DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1 and 67-85 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 12/4/24 (2), The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 67-85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dowling (WO 2018/184021).
Dowling teaches with regards to instant claims 1 and 67, a device (i.e., a product) comprising at least 2 compartments with a releasable, flowable product wherein the first compartment comprises a solution of an acidified hydrophobically-modified polymer which gels and the second product comprises a solution of a bicarbonate or carbonate salt at an alkaline pH (see pg 1, lines 23+), consisting of hydrophobic modifications which can be linear hydrocarbons from C6-C18(see pg 2, lines 6+, as required by instant claims 2 and 3) and the linear carbon groups selected from C12, C16 (as required by instant claim 5. The reference also teaches with regards to instant claim 25, that the concentration is from 0.1-2% (see claim 14) and that the hydrophobically-modified polymer comprises lactic acid, acetic acid having pH from 2-4.5 (see claims 15-16, as required by instant claim 27) from 03-0.5M (see pg 5, lines 13+, as required by instant claim 28) in the first compartment and the second compartment comprises sodium bicarbonate (as required by instant claim 30, see pg 5, lines 24+). Thus the hemostatic product comprising a device having at least two compartments each containing a releasable, flowable product: wherein a first compartment comprises a solution of an acidified cationic hydrophobically-modified polymer that creates hemostasis, and a second compartment comprises a solution of a bicarbonate or carbonate salt at an alkaline pH and an anionic polymer (i.e., an alginate as required by claim 37 and 40, see pg 6, lines 5+) wherein the cationic hydrophobically-modified polymer is hydrophobically-modified chitosan (see claim 3, as required by instant claim 39) for treating bleeding wounds in a body cavity (see claims 27-29, as required by instant claims 61, 84) that are not easily controlled by compression (see pg 1, as required by instant claim 620).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
(a) The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim(s) 1 and 67-85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dowling (WO 2018/184021)..
Dowling teaches with regards to instant claim 1, a device (i.e., a container) comprising at least 2 compartments with a releasable, flowable product wherein the first compartment comprises a solution of an acidified hydrophobically-modified polymer that creates hemostasis, and a second compartment comprises a solution of a bicarbonate or carbonate salt at an alkaline pH (see pg 1, lines 23+), consisting of hydrophobic modified polymer, (as required by instant claim 67) wherein the hydrophobically-modified polymer is an alginate (see pg 2, lines 25+, as required by instant claim 68, 81) or chitosan (as required by instant claims 68, 70 and 80, see pg 8, lines 23+ and pg 11, lines 5+) for treating bleeding wounds in a body cavity (see claims 27-29, as required by instant claims 84-85) dextran (as required by instant claim 73, see claim 21), wherein the hydrophobic modified polymer can be linear hydrocarbons from C6-C18 (see pg 2, lines 6+, as required by instant claims 75 and 76) and the linear carbon groups selected from C12, C16 (as required by instant claim 5, see pg 2, lines 10+). Additionally, Dowling teaches the grafts in length to be C8, C10 and C18 (see pg 10, lines 11+, as required by instant claims 75-78) wherein the hydrophobically-modified available functional groups on the polymer backbone is from 10-50% (as required by instant claim 10, see pg 2, lines 6+). The reference also teaches with regards to instant claim 83, that the concentration is from 0.1-2% (see claim 14 as required by instant claims 82-83)
Dowling teaches that grafts lengths can be from 8-20 with a density from 5-40% (see pg 10, lines 21+ and pg 12, lines 4+).
With regards to instant claim 69, Downing teaches that the polymer may be a synthetic polymer (see pg 7, lines 23+).
Thus, the claims would have been anticipated or obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 67-85 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 15 of U.S. Patent Application No. 12,201,742.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows: Both sets of claims are drawn to a hemostatic product comprising a container having at least two compartments each containing a releasable, flowable product: wherein a first compartment comprises a solution having a concentration from about 0.1 wt % to about 5 wt % of an acidified hydrophobically-modified chitosan that creates hemostasis and has a pH of from about 2 to about 4.5, and a second compartment comprises a solution of a bicarbonate or carbonate salt at an alkaline pH, wherein the hydrophobic modifications of the chitosan comprise linear hydrocarbon groups in the range of C6 to C18.
The claims of the instant are to a product a hydrophobically-modified chitosan for treating wounds and the patented claims are directed to treating a cavity wound applying a hydrophobically-modified chitosan. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have practiced the patented claims employing the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success at the time of filing.
No claims are allowed.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 9/23/26