DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendments filed 12/4/2024. Claims 18 and 22-31 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are pending and an action is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al. US 2022/0116944 (hereinafter Cariou), in view of Lee US 2016/0142980 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Cariou teaches an operating method of a first apparatus communicating with a second apparatus in a wireless network,
([Cariou, Fig. 5 and 8, Wireless Network 500, AP 502 and STA 504] The STA 504 (is interpreted as the claimed first apparatus communicating) with an AP 502 (interpreted as the claimed second apparatus) in a wireless network 500.)
the operating method comprising:
receiving, from the second apparatus, a trigger frame comprising information about a random access frequency band and information about an intermediate transmission time; and
([Cariou, Figs. 5 and 8, ¶102, ¶106 and ¶117] The STA 504 receives, from the AP 502, a trigger frame. The trigger frame comprises scheduling resources for transmitting urgent packets or request to the AP via a random-access RU. [Figs. 8 and 12, ¶108, ¶115 and ¶127] Band and intermediate transmission time are indicated by the trigger frame 802/1200 which includes an indication of (or advertisement) of a start of time allocation per RU (including a delayed start as per ¶108), wherein the RU 1212 indicates both a time allocation and a frequency range/tone allocation.)
transmitting a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) service data unit (PSDU) comprising a short training field (STF) and first data to the second apparatus through the random access frequency band at the intermediate transmission time, ([Cariou, ¶102, ¶106, ¶108 and ¶129] The STA may transmit to the AP on RU (which is noted as a random-access RU comprising frequency bands/tone allocations for random-access transmissions of urgent data) a normal transmission (UL TB PPDU transmission) which runs continuous through the claimed intermediate time (the delayed start time) and the STA may also transmit to the AP a delayed transmission (which is also a UL TB PPDU transmission) as shown in Fig. 4 for example; wherein the transmission (UL TB PPDU transmission) includes the STF and Data (D), interpreted as the claimed PSDU for the delayed transmission in at least some embodiments.) However, when the STA is transmitting at the delayed start time short preamble or midamble 823 is transmitted at the start of time allocation 2 (for the delayed start time) however, Fig. 8 only shows this midamble (also referred to as the short preamble) as comprising an EHT-LTF and not an STF.
wherein the intermediate transmission time is in a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) transmission period. [Cariou ¶119-¶122, Figs. 8 and 9 depict that the delayed start time 822/902 (interpreted as the claimed transmission time) is in the time allocations associated with the data transmission (interpreted as the claimed PPDU transmission period).]
While Cariou teaches that the STA is transmits at the delayed start time short preamble or midamble 823 is transmitted at the start of time allocation 2 (for the delayed start time) however, Figs. 8 and 9 only shows this midamble (also referred to as the short preamble) as comprising an EHT-LTF and not an STF [Cariou, ¶119-¶127] for the purpose of performing channel estimation and automatic gain control (AGC) [Cariou, ¶113].
However, Lee teaches wherein the midamble includes a short training field [Lee, Figs. 60-61, ¶363-¶364].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou which teaches a delayed transmission of an uplink data frame using a midamble (also referred to as a short preamble), with the teachings of Lee which teaches wherein the midamble comprises a STF. The benefiting result would have been the ability to control a gain of a part of the data frame in which the transmission power is changed by using the STF [Lee, ¶363].
Regarding claim 8, Cariou teaches an operating method of a second apparatus communicating with a first apparatus in a wireless network, the operating method comprising:
([Cariou, Fig. 5 and 8, Wireless Network 500, AP 502 and STA 504] The STA 504 (is interpreted as the claimed first apparatus communicating) with an AP 502 (interpreted as the claimed second apparatus) in a wireless network 500.)
generating a trigger frame; and
([Cariou, Fig. 8, ¶105] AP 502 transmits a trigger frame 802)
transmitting the trigger frame to the first apparatus,
([Cariou, Fig. 8, ¶105] AP 502 transmits a trigger frame 802 to the STA)
wherein the trigger frame comprises information about an intermediate transmission time in a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) transmission period at which the first apparatus is to transmit a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) service data unit (PSDU) comprising a short training field (STF) and first data through a random access frequency band.
