DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 101
With respect to 35 U.S.C. § 101, the claims maintain state data with respect to incomplete transactions initiated from user devices and use such state data to assist in completing such transactions. The claims are therefore rooted in computer and Internet technology. See DDR Holdings V. Hotels.com, 113 USPQ2d 1097 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The claims are not directed to an abstract idea and accordingly are directed to statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0088739 A1 (hereinafter “Desai”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0258007 A1 (hereinafter “Calman”).
With respect to claims 1, 13, and 17, Desai discloses
“A method, comprising”: Desai, abstract;
“receiving, by a device and from a user device, user response data associated with a … application, the user response data including application state data that indicates a state of the partially completed application”; Desai, paragraphs 0040, 0065, 0066, 0068-0075, 0196 (application can be e-commerce transaction or other transaction);
“identifying, by the device, information associated with the user device”; Desai, paragraphs 0040, 0065, 066, 0068-0075, 0196 (one skilled in the art would recognize that input in social data, for example is identified prior to use in method);
“determining, by the device and based at least in part on the information, that a triggering event has occurred”; Desai, paragraphs 0040, 0065, 066, 0068-0075, 0196 (triggering event is detected); and
“performing, by the device and based at least in part on determining that the triggering event has occurred, an action associated with the user response data and a mobile application associated with the user device”. Desai, paragraphs 0040, 0065, 066, 0068-0075, 0196 (e.g., widget can be deployed on user device in response to triggering event).
Desai does not explicitly disclose a partially completed transaction. Calman discloses "a partially completed transaction". Calman, paragraph 0037 (a partially completed transaction can be completed in response to a triggering event).
Desai and Calman both relate to automating transactions. Desai, abstract; Calman, abstract. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the partially completed transaction feature as taught by Calman in the method of Desai with the motivation of improving retail efficiency. Calman ¶¶ 0002, 0003.
With respect to claim 2, Calman discloses
“further comprising: generating a notification based on the action and sending the notification to the user device”. Calman ¶¶ 0037, 0045, 0052 (user is informed on state of transaction, such as by transmission of a receipt when transaction is completed).
With respect to claim 3, Calman discloses
“further comprising: storing the application state data and user response data in a memory associated with the device”. Calman ¶ 0037 (application state data are stored on server).
With respect to claim 4, Calman discloses
“wherein the action includes updating a user interface of the mobile application to reflect the state of the partially completed application”. Calman ¶¶ 0037, 0045, 0052 (user is informed of state of transaction).
With respect to claim 5, Desai discloses
“further comprising: determining a preference associated with the user based on the user response data, and wherein performing the action is further based on the determined preference”. Desai ¶ 0030 (pre-learned user preference is utilized).
With respect to claim 6, Desai discloses
“further comprising: generating a follow-up action based on a predefined schedule associated with the user device”. Desai ¶ 0075 (a single triggering event can trigger multiple events to occur, which events can be calendared).
With respect to claim 7, Desai discloses
“wherein the triggering event includes a behavioral-based triggering event based on user behavior patterns”. Desai ¶ 0075 (e.g., user pattern of mobile device use).
With respect to claim 8, Desai discloses
“wherein the triggering event includes a device state-based triggering event based on an operational state of the user device”. Desai ¶ 0075 (e.g., triggering event can be based on state of clock, namely time).
With respect to claim 9, Desai discloses
“wherein the triggering event includes a time-based triggering event”. Desai ¶ 0075.
With respect to claim 10, Desai discloses
“wherein the triggering event is based on a geographic location associated with the user device”. Desai ¶ 0075 (location determined by GPS).
With respect to claims 11 and 20, Desai discloses
“wherein the information associated with the user device includes at least one of: web browsing data, global positioning satellite (GPS) data, user activity data, or spending activity data”. Desai ¶ 0075 (e.g., GPS data).
With respect to claim 12, Desai discloses
“wherein the partially completed application is a business application”. Desai ¶¶ 0275, 0284, 0290 (e.g., transaction can be a healthcare or travel transaction).
With respect to claims 14 and 18, Desai discloses
“wherein the partially completed application includes at least one of: a loan application, an insurance application, or an automobile sales application”. Desai ¶ 0284 (insurance application).
With respect to claims 15 and 19, Desai discloses
“further comprising encrypting the user response data before receiving and decrypting the user response data before performing the action”. Desai ¶ 0192 (encryption and authentication are optionally utilized).
With respect to claim 16, Desai discloses
“wherein the one or more processors are further configured to authenticate the user device before performing the action”. Desai ¶ 0192 (encryption and authentication are optionally utilized).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Number 12,165,186 B2 (hereinafter “Bodapati”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 are broader than claims 1-20 of Bodapati and are anticipated by such claims.
Conclusion
ETHAN D. CIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3688
/ETHAN D CIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688