DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 12 and 14 – 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,175,129. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are anticipated by the patented claims as seen in the mapping below.
US Patent Number 12,175,129
Instant Application
1. A method, comprising: sending a first notification from a physical layer to each of a number of memory controllers, wherein the first notification indicates that the physical layer and/or a memory device coupled to the physical layer is busy and wherein the first notification is sent to a logic gate that routes the first notification from the logic gate to each of a number of memory controllers; blocking commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the first notification to cause read data alignment; sending a second notification from the physical layer to each of the number of memory controllers, wherein the second notification indicates that the physical layer and/or the memory device coupled to the physical layer is no longer busy; and resuming processing commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the second notification.
1. A method, comprising: sending a first notification from a physical layer to each of a number of memory controllers, wherein the first notification indicates that the physical layer and/or a memory device coupled to the physical layer is busy and wherein the first notification is sent to a logic gate that routes the first notification from the logic gate to each of a number of memory controllers; and blocking commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the first notification to cause read data alignment.
3. The method of claim 1, further including sending the first notification from the physical layer to a logic gate that routes the first notification to each of the number of memory controllers.
6. The method of claim 1, further including sending a second notification from the physical layer to each of the number of memory controllers, wherein the second notification indicates that the physical layer and/or the memory device coupled to the physical layer is no longer busy.
7. The method of claim 6, further including resuming processing commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the second notification.
2. The method of claim 1, further including sending the first notification and the second notification on a side band bus.
2. The method of claim 1, further including sending the first notification on a side band bus.
10. The method of claim 9, further including sending the first notification on a side band bus.
4. The method of claim 1, further including sending an acknowledgement from one of the number of memory controllers to the physical layer in response to receiving the first notification.
4. The method of claim 1, further including sending an acknowledgement from one of the number of memory controllers to the physical layer in response to receiving the first notification.
12. The method of claim 9, further including sending an acknowledgement from one of the number of memory controllers to the physical layer in response to receiving the first notification.
6. The method of claim 1, further including performing a training operation on the physical layer while the commands are blocked on each of the number of memory controllers.
5. The method of claim 1, further including performing a training operation on the physical layer while the commands are blocked on each of the number of memory controllers.
9. A method, comprising: sending a first notification from a physical layer to each of a number of memory controllers, wherein the first notification indicates that the physical layer has completed a training operation and is no longer busy; and resuming processing commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the second notification.
11. The method of claim 9, further including sending the first notification from the physical layer to a logic gate that routes the first notification to each of the number of memory controllers.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the number memory controllers is associated with one of a number of physical layers and further including performing a training operation on each of the number of physical layers while the commands are blocked on each of the number of memory controllers.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the number memory controllers is associated with one of a number of physical layers and further including performing a training operation on each of the number of physical layers while the commands are blocked on each of the number of memory controllers.
12. An apparatus, comprising: a central controller; a number of memory controllers coupled to the central controller via a data bus and a command bus, wherein each of the number of memory controllers include one of a number of physical layers; and a number of memory devices, wherein each particular memory device of the number of memory devices is coupled to a particular memory controller of the number of memory controllers, wherein the apparatus is configured to: send a first notification from a physical layer of the number of physical layers to each of the number of memory controllers, wherein the first notification indicates that the physical layer and/or a memory device of the number of memory devices coupled to the physical layer is busy and wherein the first notification is sent to a logic gate that routes the first notification from the logic gate to each of a number of memory controllers; block commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the first notification; send a second notification from the physical layer to each of the number of memory controllers, wherein the second notification indicates that the physical layer and/or the memory device coupled to the physical layer is no longer busy; and resume processing commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the second notification.
14. An apparatus, comprising: a central controller; a number of memory controllers coupled to the central controller via a data bus and a command bus, wherein each of the number of memory controllers include one of a number of physical layers; and a number of memory devices, wherein each particular memory device of the number of memory devices is coupled to a particular memory controller of the number of memory controllers, wherein the apparatus is configured to: send a first notification from a physical layer of the number of physical layers to each of the number of memory controllers, wherein the first notification indicates that the physical layer and/or a memory device of the number of memory devices coupled to the physical layer is busy and wherein the first notification is sent to a logic gate that routes the first notification from the logic gate to each of a number of memory controllers; and block commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the first notification.
16. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first notification is sent from the physical layer to a logic gate that routes the first notification to each of the number of memory controllers.
18. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the apparatus is configured to send a second notification from the physical layer to each of the number of memory controllers, wherein the second notification indicates that the physical layer and/or the memory device coupled to the physical layer is no longer busy.
19. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the apparatus is configured to resume processing commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the second notification.
13. The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first notification is sent from the physical layer to each of the number of memory controllers on a side band bus.
15. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first notification is sent from the physical layer to each of the number of memory controllers on a side band bus.