([Cariou, Figs. 5 and 8, ¶102, ¶106 and ¶117-120] The STA 504 receives, from the AP 502, a trigger frame. The trigger frame comprises scheduling resources for the STA to transmit urgent packets (PSDU) or request to the AP via a random-access RU. [Figs. 8-9 and 12, ¶108, ¶115 and ¶127] Band and intermediate transmission time are indicated by the trigger frame 802/1200 which includes an indication of (or advertisement) of a start of time allocation per RU (including a delayed start as per ¶108 in the allocation periods 1-3 for transmitting data frame, interpreted as the intermediate transmission time in a PPDU transmission period), wherein the RU 1212 indicates both a time allocation and a frequency range/tone allocation. [Cariou, ¶102, ¶106, ¶108 and ¶129] The STA may transmit to the AP on RU (which is noted as a random-access RU comprising frequency bands/tone allocations for random-access transmissions of urgent data) a normal transmission (UL TB PPDU transmission) which runs continuous through the claimed intermediate time (the delayed start time) and the STA may also transmit to the AP a delayed transmission (which is also a UL TB PPDU transmission) as shown in Fig. 4 for example; wherein the transmission (UL TB PPDU transmission) includes the STF and Data (D), interpreted as the claimed PSDU for the delayed transmission in at least some embodiments.) However, when the STA is transmitting at the delayed start time short preamble or midamble 823 is transmitted at the start of time allocation 2 (for the delayed start time) however, Fig. 8 only shows this midamble (also referred to as the short preamble) as comprising an EHT-LTF and not an STF.
While Cariou teaches that the STA is transmits at the delayed start time short preamble or midamble 823 is transmitted at the start of time allocation 2 (for the delayed start time) however, Fig. 8 only shows this midamble (also referred to as the short preamble) as comprising an EHT-LTF and not an STF [Cariou, ¶119-¶127] for the purpose of performing channel estimation and automatic gain control (AGC) [Cariou, ¶113].
However, Lee teaches wherein the midamble includes a short training field [Lee, Figs. 60-61, ¶363-¶364].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou which teaches a delayed transmission of an uplink data frame using a midamble (also referred to as a short preamble), with the teachings of Lee which teaches wherein the midamble comprises a STF. The benefiting result would have been the ability to control a gain of a part of the data frame in which the transmission power is changed by using the STF [Lee, ¶363].
Regarding claim 19, Cariou teaches an operating method of a first apparatus communicating with a second apparatus in a wireless network,
([Cariou, Fig. 5 and 8, Wireless Network 500, AP 502 and STA 504] The STA 504 (is interpreted as the claimed first apparatus communicating) with an AP 502 (interpreted as the claimed second apparatus) in a wireless network 500.)
the operating method comprising:
receiving a trigger frame comprising information about a frequency band allocated from the second apparatus and information about an intermediate transmission time; and
([Cariou, Figs. 5 and 8, ¶102, ¶106 and ¶117] The STA 504 receives, from the AP 502, a trigger frame. The trigger frame comprises scheduling resources for transmitting urgent packets or request to the AP via a random-access RU. [Figs. 8 and 12, ¶108, ¶115 and ¶127] Band and intermediate transmission time are indicated by the trigger frame 802/1200 which includes an indication of (or advertisement) of a start of time allocation per RU (including a delayed start as per ¶108), wherein the RU 1212 indicates both a time allocation and a frequency range/tone allocation.)
transmitting a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) through the allocated frequency band, wherein the transmitting the PPDU comprises transmitting a short training field (STF) through the allocated frequency band at the intermediate transmission time, and
([Cariou, ¶102, ¶106, ¶108 and ¶129] The STA may transmit to the AP on RU (which is noted as a random-access RU comprising frequency bands/tone allocations for random-access transmissions of urgent data) a normal transmission (UL TB PPDU transmission) which runs continuous through the claimed intermediate time (the delayed start time) and the STA may also transmit to the AP a delayed transmission (which is also a UL TB PPDU transmission) as shown in Fig. 4 for example; wherein the transmission (UL TB PPDU transmission) includes the STF and Data (D), interpreted as the claimed PSDU for the delayed transmission in at least some embodiments.) However, when the STA is transmitting at the delayed start time short preamble or midamble 823 is transmitted at the start of time allocation 2 (for the delayed start time) however, Fig. 8 only shows this midamble (also referred to as the short preamble) as comprising an EHT-LTF and not an STF.
wherein the intermediate transmission time is a time in a PPDU transmission period at which a physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) service data unit (PSDU) comprising first data is to be transmitted through a random access frequency band.
