DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, “(is” should read --is--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation ”traction means” has been given the scope of a retraction rod, a retraction belt, a spring steel band and/or a rope, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of compact prosecution, the limitations are interpreted to be optional.
All claims dependent on the above rejected claims are rejected as well because they include all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsotsis (US2008/0289743).
Regarding claim 1, Tsotsis teaches:
Retraction device (Fig 11a-c:grasping head 70), a plastic profile (Fig 11a-c: sheet 30c) and at least one further device (Fig 11a-c: endless belt 42), for drawing the plastic profile into the at least one further device ([0103-0108]), having at least one traction means (Fig 6a, 11a-c: actuator 73, endless cable 68; [0084]) and a connecting element for connection to the plastic profile (Fig 11a-c: elements 71a-b; [0098]),
characterised in that
a coupling element is arranged on the at least one traction means, via which coupling element the connecting element is detachably connected to the at least one traction means (Fig 11a-c: clamp 71; any component is inherently detachable from another).
Tsotsis does not recite the retraction device is for an extrusion device for a plastic profile, in particular a hollow chamber profile, with an extruder, an extrusion nozzle arranged at the outlet of the extruder for forming the plastic profile and at least one further device, which is arranged downstream of the extruder in an extrusion direction (E). However, the above limitations are recited as intended use and do not impart any required structure to the claimed retraction device. See MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding claim 2, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tsotsis further teaches the connecting element is designed as a clamping device for connecting to the plastic profile by clamping the plastic profile and/or clipping to the plastic profile (Fig 11a-c; [0098]).
Regarding claim 3, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tsotsis does not explicitly recite the connecting element is designed to cool the plastic profile. However, the prior art teaches that the plastic profile is heated ([0092]) and is silent as to any heating of the connecting element. Therefore, the unheated elements 71a-b will naturally conduct heat from the heated sheet 30c and function as a heatsink, i.e., cool the heated sheet 30c, during clamping.
Regarding claim 4, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tsotsis further teaches a winding element on which the at least one traction means can be wound up (Fig 6a: unlabeled pulley system on which endless cable operates; [0084]).
Regarding claim 5, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tsotsis further teaches the at least one traction means is a flexible traction means (endless cable 68).
Regarding claim 6, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tsotsis further teaches the at least one traction means is a rigid traction means (actuator 73).
Regarding claim 7, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tsotsis further teaches at least two traction means are provided (Fig 6a, 11a-c: actuator 73, endless cable 68), a first traction means being a flexible traction means (endless cable 68) and a second traction means being a rigid traction means (actuator 73).
Regarding claim 8, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
Tsotsis further teaches the rigid traction means is arranged on the coupling element and the flexible traction means is arranged on the rigid traction means (Fig 6a, 11a-c), so that the rigid traction means is pullable with the flexible traction means through the at least one further device (Fig 6a, 11a-c; [0103-0108]).
Regarding claim 9, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tsotsis further teaches the coupling element is positively and/or non-positively connected to the connecting element (Fig 6a, 11a-c).
Regarding claim 10, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tsotsis further teaches the connecting element for connecting to the plastic profile is adjustable between an open position and a closed position, the connecting element being connectable to the coupling element in particular only in the closed position (Fig 11a-c; [0098, 0103-0108]).
Regarding claim 11, Tsotsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Tsotsis further teaches the connecting element fixes the plastic profile by means of a toothing in a form-fitting and/or force-fitting manner (Fig 11a-c; [0098]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Skobel (US3698988) anticipates at least claim 1 and teaches:
Retraction device for an extrusion device for a plastic profile (Fig 1: pulling tape 46, reel 47; col 3, ln 58-65), in particular a hollow chamber profile (col 3, ln 58-65), with an extruder (Fig 1; extruder 59), an extrusion nozzle arranged at the outlet of the extruder for forming the plastic profile (Fig 1: first extrusion die 24) and at least one further device (Fig 1: oven 41; col 3, ln 58-65), which is arranged downstream of the extruder in an extrusion direction (E) (Fig 1), for drawing the plastic profile into the at least one further device (col 3, ln 58-65), having at least one traction means (Fig 1: pulling tape 46) and a connecting element for connection to the plastic profile (Fig 1: unlabeled clamp; col 3, ln 58-65),
characterised in that
a coupling element is arranged on the at least one traction means, via which coupling element the connecting element is detachably connected to the at least one traction means (Fig 1: portion of the unlabeled clamp that connects the clamp to tape 46; col 3, ln 58-65; any component is inherently detachable from another).
/ALEXANDER A WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741