection to the elevator base 210 must be strong enough to support by the thick instrument as well as the elevator base 210, such that the polygonal connection between the driving arm 211 and the elevator base 210 is stronger than the elevator base 210 alone.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect Kolberg’s activation lever 454 to Kolberg’s Albarran lever 2 with Kitano’s strong polygonal connection. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an endoscope elevator that is capable of supported heavy/rigid medical instruments.
Regarding Claim 13, Kolberg discloses:
An elevator for use with a medical device (Kolberg paragraphs [0001] and [0005], “The present invention relates to an endoscope head comprising an endoscope head body in which at least one working channel is formed, wherein an Albarran lever capable of being pivoted is provided on the distal side of the endoscope head body…the duodenoscope comprises an Albarran lever which, by pivoting, allows the tools that are being advanced through the working channel to be selectively redirected”), the elevator including:
an elevator body (Kolberg FIG. 1, distal portion of Albarran lever 2) having a surface (Kolberg FIG. 1, surface 24) configured to contact a medical instrument inserted in a working channel of the medical device (Kolberg FIG. 1, working channel 13; Kolberg paragraph [0061], “A tool, such as a guide wire, guided through the working channel 13 is lifted up by the curved portion 133 and comes into contact with the working channel surface 24 of the Albarran lever 2 when being further advanced in the proximal direction”);
a pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot yoke 22 and rotation shaft 451) proximal of the elevator body and defining a proximalmost edge or face of the elevator (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing pivot yoke 22 proximal to the distal portion of Albarran lever 2 and having a proximal end that defines the proximalmost edge of the Albarran lever 2);
a control arm (Kolberg, FIG. 6, activation lever 454 having a control wire barrel receiving member 455) configured to receive a distal end of a control element for exerting a force on the elevator (Kolberg paragraph [0085], “activation lever 454 comprises a control wire barrel receiving member 455 into which a barrel of a control wire (not shown) is inserted. The control wire is activated from the proximal side of the endoscope head 1, for example by a control member, such as a joystick”), wherein the control arm includes one or more hollow portions (Kolberg FIG. 6, control wire receiving member 454); and
Kolberg further discloses a junction (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot lever 45) disposed between the control arm (Kolberg, FIG. 6, activation lever 454) and the elevator body (Kolberg FIG. 1, Albarran lever 2). Although it appears that the pivot lever 45 needs to be rigid enough so that it does not bend or fail when rotating the Albarran lever 2, Kolberg does not explicitly state that a yield strength of the junction is greater than a yield strength of at least a portion of the elevator body.
Kitano teaches a junction (Kitano FIG. 22, driving arm 211 having a polygonal shaft that connects to elevator base 210, shown in Kitano FIG. 17, which raises a treatment instrument) having a yield strength that is greater than a yield strength of at least a portion of the elevator body (Kitano paragraph [0128], “Because the treatment instrument is thick and hard, the strength of the driving arm 211 is required to raise the treatment instrument.” Examiner interprets this as teaching that the driving arm 211 and its connection to the elevator base 210 must be strong enough to support by the thick instrument as well as the elevator base 210, such that the polygonal connection between the driving arm 211 and the elevator base 210 is stronger than the elevator base 210 alone.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect Kolberg’s activation lever 454 to Kolberg’s Albarran lever 2 with Kitano’s strong polygonal connection. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an endoscope elevator that is capable of supported heavy/rigid medical instruments.
Regarding Claim 14, Kolberg in view of Kitano teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot yoke 22) further comprises a rounded portion proximal of the tapered portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing rounded portion of pivot yoke 22 proximal to the tapered surface 221), wherein the rounded portion has a rounded surface (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing rounded surface at proximal end of pivot yoke 22), and wherein the pivot portion is solid in all cross-sections (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing the solid structure of pivot yoke 22).
Regarding Claim 15, Kolberg in view of Kitano teaches the features of Claim 14, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the pivot portion further includes a rectangular portion (Examiner-annotated Kolberg FIG. 7 shown below, showing cross-section plane that defined a rectangular portion between the tapered portion 221 and the rounded portion of pivot yoke 22) , wherein the rectangular portion connects the rounded portion to the tapered portion, and wherein the rectangular portion includes a pair of parallel surfaces that are approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the control arm (Examiner interprets the cross-section plane to have a width, which runs parallel to the longitudinal axis of the longitudinal axis of the lever 454 when connected to Albarran lever 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Kolberg in view of Kitano teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the proximalmost end of the pivot portion (Kolberg rotation shaft 451) extends along an entirety of a width of the elevator (Kolberg FIG. 2, showing pivot lever arm 452 aligned to mate with lever fork yoke 22, such that the rotation shaft 451 extends along the yoke 22 and the activation lever 454 shown in Kolberg FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 17, Kolberg in view of Kitano teaches the features of Claim 13, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the elevator body (Examiner-annotated Kolberg FIG. 6 shown below, Albarran lever 2) defines a first longitudinal axis (Kolberg FIG. 6, first axis), and wherein the control arm (Kolberg FIG. 6, pivot lever 45) defines a second longitudinal axis (Kolberg FIG. 6, second axis), wherein the first longitudinal axis and the second longitudinal axis extend in different directions (Kolberg FIG. 6, showing Albarran lever 2 and pivot lever 45 on different longitudinal axes in the endoscope head body 11), and wherein the proximalmost edge (Kolberg FIG. 2, rotation shaft 451) or face is approximately perpendicular to the second longitudinal axis (Kolberg FIG. 6, showing rotation shaft 451 perpendicular to second axis).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolberg et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0249894 – “Kolberg”) in view of Winburne et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0202128 – “Winburne”).