[Cariou ¶108 and ¶119-¶122, Figs. 8 and 9 depict that the delayed start time 822/902 (interpreted as the claimed transmission time) is in the time allocations associated with the data transmission (interpreted as the claimed PPDU transmission period) at which the PSDU is transmitted through the random-access RU frequency range/tone.]
While Cariou teaches that the STA is transmits at the delayed start time short preamble or midamble 823 is transmitted at the start of time allocation 2 (for the delayed start time) however, Fig. 8 only shows this midamble (also referred to as the short preamble) as comprising an EHT-LTF and not an STF [Cariou, ¶119-¶127] for the purpose of performing channel estimation and automatic gain control (AGC) [Cariou, ¶113].
However, Lee teaches wherein the midamble includes a short training field [Lee, Figs. 60-61, ¶363-¶364].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou which teaches a delayed transmission of an uplink data frame using a midamble (also referred to as a short preamble), with the teachings of Lee which teaches wherein the midamble comprises a STF. The benefiting result would have been the ability to control a gain of a part of the data frame in which the transmission power is changed by using the STF [Lee, ¶363].
Regarding claims 2 and 9, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 1 and the operating method of claim 8 respectively, wherein the receiving the trigger frame comprises receiving a random access resource unit (RA-RU) information field comprising the information about the random access frequency band.
([Cariou, Fig. 12, RU 1212, ¶102 and ¶127] The RU in some embodiments is a random-access RU comprises a frequency range or tone allocation)
Regarding claims 3 and 10, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 1 and the operating method of claim 8 respectively, wherein the receiving the trigger frame comprises receiving an RA-RU information field comprising the information about the intermediate transmission time.
([Cariou, Fig. 12, RU 1212, ¶102 and ¶126-¶127] The trigger frame comprises a RU 1212 which in some embodiments is a random-access RU indicating a time allocation and frequency range or tone allocation and other random-access RU related information fields indicating information that the delayed start is permitted and the time allocation as well as information of the delayed transmission, interpreted as the claimed intermediate transmission.)
Regarding claims 4 and 11, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 1 and the operating method of claim 8 respectively, wherein the receiving the trigger frame comprises receiving a reserved field comprising the information about the intermediate transmission time.
([Cariou, Fig. 12, RU 1212, ¶102 and ¶126-¶127] The trigger frame comprises a RU 1212 which in some embodiments is a random-access RU indicating a time allocation and frequency range or tone allocation and other random-access RU related information fields indicating information that the delayed start is permitted and the time allocation as well as information of the delayed transmission, interpreted as the claimed intermediate transmission. This other RU related information field is a dedicated field, interpreted as a reserved field, shown as TF type 1202, delayed permitted field 1216)
Regarding claims 5 and 12, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 1 and the operating method of claim 8 respectively, wherein the trigger frame instructs for the first apparatus to transmit the STF at the intermediate transmission time over a frequency band in which the PPDU is transmitted.
([Cariou, Fig. 12, ¶119-¶122, ¶126-¶127] The trigger frame sends information from the AP to the STA to indicate to the STA to transmit a preamble (in the form of short preamble or midamble as shown in Figs. 8-9) at a delayed time 822/902, interpreted as the claimed intermediate transmission time, using the frequency range indicated in the RU field 1212 in which the UL transmission PPDU is transmitted)
However, Lee teaches wherein the midamble includes a short training field [Lee, Figs. 60-61, ¶363-¶364].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou which teaches a delayed transmission of an uplink data frame using a midamble (also referred to as a short preamble), with the teachings of Lee which teaches wherein the midamble comprises a STF. The benefiting result would have been the ability to control a gain of a part of the data frame in which the transmission power is changed by using the STF [Lee, ¶363].
