DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This is first office action on the merits in response to the application filed on 12/4/2024.
Claim 1 is currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/4/2024 is(are) in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 15-16, “the user authentication-enabling data” should read --user authentication-enabling data--.
Claim 1, lines 18-19, “the client authentication-enabling data” should read --the user authentication-enabling data--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Labrou (US 20050027543 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Labrou teaches A secure user authentication system, operable over a client-server communications network to authenticate a system user, comprising (Labrou: Abstract; Paragraph(s) 0158 teach(es) the device such as a mobile phone requests user authentication, either by the user entering a PIN and/or through a biometric method (i.e., authentication-enabling data); another authentication should be requested before authorizing any transaction):
an application server, in the client-server communications network, which includes a site, wherein the site is able to be enabled to comprise an enabled application server site (Labrou: Paragraph(s) 0198, 0200, 0494 teach(es) the actions of each of the Consumer (using UPTD), Merchant (using the Merchant Transaction Server) (i.e., application server) and Secure Transaction Server (STS) (i.e., authentication server), and their respective communication (messages and other information exchanged between the involved parties) (i.e., secure communication) during the performance of the described workflow; “Merchant” stands for either the merchant's device (merchant UPTF device, or MTS), or the combination of the MTS and its registered (i.e., registering) owner's (merchant, the person, or its representatives) interaction with it; The agreement data sent between the agreement parties and the verification party is protected through the use of an encryption signature (i.e., using a signature) so that no party can alter the data sent by other parties without a high degree of detection); an authentication server, in the client-server communications network, which is able to enable the application server site to comprise the enabled application server site, which authentication server includes a core database, and which receives and stores user authentication enabling data in the core database (Labrou: Paragraph(s) 0161-0162, 0231-0235, 0494 teach(es) the device optionally presents to the user only “authenticated” services, that is services offered by an approved and authorized merchant that have been themselves been approved and authenticated; The security framework executes the following functions: Authenticates user identity, merchant identity (i.e., merchant information) and transaction identity; The agreement data sent between the agreement parties and the verification party is protected through the use of an encryption signature (i.e., based on the signature) so that no party can alter the data sent by other parties without a high degree of detection); a client, in the client-server communications network (Labrou: Paragraph(s) 0044 teach(es) The WIM module (with the inserted WIM chip) of mobile phones is essentially a wallet embedded on the client device (the mobile phone) and provides a single banking account (i.e., client account number) associated with the mobile phone); and a client program, which is able to be actuated in the client, which includes the user authentication-enabling data, and which, upon actuation thereof, automatically directly connects to the authentication server and sends the client authentication-enabling data to the authentication server for secure user authentication by the authentication server, and which does not send the user authentication-enabling data to the enabled application server site (Labrou: Paragraph(s) 0050 teach(es) the mobile phone's owner will receive a transaction (sometimes sent as a SMS) for a physical POS transaction initiated by the merchant, which the consumer will have to authorize by entering a PIN (i.e., authentication-enabling data) that authorizes processing of the payment at a server-side wallet account; it requires the physical exchange of some account identification (e.g., phone number or some other unique ID) (i.e., client account number) between merchant and consumer and keying this ID into the POS or mobile phone, along with other transaction-related information).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kramer (US 20030140007 A1) teaches Third Party Value Acquisition For Electronic Transaction Settlement Over A Network, including VPN, IP, token, authenticating, merchant ID, payment, transaction, and encryption key.
Sarcanin (US 20050246292 A1) teaches Method and system for a virtual safe, including authentication, web page, IP address, VPN, payment, transaction, encrypt, and secure connection with the merchant server.
Engberg (WO 2001090968 A1) teaches A System And Method For Establishing A Privacy Communication Path, including VPN, IP address, authentication, website, and comparing.
/CLAY C LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699