15. The apparatus of claim 12, wherein a training operation is performed on the physical layer while the commands are blocked on the number of memory controllers.
17. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein a training operation is performed on the physical layer while the commands are blocked on the number of memory controllers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pappu et al. (US Publication Number 2023/0113953, hereinafter “Pappu”) in view of MacLaren et al. (US Patent Number 10,642,538, hereinafter “MacLaren”).
5. As per claims 1 and 14, Pappu teaches a method and apparatus (figures 3, 5, and 8), comprising: a central controller (320, figure 3); a number of memory controllers (mc0…23, 325, figure 3) coupled to the central controller via a data bus and a command bus (paragraph 68, buses 810, figure 8, interface bus 321, figure 3), wherein each of the number of memory controllers include one of a number of physical layers (PHY 0…11, 326, figure 3); and a number of memory devices (330, figure 3, devices, figure 8), wherein each particular memory device of the number of memory devices is coupled to a particular memory controller of the number of memory controllers (figure 3, connectivity seen between device and controller), wherein the apparatus (figures 7a…c) is configured to: send a first notification from a physical layer of the number of physical layers to each of the number of memory controllers (702, figure 5, paragraph 57, first notification of disabling), wherein the first notification indicates that the physical layer and/or a memory device of the number of memory devices coupled to the physical layer is busy (notification is to indicate a busy signal, paragraph 61); and block commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the first notification (waits for completion and disables traffic in the busy duration, paragraph 61, figure 7c).
Pappu does not appear to explicitly discloses wherein the first notification is sent to a logic gate that routes the first notification from the logic gate to each of the number of memory controllers.
However, MacLaren discloses wherein the first notification (via 250, figure 2) is sent to a logic gate (224, figure 2) that routes the first notification from the logic gate to each of the number of memory controllers (210-1, 210-2, figure 2, column 8, lines 20 – 63).
Pappu and MacLaren are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor memory controller handling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Pappu and MacLaren before him or her, to modify the signal handling of Pappu to include the routing mechanism of Maclaren because it would enhance multichannel memory handling.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to facilitate memory/PHY communication (column 1, lines 22- 30) Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine MacLaren with Pappu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
6. Pappu modified by the teachings of MacLaren as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 9, Pappu teaches a method, comprising: sending a first notification (702, figure 7a and 7c) from a physical layer (PHY 0…11, 326, figure 3) to each of a number of memory controllers (723, figure 7b), wherein the first notification indicates that the physical layer has completed a training operation and is no longer busy (710, figure 7a and 7c, refresh signal after 706); and resuming processing commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the second notification (714 and 716, figure 7a and 7c, paragraph 57, enable memory controller for data flow and re-enable communication between the MC and PHY).
7. Pappu modified by the teachings of MacLaren as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 2, 10, and 15, Pappu teaches a method and apparatus, further including sending the first notification on a side band bus (paragraph 40).
8. Pappu modified by the teachings of MacLaren as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 3, 11, and 16, Pappu teaches a method and apparatus, further including sending the first notification from the physical layer to a logic gate that routes the first notification to each of the number of memory controllers (321, figure 3, paragraph 39).
9. Pappu modified by the teachings of MacLaren as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 4 and 12, Pappu teaches a method, further including sending an acknowledgement from one of the number of memory controllers to the physical layer in response to receiving the first notification (723 to 525, figure 7b).
10. Pappu modified by the teachings of MacLaren as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 5 and 17, Pappu teaches a method and apparatus, further including performing a training operation on the physical layer while the commands are blocked on each of the number of memory controllers (404, memory training, paragraph 49).
11. Pappu modified by the teachings of MacLaren as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 6 and 18, Pappu teaches a method and apparatus, further including sending a second notification from the physical layer to each of the number of memory controllers, wherein the second notification indicates that the physical layer and/or the memory device coupled to the physical layer is no longer busy (710, figure 7a and 7c, refresh signal after 706).
12. Pappu modified by the teachings of MacLaren as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 7 and 19, Pappu teaches a method and apparatus, further including resuming processing commands on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the second notification (714 and 716, figure 7a and 7c, paragraph 57, enable memory controller for data flow and re-enable communication between the MC and PHY).
13. Pappu modified by the teachings of MacLaren as seen in claim 1 above, as per claim 8, Pappu teaches a method, wherein each of the number memory controllers is associated with one of a number of physical layers and further including performing a training operation on each of the number of physical layers while the commands are blocked on each of the number of memory controllers (404, memory training, paragraph 49).
14. Pappu modified by the teachings of MacLaren as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 13 and 20, Pappu teaches a method and apparatus, receiving a command at each of the number of memory controllers and performing the command on each of the number of memory controllers in response to receiving the first notification at each of the number of memory controllers (command processing on each memory controller, paragraph 86).
Response to Arguments
15. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shimada/Chen/Kajihara/Karamcheti has teachings of memory controller signaling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AH
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184