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 1 and the operating method of claim 8 respectively, wherein the PSDU further comprises a long training field (LTF), and wherein the trigger frame instructs the first apparatus to transmit the LTF after transmitting the STF, over a frequency band in which the PPDU is transmitted.
([Caruio Fig. 8-9, 802 and ¶110 and ¶115] The trigger frame schedules the STA to transmit of the UL PPDU over the indicated RU frequency range, wherein the UL PPDU comprises an LTF after transmitting the STF. Lee also teaches this in STF followed by LTF sequence Fig. 61)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 1, further comprising receiving an acknowledgement frame for the PSDU from the second apparatus after transmitting the PSDU to the second apparatus.
([Lee, ¶125] Reception of an ACK frame acknowledging reception of the data frame, by the second apparatus, is received from a second apparatus after.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou, indicating a method of a transmitting device transmitting a data unit to a receiver device, with the teachings of Lee, indicating that the receiver device of the data unit will transmit back to the transmitting device an ACK frame upon successful reception. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to improve communication reliability by allowing the original transmitting device of the data frame to receive confirmation, from the receiving device, of the successful reception of the data frame [Lee, ¶125].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 8, further comprising receiving a PPDU generated based on the trigger frame, from the first apparatus, wherein the receiving the PPDU comprises receiving the PSDU comprising the first data at the intermediate transmission time over the random access frequency band.
([Cariou, Figs. 8-9, ¶108, ¶117-¶121 and ¶127] Receiving a PPDU generated based on the trigger frame 802, from a STA (being the claimed first apparatus), wherein the receiving the PPDU comprises receiving the PSDU comprising a first data (D) at the delayed start 822 (interpreted as the claimed intermediate transmission time) over the random-access RU frequency range.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 14, wherein the receiving the PSDU comprises:
receiving the STF at the intermediate transmission time; and receiving a long training field (LTF) after receiving the STF.
([Cariou Fig. 8-9, 802 and ¶110 and ¶113-¶122] The trigger frame schedules the STA to transmit the UL PSDU over the indicated RU frequency range, wherein the UL PSDU comprises an LTF after transmitting the STF. In Figs. 8-9, Cariou also indicates that the transmission may start at the delayed start 822/902 (interpreted as the intermediate transmission time) wherein the transmission carries with it a midamble (also referred to as a short preamble) for combating misalignment, channel estimation, correct some frequency synchronization and perform AGC. Lee also teaches the midamble comprises a STF followed by LTF sequence Fig. 61)
Regarding claim 17, Cariou teaches the operating method of claim 15, further comprising performing an automatic gain control (AGC) operation based on the STF transmitted at the intermediate transmission time of the PPDU transmission period.
(Cariou teaches that the STA is transmits at the delayed start time short preamble or midamble 823 is transmitted at the start of time allocation 2 (for the delayed start time) however, Fig. 8 only shows this midamble (also referred to as the short preamble) as comprising an EHT-LTF and not an STF [Cariou, ¶119-¶127] for the purpose of performing channel estimation and automatic gain control (AGC) [Cariou, ¶113].)
However, Lee teaches wherein the midamble includes a short training field [Lee, Figs. 60-61, ¶363-¶364].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou which teaches a delayed transmission of an uplink data frame using a midamble (also referred to as a short preamble), with the teachings of Lee which teaches wherein the midamble comprises a STF. The benefiting result would have been the ability to control a gain of a part of the data frame in which the transmission power is changed by using the STF [Lee, ¶363].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 19, wherein the transmitting the PPDU further comprises transmitting a long training field (LTF) through the allocated frequency band after transmitting the STF.