Regarding Claim 18, Kolberg discloses:
an elevator of a medical device (Kolberg paragraphs [0001] and [0005], “The present invention relates to an endoscope head comprising an endoscope head body in which at least one working channel is formed, wherein an Albarran lever capable of being pivoted is provided on the distal side of the endoscope head body…the duodenoscope comprises an Albarran lever which, by pivoting, allows the tools that are being advanced through the working channel to be selectively redirected”), comprising:
a pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot yoke 22 and rotation shaft 451) at a proximal end of the elevator (Kolberg FIG. 2, Albarran lever 2), wherein the pivot portion tapers proximally (Kolberg FIG. 2, surface 221 of pivot yoke 22), wherein a proximalmost end of the pivot portion (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot yoke 22) forms a proximal-facing face (Kolberg FIG. 7, rounded proximal facing faces of pivot yoke 22) or a proximal edge; and
(i) a body (Kolberg FIG. 1, distal portion of Albarran lever 2) of the elevator that is distal to the pivot portion and
(ii) a control arm (Kolberg, FIG. 6, activation lever 454) of the elevator, the control arm having one or more hollow portions (Kolberg FIG. 6, control wire receiving member 454), wherein the control arm is configured to be connected to a control element for exerting a force on the elevator (Kolberg paragraph [0085], “activation lever 454 comprises a control wire barrel receiving member 455 into which a barrel of a control wire (not shown) is inserted. The control wire is activated from the proximal side of the endoscope head 1, for example by a control member, such as a joystick”).
Kolberg does not explicitly disclose a method of manufacturing by forming components.
Winburne teaches a method of manufacturing by forming components (Winburne paragraph [0006], “a 3D printer can create the 3D object utilizing powder bed fusion, among other types of 3D printing. For example, a 3D printer can utilize powder bed fusion by combining a fusing agent with the build material such that the fusing agent absorbs heat from a heat source in order to melt, fuse, and solidify the build material in order to create a 3D object”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Winburne’s powder bed fusion when forming the pivot portion, elevator, and control arm disclosed by Kolberg. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a 3D printing process that fuses together materials capable of forming components such as components of an elevator for a medical device.
Regarding Claim 20, Kolberg in view of Winburne teaches the features of Claim 18, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses wherein the body (Examiner-annotated Kolberg FIG. 6 shown below, Albarran lever 2) defines a first longitudinal axis (Kolberg FIG. 6, first axis), wherein the control arm (Kolberg FIG. 6, pivot lever 45) defines a second longitudinal axis (Kolberg FIG. 6, second axis), wherein the first longitudinal axis and the second longitudinal axis extend in different directions (Kolberg FIG. 6, showing Albarran lever 2 and pivot lever 45 on different longitudinal axes in the endoscope head body 11), and wherein the proximal-facing face or the proximal edge is approximately perpendicular to the second longitudinal axis (Kolberg FIG. 6, showing rotation shaft 451 perpendicular to second axis).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolberg et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0249894 – “Kolberg”) in view of Winburne et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0202128 – “Winburne”) and Kitano et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0078041 – “Kitano”).
Regarding Claim 19, Kolberg in view of Winburne teaches the features of Claim 18, as described above.
Kolberg further discloses a junction (Kolberg FIG. 2, pivot lever 45) of the control arm (Kolberg, FIG. 6, activation lever 454) and the body (Kolberg FIG. 1, Albarran lever 2). Although it appears that the pivot lever 45 needs to be rigid enough so that it does not bend or fail when rotating the Albarran lever 2, Kolberg does not explicitly disclose wherein the junction has a greater yield strength than at least a portion of the body.
Kitano teaches a junction (Kitano FIG. 22, driving arm 211 having a polygonal shaft that connects to elevator base 210, shown in Kitano FIG. 17, which raises a treatment instrument) that has a greater yield strength that at least a portion of the body (Kitano paragraph [0128], “Because the treatment instrument is thick and hard, the strength of the driving arm 211 is required to raise the treatment instrument.” Examiner interprets this as teaching that the driving arm 211 and its connection to the elevator base 210 must be strong enough to support by the thick instrument as well as the elevator base 210, such that the polygonal connection between the driving arm 211 and the elevator base 210 is stronger than the elevator base 210 alone.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect Kolberg’s activation lever 454 to Kolberg’s Albarran lever 2 with Kitano’s strong polygonal connection, as described in the method taught by Kolberg in view of Winburne. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine these prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an endoscope elevator being manufactured that is capable of supported heavy/rigid medical instruments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes, but is not limited to:
Ouchi et al. (US PGPUB 2001/0044570 – “Ouchi”), which teaches in Ouchi FIG. 4 a driving lever 21 connected to a control wire. The driving lever 21 is connected to a treating instrument erecting member 5 by an erecting member driving shaft 13.
Hiraoka (US PGPUB 2020/0359880 – “Hiraoka”), which teaches in Hiraoka FIG. 2 a control arm unit 14, a rotary shaft 13, and a forceps elevator 12.
JIM BOICE
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
/JAMES EDWARD BOICE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795