([Caruio Fig. 8-9, 802 and ¶110 and ¶115] The trigger frame schedules the STA to transmit of the UL PPDU over the indicated RU frequency range, wherein the UL PPDU comprises an LTF after transmitting the STF. Lee also teaches this in STF followed by LTF sequence Fig. 61)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 19, wherein the trigger frame further comprises information about the random access frequency band, and
([Cariou, Figs. 5 and 8, ¶102, ¶106 and ¶117] The STA 504 receives, from the AP 502, a trigger frame. The trigger frame comprises scheduling resources for transmitting urgent packets or request to the AP via a random-access RU.)
after receiving the trigger frame, a transmission request to transmit the first data, the transmission request occurring in the PPDU transmission period; and
([Cariou, ¶99, ¶102-¶103, ¶108] requests to transmit may be sent by the STA during a TXOP (interpreted as the claimed PPDU transmission period) on a RU (wheren the RU comprises resources in the frequency range/tones))
transmitting the PSDU comprising the STF and the first data to the second apparatus through the random access frequency band at the intermediate transmission time.
([Cariou, ¶102, ¶106, ¶108 and ¶129] The STA may transmit to the AP on RU (which is noted as a random-access RU comprising frequency bands/tone allocations for random-access transmissions of urgent data) a normal transmission (UL TB PPDU transmission) which runs continuous through the claimed intermediate time (the delayed start time) and the STA may also transmit to the AP a delayed transmission (which is also a UL TB PPDU transmission) as shown in Fig. 4 for example; wherein the transmission (UL TB PPDU transmission) includes the STF and Data (D), interpreted as the claimed PSDU for the delayed transmission in at least some embodiments.) However, when the STA is transmitting at the delayed start time short preamble or midamble 823 is transmitted at the start of time allocation 2 (for the delayed start time) however, Fig. 8 only shows this midamble (also referred to as the short preamble) as comprising an EHT-LTF and not an STF.
While Cariou teaches that the STA is transmits at the delayed start time short preamble or midamble 823 is transmitted at the start of time allocation 2 (for the delayed start time) however, Fig. 8 only shows this midamble (also referred to as the short preamble) as comprising an EHT-LTF and not an STF [Cariou, ¶119-¶127] for the purpose of performing channel estimation and automatic gain control (AGC) [Cariou, ¶113].
However, Lee teaches wherein the midamble includes a short training field [Lee, Figs. 60-61, ¶363-¶364].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou which teaches a delayed transmission of an uplink data frame using a midamble (also referred to as a short preamble), with the teachings of Lee which teaches wherein the midamble comprises a STF. The benefiting result would have been the ability to control a gain of a part of the data frame in which the transmission power is changed by using the STF [Lee, ¶363].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou, in view of Lee as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of SEOK US 2016/0088602 (hereinafter SEOK).
Regarding claim 16, the combination Cariou, in view of Lee teaches the operating method of claim 15, further comprising:
determining, after receiving the PPDU, whether the STF has been transmitted at the intermediate transmission time over the random access frequency band; and
([Cariou, Figs. 8-9, ¶102-¶104 and ¶117-¶123] Cariou teaches wherein the PPDUs are transmitted by the STA (such as STA4 811) at the delayed start 822/902 (interpreted as the claimed intermediate transmission time) using the random-access RU frequency range/tones, wherein the transmission of the PPDU at the delayed start comprises a midamble. Wherein according to Lee Fig. 60, the midamble comprises an STF.)
But the combination of Cariou, in view of Lee fails to teach determining, based on a result of the determining, whether the PSDU is transmitted.
However, Seok teaches determining, based on a result of the determining, whether the PSDU is transmitted.
([Seok, ¶166] According to Seok, a determination is made, based on receiving an ack, interpreted as the claimed result of the determining, whether the PSDU is transmitted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cariou, in view of Lee which teaches a transmitting device that performs a delayed transmission of an uplink data frame using a midamble (also referred to as a short preamble) to a receiving device, whereafter the transmitting device receives an ack from the receiving device upon successful reception of the transmitted uplink data frame by the receiving device, with the teachings of Seok which teaches wherein that a determination whether the PSDU is transmitted by receiving an ack, based on a result of the determining successful reception of the PSDU and generation of the ACK. The benefiting result would have been the ability to improve transmission reliability through transmission and receipt confirmation between communicating devices.
Conclusion
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467